DETAILED ACTION
This action is responsive to the following communication: an amendment filed on 01/08/2026.
Claims 1-25 are currently pending and presented for examination.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s remarks and amendments filed on 01/08/2026 with respect to prior art rejection have been considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to the combination of the references being used in the current rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lius et al. (US Pub. No.: US 2022/0091690 A1), in view of Schubert et al. (US Pub. No.: US 2019/0206307 A1), and further in view of Tuan et al. (US Pub. No.: US 2019/0025620 A1 ).
Regarding claim 1, Lius et al discloses a vehicular display system (Para 30; Fig. 1; The display device may for example be applied to laptops, common displays, tiled displays, vehicle displays) , comprising:
at least one tile configured to be disposed in a vehicle to provide a display of information ( Para 30, para 45; Fig. 11; tiled displays ) , each of the at least one tile including:
a flexible substrate ( Par 30; the base layer BA may include a substrate SB; the base layer BA may be a flexible display panel; Fig. 2);
an array of light-emitting diodes (LEDs) disposed on the substantially transparent flexible substrate ( Para 30; the base layer BA may include a substrate SB, a circuit layer CL, light emitting unit(s) DU, a buffer layer BF ) ;
and at least one driver disposed on an edge of the at least one tile and configured to drive the LEDs of the sparse array of LEDs ( Par a35; the peripheral region PR of the electronic device ED may further include a display driver DD in addition to the sensing circuits SC and the sensing processor SP, wherein the display driver DD may for example be used to control the driving element(s) SW and drive the light emitting unit(s) DU to control the display function of the electronic device ED, but not limited thereto. In the present embodiment, as shown in FIG. 1, the display driver DD and the sensing circuits SC, and the sensing processor SP may be disposed at two opposite sides of the display region DR to improve the spatial configuration of the electronic device ED ) ;
and at least one processor configured to control the sparse array of LEDs of the at least one tile via substantially transparent electrical connections coupled to the at least one driver ( Para 34-35; the signal line SL1, the signal line SL2, the signal line SL3 and the signal line SL4 respectively electrically connected to the sensing electrode SE1, the sensing electrode SE2, the sensing electrode SE3 and the sensing electrode SE4 may be electrically connected to the sensing circuit SC1, the sensing circuit SC2, the sensing circuit SC3 and the sensing circuit SC4 respectively, and the signals detected by the sensing electrodes SE may be transmitted to the sensing circuits SC. the sensing circuits SC may be electrically connected to the sensing processor SP (not shown in FIG. 1) in the present embodiment, such that the sensing circuits SC may output corresponding signals to the sensing processor SP after the sensing circuits SC receive the signals from the sensing electrodes SE, but not limited thereto. The sensing processor SP may process the output signals from the sensing circuits SC to recognize the touch position or obtain the pattern of the fingerprint ). The peripheral region PR of the electronic device ED may further include a display driver DD in addition to the sensing circuits SC and the sensing processor SP, wherein the display driver DD may for example be used to control the driving element(s) SW and drive the light emitting unit(s) DU to control the display function of the electronic device ED) .
However, Lius et al. does not disclose a sparse array of light-emitting diode (LEDs).
Schubert et al. discloses a sparse array of light-emitting diode (LEDs) (Para 3; sparsely-arrayed micro-LED displays).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Lius et al. with the teaching of Schubert et al. to utilize sparse arrays of LEDS to project essential driving information directly onto the windshield to help drivers keep their eyes on the road and reduce distraction.
However, the combination of Lius et al. and Schubert et al. does not disclose
the flexible substrate is a substantially transparent, a rigid substantially transparent substrate adhered to the substantially transparent flexible substrate via an adhesive layer in which the sparse array of LEDs is encapsulated, the rigid substantially transparent substrate covering substantially an entirety of the substantially transparent flexible substrate, the adhesive layer being disposed between the LEDs of the sparse array of LEDs.
Tuan et al. discloses a substantially transparent flexible substrate (Para 29; Fig. 2; flexible layer 11 may include a plastic layer such as a polyimide (PI) layer, or a polyethylene terephthalate (PET) layer, or other suitable flexible materials; wherein PI layer is transparent) , a rigid substantially transparent substrate (Para 29; Fig. 2; The cover layer 30 may include a transparent layer, such as a glass layer or other suitable transparent materials) adhered (Para 29; the adhesive member 19 may surround the display unit 40, but not limited thereto. The adhesive member 19 may be used to combine the flexible layer 11 with the cover layer 30) to the substantially transparent flexible substrate (Para 29; Fig. 2; flexible layer 11 may include a plastic layer such as a polyimide (PI) layer, or a polyethylene terephthalate (PET) layer, or other suitable flexible materials; wherein PI layer is transparent) via an adhesive layer in which the array of LEDs is encapsulated ( Para 29; The display unit 40 is disposed on the flexible layer 11, the cover layer 30 is disposed on the display unit 40,therefore the display unit include a liquid crystal layer, an organic light emitting display (OLED), a light emitting diode (LED), a mini light emitting diode (mini LED), a micro light emitting diode (micro LED), an electro-wetting unit, electrophoretic unit, or other suitable types of display units are encapsulated by the flexible layer 11 and cover layer 30 ) , the rigid substantially transparent substrate covering substantially an entirety of the substantially transparent flexible substrate (Fig. 2; Para 29; The display unit 40 is disposed on the flexible layer 11, the cover layer 30 is disposed on the display unit 40, and the adhesive member 19 is disposed between the non-bending portion 11A of the flexible layer 11 and the cover layer 30 ), the adhesive layer being disposed between the LEDs of the sparse array of LEDs (Fig. 2; Para 29; wherein the display unit 40 may be disposed on the non-bending portion 11A of the flexible layer 11, and the adhesive member 19 may surround the display unit 40).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Lius et al. and Schubert et al. with the teaching of Tuan et al. to have both flexible layer that has a bending portion, rigid layer and adhesive member in order to have display unit disposed between the layers to reduce border area of the display device and enhance the actual screen and display size.
