DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 11 to 18 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-8 of U.S. Patent No. 11,7514,732. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the instant and patented claims are drawn to devices with the same compositions.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because the numbering of views is incorrect. According to 37 C.F.R. 1.84(u) “View numbers must be preceded by the abbreviation “FIG.”". Currently, the view numbers are preceded by the word "FIGURE". Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Objections
Claim 18 objected to because of the following informalities the claim does not have a period. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 11-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al (US 20160072078) (Lee) in view of Yokoyama et al (WO 2013/157367) (Yokoyama).
In reference to claims 11 and 17-18, Lee teaches an organic light emitting device having a structure of a first electrode, a hole transport region an emission layer, an electron transport region, and a second electrode that are sequentially stacked in that order (Lee [0022]) wherein the emission layer includes a phosphorescent dopant (Lee [0097]) an electron transporting host and a hole transporting host that meet at least an equation 1 in order to efficiently form an exciplex and further teaches that the and the electron transporting host is a compound of formula 10 [0069] as shown below
for example, a compound of formula 10 wherein a22 is 1 [0074], and L22 is a group of formula 12-2 as shown above [0072], X11 to X13 are N [0076], a21 is 0 [0074], b21 is 1 [0070], R21 is a group of formula 15-28 as shown above [0077], Z63 is phenyl [0078], R29 and R30 are each formula 15-1 [0077] and R22 to R28 are each hydrogen [0079].
Lee discloses the compound of formula 10 that encompasses the presently claimed n-type host compound, including wherein a22 is 1, and L22 is a group of formula 12-2 as shown above, X11 to X13 are N, a21 is 0, b21 is 1, R21 is a group of formula 15-28 as shown above, Z63 is phenyl, R29 and R30 are each phenyl. Each of the disclosed substituents from the substituent groups of Lee are considered functionally equivalent and their selection would lead to obvious variants of the compound of formula 10.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application, in the absence of unexpected results, to have selected these substituents among those disclosed for the compound of formula 10 to provide the compound described above, which is both disclosed by Lee and encompassed within the scope of the present claims and thereby arrive at the claimed invention.
Lee does not expressly teach that the hole-transport host is a compound of the formulae as instantly claimed.
With respect to the difference, Yokoyama teaches compounds that are useful as host materials in organic electronic devices including hole transporting properties that are useful as host materials (Yokoyama abstract [0023]) such as the compound 4 shown below (Yokoyama [0046]) because these materials have excellent hole transport properties and wind band gap to lower driving voltage and improve luminous efficiency (Yokoyama [0023]).
In light of the motivation of using the compound 4 as described above, it would therefore have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to use the compound 4 as described by Yokoyama because these materials have excellent hole transport properties and wind band gap to lower driving voltage and improve luminous efficiency and thereby arrive at the claimed invention.
While Lee in view of Yokoyama does not expressly teach that this combination of specific materials meets the taught requirements of Formula 1 as shown above to efficiently form an exciplex as instantly claimed, the calculation of the LUMO of this compound using the DFT methods described by Lee [0211] is within the ambit of the ordinarily skilled artisan and the selection of this material would have been obvious to the ordinarily skilled artisan for the described benefits of Yokoyama and its evident electron transport host structure.
While Lee in view of Yokoyama does not expressly teach that this combination of specific materials meets the claimed relative photoluminescence spectra of the individual host materials to the exciplex formed by the host materials, Lee does teach that the host material combinations form an exciplex and teaches that the claimed feature of the exciplex having a longer photoluminescence wavelength than a photoluminescence wavelength of either of the individual materials is evidence of exciplex formation (Lee [0207]). That is, the claimed feature relative photoluminescence wavelength is an inherent feature of an exciplex and therefore an inherent feature of the device of Lee in view of Yokoyama. Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977). See MPEP 2112.01 (I). Recitation of a newly disclosed property does not distinguish over a reference disclosure of the article or composition claims. General Electric v. Jewe Incandescent Lamp Co., 67 USPQ 155. Titanium Metal Corp. v. Banner, 227 USPQ 772. Applicant bears responsibility for proving that reference composition does not possess the characteristics recited in the claims. In re Fitzgerald, 205 USPQ 597, 195 USPQ 430.
