Response to Amendment and Arguments
The amendment filed 7/30/2025 has been entered. Claims 1-6, 8-26 remain pending in the application. The §112(b) rejection previously set forth in the Non-Final Office Action no longer applies due to the cancelation of claim 7.
Applicant's arguments filed 7/30/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that cooper fails to teach or suggest “providing instructions to cause physical loading of a payload onto an autoloader device”. The Examiner respectfully disagrees. An “autoloader” as defined by the Applicant’s specification is at least the device (4210) of FIG. 42, essentially a rack on which a UAV can land on and attach to a payload for subsequent takeoff and delivery. The structural equivalent is taught by Cooper in at least FIGs. 39-42B which is at least a roof-top (on a vehicle) rack on which UAVs land and attach to a payload for subsequent takeoff and delivery. Cooper describes at least an embodiment using robots to load payload parcels onto the rack. One of ordinary skill in the art would understand the use of robots would include at least instructions stored on readable media in the form of programming.
Applicant argues that “it would not have been obvious to modify a combination of Prager and Cooper to include "causing a user device to display an indication of a plurality of autoloader devices, wherein the plurality of autoloader devices includes an autoloader device," based on Google Maps” and “there would have been no reason to "cause a user device to display an indication of a plurality of autoloader devices””. The Examiner respectfully disagrees. Cooper teaches displaying information and communicating over standard cellular and wireless networks ([0159], [0163]). Furthermore, Cooper teaches the autoloader device equivalent of being embodied in a stationary building ([0200]). The Examiner points to the assignee of the Cooper reference being the United Parcel Service of America Inc. commonly referred to by the DBA “UPS”. Google Maps, as of the filing date of the invention, displays on a user device the locations of UPS Stores (a stationary building). It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to display on a user device the positions of locations for sending/retrieving parcels.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 5-6, 14, 15, 17-20, 22-26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US20190197646A1 Prager et al ("Prager") in view of US20170316376A1 Cooper ("Cooper").
As per claims 1, 24, 25 Prager teaches the limitations of the method, computing device and non-transitory computer readable media:
computing devices, program instructions, processors to cause the computing devices to perform functions; computer readable media comprising program instructions; (Prager at least [0010])
selecting a UAV from a group of one or more UAVs to pick up the payload from the autoloader device; and providing instructions to cause the selected UAV to navigate to the autoloader device to pick up the payload and transport the payload to a delivery location. (Prager at least [0007]: “assigning, by the transport-provider computing system…transport task to each of a plurality of unmanned aerial vehicles…instruction to deploy to the loading location…task update”, [0073]: “UAV may navigate to the general area of a target destination where a payload is being delivered”)
Prager does not disclose:
providing instructions to cause physical loading of a payload onto an autoloader device for subsequent unmanned aerial vehicle (UAV) transport of the payload;
receiving a communication signal indicating that the autoloader device has been physically loaded with the payload;
However, Cooper teaches the aforementioned limitations (Cooper at least FIG. 38C, FIGs. 39-42B, [0073]: "a parcel being loaded to a UAV chassis with the robot", [0013-0016]).*Examiner’s note: here the robot taught by Cooper is loaded with the parcel, which is scanned by the robot for parcel information and thus also signaling that the package is loaded in the robot (autoloader device).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Prager with the aforementioned limitations taught by Cooper with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to combine these references in order to more efficiently deliver parcels via UAV (Cooper [0109]).
Regarding claim 2, Prager in combination with the other references teaches the invention as described above.
Prager does not disclose:
identifying the autoloader device as an empty autoloader device from a plurality of autoloader devices before providing the instructions to cause the physical loading of the payload.
However, Cooper teaches the aforementioned limitation (Cooper at least [0243-0245]). *Examiner’s note: here the loading/unloading sequence of the robot demonstrates the system can acknowledge an empty state of the robot for subsequent loading to prevent a double loading/double feed scenario.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Prager with the aforementioned limitations taught by Cooper with a reasonable expectation of success. The motivation to combine these references is the same as above in claim 1.
Regarding claim 5, Prager in combination with the other references teaches the invention as described above. Prager additionally teaches:
providing the UAV with a delivery mission to the delivery location before the UAV reaches the autoloader device. (Prager at least [0079]) *Examiner’s note: here Prager teaches using wireless devices and/or RFID as scanners for the parcel info. Such wireless data readers can read data within a threshold distance meaning the UAV can actually scan and read the parcel data at least a maximum scanning distance before the UAV makes contact with the autoloader taught by Cooper (before the UAV reaches the autoloader device).