Claims 2,9, 11 , 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lius et al. (US Pub. No.: US 2022/0091690 A1 in view of Schubert et al. (US Pub. No.: US 2019/0206307 A1), and further in view of Tuan et al. (US Pub. No.: US 2019/0025620 A1 ), and further in view of Nolasco (US Pub. No.: US 2022/0343658 A1).
Regarding claim 2, Lius et al. discloses the at least one tile (Para 30, para 45; Fig. 11; tiled displays) .
However, Lius et al. does not disclose the tiled display is configured to be disposed on or within at least one location selected from locations including a front, rear, and side window of the vehicle to display information external to the vehicle.
Nolasco discloses the display is configured to be disposed on or within at least one location selected from locations including a front,
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Lius et al. with the teaching of Nolasco to dispose the LED display in the front of the car within driver’s view so that the driver can easily get access to the surrounding information from the display .
Regarding claim 11, Lius discloses light from the LEDs ( Para 30; The light emitting diode).
However, Lius does not disclose wherein light from the LEDs is configured to be emitted substantially parallel to a surface on which the vehicle is disposed.
Nolasco discloses light from the LEDs (Para 27; LED display) is configured to be emitted substantially parallel to a surface on which the vehicle is disposed (Fig. 2; display 110 ; Para 35; display 110 positioned on the dashboard 108; wherein when the LED display is installed on a dashboard, the light is emitted perpendicularly, or at a 90-degree angle, from the surface of the display which is in parallel to the surface on which the vehicle is disposed ) .
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Lius et al. with the teaching of Nolasco to install the LED display in the dashboard and emit light parallel to a surface on which the vehicle is disposed, so that the driver can view images displayed on the dashboard within his or her view to reduce distractions while driving.
Regarding claim 9 , Lius et al. discloses the at least one tile is configured to display vehicle information to an internal compartment of the vehicle ( Para 30; the electronic device ED may include display devices which can display static or dynamic images or screens according to the demands and operations of users in the present embodiment).
However, Lius et al. does not disclose the at least one tile is configured to be dis posed on or within multiple discrete locations of a front window of the vehicle.
Nolasco discloses display is configured to be dis posed on or within multiple discrete locations of a front window of the vehicle (Fig. 1; Para 35; display 110 is located on the front of the car, integrated with dashboard to display captured images, videos and audios on the display ) .
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Lius et al. with the teaching of Nolasco to dispose the LED display in the front of the car within driver’s view so that the driver can easily get access to the surrounding information from the display .
