DETAILED ACTION
Functional Language
Remarks regarding functional language:
Language in an apparatus or product claim directed to the function, operation, intent-of-use, and materials upon which the components of the structure work that does not structurally limit the components or patentably differentiate the claimed apparatus or product from an otherwise identical prior art structure will not support patentability. See, e.g., In re Rishoi, 197 F.2d 342, 344-45 (CCPA 1952); In re Otto, 312 F.2d 937, 939-40
(CCPA 1963); In re Ludtke, 441 F.2d 660,663-64 (CCPA 1971); In re Yanush, 477 F.2d 958,959 (CCPA 1973). The patentability of an apparatus claim depends only on the claimed structure, not on the use or purpose of that structure, Catalina Mktg. Int'l, Inc. v. Coolsavings.com, Inc., 289 F.3d 801, 809 (Fed. Cir. 2002), or the function or result of that structure. In re Oanly, 263 F.2d 844,848 (CCPA 1959). Please also see M.P.E.P.
2114[R-1].
In regards to claim 9, the following limitations “wherein a replacement notification of the concentration measuring device is provided according to a degree of aging of the measurement photodiode sensor or the reference
photodiode sensor” is understood to be functional:
The limitation describes purpose, function, operation, or intent -of-use of providing a replacement notification of photodiodes after light has been received from both photodiodes. However, the claim does not disclose a sufficient structure which supports the function. Examiner notes the notification is an intended result of that is accomplished by the light source. In this case, there is no limit imposed on how the claimed language obtains the result. Since Kangas and Action Lab show an identical structure as claimed, namely a light source, the Examiner submits that the light sources of Kangas and Action Lab are capable of producing the claimed results.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “a measurement unit configured to receive” & “a reference measurement unit configured to receive” in claims 1,7, & 9.
Applicant recites the reference/measurement unit comprises a photodiode sensor and lens (claim 2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 4, & 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kangas US 10801950.
With respect to claim 1, Kangas teaches a concentration measuring device comprising:
a light-emitting unit (fig 1, 102) comprising a first light source configured to generate measurement light;
a measurement unit (fig 1, 130) configured to receive first measurement light that is part of the measurement light and that passes through a sample that is a measurement target; and
a reference measurement unit (fig 1, 132) configured to receive second measurement light that is part of the measurement light and that does not pass through the sample,
wherein the concentration measuring device is configured to measure a concentration of a chemical material in the sample (fig 1, 120) by measuring an amount of light absorbed by the sample based on an amount of light detected by the measurement unit “sample absorption” and an amount of light detected “reference absorption” by the reference measurement unit (fig 2, 222).
With respect to claim 4 according to claim 1, Kangas teaches the concentration measuring device further comprising a spectroscopic unit (fig 1, 110) disposed between the light-emitting unit and the sample and configured to separate the measurement light into the first measurement light and the second measurement wherein the spectroscopic unit is a beam splitter configured to transmit the first measurement light and reflect the second measurement light.
With respect to claim 6 according to claim 4, Kangas teaches the concentration measuring device
further comprising a reflection mirror (fig 1, 112) disposed between the beam splitter and the reference measurement unit and configured to direct the second measurement light to the reference measurement unit.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 & 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kangas US 10801950 in view of Kolensnychenko WO 2007113727.
With respect to claim 2 according to claim 1, Kangas does not teach a measurement photodiode sensor and a first lens configured to focus the light on the measurement photodiode sensor.
Kolensnychenko, in the same field of endeavor as Kangas of absorption spectroscopy (pg. 5, ¶ 1, lines 8-10), teaches a first lens (fig 1, 11) is configured to focus light onto a photodiode sensor (fig 1, 13) from a sample (pg. 6, ¶ 1, lines 17-20). At the time prior to the effective filing date of the invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to substitute Kangas’s measurement unit with Kolensychenko’s photodiode sensor and lens as a functional equivalent for capturing light from a sample for concentration measurements.
With respect to claim 3 according to claim 2, Kangas does not teach a reference photodiode sensor configured to receive the second measurement light; and a second lens configured to focus the second measurement light on the reference photodiode sensor.
Kolensnychenko, in the same field of endeavor as Kangas of absorption spectroscopy (pg. 5, ¶ 1, lines 8-10), teaches a first lens (fig 1, 11) is configured to focus light onto a photodiode sensor (fig 1, 13) from a sample (pg. 6, ¶ 1, lines 17-20). At the time prior to the effective filing date of the invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to substitute Kangas’s measurement unit with Kolensychenko’s photodiode sensor and lens as a functional equivalent for capturing light from a sample for concentration measurements.