Regarding claim 6, Prager in combination with the other references teaches the invention as described above. Prager additionally teaches:
providing the UAV with a delivery mission to the delivery location via a wireless connection while the UAV is picking up the payload from the autoloader device. (Prager at least [0030]: “ATSP can deploy UAVs to pick up packages at random, in a predetermined order or sequence, or otherwise without specific package assignment…dynamically update the transport task of each UAV based on the package that the UAV picks up”)
Regarding claim 14, Prager in combination with the other references teaches the invention as described above.
Prager does not disclose:
the communication signal is received from the autoloader device when the autoloader device detects that the autoloader device has been physically loaded with the payload.
However, Cooper teaches the aforementioned limitation (Cooper at least [0214]: "robots include a parcel identification unit…scan, read…"). *Examiner’s note: here the robot (autoloader) can scan a parcel when it is placed on the robot.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Prager with the aforementioned limitations taught by Cooper with a reasonable expectation of success. The motivation to combine these references is the same as above in claim 1.
Regarding claim 15, Prager in combination with the other references teaches the invention as described above.
Prager does not disclose:
the group of one or more UAVs is associated with a location of the autoloader device.
However, Cooper teaches the aforementioned limitation (Cooper at least [0018]: "accessing a restricted access area by a UAV"). *Examiner’s note: here Cooper teaches at least a group of UAVs that are associated with a robot in a delivery vehicle by the equivalent of an access badge or ID.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Prager with the aforementioned limitations taught by Cooper with a reasonable expectation of success. The motivation to combine these references is the same as above in claim 1.
Regarding claim 17, Prager in combination with the other references teaches the invention as described above.
Prager does not disclose:
the autoloader comprises one or more computing devices configured to read an attached identifier on the payload and initiate a shipment that specifies a pickup zone associated with the autoloader and the delivery location which is encoded in the attached identifier.
However, Cooper teaches the aforementioned limitation (Cooper at least [0214]: "parcel identification"). *Examiner’s note: Cooper teaches a few different identifiers, one such identifier being associating a parcel with a particular delivery vehicle which has a particular delivery area it is assigned to, much like a US Postal Service carrier would.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Prager with the aforementioned limitations taught by Cooper with a reasonable expectation of success. The motivation to combine these references is the same as above in claim 1.
Regarding claim 18, Prager in combination with the other references teaches the invention as described above.
Prager does not disclose:
the autoloader comprises one or more computing devices configured to communicate the delivery location to the UAV.
However, Cooper teaches the aforementioned limitation (Cooper at least [0214]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Prager with the aforementioned limitations taught by Cooper with a reasonable expectation of success. The motivation to combine these references is the same as above in claim 1.
Regarding claim 19, Prager in combination with the other references teaches the invention as described above.
Prager does not disclose:
causing the autoloader device to move between a first location for the physical loading of the payload onto the autoloader device and a second location for the pickup of the payload by the UAV from the autoloader device.
However, Cooper teaches the aforementioned limitation (Cooper at least [0218-0225]: "loading parcels/parcel carriers to vehicle…warehouse", [0428-0431]: “pick-up of a parcel…vehicle is stopped…vehicle is in motion”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Prager with the aforementioned limitations taught by Cooper with a reasonable expectation of success. The motivation to combine these references is the same as above in claim 1.
Regarding claim 20, Prager in combination with the other references teaches the invention as described above.
Prager does not disclose:
the autoloader device moves using a line tracker.
However, Cooper teaches the aforementioned limitation (Cooper at least [0241]: "autonomous vehicle", [0430]: “vehicle is…parked”). *Examiner’s note: Cooper teaches that the delivery vehicle on which the robot (autoloader) is mounted can be an autonomous vehicle. Cooper also teaches that the AV can be parked when the UAV’s depart/land. An AV that can park is most likely capable of a self-parking function which can use at least visual sensor data to follow curbs/lanes/guide lines in parking lots or areas.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Prager with the aforementioned limitations taught by Cooper with a reasonable expectation of success. The motivation to combine these references is the same as above in claim 1.