Regarding claim 18, Lius et al. discloses vehicular display system ( Para 30; Fig. 1; The display device may for example be applied to laptops, common displays, tiled displays, vehicle displays) , comprising:
a plurality of tiles configured to be disposed in a vehicle to provide a display of information external to the vehicle (Para 30, para 45; Fig. 11; tiled displays ; vehicle displays ) , each tile of the plurality of tiles including:
a flexible substrate ( Para 30; the base layer BA may include a substrate SB; the base layer BA may be a flexible display panel; Fig. 2) ;
a array of individually-controllable micro light-emitting diodes (microLEDs) disposed on the flexible substrate (Para 30-35; the base layer BA may include a substrate SB, a circuit layer CL, light emitting unit(s) DU, a buffer layer BF; The light emitting diode may for example include a mini light emitting diode (mini LED) or a micro light emitting diode (micro LED); display driver and sensing circuits and sensing processor to control and drive each of the light emitting units DU and control the display function ) ;
a rigid substrate coupled to the flexible substrate (Para 30; The substrate SB may include a flexible substrate, a rigid substrate or the combination of the above-mentioned substrates), the array of microLEDs being disposed between the flexible substrate and the rigid substrate ( Fig. 2; Para 30; wherein the light emitting unit(s) DU is located between substrate SB and encapsulation layer EN ) ;
and at least one driver configured to drive the microLEDs of the array of microLEDs (Para 35; The peripheral region PR of the electronic device ED may further include a display driver DD in addition to the sensing circuits SC and the sensing processor SP, wherein the display driver DD may for example be used to control the driving element(s) SW and drive the light emitting unit(s) DU to control the display function of the electronic device ED, but not limited thereto. In the present embodiment, as shown in FIG. 1, the display driver DD and the sensing circuits SC, and the sensing processor SP may be disposed at two opposite sides of the display region DR to improve the spatial configuration of the electronic device ED) ; and at least one processor control display by the plurality of tiles via electrical connections coupled to the drivers of the tiles (Para 34-35; the signal line SL1, the signal line SL2, the signal line SL3 and the signal line SL4 respectively electrically connected to the sensing electrode SE1, the sensing electrode SE2, the sensing electrode SE3 and the sensing electrode SE4 may be electrically connected to the sensing circuit SC1, the sensing circuit SC2, the sensing circuit SC3 and the sensing circuit SC4 respectively, and the signals detected by the sensing electrodes SE may be transmitted to the sensing circuits SC. the sensing circuits SC may be electrically connected to the sensing processor SP (not shown in FIG. 1) in the present embodiment, such that the sensing circuits SC may output corresponding signals to the sensing processor SP after the sensing circuits SC receive the signals from the sensing electrodes SE, but not limited thereto. The sensing processor SP may process the output signals from the sensing circuits SC to recognize the touch position or obtain the pattern of the fingerprint ). The peripheral region PR of the electronic device ED may further include a display driver DD in addition to the sensing circuits SC and the sensing processor SP, wherein the display driver DD may for example be used to control the driving element(s) SW and drive the light emitting unit(s) DU to control the display function of the electronic device ED ) .
However, Lius et al. does not disclose a sparse array of micro light-emitting diodes (microLEDs).
Schubert et al. discloses a sparse array of light-emitting diode (LEDs) (Para 3; sparsely-arrayed micro-LED displays).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Lius et al. with the teaching of Schubert et al. to utilize sparse arrays of LEDS to project essential driving information directly onto the windshield to help drivers keep their eyes on the road and reduce distraction.
However, the combination of Lius et al. and Schubert et al. does not teach the flexible substrate is substantially transparent, the array of microLEDS being disposed between the substantially transparent flexible substrate and the rigid substrate, rigid substrate covering substantially an entirety of the substantially transparent flexible substrate.
Tuan et al. discloses a flexible substrate is substantially transparent (Para 29; Fig. 2; flexible layer 11 may include a plastic layer such as a polyimide (PI) layer, or a polyethylene terephthalate (PET) layer, or other suitable flexible materials; wherein PI layer is transparent), the array of microLEDS being disposed between the substantially transparent flexible substrate and the rigid substrate (Para 29; Fig. 2; The display unit 40 is disposed on the flexible layer 11, the cover layer 30 is disposed on the display unit 40) ,the rigid substantially transparent substrate covering substantially an entirety of the substantially transparent flexible substrate (Fig. 2; Para 29; The display unit 40 is disposed on the flexible layer 11, the cover layer 30 is disposed on the display unit 40, and the adhesive member 19 is disposed between the non-bending portion 11A of the flexible layer 11 and the cover layer 30 ).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Lius et al. and Schubert et al. with the teaching of Tuan et al. to have both flexible layer that has a bending portion, rigid layer and adhesive member in order to have display unit disposed between the layers to reduce border area of the display device and enhance the actual screen and display size.
However, the combination of Lius et al. and Schubert et al. and Tuan et al. does not teach at least one processor configured to receive input from vehicle sensors and control display
Nolasco discloses at least one processor configured to receive input from vehicle sensors and control display (Para 27, 43; The processor 508 is a specialized processor for controlling operations of the electronic dashboard 108 and directly communicates with one or more ECUs 302 of the vehicle allowing the electronic dashboard 108 to collaborate with other functionalities of the vehicle. the vehicle safety system 100 includes a plurality of high definition and night vision cameras 102a-n and a plurality of microphones 104a-n installed on the exterior of the vehicle 106. The vehicle 106 can be any personal or commercial vehicle wherein the cameras 102a-n and the microphones 104a-n are positioned at appropriate positions (such as, but not limited to, in front, on side mirrors, at the back and more) on the vehicle 106 as illustrated in FIG. 2. The cameras 102a-n and the microphones 104a-n are coupled to an electronic dashboard 108 of the vehicle 106. The electronic dashboard 108 has at least one associated display 110 that is used for displaying captured images, videos, and audio obtained with cameras 102a-n and microphones 104a-n.)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Lius et al. with the teaching of Nolasco to receive input from the camera so that the vehicle display can display images accordingly to provide more information and improve drivers’ safety .
Claims 5, 6, 7,8,10, 20,21,24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lius et al. (US Pub. No.: US 2022/0091690 A1), in view of Schubert et al. (US Pub. No.: US 2019/0206307 A1), and further in view of Tuan et al. (US Pub. No.: US 2019/0025620 A1 ), and Warren (US Pub. No.: US 2022/0203898 A1).
