DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Guo et al (CN 110803691 A) in view of Guo et al (CN 1897333 A).
Machine translations are being used as the English translations for Guo et al (CN 110803691 A) and Guo et al (CN 1897333 A).
Regarding claim 1, Guo ‘691 discloses a method for preparing lithium manganese iron phosphate comprising steps of:
S1: mixing a manganese source and an iron source in solid phase to obtain a first mixture (dissolving manganese sulphate and ferrous sulphate in water to obtain mixed solution A; pg. 2 of Guo ‘691 translation);
dissolving sodium carbonate in water to obtain mixed solution B (pg. 2 of Guo ‘691 translation), stirring mixed solution A with mixed solution B to obtain manganese iron carbonate (pg. 2 of Guo ‘691 translation);
S3: mixing manganese iron oxide with a lithium source and a phosphorus source in solid phase to obtain a second mixture (mixing iron manganese carbonate, formed from stirring mixed solution A with mixed solution B, with the lithium source and the phosphorus source; pg. 2 of Guo ‘691 translation)
S4: sintering the second mixture in solid phase at 700 °C to 750 °C to obtain lithium manganese iron phosphate LiMn1-x-y-FexPO4 where 0 ≤ x ≤ 1 and 0 ≤ y ≤ 1 (pg. 3 of Guo ‘691 translation)
Guo ‘691 does not disclose the method comprising step S2 of sintering the first mixture in solid phase at 300 °C to 1200 °C to obtain a manganese iron oxide (MnxFe1-x-y)mOn where 1:2 ≤ m:n ≤ 1.1 and 0 < n ≤ 4.
However, Guo ‘333 discloses a method comprising mixing manganese powder doped with a metal element (pg. 3 of Guo ‘333) and sintering the first mixture in solid phase at 300 °C to 1200 °C to obtain a manganese iron oxide (MnxFe1-x-y)mOn where 1:2 ≤ m:n ≤ 1.1 and 0 < n ≤ 4 (pg. 3 of Guo ‘333 translation).
Since the sintering temperature is within the claimed range for step 2, the values of 1:2 ≤ m:n ≤ 1.1 and 0 < n ≤ 4 would inherently be met.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the method of Guo ‘691 to include the step of sintering of Guo ‘333 after the step of forming mixed solution A of Guo ‘691 because doing so provides a doped manganese oxide precursor of high density and good appearance (pg. 3 of Guo ‘333 translation).
Regarding claim 2, Guo ‘691 discloses the method for preparing lithium manganese iron phosphate of claim 1 as noted above and Guo’ 691 discloses the method comprising the manganese source being manganese sulfate (pg. 2 of Guo ‘691 translation).
Regarding claim 3, Guo ‘691 discloses the method for preparing lithium manganese iron phosphate of claim 1 as noted above and Guo’ 691 discloses the method comprising the iron source being ferrous sulfate (pg. 2 of Guo ‘691 translation).
Regarding claim 4, Guo ‘691 discloses the method for preparing lithium manganese iron phosphate of claim 1 as noted above and Guo’ 691 discloses the method comprising the lithium source being one of lithium carbonate and lithium hydroxide (pg. 3 of Guo ‘691 translation).
Regarding claim 5, Guo ‘691 discloses the method for preparing lithium manganese iron phosphate of claim 1 as noted above and Guo’ 691 discloses the method comprising the iron source being one of ammonium dihydrogen phosphate, diammonium phosphate and lithium dihydrogen phosphate (pg. 3 of Guo ‘691 translation).
Claims 6-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Guo et al (CN 110803691 A) in view of Guo et al (CN 1897333 A) in further view of Hu et al (CN 104868123 A).
Machine translations are being used as the English translations for Guo et al (CN 110803691 A), Guo et al (CN 1897333 A) and Hu et al (CN 104868123 A).
Regarding claim 6, Guo ‘691 and Guo ‘331 disclose the method for preparing the lithium manganese iron phosphate of claim 1 as noted above and Guo ‘691 discloses the method comprising a carbon source added during step S3 (carbon source added during step S03; pg. 3 of Guo ‘691 translation).
Guo ‘691 and Guo ‘331 do not disclose the method comprising a carbon source added during step S1.
However, Hu discloses a method comprising a carbon source added during step S1 where the carbon source is glucose (pgs. 2-3 of Hu translation).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the method of Guo ‘691 and Guo ‘333 to include the step of adding carbon of Hu for the mixed solution A of Guo ‘691 because adding carbon provides a lithium manganese iron phosphate with high energy density (pg. 3 of Hu translation).
Regarding claim 7, Guo ‘691 and Guo ‘331 and Hu disclose the method for preparing the lithium manganese iron phosphate of claim 6 as noted above and Guo ‘691 discloses the method comprising the carbon source added during step S3 being carbon black (pg. 3 of Guo ‘691 translation).
Guo ‘691 and Guo ‘331 do not disclose the method comprising a carbon source added during step S1 being one selected from sucrose, glucose and fructose.
However, Hu discloses a method comprising a carbon source added during step S1 where the carbon source is one selected from sucrose, glucose and fructose (pgs. 2-3 of Hu translation).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the method of Guo ‘691 and Guo ‘333 to include the step of adding carbon of Hu for the mixed solution A of Guo ‘691 because adding carbon provides a lithium manganese iron phosphate with high energy density (pg. 3 of Hu translation).
Regarding claim 8, Guo ‘691, Guo ‘333 and Hu disclose the method for preparing lithium manganese iron phosphate of claim 6 as noted above and that this claim is met due to the carbon source being selected from the group of materials during the solid-phase mixing for steps S1 and S3.
Conclusion
/SATHAVARAM I REDDY/Examiner, Art Unit 1785