Regarding claim 22, Prager in combination with the other references teaches the invention as described above.
Prager does not disclose:
the autoloader device comprises a swappable mobile base for movement between the first location and the second location.
However, Cooper teaches the aforementioned limitation (Cooper at least [0431], FIG. 38C). *Examiner’s note: here the delivery vehicle is the equivalent of the mobile swappable base.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Prager with the aforementioned limitations taught by Cooper with a reasonable expectation of success. The motivation to combine these references is the same as above in claim 1.
Regarding claim 23, Prager in combination with the other references teaches the invention as described above.
Prager does not disclose:
causing the autoloader device to use one or more sensors on the autoloader device to determine at least one of an available payload at the first location or an available UAV at the second location.
However, Cooper teaches the aforementioned limitation (Cooper at least [0214]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Prager with the aforementioned limitations taught by Cooper with a reasonable expectation of success. The motivation to combine these references is the same as above in claim 1.
Regarding claim 26, Prager in combination with the other references teaches the invention as described above.
Prager does not disclose:
wherein the physical loading of the payload onto the autoloader device occurs at the loading station while the autoloader device is stationary, and wherein the UAV picks up the payload at the loading station.
However, Cooper teaches the aforementioned limitation (Cooper at least [0200]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Prager with the aforementioned limitations taught by Cooper with a reasonable expectation of success. The motivation to combine these references is the same as above in claim 1.
*Examiner’s note: the prior art recited herein is silent on the autoloader device being a standalone rack (not mounted on a vehicle or building) located in a parking lot occupying at least a portion of one vehicle parking space.
Claim(s) 3, 4, 12, 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Prager in view of Cooper in further view of US20130262276A1 Wan et al ("Wan").
Regarding claim 3, Prager in combination with the other references teaches the invention as described above.
Prager does not disclose:
selecting the autoloader device after receiving a user-provided input signal at a user device, the input signal indicating to proceed with autoloader loading.
However, Wan teaches the aforementioned limitation (Wan at least FIG. 7: 701 identify delivery container, 707 open associated storage compartments).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Prager with the aforementioned limitations taught by Wan with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to combine these references to increase user customer experience when transporting a parcel (Wan abstract).
Regarding claim 4, Prager in combination with the other references teaches the invention as described above.
Prager does not disclose:
the communication signal indicating that the autoloader device has been physically loaded with the payload is received from the user device.
However, Wan teaches the aforementioned limitation (Wan at least FIG. 7: 711 receive closed door notification(s), 713 message customer that order is available).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Prager with the aforementioned limitations taught by Wan with a reasonable expectation of success. The motivation to combine these references is the same as above in claim 3.
Regarding claim 12, Prager in combination with the other references teaches the invention as described above.
Prager does not disclose:
communication signal is received when a user scans an identifier on the autoloader device while loading the payload onto the autoloader device.
However, Wan teaches the aforementioned limitation (Wan at least FIG. 7: 705 associate order with storage compartment(s)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Prager with the aforementioned limitations taught by Wan with a reasonable expectation of success. The motivation to combine these references is the same as above in claim 3.
Regarding claim 13, Prager in combination with the other references teaches the invention as described above.
Prager does not disclose:
communication signal is received when a user selects a delivery order on a user device for which the user has loaded the payload onto the autoloader device.
However, Wan teaches the aforementioned limitation (Wan at least FIG. 7: 713 order available).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Prager with the aforementioned limitations taught by Wan with a reasonable expectation of success. The motivation to combine these references is the same as above in claim 3.
Claim(s) 8-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Prager in view of Cooper in further view of Google Maps, 2020-2021 ("Google Maps", see Google Maps update 2021 and Google Maps Update 2020).
Regarding claim 8, Prager teaches:
selecting a UAV from a group of one or more UAVs to pick up the payload from the autoloader device; and providing instructions to cause the selected UAV to navigate to the autoloader device to pick up the payload and transport the payload to a delivery location. (Prager at least [0007]: “assigning, by the transport-provider computing system…transport task to each of a plurality of unmanned aerial vehicles…instruction to deploy to the loading location…task update”, [0073]: “UAV may navigate to the general area of a target destination where a payload is being delivered”)
Prager does not disclose:
providing instructions to cause physical loading of a payload onto an autoloader device for subsequent unmanned aerial vehicle (UAV) transport of the payload;
receiving a communication signal indicating that the autoloader device has been physically loaded with the payload;
However, Cooper teaches the aforementioned limitations (Cooper at least FIG. 38C, FIGs. 39-42B, [0073]: "a parcel being loaded to a UAV chassis with the robot", [0013-0016]).*Examiner’s note: here the robot taught by Cooper is loaded with the parcel, which is scanned by the robot for parcel information and thus also signaling that the package is loaded in the robot (autoloader device).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Prager with the aforementioned limitations taught by Cooper with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to combine these references in order to more efficiently deliver parcels via UAV (Cooper [0109]).