Regarding claim 5, Lius et al. discloses the at least one tile of the display is configured to be disposed in a vehicle (Para 30, para 45; Fig. 11; tiled displays , vehicle displays).
However, Lius et al. does not disclose the at least one tile is configured to be disposed within a side window of the vehicle in a location corresponding to a view of a side mirror through the side window by an operator of the vehicle, and
the at least one tile is configured to provide side window information to replace visual information provided by the side mirror, the side window information being based on images provided by sensors in the vehicle.
Warren discloses the display is configured to be disposed within a side window of the vehicle in a location corresponding to a view of a side mirror through the side window by an operator of the vehicle (Para 5; built in video display on the side mirror), and
the display is configured to provide side window information to replace visual information provided by the side mirror, the side window information being based on images provided by sensors in the vehicle ( Para 21; A video display portion 9 is also located within the mirror housing 4, with the mirror 5 shaped around the video display portion 9 so that a driver can view both the mirror 5 and the video display portion 9 at the same time. The video display portion 9 is connected to the camera 2 to display the images captured by the camera thereon. The camera 2 and video display portion 9 are also connected to the vehicle's 7 turn signal so that the camera 2 and video display portion 9 automatically turn on when a turn signal indicator 8 is activated. ) .
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Lius et al. with the teaching of Warren to install tiled display as disclosed in Lius et al. in the side mirror so that the users can view images captured by the cameras through the video display for blind spots awareness and improve safety of the driver.
Regarding claim 6, Lius et al. discloses the sensors ( Para 3; One of the purposes of the present disclosure is to provide an electronic device including a plurality of sensors and a plurality of wires electrically connected to the sensors) .
However, the combination of Lius et al. and Schubert et al. and Tuan does not teach wherein the sensors include a camera disposed in a location of the side mirror.
Warren discloses the sensors include a camera disposed in a location of the side mirror (Para 20; a vehicle side mirror 1 with a built-in camera 2 operably located to capture images from the vehicles blind spot. The camera 2 is housed in a camera compartment 3 in the mirror housing 4, which surrounds and protects the mirror 5 and together with the mirror 5 forms the vehicle side mirror 1. The side mirror 1 is attached to the vehicle 7 by an arm 6. The mirror housing 4 includes one or more built-in signal blinkers and warning indicators 8a, 8b.).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Lius et al. with the teaching of Warren to install cameras in the side mirror so that the driver can easily see the images captured by the camera on the display to improve the vehicle’s blind spots and improve safety .
Regarding claim 7, Lius et al. discloses the sensors ( Para 3; One of the purposes of the present disclosure is to provide an electronic device including a plurality of sensors and a plurality of wires electrically connected to the sensors) .
However, the combination of Lius et al., Schubert et al. and Tuan does not teach wherein the sensors include a camera disposed at or near a rear of the vehicle.
Warren discloses the sensors include a camera disposed at or near a rear of the vehicle ( Para 23; the video display portion 9 may additionally be connected to display images from a backup camera 11 located at the back of the vehicle 7. The vehicle may have additional proximity sensor(s) 10 located around the vehicle 7 as needed to ensure all blind spots are covered by the camera 2 and any backup camera 11.) .
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Lius et al. with the teaching of Warren to install cameras at the back of the vehicle to ensure all blind spots are covered by the cameras and improve drivers’ safety.
Regarding claim 8, Lius et al. discloses the at least one tile of the display is configured to be disposed in a vehicle (Para 30, para 45; Fig. 11; tiled displays , vehicle displays).
However, Lius et al. does not disclose the at least one tile is configured to be disposed adjacent to a side window of the vehicle, and
the at least one tile is configured to provide side window information to replace visual information provided by a side mirror, the side window information being based on images provided by sensors in the vehicle.
Warren discloses the display configured to be disposed adjacent to a side window of the vehicle, (Para 5; built in video display on the side mirror ) , and
the display is configured to provide side window information to replace visual information provided by a side mirror, the side window information being based on images provided by sensors in the vehicle ( Para 21; A video display portion 9 is also located within the mirror housing 4, with the mirror 5 shaped around the video display portion 9 so that a driver can view both the mirror 5 and the video display portion 9 at the same time. The video display portion 9 is connected to the camera 2 to display the images captured by the camera thereon. The camera 2 and video display portion 9 are also connected to the vehicle's 7 turn signal so that the camera 2 and video display portion 9 automatically turn on when a turn signal indicator 8 is activated. ) .
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Lius et al. with the teaching of Warren to install tiled display as disclosed in Lius et al. in the side mirror which is adjacent to a side window of the vehicle so that the users can view images captured by the cameras through the video display for blind spots awareness and improve safety of the driver.
Regarding claim 10, Lius et al. discloses the at least one tile of the display is configured to be disposed in a vehicle (Para 30, para 45; Fig. 11; tiled displays , vehicle displays).
However, Lius et al. does not disclose the at least one tile is configured to be disposed on at least one panel of the vehicle.
