DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “bottom wall axially overlapping the axially external annular surface of the radially inner ring of the bearing unit” of claim 1 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-12, 21 and 35-39 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 1 now recites “bottom wall axially overlapping the axially external annular surface of the radially inner ring of the bearing unit”. This feature was not described in the specification or shown in the drawings as originally filed. The bottom wall element is 61 and is shown in Fig. 2. Element 61 does not “axially overlap” the radial inner ring in any way. For element 61 to axially overlap any portion of the inner ring, including the axial end surfaces thereof, element 61 must occupy the same position as the inner ring. At most, element 61 abuts the axial end surface of the inner ring, but does not overlap it. The bottom wall element 61 does radially overlap the inner ring since at least a portion of the inner ring and a portion of the bottom wall element 61 occupy the same radial point.
Claims 1-12, 21 and 35-39 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites “a bottom wall axially overlapping the axially external annular surface of the radially inner ring”.
Claim 37 recites “generally parallel”. The term “generally” is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “generally” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. It is unclear which angles and geometries would be considered “generally parallel” and which would not.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 5-6, 21, 35 and 37-39 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Dickey U.S. 2,908,536.
Re clm 1, Dickey discloses a support assembly for a shaft (32, Fig. 1), comprising: a bearing unit (Fig. 1) configured to receive the shaft, the bearing unit comprising: a radially inner ring (14) comprising an axially external annular surface (for example, 52); and a radially outer ring (16) comprising an axially external annular surface (38); and a cover (10) comprising: a bottom wall (58, Fig. 2) axially overlapping the axially external annular surface of the radially inner ring of the bearing unit (58 ‘axially overlaps’ 52); a side wall (central portion of seal 10) integrally connected to the bottom wall; and an engaging portion (63) extending from a distal end of the side wall; wherein the cover is anchored to the radially inner ring, and wherein between the axially external annular surface of the outer ring and the engaging portion of the cover a dynamic seal is formed (via 38 and 63); wherein the cover bounds an internal space on a bearing unit side of the dynamic seal and bounds an external space on an exterior side of the dynamic seal, the cover being impervious to fluid to prevent passage of fluid from the external space to the internal space through the cover.
Re clm 5, Dickey further discloses the cover further comprises a circular opening in the bottom wall configured to receive the shaft of the support assembly (shaft 32 passes through central hole 58 of seal 10).
Re clm 6, Dickey further discloses the dynamic seal is a sliding contact seal (shown in Fig. 1).
Re clm 21, Dickey further discloses the dynamic seal is a fluid-tight seal (shown in Fig. 1).
Re clm 35, Dickey further discloses the bottom wall of the cover engages the axially external annular surface of the radially inner ring of the bearing unit (58 abuts 52).
Re clm 37, Dickey further discloses the side wall (including potion of seal that extend to left from 58) of the cover extends from the bottom wall in a direction that is generally parallel to an axis of rotation of the bearing unit.
Re clm 38, Dickey further discloses the engaging portion includes a tip (end of 53, Fig. 2) having an axial end surface facing the axially external annular surface of the radially outer ring of the bearing unit (as shown in Fig. 1), the dynamic seal being formed between the axially external annular surface of the outer ring and the axial end surface of the tip.
Re clm 39, Dickey further discloses the axial end surface of the tip is in sliding contact with the axially external annular surface of the outer ring.
Claims 1, 5-6, 21, 35 and 37-39 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Tsujimoto JP-H08303473.
Re clm 1, Tsujimoto discloses a support assembly (Fig. 1 and 4) for a shaft (9) comprising: a bearing unit (1-4) configured to receive the shaft, the bearing unit comprising: a radially inner ring (1) comprising an axially external annular surface (at 6b, Fig. 1); and a radially outer ring (2) comprising an axially external annular surface (where 7 contacts 2); and a cover (5) comprising: a bottom wall (6b) axially overlapping the axially external annular surface of the radially inner ring of the bearing unit; a side wall (including 6a) integrally connected to the bottom wall; and an engaging portion (7) extending from a distal end of the side wall; wherein the cover is anchored to the radially inner ring; and wherein between the axially external annular surface of the outer ring and the engaging portion of the cover a dynamic seal (where 7 contacts 2) is formed; wherein the cover bounds an internal space on a bearing unit side of the dynamic seal and bounds an external space on an exterior side of the dynamic seal, the cover being impervious to fluid to prevent passage of fluid from the external space to the internal space through the cover.
