DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Specification
The specification is objected to as failing to provide proper antecedent basis for the claimed subject matter. See 37 CFR 1.75(d)(1) and MPEP § 608.01(o). Correction of the following is required: support needs to be provided for “recognizably ornamental in appearance” as amended into claim 1.
The specification is objected to as failing to provide proper antecedent basis for the claimed subject matter. See 37 CFR 1.75(d)(1) and MPEP § 608.01(o). Correction of the following is required: support needs to be provided for “decoratively viewable” as amended into claim 1.
The specification is objected to as failing to provide proper antecedent basis for the claimed subject matter. See 37 CFR 1.75(d)(1) and MPEP § 608.01(o). Correction of the following is required: support needs to be provided for “non though holes” as amended into claim 1.
The specification is objected to as failing to provide proper antecedent basis for the claimed subject matter. See 37 CFR 1.75(d)(1) and MPEP § 608.01(o). Correction of the following is required: support needs to be provided for “an ornamental peg board pattern arranged over a substantial portion of an outwardly exposed surface of the ornamental member” as amended into claim 1.
The specification is objected to as failing to provide proper antecedent basis for the claimed subject matter. See 37 CFR 1.75(d)(1) and MPEP § 608.01(o). Correction of the following is required: support needs to be provided for “utilitarian device” as provided in claim 13.
The specification is objected to as failing to provide proper antecedent basis for the claimed subject matter. See 37 CFR 1.75(d)(1) and MPEP § 608.01(o). Correction of the following is required: support needs to be provided for “utilitarian device comprises a member of the group consisting of camera, tracker and lighted element” as provided in claim 14.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1 and 11 and the claims that depend therefrom are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1, it is unclear what the metes and bounds are and is structurally required to read on the limitation “the fastening member is recognizably ornamental in appearance”. What may be recognizably ornamental to one person may not be recognizably ornamental to another person. It is unclear what would or would not read on this limitation. The specification fails to define what is required materially or structurally to read on “recognizably ornamental”.
Regarding claim 1, it is unclear what is meant by “decoratively viewable”, it is unclear what this would require structurally or materially of the fastening member. Further, the specification is silent as to what “decoratively viewable” means or is.
Regarding claim 1, it is unclear in lines 13-14 what “non through holes” are referring to. Are these additional non through holes to the previously presented “non through holes”, or are these referring to the previously presented “non through holes”? It is unclear how many non through holes are being required of the claim.
Regarding claim 11, it is unclear what the metes and bounds of “configured utilitarian devices” would be, what devices does this include or exclude? The specification is silent as what “utilitarian devices” would or would not be, therefore the metes and bounds of this limitation are indefinite.
Any remaining claims are rejected depending from a rejected base claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 and 10-11 and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over James (US 2005/0005478) in view of Michell (US 6,115,948).
In regard to claim 1, James teaches an wherein an article of wearable clothing or wearable accessory selected from footwear (sneaker/athletic shoe: 10); the article having at least one ornamental member (see figure 5b, insert pad: 52, paragraph 0045) comprising a decorative peg board appearance comprised of holes in an ornamental peg board pattern arranged over a substantial portion of an outwardly exposed surface of the ornamental member (figure 5b, insert pad: 52 with holes/insert channels: 54), the ornamental member being integrated with the article of wearable clothing or wearable accessory on an outwardly visible surface thereof when worn (see figures 5b); and wherein at least one ornamental element (cover pad: 56) is respectively removable attached to at least one ornamental member (52) by removable engagement or the ornamental member fastening member with a fastening element of the ornamental element (see fastening members 58 and 54 and paragraph 0045), which comprises pegs which frictionally engage corresponding holes of the peg board to effect the removable attachment (see figure 5b and paragraph 0045), wherein the holes are recognizable ornamental in appearance and are decoratively viewable with or without an ornamental element removably fastened thereto (see figure 5b and paragraph 0045).
However, James fails to teach the through holes being non-through holes that are recognizable a peg holes.
Mitchell teaches a hole and peg attachment wherein the hole is a non-through hole that is flush with the top surface of the ornamental member and is recognizable as peg hole structure (detailed in annotated figure 7 below).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date to one having ordinary skill in the art to have provided the hole and peg pattern of James with the flush non through hole peg construction as taught by Mitchell, since the hole structure of James being flush and a non through hole would provide a fastening attachment that does not poke out and catch a garment, sock item, or user when the cover pad is not worn and also provides a more streamlined appearance to the sneaker garment. Here we are taking one well-known fastening structure (James) and replacing it with another well-known fastening structure (Mitchell) to provide a more streamlined fastener on footwear article to attach items.
In regard to claim 10, James teaches wherein the wearable clothing or wearable accessory is an athletic shoe or sneaker, sandal, slipper, shoe and ballerina shoe (sneaker/athletic shoe: 10).
In regard to claims 11 and 14, Mitchell teaches an ornamental element comprising an ornamentally configured utilitarian device of the group consisting of camera's, trackers, and lighted elements (column 4, lines 4-8).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the claims have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any rejection applied in the prior action of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
ALISSA L. HOEY
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3732
/ALISSA L HOEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3732