Warren discloses the display is configured to be disposed on at least one panel of the vehicle ( Para 19;The side mirror has a built-in video display portion; wherein the side mirror and its surface are part of the panels of the vehicle) .
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Lius et al. with the teaching of Warren to install tiled display as disclosed in Lius et al. in the side mirror (part of the panels of the vehicle) which is adjacent to a side window of the vehicle so that the users can view images captured by the cameras through the video display for blind spots awareness and improve safety of the driver.
Regarding claim 20, Lius et al discloses A vehicular display system (Para 30; Fig. 1; The display device may for example be applied to laptops, common displays, tiled displays, vehicle displays) , comprising:
a plurality of tiles configured to be disposed in a vehicle to provide a display of information ( Para 30, para 45; Fig. 11; tiled displays), each tile of the plurality of tiles including:
a flexible substrate (Par 30; the base layer BA may include a substrate SB; the base layer BA may be a flexible display panel; Fig. 2);
an array of light-emitting diodes (LEDs) disposed on the flexible substrate ( Para 30; the base layer BA may include a substrate SB, a circuit layer CL, light emitting unit(s) DU, a buffer layer BF);
and at least one driver disposed on an edge of the tile and configured to drive the LEDs of the array of LEDs ( Par a35; The peripheral region PR of the electronic device ED may further include a display driver DD in addition to the sensing circuits SC and the sensing processor SP, wherein the display driver DD may for example be used to control the driving element(s) SW and drive the light emitting unit(s) DU to control the display function of the electronic device ED, but not limited thereto. In the present embodiment, as shown in FIG. 1, the display driver DD and the sensing circuits SC, and the sensing processor SP may be disposed at two opposite sides of the display region DR to improve the spatial configuration of the electronic device ED ) ;
and at least one processor configured to control the sparse array of LEDs of the at least one tile via electrical connections coupled to the at least one driver ( Para 34-35; the signal line SL1, the signal line SL2, the signal line SL3 and the signal line SL4 respectively electrically connected to the sensing electrode SE1, the sensing electrode SE2, the sensing electrode SE3 and the sensing electrode SE4 may be electrically connected to the sensing circuit SC1, the sensing circuit SC2, the sensing circuit SC3 and the sensing circuit SC4 respectively, and the signals detected by the sensing electrodes SE may be transmitted to the sensing circuits SC. the sensing circuits SC may be electrically connected to the sensing processor SP (not shown in FIG. 1) in the present embodiment, such that the sensing circuits SC may output corresponding signals to the sensing processor SP after the sensing circuits SC receive the signals from the sensing electrodes SE, but not limited thereto. The sensing processor SP may process the output signals from the sensing circuits SC to recognize the touch position or obtain the pattern of the fingerprint ). The peripheral region PR of the electronic device ED may further include a display driver DD in addition to the sensing circuits SC and the sensing processor SP, wherein the display driver DD may for example be used to control the driving element(s) SW and drive the light emitting unit(s) DU to control the display function of the electronic device ED) .
However, Lius et al does not disclose a sparse array of light-emitting diodes (LEDs).
Schubert et al. discloses a sparse array of light-emitting diode (LEDs) (Para 3; sparsely-arrayed micro-LED displays).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Lius et al. with the teaching of Schubert et al. to utilize sparse arrays of LEDS to project essential driving information directly onto the windshield to help drivers keep their eyes on the road and reduce distraction.
However, the combination of Lius and Schubert et al. does not teach the
flexible substrate is substantially transparent; furthermore , Lius et al does not disclose a rigid substantially transparent substrate adhered to the substantially transparent flexible substrate via an adhesive layer in which the sparse array of LEDs is encapsulated, the rigid substrate covering substantially an entirety of the substantially transparent flexible substrate, the adhesive layer being disposed between the LEDs of the array of LEDS.
Tuan et al. discloses a substantially transparent flexible substrate (Para 29; Fig. 2; flexible layer 11 may include a plastic layer such as a polyimide (PI) layer, or a polyethylene terephthalate (PET) layer, or other suitable flexible materials; wherein PI layer is transparent) , a rigid substantially transparent substrate (Para 29; Fig. 2; The cover layer 30 may include a transparent layer, such as a glass layer or other suitable transparent materials) adhered (Para 29; the adhesive member 19 may surround the display unit 40, but not limited thereto. The adhesive member 19 may be used to combine the flexible layer 11 with the cover layer 30) to the substantially transparent flexible substrate (Para 29; Fig. 2; flexible layer 11 may include a plastic layer such as a polyimide (PI) layer, or a polyethylene terephthalate (PET) layer, or other suitable flexible materials; wherein PI layer is transparent) via an adhesive layer in which the array of LEDs is encapsulated ( Para 29; The display unit 40 is disposed on the flexible layer 11, the cover layer 30 is disposed on the display unit 40,therefore the display unit include a liquid crystal layer, an organic light emitting display (OLED), a light emitting diode (LED), a mini light emitting diode (mini LED), a micro light emitting diode (micro LED), an electro-wetting unit, electrophoretic unit, or other suitable types of display units are encapsulated by the flexible layer 11 and cover layer 30 ) , the rigid substrate covering substantially an entirety of the substantially transparent flexible substrate (Fig. 2; Para 29; The display unit 40 is disposed on the flexible layer 11, the cover layer 30 is disposed on the display unit 40, and the adhesive member 19 is disposed between the non-bending portion 11A of the flexible layer 11 and the cover layer 30 ), the adhesive layer being disposed between the LEDs of the sparse array of LEDs (Fig. 2; Para 29; wherein the display unit 40 may be disposed on the non-bending portion 11A of the flexible layer 11, and the adhesive member 19 may surround the display unit 40).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Lius et al. and Schubert et al. with the teaching of Tuan et al. to have both flexible layer that has a bending portion, rigid layer and adhesive member in order to have display unit disposed between the layers to reduce border area of the display device and enhance the actual screen and display size.
