DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 12, 13, and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Tong et al (Matchmaker of Marriage between a Li Metal Anode and a NASICON-Structured Solid-State Electrolyte: Plastic Crystal Electrolyte and Three-Dimensional Host Structure; ACS Appl. Mater. Interfaces 2020, 12, 44754-44761).
Regarding claim 1, Tong teaches a solid-state electrolyte battery (abstract) comprising an anode (figure in abstract); a LiFePO4 cathode (44755 col 2, paragraph 4 and figure in abstract); a nonflammable solid-state electrolyte which is taught as LAGP (figure in abstract and abstract and 44754 col 1 paragraph 1). The figure in the abstract of Tong shows the LAGP electrolyte being between the LiFePO4 cathode and the anode. The figure in the abstract also shows that the LAGP is spaced away from the anode via a plastic crystal electrolyte PCE.
Regarding claim 12, Tong teaches the solid-state electrolyte battery to include succinonitrile (44755 col 1, paragraph 2).
Regarding claim 13, Tong teaches the solid-state electrolyte battery to include succinonitrile (44755 col 1, paragraph 2).
Regarding claim 18, Tong teaches a solid-state electrolyte battery (abstract) comprising an anode (figure in abstract); a LiFePO4 cathode (44755 col 2, paragraph 4 and figure in abstract); a nonflammable solid-state electrolyte which is taught as LAGP (figure in abstract and abstract and 44754 col 1 paragraph 1). The figure in the abstract of Tong shows the LAGP electrolyte being between the LiFePO4 cathode and the anode. The figure in the abstract also shows that the LAGP is spaced away from the anode via a plastic crystal electrolyte PCE.
Claim(s) 27, 28, and 29 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Liu et al (CN113991174).
Regarding claim 27, Liu teaches a solid-state electrolyte membrane (abstract) usable in a lithium ion battery (0015). The solid electrolyte membrane includes a slurry (0007) including an organic-inorganic composite composed of PEO (0007) wherein the ratio of PEO to the LiTFSI is 5:1-15:1, and the ZiF modified by active inorganic filler accounts for 1-50% of the total mass of the PEO and the LiTFSI (0013); an active inorganic filler which is preferable LLZO garnet-type solid electrolyte powder (0008) wherein the ratio of PEO to the LiTFSI is 5:1-15:1, and the ZiF modified by active inorganic filler accounts for 1-50% of the total mass of the PEO and the LiTFSI (0013); and LiTFSI (0007).
Regarding claim 28, Liu teaches a solid-state electrolyte membrane (abstract) usable in a lithium ion battery (0015). The solid electrolyte membrane includes a slurry (0007) including an organic-inorganic composite composed of PEO (0007) wherein the ratio of PEO to the LiTFSI is 5:1-15:1, and the ZiF modified by active inorganic filler accounts for 1-50% of the total mass of the PEO and the LiTFSI (0013); an active inorganic filler which is preferable LLZO garnet-type solid electrolyte powder (0008) wherein the ratio of PEO to the LiTFSI is 5:1-15:1, and the ZiF modified by active inorganic filler accounts for 1-50% of the total mass of the PEO and the LiTFSI (0013); and LiTFSI (0007).
Regarding claim 29, Liu teaches a solid electrolyte used in a lithium ion battery (0015) including an anode and a cathode (0016) including an electrolyte therebetween, as discussed above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 8-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tong et al (Matchmaker of Marriage between a Li Metal Anode and a NASICON-Structured Solid-State Electrolyte: Plastic Crystal Electrolyte and Three-Dimensional Host Structure; ACS Appl. Mater. Interfaces 2020, 12, 44754-44761) in view of Angell et al (US 2020/0112057).
Regarding claim 8, Tong teaches the battery as discussed above.
Tong does not explicitly teach the instantly claimed plastic crystal electrolyte formula.
Angell teaches a plastic crystal electrolyte of the formula SiX3SO4Li in Table 1, specifically including LiSi(CH3)3(so4) wherein X is a hydrocarbon moiety (0003 and Table 1). This plastic crystal electrolyte is taught to exhibit a higher conductivity than typical plastic crystals (0007).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the claimed invention to utilize the plastic crystal electrolyte of Angell with the battery of Tong in order to provide for an electrolyte exhibiting higher conductivity.
Regarding claim 9, Angell teaches a plastic crystal electrolyte of the formula SiX3SO4Li in Table 1, specifically including LiSi(CH3)3(so4) wherein X is a hydrocarbon moiety (0003 and Table 1). This plastic crystal electrolyte is taught to exhibit a higher conductivity than typical plastic crystals (0007).
Regarding claim 10, Tong teaches the battery as discussed above.
Tong does not explicitly teach the first plastic crystal electrolyte interlayer comprises an inorganic salt as claimed.
Angell teaches a plastic crystal electrolyte comprised of an inorganic salt (0003) such as lithium sulfate which becomes a plastic crystal at high temperatures and exhibits good conductivity (0103).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the claimed invention to utilize the plastic crystal electrolyte of Angell with the battery of Tong in order to provide for an electrolyte exhibiting good conductivity.
Regarding claim 11, Angell teaches a plastic crystal electrolyte comprised of an inorganic salt (0003) such as lithium sulfate which becomes a plastic crystal at high temperatures and exhibits good conductivity (0103).
Claim(s) 14-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tong et al (Matchmaker of Marriage between a Li Metal Anode and a NASICON-Structured Solid-State Electrolyte: Plastic Crystal Electrolyte and Three-Dimensional Host Structure; ACS Appl. Mater. Interfaces 2020, 12, 44754-44761) in view of Mitsuyama et al (JP 2020068081).
Regarding claim 14, Tong teaches the battery as discussed above.
Tong does not explicitly teach the plastic crystal electrolyte interlay comprising an organic ionic plastic crystal.
Mitsuyama teaches plastic crystal electrolytes (abstract) including pyrrolidinium ions (0016) which improves lithium ion conductivity (0006).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the claimed invention to utilize the pyrrolidinium of Mitsuyama with the electrolyte of Tong in order to improve lithium ion conducitivity.
Regarding claim 15, Mitsuyama teaches plastic crystal electrolytes (abstract) including pyrrolidinium ions (0016) which improves lithium ion conductivity (0006).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-7, 16, 17, 19-26, and 30-33 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The closest prior art of record is considered to be Tong, as discussed above.
Tong neither teaches, nor renders obvious, the claimed inventions of claims 2-7, 16, 17, 19-26, and 30-33.
Conclusion
/SARAH A. SLIFKA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1759 February 25, 2026