DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the quick disconnect fittings (first, second and third) must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. In claim 1, on line 16, “the second pump” lacks any antecedent basis. Further, claims 2-15 are rejected on the basis of their dependency on rejected claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1- 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN-104458341 (Dai et al) see translation in view of JP-2001165927 (Takeuchi it al), see translation. As to claims 1, 16 and 20, Dai et al disclose a portable solid phase extracting device for sampling of natural micro-polluted flowing wastewater including an inlet tube (wastewater collecting pipe 1) configured to extend into a sewage flow; a first outlet port (at filtering return valve 5 back to pipe 1); second outlet port (at front valve 10); a high-flow circuit fluidly coupling the inlet tube 1 to the outlet port; a first pump (transfer pump 2) positioned along the high-flow circuit and configured to pump wastewater from the sewage flow, through the inlet tube 1, a sampling circuit fluidly coupled to the high-flow circuit via a junction (near valve 3) and comprising: a solid waste filter (filter tower 4) fluidly coupled to the junction 3; and a solid-phase extraction cartridge (extraction column 8 with sleeve 9) fluidly coupled to an outlet of the solid waste filter 4; and a controller (control circuit 14) configured to, during a sampling cycle: at a first time, activate the first pump 2 to initiate flow of wastewater from the sewage flow through the high-flow circuit; at a second time, activate the second pump? (pump 13) to divert wastewater from the high-flow circuit into the sampling circuit via the junction; and at a third time succeeding the second time by a sampling duration, deactivate the second pump, see translation and figure. It is noted that there is not disclosed pumping “out of the outlet port” by Dai et al, but the inlet acts as the outlet as well, see figure and return from return valve 5. In a related prior art device, Takeuchi et al disclose a method of monitoring sewage 1 with sampling device 2 and filter 3 along with a return at the unnumbered junction between 3 and 4 showing a return outlet prior to the extraction at concentrator 5, see translation and figure. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to have included a separate outlet line or port as disclosed by Takeuchi et al as an alternative to using the same inlet as the outlet in order to simultaneously collect a sample and discard a sample back into the flow. As to claim 2, note the fluid repository (water purifying tank 6) fluidly connected to the sampling circuit. As to claim 3, note the outlet is coupled to the extraction cartridge 9/10 via valve 7. As to claim 4, note the suitcase as depicted in the figure suspended above the flow housing all the circuits and pumps and the controller and although the inlet/outlet is not shown as external to the casing but it is indicated that the collector pipe is immersed in the natural water such that it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing that the pipe would have to extend external to the suitcase in order to be able to immersed in the water source. As to claims 5 and 16, the usage of peristaltic pumps is not particularly disclosed by Dai et al. However, peristaltic pumps are old and known in the art of pumping. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to have included any known type of pump for controlling the flow such as a peristaltic pump as a matter of design choice of known pumps and alternatives. As to claim 6, both Dai et al and Takeuchi et al perform solid phase extraction of contaminants which are known to include drug metabolites and chemicals. As to claim 7, note the diverter valve 7 sends the fluid to cartridge 8/9 but lacks a teaching for a set of extraction cartridges. However, duplication of parts is considered an obvious design choice for the purpose of collecting multiple contaminants. Duplicating the components of a prior art device is a design consideration within the skill of the art. In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960). As to claim 8, the filter pore size is 50-100 mm which is able to collect bacteria. As to claims 9 and 16, as best understood, note these elements of claim 9 are already found in the discussion of claim 1 and it is not clear if these are in addition to those in claim 1. Further, with regard to a replaceable filter kit, the filter tower 4 is comprised of a 3 staged stacked structure such that it can be replaced with a different stage for different particle size. As to claim 10, note that Takeuchi et al teaches a sequencer device for controlling the filtering and sampling steps, see translation. As to claim 11, note that Takeuchi et al also teach sampling performed at regular intervals such as over 60 minutes. As to claim 12, note Dai et al indicate the flow rate of 1 to 6 liters, preferably 2L for extraction column enriching. As to claim 13, setting up sampling cycles with a specific interval is considered a matter of design choice obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing based on the desired schedule and level of detection desired. As to claim 14, note filtering return valve 5 controlling the flow. As to claim 15, note that Dai et al disclose controlling the flow with the conveying pump and control circuit to achieve various flows suggesting the usage of a flowmeter to monitor the flow so that it can be controlled. As to claim 17, Dai et al teach periodically sampling at intervals and further replacement of the filter kit is considered an obvious necessity in order to continue collecting representative samples as filter life is known to deteriorate after a certain number of uses. As to claim 18, Dai et al teaches in par[018 and 028] removing by discharging liquid. As to claim 19, although quick disconnects are not particularly discussed, it is noted that the valves 3/5/7/10 all operate to connect or disconnect various parts of the flow circuit as indicated in par[018,028,030] such that by movement of the valve stem the parts are quick connected to other parts of the flow circuit.
Double Patenting
Claims 2 and 3 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 11714030. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because all the limitations of claims 2 and 3 of the present application are found in claim 1 of the patent.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The additional prior art listed on PTO-892 are cited to illustrate state of the art sampling of sewage and water.
NF
Examiner
Art Unit 2855
/N.S.F/Examiner, Art Unit 2855
/LAURA MARTIN/SPE, Art Unit 2855