However, the combination of Lius et al., Schubert et al. and Tuan et al. does not teach “provide a display of information external to the vehicle”.
Warren discloses provide a display of information external to the vehicle (Para 19;The side mirror has a built-in video display portion; wherein the side mirror and its surface are part of the panels of the vehicle. Para 21; A video display portion 9 is also located within the mirror housing 4, with the mirror 5 shaped around the video display portion 9 so that a driver can view both the mirror 5 and the video display portion 9 at the same time. The video display portion 9 is connected to the camera 2 to display the images captured by the camera thereon. The camera 2 and video display portion 9 are also connected to the vehicle's 7 turn signal so that the camera 2 and video display portion 9 automatically turn on when a turn signal indicator 8 is activated).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Lius et al. with the teaching of Warren to receive input from the vehicle cameras so that the vehicle display can display images accordingly to provide information external to the vehicle that is related to the surrounding of the camera to improve drivers’ safety.
Regarding claim 21, Lius et al. discloses the plurality of tiles of the display disposed in a vehicle (Para 30, para 45; Fig. 11; tiled displays , vehicle displays).
However, Lius et al. does not disclose the plurality of tiles are disposed on or within at least one window of the vehicle or on at least one panel of the vehicle.
Warren discloses the display is disposed on or within at least one window of the vehicle or on at least one panel of the vehicle ( Para 19;The side mirror has a built-in video display portion; wherein the side mirror and its surface can be considered as part of the panels of the vehicle) .
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Lius et al. with the teaching of Warren to install tiled display as disclosed in Lius et al. in the side mirror (part of the panels of the vehicle) which is adjacent to a side window of the vehicle so that the users can view images captured by the cameras through the video display for blind spots awareness and improve safety of the driver.
Regarding claim 24, Lius et al. discloses the at least one tile of the plurality of tiles of the display is configured to be disposed in a vehicle (Para 30, para 45; Fig. 11; tiled displays , vehicle displays).
However, Lius et al. does not disclose the at least one tile of the plurality of tiles is configured to be disposed within a side window of the vehicle in a location corresponding to a view of a side mirror through the side window by an operator of the vehicle, and
the at least one tile is configured to provide side window information to replace visual information provided by the side mirror, the side window information being based on images provided by sensors in the vehicle, the sensors including at least one of a first camera disposed in a location of the side mirror and a second camera disposed at or near a rear of the vehicle.
Warren discloses the display is configured to be disposed within a side window of the vehicle in a location corresponding to a view of a side mirror through the side window by an operator of the vehicle (Para 5; built in video display on the side mirror), and
the display is configured to provide side window information to replace visual information provided by the side mirror, the side window information being based on images provided by sensors in the vehicle , the sensors including at least one of a first camera disposed in a location of the side mirror and a second camera disposed at or near a rear of the vehicle( Para 21; A video display portion 9 is also located within the mirror housing 4, with the mirror 5 shaped around the video display portion 9 so that a driver can view both the mirror 5 and the video display portion 9 at the same time. The video display portion 9 is connected to the camera 2 to display the images captured by the camera thereon. The camera 2 and video display portion 9 are also connected to the vehicle's 7 turn signal so that the camera 2 and video display portion 9 automatically turn on when a turn signal indicator 8 is activated. Para 19;The side mirror has a built-in video display portion; wherein the side mirror and its surface can be considered as part of the panels of the vehicle. Para 23; the video display portion 9 may additionally be connected to display images from a backup camera 11 located at the back of the vehicle 7. The vehicle may have additional proximity sensor(s) 10 located around the vehicle 7 as needed to ensure all blind spots are covered by the camera 2 and any backup camera 11.).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Lius et al. with the teaching of Warren to install tiled display as disclosed in Lius et al. in the side mirror and display captured image data from the built in camera so that the users can view images captured by the cameras through the video display for blind spots awareness and improve safety of the driver.
Regarding claim 25, Lius et al. discloses the at least one tile of the plurality of tiles of the display is configured to be disposed in a vehicle (Para 30, para 45; Fig. 11; tiled displays , vehicle displays).
