DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3, 6-7,10-11, 14-16 and 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gonsalves (US. Pat. App. Pub. 2009/0235939) in view of WO 2015/184744 (English Mechanical Translation) (hereinafter referred to as “Wang”).
Regarding independent claim 3, Gonsalves discloses a linear pipe (100) (read: smoking device) which is comprised of a first tubular member (102) (read: linear tube). As evident from, for example, Fig. 1, the tube (100) has a mouthpiece end (106) (read: draw end) through which a bore (122) (read: draw end aperture) extends. Said tube (100) also has a smoke chamber (110) (read: bowl end) into which the bore (122) (read: bowl end aperture) also extends (see para. [0022] and Fig. 1) (corresponding to the claimed “[a] smoking device comprising: a linear tube having a bowl end having a bowl end aperture and a draw end having a draw end aperture”).
In one embodiment of Gonsalves, a second tubular member (104) can be provided which defines a substance chamber (read: a bowl). As seen in Figure 6, this substance chamber can be adapted to hold a smokeable material (600) (read: material holding space), and has a “smokable material end” and an opposite “tube insertion end/interior volume”. Separating/in between the two “ends” of this second tubular member (104) is a filter member (108) (read: divider) which may comprise a mesh screen having openings (read apertures) and may be permanently coupled (read: integral) with the second tubular member (104) (see paras. [0028], [0035], [0048] and Fig. 6) (corresponding to the claimed “a bowl comprising a heat resistant material, the bowl having a smoking material end, a tube insertion end, and a divider integral to the bowl separating the smoking material end material holding space and the tube insertion end interior volume, the divider defining at least one aperture such that the material holding space and tube insertion end interior volume are in airflow communication”).
Also, Gonsalves states that its first and second tubular members (102, 104) are coupled together via complementary threaded members (118) with the first tubular member (102) being provided with a female fastening member and the second tubular member (104) being provided with a male fastening member; however, it is also stated that the first and second tubular members can be coupled via a press-fit mechanism. In either scenario, as clearly seen in Fig 6, the Gonsalves second tubular member (104) includes a “lip” (read: an exterior ridge) formed on the “tube insertion end” side of the filter member (108) in the second tubular member (104), with the “tube insertion end” sized to fit in the “bowl end aperture” up until the “lip” and the distal-most end of the first tubular member are in contact with each other. This results in the “material holding space” for holding smokable material (600) protruding from the “bowl end” of the first tubular member’s smokable chamber (bowl end) (bowl and lip “in contact”). (see para. [0027] and Fig. 6) (corresponding to the claimed “wherein the smoking material end and the tube insertion end define an exterior circumferential ridge and the bowl is inserted into the bowl end aperture to the exterior ridge such that the smoking material end material holding space protrudes from the bowl end”).
Lastly, the modified Gonsalves pipe discloses that its first tubular member (102) (read: linear tube) may feature a filter member (108) similar to that which is provided in the second tubular member (104). It also states that any known (read: longitudinal) additional/second filter members which would be fitted inside the tubular member (102) at the far draw end side of the same (see para. [0046]) (corresponding to the claimed “a filter piece longitudinally oriented within the linear tube proximate the drawn end, the filter piece defining an interior holding space”). And while the Gonsalves pipe is silent as to whether its first tubular member (102) further includes an “activatable flavor piece” located within the same space where the second/additional filter is disposed, the Wang reference shows that tubular smoking devices may further contain a flavorant within the tube, specifically within a “filter” (read: absorbent material). Wang discloses that fine capsule(s) (33) (read: crushable container) containing the fragrance (read: flavor piece/activatable flavor element) can be placed on a filter (34) (read: filter piece defines a space) and, in use, the filter (34) is squeezed and the capsule(s) crushed to release the fragrance (read: flavoring liquid) when needed (see English mechanical translation, and Fig. 12). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have chosen to include the flavor capsule(s) (33) of Wang in the filter of the Gonsalves pipe in order to provide an enhanced organoleptic experience for user during smoking as such is known from the Wang reference (corresponding to the “an activatable flavor piece located within the filter piece interior holding space”) the “wherein the filter piece comprises an absorbent material located near the draw end” recitation of claim 15; and the “wherein the activatable flavor element comprises a crushable container and flavoring liquid within the crushable container” recitation of claim 16).
