DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102/103
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Simonson et al. (US 2012/0265167).
Regarding claim 1, Simonson et al. relates to a biocompatible material for bone repair comprising silicon nitride ceramic spheres. See Abstract. “In the preferred embodiment, the size or diameter of these ceramic spheres are preferably in a range of about 0.5 millimeters to about 12 mm” (current claims 17-19). Para. [0097]. Simonson et al. also teaches that “[t]he most common bone cement is polymethylmethacrylate or PMMA” (current claim 5).
Regarding claims 2-4, Simonson et al. teaches that “[t]he shapes of such ceramics spheres are preferably hexagonal, octahededronal, or any other polyhedral combination.” Para. [0016].
Regarding claims 6 and 7, the composition may comprise bio-materials including therapeutic agents such as bone morphorgenic proteins. See para. [0100].
Regarding claim 8, Simonson et al. teaches that “[m]ost commercial PMMA bone
cements are available in two separate components: a powder comprised principally of pre-polymer balls of polymethmethacrylate (PMMA) and a liquid of the monomer, generally
methy 1 methy lmethacrylate (MMA ), reacting in the presence of a polymerization activator.” Para. [0008].
Regarding claim 9, the composition may comprise a base or solvents which would read on dispersing agent.
Regarding the volume ratio of claims 10-15 and 20, although these ranges are not expressly taught, “where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.” In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955).
Regarding claim 16, a chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present. In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
Conclusion
This is a continuation of applicant's earlier Application No. 16/799,248. All claims are identical to, patentably indistinct from, or have unity of invention with the invention claimed in the earlier application (that is, restriction (including lack of unity) would not be proper) and could have been finally rejected on the grounds and art of record in the next Office action if they had been entered in the earlier application. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL even though it is a first action in this case. See MPEP § 706.07(b). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ROBERT S CABRAL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1614