DETAILED ACTION
Amendment
Acknowledgement is made of applicant’s Response filed January 18, 2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 5-7, 9, 13, 15, 16, and 21-27 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tokoi et al. (US Patent No.: 10756600) in view of Klippert (Foreign Patent Document No.: DE 10253072 A1) and Miyasaka (US Patent Application Pub. No.: US 2021/0257890 A1).
For claim 1, Tokoi et al. disclose the claimed invention comprising: a plurality of stator bars (reference numeral 110, figure 1A) disposed generally radially around an axis (see figure 1A); a plurality of sets of windings (reference numeral 120), each set of windings (reference numeral 120) being wound around a respective one of the plurality of stator bars (reference numeral 110) and being operable to generate a magnetic field generally parallel to the axis (see figures 1A, 2, 3); and electrical interconnects (reference numeral 300) electrically connected with the plurality of sets of windings (reference numeral 120, see figures 1A, 2, 3). Tokoi et al. however do not specifically disclose wherein the plurality of sets of windings are each respectively formed by: a main winding portion formed by one or more coil loops; a first end portion extending directly from the main winding portion; and a second end portion extending directly from the main winding portion; wherein at least one of the first end portion or the second end portion includes a generally U-shaped hook portion engaged with one or more portions of the electrical interconnects.
Klippert discloses a main winding portion (reference numerals 50, 511, see figure 3) formed by one or more coil loops (see figure 3); a first end portion (reference numeral 501) extending directly from the main winding portion (see figure 3); and a second end portion (reference numeral 502) extending directly from the main winding portion (see figure 3). Miyasaka discloses at least one of the first end portion or the second end portion (reference numerals 36n, 36v, figure 3) including a generally U-shaped hook portion (see figures 3, 7A) engaged with one or more portions of the electrical interconnects (reference numerals 80, 100, see figure 3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the main winding portion, first end portion, and second end portion as disclosed by Klippert and also the U-shape configuration as disclosed by Miyasaka for the end portions of Tokoi et al. and Klippert for predictably providing desirable configuration for facilitating the connections within the device.
For claim 2, Tokoi et al. disclose the electrical interconnects (reference numeral 300) comprising radially outwardly disposed electrical interconnects (reference numeral 300) disposed radially outwardly of the plurality of stator bars (reference numeral 110, see figures 1A, 2, 3), each of the radially outwardly disposed electrical interconnects (reference numeral 300) electrically connecting two or more of the plurality of sets of windings (reference numeral 120) together (i.e. at least two windings 120 being connected to the interconnects 300, see figures 1A, 3); and wherein the radially outwardly disposed electrical interconnects (reference numeral 300) are collectively arranged circumferentially around or along the entire radially outer periphery of the plurality of stator bars (reference numeral 110, see figures 1A, 3).
For claim 3, Tokoi et al. disclose the radially outwardly disposed electrical interconnects (reference numeral 300) being disposed such that: in front view, the radially outwardly disposed electrical interconnects (reference numeral 300) are substantially entirely distributed on at least one generally circular path (see figures 1A, 1B, 2) that has a center generally corresponding to a location of the axis (see figures 1A, 3).
For claim 5, Tokoi et al. in view of Klippert and Miyasaka disclose the claimed invention except for the electrical interconnects further comprising: radially inwardly disposed electrical interconnects disposed radially inwardly of the plurality of stator bars, each of the radially inwardly disposed electrical interconnects electrically connecting two or more of the plurality of sets of windings together; wherein the radially inwardly disposed electrical interconnects are collectively arranged circumferentially around or along an entire radially inner periphery of the plurality of stator bars. Klippert further discloses radially inwardly disposed electrical interconnects (reference numeral 7, figures 4, 5) disposed radially inwardly of the plurality of stator bars (reference numeral 51, see figures 1, 5), each of the radially inwardly disposed electrical interconnects (reference numeral 7) electrically connecting two or more of the plurality of sets of windings (reference numeral 50) together (i.e. figure 3 shows the winding 50 having ends 501, 502 on a radially inner side which would be connected to the radially inwardly disposed electrical interconnects 7 in figure 5); wherein the radially inwardly disposed electrical interconnects (reference numeral 7) are collectively arranged circumferentially around or along an entire radially inner periphery of the plurality of stator bars (reference numeral 51, see figure 5). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have radially inwardly disposed electrical interconnects as disclosed by Klippert for the electrical interconnects of Tokoi et al. in view of Klippert and Miyasaka for predictably providing desirable configuration for facilitating the connections within the device.