However, Lius et al. does not disclose the at least one tile of the plurality of tiles is configured to be disposed adjacent to a side window of the vehicle, and
the at least one tile is configured to provide side window information to replace visual information provided by the side mirror, the side window information being based on images provided by sensors in the vehicle, the sensors including at least one of a first camera disposed in a location of the side mirror and a second camera disposed at or near a rear of the vehicle.
Warren discloses the display the at least one tile of the plurality of tiles is configured to be disposed adjacent to a side window of the vehicle
( Para 5; built in video display on the side mirror ) , and
the display is configured to provide side window information to replace visual information provided by a side mirror, the side window information being based on images provided by sensors in the vehicle , the sensors including at least one of a first camera disposed in a location of the side mirror and a second camera disposed at or near a rear of the vehicle (Para 21; A video display portion 9 is also located within the mirror housing 4, with the mirror 5 shaped around the video display portion 9 so that a driver can view both the mirror 5 and the video display portion 9 at the same time. The video display portion 9 is connected to the camera 2 to display the images captured by the camera thereon. The camera 2 and video display portion 9 are also connected to the vehicle's 7 turn signal so that the camera 2 and video display portion 9 automatically turn on when a turn signal indicator 8 is activated. Para 19;The side mirror has a built-in video display portion; wherein the side mirror and its surface can be considered as part of the panels of the vehicle. Para 23; the video display portion 9 may additionally be connected to display images from a backup camera 11 located at the back of the vehicle 7. The vehicle may have additional proximity sensor(s) 10 located around the vehicle 7 as needed to ensure all blind spots are covered by the camera 2 and any backup camera 11.)) .
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Lius et al. with the teaching of Warren to install tiled display as disclosed in Lius et al. in the side mirror and display captured image data from the built in camera so that the users can view images captured by the cameras through the video display for blind spots awareness and improve safety of the driver.
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lius et al. (US Pub. No.: US 2022/0091690 A1), in view of Schubert et al. (US Pub. No.: US 2019/0206307 A1), and further in view of Tuan et al. (US Pub. No.: US 2019/0025620 A1).
Regarding claim 12, the combination of Lius et al. and Jepsen et al. does not teach wherein the LEDs include one or more optical elements that adjust an angle of emission of the LEDs from a substantially normal angle to an angle such that light from the LEDs is configured to be emitted substantially parallel to a surface on which the vehicle is disposed.
Massand discloses wherein the LEDs include one or more optical elements that adjust an angle of emission of the LEDs from a substantially normal angle to an angle such that light from the LEDs is configured to be emitted substantially parallel to a surface on which the vehicle is disposed (Para 7, 55; Each image element (e.g., LED) may be configured with a movable mount included on flexible substrates that can be mechanically, magnetically and/or electronically moved to emit the signals in selected directions. In another embodiment, subsets of the image elements may be controlled such that a group of image elements (e.g., one or more rows or columns of LEDs) may be physically adjusted to adjust the angle of emission of the signals emitted by the image elements in the group. processor system 150 (or processor(s) 101) may produce signals that control the angle of image elements 106 by instructing components (not shown) to mechanically, magnetically and/or electronically adjust the position of each image element mount 115. For example, processor system 150 may produce signals to instruct the components to rotate each image element mount 115 a particular angle about an axis in the y-direction as shown in FIG. 5).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Lius et al. with the teaching of Massand to adjust an angle of emission of the LEDs to limit the ability for other users besides the driver to view content on the displays (from different angles) for privacy purpose.
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lius et al. (US Pub. No.: US 2022/0091690 A1), in view of Schubert et al. (US Pub. No.: US 2019/0206307 A1), and further in view of Tuan et al. (US Pub. No.: US 2019/0025620 A1 ), and (US Pub. No.: US 2013/0154969 A1).
Regarding claim 14, the combination of Lius et al. and Jepsen et al. teaches the at least one tile of the display is configured to be disposed in a vehicle (Para 30, para 45; Fig. 11; tiled displays , vehicle displays).
However, the combination of Lius et al. Schubert and Tuan does not teach wherein at least one tile includes a user input configured to adjust information provided by the at least one of the at least one tile and configured to be displayed to at least one of an interior of the vehicle and an exterior of the vehicle.
Guenin discloses wherein at least one tile includes a user input configured to adjust information provided by the at least one of the at least one tile and configured to be displayed to at least one of an interior of the vehicle and an exterior of the vehicle ( Para 2, 42; Motor vehicle control and display devices comprise a display screen for displaying information or control data. These screens may be covered by a transparent touch-sensitive tile allowing the users of the vehicle to input commands. The touch-sensitive tile 2 is superposed on the screen and comprises a resistive sensor or a capacitive sensor, the one or the other being at least partially transparent, so that a user can input commands. In the case of a resistive sensor, the latter comprises a main panel and a secondary panel, these two panels being made of glass, the secondary panel being thinner than the main panel. The display can be used to display information or control data; therefore, the information is displayed to user /driver inside of the vehicle) .