Prager does not disclose:
causing a user device to display an indication of a plurality of autoloader devices, wherein the plurality of autoloader devices includes an autoloader device.
However, Google Maps teaches the aforementioned limitation (Google Maps, indicating locations of at least UPS or USPS shipping locations on a map).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Prager with the aforementioned limitations taught by Google Maps with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to combine these references to ensure a user that a package transport location is available and that their package will be picked up before the user takes the time to navigate to the package transport location.
Regarding claim 9, Prager in combination with the other references teaches the invention as described above. Prager does not disclose:
the plurality of autoloader devices is color-coded based on availability of each autoloader device of the plurality of autoloader devices.
However, Google Maps teaches the aforementioned limitation (Google Maps 2020 update, business locations are indicated as closed or open in a color coded fashion).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Prager with the aforementioned limitations taught by Google Maps with a reasonable expectation of success. The motivation to combine these references is the same as above in claim 8.
Regarding claim 10, Prager in combination with the other references teaches the invention as described above. Prager does not disclose:
indication of the plurality of autoloader devices is color-coded based on availability of proximate UAVs to each autoloader device of the plurality of autoloader devices.
However, Google Maps teaches the aforementioned limitation (Google Maps 2021 update, busy areas based on user device and vehicle densities are indicated by a geometric shape around the busy area in a color coded fashion).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Prager with the aforementioned limitations taught by Google Maps with a reasonable expectation of success. The motivation to combine these references is the same as above in claim 8.
Regarding claim 11, Prager in combination with the other references teaches the invention as described above. Prager teaches: listing of delivery orders available for the UAVs, basing the order listing based on UAV availability and capability (Prager at least [0108]: “central dispatch system may select a specific UAV to dispatch”, [0343]: “delivery order listing…addresses”).
Prager does not disclose:
causing the user device to display the listing of delivery orders
However, Cooper teaches the aforementioned limitation (Cooper at least [0267]: "display").
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Prager with the aforementioned limitations taught by Cooper with a reasonable expectation of success. The motivation to combine these references is the same as above in claim 1.
Claim(s) 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Prager in view of Cooper in further view of US20150161564A1 Sweeney et al ("Sweeney").
Regarding claim 16, Prager in combination with the other references teaches the invention as described above. Prager does not disclose:
the group of one or more UAVs is associated with a different location than a location of the autoloader device, wherein the UAV is selected from the group of one or more UAVs when one or more UAVs associated with the location of the autoloader device are occupied.
However, Sweeney teaches the aforementioned limitation (Sweeney at least [0024]: “variations…increasing the pool of drivers by allowing for driver reassignment(s)…optimization determinations”, [0056]: “dispatch radius be increased”). *Examiner’s note: here Sweeney teaches a system that sets a proximity radius and drive time requirement for assigning a transport vehicle (associating the transport vehicle with a location of a user to be picked up). The system can further increase the proximity radius and drive time requirements to fulfil additional demands (such as more pick-up requests than can be handled by transport vehicles within a smaller proximity to a location).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Prager with the aforementioned limitations taught by Sweeney with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to combine these references to increase transportation efficiency (Sweeney [0134]).
Claim(s) 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Prager in view of Cooper in further view of US928117A Ford ("Ford").
Regarding claim 21, Prager in combination with the other references teaches the invention as described above. Prager does not disclose:
the autoloader device is mounted to a rail and moves along the rail.
However, Ford teaches the aforementioned limitation (Ford at least FIG. 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Prager with the aforementioned limitations taught by Ford with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to combine these references to efficiently transfer a parcel to a moving transport vehicle using available transport infrastructure.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/O.T./Examiner, Art Unit 3669
/NAVID Z. MEHDIZADEH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3669