For claim 6, Tokoi et al. in view of Klippert and Miyasaka disclose the claimed invention except for the radially inwardly disposed electrical interconnects being disposed such that: in front view, the radially inwardly disposed electrical interconnects are substantially entirely distributed on one or more generally circular paths each with a center generally corresponding to a location of the axis. Klippert further discloses the radially inwardly disposed electrical interconnects (reference numeral 7) being substantially entirely distributed on one or more generally circular paths (see figure 4) each with a center generally corresponding to a location of the axis (see figures 4, 5), and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the generally circular path as disclosed by Klippert for the electrical interconnects of Tokoi et al. in view of Klippert and Miyasaka for predictably providing desirable configuration for facilitating the connections within the device.
For claim 7, Tokoi et al. disclose the electrical interconnects (reference numeral 300) consisting only of the radially outwardly disposed electrical interconnects (reference numeral 300, see figures 1A, 2, 3); and wherein the stator (reference numeral 100) is completely devoid of radially inwardly disposed electrical interconnect disposed radially inwardly of the plurality of stator bars (see figures 1A, 2, 3).
For claim 9, Tokoi et al. disclose the plurality of sets of windings comprising: a plurality of first pairs of sets of windings (i.e. windings indicated with + sign in figure 1C, see also column 5, lines 31-41) wound in a first sense, each first pair of sets of windings including two sets of windings disposed immediately adjacent each other (i.e. windings indicated with + sign in figure 1C, see also column 5, lines 31-41), and a plurality of second pairs of sets of windings (i.e. windings indicated with - sign in figure 1C, see also column 5, lines 31-41) wound in a second sense, each second pair of sets of windings including two sets of windings disposed immediately adjacent each other (i.e. windings indicated with - sign in figure 1C, see also column 5, lines 31-41); and wherein the plurality of first pairs of sets of windings and the plurality of second pairs of sets of windings are arranged in an interleaved manner (see figure 1C).
For claim 13, Tokoi et al. in view of Klippert and Miyasaka disclose the claimed invention except for the first end portion and the second end portion being disposed: on opposite lateral sides of the corresponding set of winding; on generally the same lateral side of the corresponding set of winding; or in a mid-plane defined by the corresponding set of winding and generally parallel to the axis and generally perpendicular to an axial plane. Klippert further discloses the first and second end portions (reference numerals 501, 502) being on the same lateral side of the winding (see figure 3), and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the first and second end portions on the same lateral side as disclosed by Klippert for the first and second end portions of Tokoi et al. in view of Klippert and Miyasaka for predictably providing desirable configuration for facilitating the connections within the device.
For claim 15, Tokoi et al. disclose the plurality of sets of windings (reference numeral 120) being electrically connected, via the electrical interconnects (reference numeral 300, figures 1A, 2), in a multi-phase arrangement (i.e. phases U, V, W, see figure 1C).
For claim 16, Tokoi et al. disclose the plurality of sets of windings (reference numeral 120) being electrically connected, via the electrical interconnects (reference numeral 300, figures 1A, 2), in a multi-phase arrangement (i.e. phases U, V, W, see figure 1C); and wherein the stator further comprises a plurality of stator terminals (reference numeral 330, see figure 1B) electrically connected with at least some of the radially outwardly disposed electrical interconnects (reference numeral 300, see figure 1B).
For claim 21, Tokoi et al. disclose a shoe portion (reference numeral 150, see figure 7), i.e. each respective stator bar comprising at least one shoe portion for confining the corresponding set of windings wound around the stator bar.
For claim 22, Tokoi et al. disclose a cross section of the electrical interconnects (reference numeral 300) being rectangular, squared, or rounded (see figure 2).
For claim 23, Tokoi et al. disclose an axial flux machine (reference numeral 1000) with the stator (reference numeral 100) and rotor (reference numeral 200, see figure 1A), i.e. an axial flux machine comprising: the stator of claim 1; and a rotor.
For claim 24, Tokoi et al. disclose the axial flux machine (reference numeral 1000) being a motor or a generator (see column 4, lines 65+).