Re clm 5, Tsujimoto further discloses the cover further comprises a circular opening (radially inner end of 6b, Fig. 1; radially inner end of 52, Fig. 4) in the bottom wall configured to receive the shaft of the support assembly.
Re clm 6, Tsujimoto further discloses the dynamic seal is a sliding contact seal (shown in Fig. 1 and 4).
Re clm 21, Tsujimoto further discloses the dynamic seal is a fluid-tight seal (shown in Fig. 1).
Re clm 35, Tsujimoto further discloses the bottom wall of the cover engages the axially external annular surface of the radially inner ring of the bearing unit (shown in Fig. 1 and 4).
Re clm 37, Tsujimoto further discloses the side wall (where 6a points, Fig. 1) of the cover extends from the bottom wall in a direction that is generally parallel to an axis of rotation of the bearing unit.
Re clm 38, Tsujimoto further discloses the engaging portion includes a tip (end of 7) having an axial end surface facing the axially external annular surface of the radially outer ring of the bearing unit (as shown in Fig. 1), the dynamic seal being formed between the axially external annular surface of the outer ring and the axial end surface of the tip.
Re clm 39, Tsujimoto further discloses the axial end surface of the tip is in sliding contact with the axially external annular surface of the outer ring (shown in Fig. 1 and 4).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tsujimoto JP-H08303473 as applied to claim 3 above, and further in view of Ishikawa JP 2008-039142.
Tsujimoto discloses all the claimed subject matter as described above.
Re clm 7, Tsujimoto does not disclose the dynamic seal is a labyrinth seal.
Ishikawa teaches contact seals and labyrinth seals as equivalents (Fig. 1 and 4).
Since both Tsujimoto and Ishikawa disclose seals for bearings, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to substitute the seal type of Tsujimoto with any well-known equivalent, such as the labyrinth seal type of Ishikawa to provide the dynamic seal is a labyrinth seal to achieve the predictable result of sealing the bearing. Furthermore, providing a labyrinth seal is known to reduce bearing torque since it eliminates a source of friction.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dickey U.S. 2,908,536 as applied to claim 1 above.
Dickey discloses all the claimed subject matter as described above.
Re clm 9, Dickey does not disclose a radial thickness of the engaging portion comprises between 1.5 mm and 3 mm.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Dickey and provide a radial thickness of the engaging portion comprises between 1.5 mm and 3 mm, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). See MPEP 2144.05(II)(A). Lip thickness for a seal is a well-known result effective variable. For example, it is well-known that if the lip is too thick, then the excessive wear and friction occur since the lip does not flex appropriately to make contact with the opposing sealing surface. On the other hand, if the lip is too thin, it becomes easy for the lip to deform and then debris can easily pass the lip.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tsujimoto JP-H08303473 as applied to claim 1 above, further in view of Shaikh U.S. 2017/0198754.
Tsujimoto discloses all the claimed subject matter as described above.
Re clm 10, Tsujimoto does not disclose the cover is made of thermoplastic polyurethane.
Shaikh teaches a seal made of thermoplastic polyurethane ([0043]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to substitute the resin of Tsujimoto with that of the thermoplastic polyurethane of Shaikh, since it has been held that the selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended purpose would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art. Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp., 325 U.S. 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1945). See MPEP § 2144.07.
Claims 11 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tsujimoto JP-H08303473 as applied to claim 9 above, further in view of Orlowski U.S. 5,221,095.
Tsujimoto discloses all the claimed subject matter as described above.
Re clm 11 and 12, Tsujimoto does not disclose a hardness of the engaging portion is between 55 Shore A and 60 Shore A [clm 11] or the hardness is 55 Shore A [clm 12].
Orlowski teaches seal elements in which the seal has a Shore A hardness between 55 and 60 (col. 5: lines 8-11) or the hardness is 55 Shore A so that the seal is resiliently deformable.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the material of Tsujimoto to have a hardness of the engaging portion is between 55 Shore A and 60 Shore A or the hardness is 55 Shore A so that the seal is resiliently deformable.