For Claim 11: Reads on the device with the claimed structure wherein 4 is the p-type host of chemical formula 3 wherein R16 to R18 are each hydrogen, Ar4 is biphenyl and Ar5 is substituted fluorene and the compound of formula 10 is the n-type host wherein r11 is 1, L11 is an o-phenylene, Y1, Y2 and Y3 are each N, Ar18 and Ar19 are each phenyl, l10 is 1, L10 is a direct bond, Ar17 is a phenyl, R38 to R41 are each hydrogen and a phosphorescent dopant.
For Claim 17: Reads on formula 3-2.
For Claim 18: Reads on formula 10-2.
In reference to claim 12, Lee in view of Yokoyama teaches the device as described above for claim 1. While Lee does not expressly state that the exciplex formed of the host materials emits a photoluminescence peak with a lower photon energy than a photon energy of each of the photoluminescence peak of the p-type and N-type hosts, this is an inherent property of the device. Photon energy has an indirect relationship to wavelength as defined by the Planck-Einstein relation (E= hν) and therefore the relationships of the wavelengths as described by Lee in Fig 2 and [0205]-[0207] demonstrate that the claimed feature is present.
In reference to claim 13, Lee in view of Yokoyama teaches the device as described above for claim 1. Lee in view of Yokoyama does not expressly teach that the HOMO level of the hole transport host 4 is higher in energy than a homo energy level of the electron transport host. However, these electronic properties are an inherent property of the materials. Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977). See MPEP 2112.01 (I). Recitation of a newly disclosed property does not distinguish over a reference disclosure of the article or composition claims. General Electric v. Jewe Incandescent Lamp Co., 67 USPQ 155. Titanium Metal Corp. v. Banner, 227 USPQ 772. Applicant bears responsibility for proving that reference composition does not possess the characteristics recited in the claims. In re Fitzgerald, 205 USPQ 597, 195 USPQ 430.
In reference to claim 14, Lee in view of Yokoyama teaches the device as described above for claim 1. Lee in view of Yokoyama does not expressly teach that the LUMO level of the hole transport host 4 is higher in energy than a LUMO energy level of the electron transport host. These electronic properties are an inherent property of the materials. Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977). See MPEP 2112.01 (I). Recitation of a newly disclosed property does not distinguish over a reference disclosure of the article or composition claims. General Electric v. Jewe Incandescent Lamp Co., 67 USPQ 155. Titanium Metal Corp. v. Banner, 227 USPQ 772. Applicant bears responsibility for proving that reference composition does not possess the characteristics recited in the claims. In re Fitzgerald, 205 USPQ 597, 195 USPQ 430.
In reference to claim 15, Lee in view of Yokoyama teaches the device as described above for claim 1. Lee teaches that the materials are included in a volume ratio of 5:5, in other words 1:1. While a volume ratio is not necessarily identical to a weight ratio, the compounds and are of similar molecular weight and would therefore be highly likely to have a sufficiently similar density such that a volume ratio of 1:1 would correspond to a weight ratio between 2:8 and 8:2.
In reference to claim 16, Lee in view of Yokoyama teaches the device as described above for claim 1. Lee further teaches that taught devices have roll off efficiency ratio of ~14% (Lee [0212]) which is defined somewhat differently than the instantly claimed property of ‘an efficiency ratio’. However, these values appear to represent a similar property and furthermore, such a property is inherent to the device. Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977). See MPEP 2112.01 (I). Recitation of a newly disclosed property does not distinguish over a reference disclosure of the article or composition claims. General Electric v. Jewe Incandescent Lamp Co., 67 USPQ 155. Titanium Metal Corp. v. Banner, 227 USPQ 772. Applicant bears responsibility for proving that reference composition does not possess the characteristics recited in the claims. In re Fitzgerald, 205 USPQ 597, 195 USPQ 430.
Conclusion
/Sean M DeGuire/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1786