For claim 25, applying the disclosed invention of Tokoi et al. in view of Klippert and Miyasaka to an apparatus such as an electrical device or system merely discloses the intended use of the invention, which does not result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art.
For claim 26, Tokoi et al. in view of Klippert and Miyasaka disclose the claimed invention except for each of the first end portion and the second end portion respectively including the generally U-shaped hook portion. Miyasaka further discloses each of the first end portion and the second end portion (reference numerals 36n, 36v) respectively including the generally U-shaped hook portion (see figures 3, 7A). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the two end portions with the U-shape as disclosed by Miyasaka for the first end portion and the second end portion of Tokoi et al. in view of Klippert and Miyasaka for predictably providing desirable configuration for facilitating the connections within the device.
For claim 27, Tokoi et al. in view of Klippert and Miyasaka disclose the claimed invention except for the main winding portion defining a center axial plane; and the generally U-shaped portion at least partly extending inwardly towards the center axial plane. Klippert discloses the main winding portion (reference numerals 50, 511) defining a center axial plane (see figure 3), and Miyasaka already discloses the U-shaped portion (see figure 3, reference numerals 36n, 36v) partly extending inwardly towards a center axial plane (i.e. the U-shaped portion of end portions 36n, 36v partly extending towards a center axis of winding 35, see figure 3). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the center axial plane for the main winding portion as disclosed by Klippert and to have the U-shaped portion partly extending towards the center axial plane as disclosed by Miyasaka for the main winding portion of Tokoi et al. in view of Klippert and Miyasaka for predictably providing desirable configuration for facilitating the connections within the device.
Claim(s) 4, 17, 18, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tokoi et al. in view of Klippert and Miyasaka as applied to claims 2 and 16 above, and further in view of Yoneoka et al. (US Patent Application Pub. No.: US 2021/0135530 A1).
For claim 4, Tokoi et al. in view of Klippert and Miyasaka disclose the claimed invention except for the radially outwardly disposed electrical interconnects being disposed such that: in front view, the radially outwardly disposed electrical interconnects are substantially entirely distributed on multiple generally circular paths, the multiple generally circular paths have different sizes and have generally the same center generally corresponding to a location of the axis. Yoneoka et al. disclose the radially outwardly disposed electrical interconnects (reference numerals 55-U, 55-V, 55-W) being substantially entirely distributed on multiple generally circular paths (see figure 1), the multiple generally circular paths have different sizes (each of the interconnects 55-U, 55-V, 55-W have circular shapes, each circular shape have different diameters as shown in figure 1) and have generally the same center generally corresponding to a location of the axis (see figure 1). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the multiple circular paths with different sizes as disclosed by Yoneoka et al. for the electrical interconnects of Tokoi et al. in view of Klippert and Miyasaka for predictably providing desirable configuration for facilitating the connections within the device.
For claim 17, Tokoi et al. disclose the plurality of stator bars (reference numeral 110) defining a center axial plane generally perpendicular to the axis (see figure 1A), but Tokoi et al. in view of Klippert and Miyasaka however do not specifically disclose the plurality of stator terminals extending generally outwardly with respect to the axis and generally parallel to the center axial plane. Yoneoka et al. disclose the stator terminals (reference numeral 57) extending outwardly with respect to the axis (see figure 1) and parallel to the center axial plane (i.e. extending parallel to an axial plane, see figure 1), and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the stator terminals extending outwardly and parallel to the center axial plane as disclosed by Yoneoka et al. for the stator terminals of Tokoi et al. in view of Klippert and Miyasaka for predictably providing desirable configuration for facilitating the connections within the device.
For claim 18, Tokoi et al. disclose the plurality of stator bars (reference numeral 110) defining a center axial plane generally perpendicular to the axis (see figure 1A), but Tokoi et al. in view of Klippert, Miyasaka, and Yoneoka et al. however do not specifically disclose the plurality of stator terminals extending in one or more axial planes axially offset from and generally parallel to the center axial plane. Yoneoka et al. further disclose the stator terminals (reference numeral 57) extending in one or more axial planes axially offset from and generally parallel to the center axial plane (i.e. extending parallel to an axial plane, see figure 1, and axially offset from and generally parallel to the center axial plane as shown in figures 6 and 7), and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the stator terminals extending in one or more axial planes axially offset from and generally parallel to the center axial plane as disclosed by Yoneoka et al. for the stator terminals of Tokoi et al. in view of Klippert, Miyasaka, and Yoneoka et al. for predictably providing desirable configuration for facilitating the connections within the device.