Regarding claim 6, per Figure 6 of Gonsalves, the smoke chamber (110) (bowl draw end) of the first tubular member (102) has an “exterior peripheral dimension” such that the “tube insertion end” of the second tubular member fits within said smoke chamber (110) via press-fit (read: slidably) (corresponding to the clamed “wherein the tube insertion end comprises an exterior peripheral dimension and the bowl end aperture comprises a peripheral aperture dimension such that the tube insertion end slidably fits within the bowl end”).
Regarding claim 7, Gonsalves discloses that its mouthpiece (120) - and first tubular member (102) (tube) may be comprised of the same material of construction. It also states that said material can be “disposable” (see para. [0033]) (corresponding to the clamed “wherein the tube comprises a disposable material”).
Regarding claim 8, Gonsalves discloses that its linear pipe (100) may also comprise a second filter member (108) (read: filter piece) which is coupled with the first tubular member (102). As seen in Fig. 3, it is clear that this second filter member (108) is located at the “draw end” of the first tubular member (102) (tube) (corresponding to the claimed “further comprising a filter piece located at the draw end”).
Regarding claims 10 and 14, as stated above, as seen in Fig 6, the Gonsalves second tubular member (104) includes a “lip” (read: an exterior ridge) formed on the “tube insertion end” side of the filter member (108) in the second tubular member (104), with the “tube insertion end” sized to fit in the “bowl end aperture” up until the “lip” and the distal-most end of the first tubular member are in contact with each other. This results in the “material holding space” for holding smokable material (600) protruding from the “bowl end” of the first tubular member’s smokable chamber (bowl end) (bowl and lip “in contact”). In order for the linear pipe (100) to operate properly, an airtight “seal” would inherently be formed between the bowl two tubular members (102, 104) to provide adequate “draw” (suction) through the bore (122) (see Fig. 6) (corresponding to the “wherein the bowl end and the tube insertion end are dimensioned to form a seal and the exterior ridge of the surface of the bowl end are in contact” recitation of claim 10; and the “wherein the tube and bowl are sufficiently air tight such that an air draw on the draw end causes air to be drawn into the bowl end and the egress from the draw end” recitation of claim 14).
Regarding claim 11, both the first and second tubular members of Gonsalves have a diameter (read: a diameter dimension) (see para. [0025]) (corresponding to the claimed “wherein the tube, bowl end and tube insertion end comprise a diameter dimension”).
Regarding claim 18, the use of the modified Gonsalves pipe, which includes the crushable, flavor-capsule-containing filter option (as discussed above) would necessarily follow the claimed steps, i.e., smokable substance (600) tobacco into the substance chamber; crushing the capsule(s) to release fragrance (see Wang) which would inherently be absorbed into the surrounding filter option; lighting the smokable substance (600) placed in the substance chamber - which would not burn the “pack end” of the second tubular member (104) itself due to the manner in which the substance chamber overlaps a “lip” of the “pack end” of the second tubular member (104); and drawing smoking from the lit smokable substance such that said smoke necessarily mixes with the fragrance released from the crushed capsules (corresponding to the claimed “[a] method for operating the smoking device of claim 17 comprising: placing smoking material in the material holding space; crushing the activatable flavor element to release the flavoring liquid; absorbing the flavor liquid in the absorbent material; igniting the smoking material without burning the tube bowl end; and drawing smoking from the ignited smoking material such that the smoke mixes with the released flavors”).
Regarding claim 19, from Fig. 6 of Gonsalves it is clear that the exterior peripheral dimension of the first tubular member (102) and the second tubular member (104) are equal (corresponding to the claimed “wherein an exterior peripheral dimension of the bowl smoking material end and an exterior dimension of the tube equate”).
Claims 12 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gonsalves (US. Pat. App. Pub. 2009/0235939) in view of WO 2015/184744 (English Mechanical Translation) (hereinafter referred to as “Wang”), further in view of Born et al (US. Pat. App. Pub. 2016/0183589).
Regarding claims 12 and 17, the modified Gonsalves pipe does not specifically disclose “paper” among the materials that it envisions its first tubular member (102) to be constructed of; however, Born et al also discloses a (linear) smoking device and teaches that its stem (100) (read: tube) can be constructed of a paper tube material (see para. [0033]). Hence, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided this “paper tube” material in which to construct the first tubular member of Gonsalves as such is known for its use in smoking pipe manufacture (corresponding to the “wherein the disposable material comprises paper” recitation of claim 12; and the “wherein the tube comprises crushable paper” recitation of claim 17).
Conclusion
/DIONNE W. MAYES/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1747