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kangas US 10801950 in view of ActionLabShorts, “I Shined a 3W Laser Directly in My Camera”, https://www.youtube.com/shorts/yzJ9ix3KL7c April 23, 2022, hereafter Action Lab.
With respect to claim 7, Kangas teaches a concentration measuring device comprising:
a light-emitting unit (fig 1, 102) comprising a first light source configured to generate measurement light;
a measurement unit (fig 1, 130) configured to receive the measurement light that passes through a
sample that is a measurement target of the measurement light; and
Kangas does not teach a verification unit configured to verify an abnormal state of the measurement unit,
wherein the verification unit comprises a second light source.
Action lab, in the field of endeavor of optics, teaches shining a laser pointer onto a camera i.e. measurement unit, wherein the light source can be seen from the measurement unit. Examiner notes one of ordinary skill would realize shining a visible light on the camera in a dark setting will enable a user to determine if camera is on. At the time prior to the effective filing date of the invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to try to shine a secondary light source into Kangas’s measurement unit to verify if the if the measurement unit is powered on.
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kangas US 10801950 in view of ActionLabShorts, “I Shined a 3W Laser Directly in My Camera”, https://www.youtube.com/shorts/yzJ9ix3KL7c April 23, 2022, hereafter Action Lab in further view of Kolensnychenko WO 2007113727.
With respect to claim 9, Kangas teaches a concentration measuring device comprising:
a light-emitting unit (fig 1, 120) comprising a first light source configured to generate measurement light;
a spectroscopic unit (fig 1, 110) configured to separate the measurement light into first measurement light and second measurement light, the spectroscopic unit being disposed between the light-emitting unit and a sample that is a measurement target;
a measurement unit (fig 1, 130) configured to receive the first measurement light that passes through the sample (fig 1, 120); and
a reference measurement unit (fig 1, 132) configured to receive the second measurement light that
does not pass through the sample,
wherein the concentration measuring device is configured to measure a concentration of a chemical material in the sample (fig 1, 120) by measuring an amount of light absorbed by the sample based on an amount of light detected by the measurement unit “sample absorption” and an amount of light detected “reference absorption” by the reference measurement unit (fig 2, 222).
Kangas does not teach a verification unit comprising a second light source configured to generate verification light.
Action lab, in the field of endeavor of optics, teaches shining a laser pointer onto a camera i.e. measurement unit, wherein the light source can be seen from the measurement unit. Examiner notes one of ordinary skill would realize shining a visible light on the camera in a dark setting will enable a user to determine if camera is on. At the time prior to the effective filing date of the invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to try to shine a secondary light source into Kangas’s measurement unit to verify whether the measurement unit is powered on.
The combination does not teach the measurement unit comprises a measurement photodiode sensor.
Kolensnychenko, in the same field of endeavor as Kangas of absorption spectroscopy (pg. 5, ¶ 1, lines 8-10), teaches a first lens (fig 1, 11) is configured to focus light onto a photodiode sensor (fig 1, 13) from a sample (pg. 6, ¶ 1, lines 17-20). At the time prior to the effective filing date of the invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill to substitute Kangas’s measurement unit with Kolensychenko’s photodiode sensor and lens as a functional equivalent for capturing light from a sample for concentration measurements.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5 & 8 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims or to include the limitation(s) and any intervening claims into the base claim. The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
As to claim 5, the prior art of record, taken alone or in combination, fails to disclose or render obvious “a constant temperature module disposed inside the housing and configured to maintain a temperature inside the housing constant, wherein the constant temperature module comprises: a sample supply tube extending across at least part of the housing; a heat sink connected to the first light source and configured to dissipate heat of the first light source; a temperature detection sensor configured to detect the temperature inside the housing; and a fan configured to cool an inside of the housing”, in combination with the rest of the limitations of claim 5.
As to claim 8, the prior art of record, taken alone or in combination, fails to disclose or render obvious “the verification unit further comprises an optical filter configured to filter light of a specific wavelength, the optical filter is disposed between the measurement unit and the sample and configured to transmit the measurement light and reflect the verification light toward the measurement unit”, in combination with the rest of the limitations of claim 8.
Conclusion
/MAURICE C SMITH/Examiner, Art Unit 2877