For claim 20, Tokoi et al. in view of Klippert and Miyasaka disclose the claimed invention except for a stator housing at least partly receiving the plurality of stator bars, the plurality of sets of windings, and the electrical interconnects, the stator housing defining a single opening through which the plurality of stator terminals extend. Yoneoka et al. disclose a stator housing (reference numeral 40) at least partly receiving the plurality of stator bars (reference numeral 31, see figures 1, 4, 5), the plurality of sets of windings (reference numeral 33, figures 4, 5), and the electrical interconnects (reference numerals 55-U, 55-V, 55-W, see figure 1), the stator housing defining a single opening (reference numeral 45, see figures 1, 6, 7) through which the plurality of stator terminals extend (see figures 1, 6, 7). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the stator housing and the single opening for the housing as disclosed by Yoneoka et al. for the stator of Tokoi et al. in view of Klippert and Miyasaka for predictably providing desirable configuration for facilitating the connections within the device.
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tokoi et al. in view of Klippert and Miyasaka as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Yokoyama et al. (US Patent Application Pub. No.: US 2019/0234251 A1).
For claim 8, Tokoi et al. in view of Klippert and Miyasaka disclose the claimed invention except for the plurality of sets of windings being wound in the same sense. Having the winding wound in the same sense is a known skill as exhibited by Yokoyama et al. (i.e. each of the coils are wound in the same direction, see paragraph [0063]), and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the windings wound in the same direction as disclosed by Yokoyama et al. for the sets of windings of Tokoi et al. in view of Klippert and Miyasaka for predictably providing desirable configuration for facilitating the winding performance within the device.
Claim(s) 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tokoi et al. in view of Klippert and Miyasaka as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Masuda (US Patent No.: 10886808).
For claim 14, Tokoi et al. in view of Klippert and Miyasaka disclose the claimed invention except for the first end portion and the second end portion being disposed radially outwardly of the main winding portion; or wherein the first end portion and the second end portion are disposed one radially outwardly of the main winding portion and another radially inwardly of the main winding portion. Having the first and second end portions be disposed either radially outwardly or disposed on opposite sides, radially inwardly and radially outwardly, is a known skill as exhibited by Masuda (reference numerals 53a, 54a, see figures 2 (B), 4 (B)), and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the first and second end portions be disposed on the radially outwardly side or have each one disposed on opposite sides as disclosed by Masuda for the first and second end portions of Tokoi et al. in view of Klippert and Miyasaka for predictably providing desirable configuration for facilitating the connections within the device.
Claim(s) 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tokoi et al. in view of Klippert and Miyasaka as applied to claim 16 above, and further in view of Yoneoka et al. (US Patent Application Pub. No.: US 2021/0135530 A1) in view of Imai et al. (US Patent No.: 8916999).
For claim 19, Tokoi et al. in view of Klippert and Miyasaka disclose the claimed invention except for a stator housing at least partly receiving the plurality of stator bars, the plurality of sets of windings, and the electrical interconnects, the stator housing defining a plurality of openings through which the plurality of stator terminals extend. Yoneoka et al. disclose a stator housing (reference numeral 40) at least partly receiving the plurality of stator bars (reference numeral 31, see figures 1, 4, 5), the plurality of sets of windings (reference numeral 33, figures 4, 5), and the electrical interconnects (reference numerals 55-U, 55-V, 55-W, see figure 1), the stator housing defining an opening (reference numeral 45, see figures 1, 6, 7) through which the plurality of stator terminals extend (see figures 1, 6, 7). Having a plurality of openings for the housing is a known skill as exhibited by Imai et al. (near reference numerals H1, H2 for housing 3, see figure 20), which when applied to the stator housing of Yoneoka et al. would disclose the stator housing defining a plurality of openings for the stator terminals. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the stator housing as disclosed by Yoneoka et al. and also have the plurality of openings as disclosed by Imai et al. for the stator of Tokoi et al. in view of Klippert and Miyasaka for predictably providing desirable configuration for facilitating the connections within the device.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-9 and 13-27 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ALEX W MOK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2834