Claims 16 and 42-44 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Umemoto JP H08-226447 in view of Sone U.S. 9,506,554.
Re clm 16, Umemoto discloses a cover (Fig. 2b) for a bearing unit, the cover comprising: a bottom wall (11a1) comprising an opening (into which inner ring 6a fits); a side wall (11a) integrally connected to the bottom wall; an engaging portion (11b) extending from a distal end of the side wall and configured to form a dynamic seal with a radially outer ring of a bearing unit, wherein the cover is impervious to fluid to prevent passage of fluid from one side of the cover to the other side of the cover through the cover.
Umemoto does not disclose a plurality of teeth configured to secure the cover to a radially inner ring of the bearing unit.
Sone discloses a seal mounting comprising a plurality of teeth (24a, Fig. 1 and 4b) configured to secure the cover to a radially inner ring of the bearing unit.
Since both Umemoto and Sone disclose fastening a seal to a bearing inner ring, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to substitute the fasting means of Umemoto with any well-known fastening means, such as that of Sone and provide a plurality of teeth configured to secure the cover to a radially inner ring of the bearing unit to achieve the predictable result of securely fastening the seal to the bearing.
Re clm 42, the improvement of Sone further discloses each tooth of the plurality of teeth is spaced axially apart from the bottom wall (24a are spaced from 24b).
Re clm 43, the improvement of Sone further discloses each tooth of the plurality of teeth extends radially inward from the sidewall (as shown in Fig. 2a).
Re clm 44, the improvement of Sone further discloses the bottom wall has an annular shape and the side wall has a cylindrical shape (shown in Fig. 2-4; having an annular shape does not mean the wall is continuous).
Claims 17 and 41 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Umemoto JP H08-226447 as applied to claim 16 above, further in view of Orlowski U.S. 5,221,095.
Umemoto discloses all the claimed subject matter as described above.
Re clm 17 and 41, Umemoto does not disclose a hardness of the engaging portion is between 55 Shore A and 60 Shore A [clm 17] or the engaging portion has a hardness of 55 Shore A [clm 41].
Orlowski teaches seal elements in which the seal has a Shore A hardness between 55 and 60 (col. 5: lines 8-11) so that the seal is resiliently deformable.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the material of Umemoto to have a hardness of the engaging portion is between 55 Shore A and 60 Shore A or is 55 Shore A so that the seal is resiliently deformable.
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Umemoto JP H08-226447 as applied to claim 1 above.
Umemoto discloses all the claimed subject matter as described above.
Re clm 18, Umemoto does not disclose a radial thickness of the engaging portion comprises between 1.5 mm and 3 mm.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Umemoto and provide a radial thickness of the engaging portion comprises between 1.5 mm and 3 mm, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). See MPEP 2144.05(II)(A). Lip thickness for a seal is a well-known result effective variable. For example, it is well-known that if the lip is too thick, then the excessive wear and friction occur since the lip does not flex appropriately to make contact with the opposing sealing surface. On the other hand, if the lip is too thin, it becomes easy for the lip to deform and then debris can easily pass the lip.
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Umemoto JP H08-226447 as applied to claim 16 above, further in view of Shaikh U.S. 2017/0198754.
Umemoto discloses all the claimed subject matter as described above.
Re clm 19, Umemoto does not disclose the cover is made of thermoplastic polyurethane.
Shaikh teaches a seal made of thermoplastic polyurethane ([0043]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to substitute the resin of Umemoto with that of the thermoplastic polyurethane of Shaikh, since it has been held that the selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended purpose would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art. Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp., 325 U.S. 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1945). See MPEP § 2144.07.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-4, 8 and 36 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 13-15, 22-34 and 40 are allowed.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 30 September 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that none of the references disclose the features of claim 1, however, this is incorrect. Applicant’s amendments to the claims have introduced 112(b) issues into the claims. Still further, Dickey discloses the newly amended features since any surface that faces axially outward can be considered an “axially external annular surface”. Furthermore, portions of the cover/seal of Dickey axially overlap surface 52 of the inner ring.
In order to expedite prosecution, the claims have also been rejected based on Tsujimoto who discloses a similar bottom wall feature as that of the invention.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ALAN B WAITS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3617