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Lius et al. with the teaching of Guenin to provide touch-sensitive tile on the display for the user to input commands and control and adjust the information to be displayed.
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lius et al. (US Pub. No.: US 2022/0091690 A1), in view of Schubert et al. (US Pub. No.: US 2019/0206307 A1), and further in view of Tuan et al. (US Pub. No.: US 2019/0025620 A1 ) and Kim et al. (US Pub. No.: US 2022/0118851 A1).
Regarding claim 15, Lius et al. discloses information provided by the at least one tile (Para 30, para 45; Fig. 11; tiled displays ) .
However, Lius et al. does not disclose wherein information provided by the at least one tile is configured to be adjusted by a remote user input on a mobile device and configured to be displayed to at least one of an interior of the vehicle and an exterior of the vehicle.
Kim et al. discloses wherein information provided by the display is configured to be adjusted by a remote user input on a mobile device and configured to be displayed to at least one of an interior of the vehicle and an exterior of the vehicle ( Para 14; the vehicle information display apparatus and method may enable a user to perform a pre-setting operation on the internal display of a vehicle through a mobile phone app interworking with a vehicle device, control the internal display to display a driving safety pop-up screen, set/remove a focus on the internal display screen, control the internal display screen according to voice recognition or independent mode setting, and control the mobile phone screen for each driving speed, thereby increasing the user's convenience.) .
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Lius et al. with the teaching of Kim et al. to change information displayed by the tiles disclosed in Lius et al. by using remote control (mobile phone ) as disclosed in Kim et al. in order to remotely control display setting and information to increase users’ convenience.
Allowable Subject Matter
3. Claims 3,4,13,16,17,19,22,23 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 3, Nolasco discloses the display is configured to be disposed on or within at least one location selected from locations including a front,
However, the prior art does not disclose “ the at least one tile includes:
a first tile configured to display first information external to the vehicle; and
a second tile having a second emission surface configured to display
second information to an internal compartment of the vehicle” in combination of other limitation in the claim.
Claim 4 is objected to as being dependent from claim 3.
Regarding claim 13, Lius et al. discloses the vehicular display system of lcaim 1, further comprising a sensor (Para 3; One of the purposes of the present disclosure is to provide an electronic device including a plurality of sensors and a plurality of wires electrically connected to the sensors ) .
However, the prior art does not teach “ The vehicular display system of claim 1, further comprising a sensor that, with the processor, is configured to detect presence of a viewer and an angle of peak intensity to increase a display of information projected by the at least one tile to the viewer, and at least one of mechanically and optically adjust the angle accordingly,
wherein the display of information is configured to be projected at least one direction selected from directions including: external to the vehicle and the viewer outside the vehicle, and internal to the vehicle and the viewer inside the vehicle” in combination of other limitation in the claim.
Regarding claim 16, Lius et al. discloses the at least one tile is configured to display vehicle information to an internal compartment of the vehicle ( Para 30; the electronic device ED may include display devices which can display static or dynamic images or screens according to the demands and operations of users in the present embodiment).
However, the prior art does not disclose “wherein the at least one tile further includes a blocking layer disposed between the sparse array of LEDs and an outer surface of the at least one tile, the blocking layer configured to convey information by controlling different portions of the blocking layer to substantially block light from specific LEDs from being emitted from the outer surfaces” in combination of other limitation in the claim.
Regarding claim 17, Lius et al. discloses the at least one tile is configured to display vehicle information to an internal compartment of the vehicle ( Para 30; the electronic device ED may include display devices which can display static or dynamic images or screens according to the demands and operations of users in the present embodiment).
However, the prior art does not disclose “wherein the at least one tile further includes a blocking layer disposed between the sparse array of LEDs and an outer surface of the at least one tile, the blocking layer configured to increase contrast of information conveyed by the at least one tile by outlining alphanumeric information projected from the sparse array of LEDs in a dark penumbra” in combination of other limitation in the claim.
Regarding claim 19, Lius et al. discloses the plurality of tiles includes a first tile and a second tile adjacent to the first tile (Para 30, para 45; Fig. 11; tiled displays).
However, the prior art does not disclose “ the microLEDs within each of the first tile and the second tile are separated by a substantially uniform distance in substantially orthogonal directions, the microLEDs at a common edge of the first tile and the second tile are separated by the uniform distance, and the at least one driver includes:
a first driver disposed along an edge of the first tile substantially perpendicular to the common edge and configured to drive the first tile, and
a second driver configured to drive the second tile, the second driver adjacent to the first driver and disposed along an edge of the second tile substantially perpendicular to the common edge” in combination of other limitation in the claim.
Regarding claim 22, Lius et al. discloses where the plurality of tiles includes a first tile and a second tile ( Para 30, para 45; Fig. 11; tiled displays).
However, the prior art does not disclose “a first tile configured to display first information external to the vehicle; and
a second tile having a second emission surface configured to display second information to an internal compartment of the vehicle” in combination of other limitation in the claim.
Claim 23 is objected to as being dependent from claim 22.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/XI WANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2637