DETAILED ACTION
This office action is a response to an amendment filed on 07/14/2026.
Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed on 07/14/2026 has been entered.
Claims 1-20 are pending
Claims 1 and 11 are amended
Claims 1-20 remain rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over PENG et al. (WO 2020024180 A1), hereinafter referenced as Peng, in view of Douglas N. ROWITCH (US 20140253383 A1), hereinafter referenced as Rowitch.
Regarding claims 1, Peng teaches a Bluetooth communication method having automatic re-connection activating mechanism (Para. [0005]-Peng discloses a Bluetooth communication method and a dual-mode Bluetooth terminal, which solves the problem that the terminal and household appliances cannot realize automatic reconnection, and the reconnection process is more complex and takes a long time. Para. [0033]-Peng discloses a dual-mode Bluetooth terminal, which may comprise: one or more processors, memory, touch screens, and one or more computer programs; One or more processors, memory, touch screens, and one or more computer programs are connected via one or more communication buses), comprising:
transmitting a first broadcast signal by an electronic device to a smart device (Para. [0105]-Peng discloses when the first dual-mode Bluetooth terminal sends the first BLE pairing broadcast message, the TV can scan the first BLE pairing broadcast message sent by the first dual-mode Bluetooth terminal after entering the scanning state. When the second terminal scans the first BLE pairing broadcast message, it can determine whether the fixed broadcast address carried in the first BLE pairing broadcast message is saved locally),
the smart device identifies the electronic device as a terminal device according to the first broadcast signal (Para. [0105]-Peng discloses when the first dual-mode Bluetooth terminal sends the first BLE pairing broadcast message, the TV can scan the first BLE pairing broadcast message sent by the first dual-mode Bluetooth terminal after entering the scanning state. When the second terminal scans the first BLE pairing broadcast message, it can determine whether the fixed broadcast address carried in the first BLE pairing broadcast message is saved locally ... The Discovery Device List 601 includes the identification of the device that sent the first BLE pair broadcast message, such as the icon and the name of the discovery. For example, the discovery name of the mobile phone is "Aimi" and in the case that the mobile phone sends out the first BLE pairing broadcast message, the icon 602 of the mobile phone and the discovery name "Aimi" 603 can be included in the list of devices found 601. The second terminal can also save the fixed broadcast address);
establishing an initial connection and performing pairing with the smart device by the electronic device by exchanging information with an auto-connection application program stored and executing in the smart device storing related information of the electronic device (Para. [0095]-Peng discloses applications use BLE, and at the same time, ensure that the first dual-mode Bluetooth terminal and the second terminal can implement automatic connection back. Para. [0178]-Peng discloses Bluetooth remote control of the second terminal, the BLE connection between the first dual-mode Bluetooth terminal and the second terminal, such as a home device, will be automatically disconnected when the user exits the first application, such as the intelligent remote control application, or the Bluetooth function of the first dual-mode Bluetooth terminal. Para. [0089]-Peng discloses after the first dual-mode Bluetooth terminal receives the first input, the loading interface can also be displayed in the foreground to indicate that the BLE connection between the first dual-mode Bluetooth terminal and the second terminal is being established. For example, as shown in (d) in Figure 5, the mobile phone can also display the loading interface 507 in the foreground to prompt the user that the smart remote control is in the process of being created. In addition, in the loading interface 507, a prompt box 508 can be included to prompt the user to initiate pairing on a second terminal, such as a home device (such as a television). Para. [0059]-Peng discloses second terminal 102 can be TV, network box, set-top box, air conditioner, refrigerator, washing machine, water dispenser and other household equipment with more complex control functions, or it can be electric lights, fans, Bluetooth speakers, curtains and other smart devices with only switches or limited control functions, and can also be keys, sweeping robots, Bluetooth headsets, smart glasses, smart watches, smart bracelets, smart wristbands and other devices that users have positioning needs. Para. [0105]-Peng discloses when the first dual-mode Bluetooth terminal sends the first BLE pairing broadcast message, the TV can scan the first BLE pairing broadcast message sent by the first dual-mode Bluetooth terminal after entering the scanning state. When the second terminal scans the first BLE pairing broadcast message, it can determine whether the fixed broadcast address carried in the first BLE pairing broadcast message is saved locally ... The Discovery Device List 601 includes the identification of the device that sent the first BLE pair broadcast message, such as the icon and the name of the discovery. For example, the discovery name of the mobile phone is "Aimi" and in the case that the mobile phone sends out the first BLE pairing broadcast message, the icon 602 of the mobile phone and the discovery name "Aimi" 603 can be included in the list of devices found 601. The second terminal can also save the fixed broadcast address. Para. [0017-0019]-Peng discloses by calling the new BLE broadcast interface to generate and send the first BLE pairing broadcast message, and retain the native BLE broadcast interface, it not only ensures the security of other applications when using BLE, but also ensures that the first dual-mode Bluetooth terminal and the second terminal can be automatically connected ... responding to the user's first input, the first dual-mode Bluetooth terminal determines that the application calling the BLE broadcast interface is the first application, and the first application is the application with the permission to call the BLE broadcast interface; The first dual-mode Bluetooth terminal calls the above BLE broadcast interface to generate a BLE broadcast message ... The new BLE broadcast interface only allows application calls with the permission to call the BLE broadcast interface);
breaking the initial connection such that the auto-connection application program of the smart device enters a deactivated status (Para. [0178]-Peng discloses after the user successfully creates the Bluetooth remote control of the second terminal, the BLE connection between the first dual-mode Bluetooth terminal and the second terminal, such as a home device, will be automatically disconnected when the user exits the first application, such as the intelligent remote control application, or the Bluetooth function of the first dual-mode Bluetooth terminal is turned off (such as the user manually turns off the switch button of the Bluetooth function), or the user leaves the house);
transmitting a second broadcast signal by the electronic device that includes a value entry that comprises positioning beacon information … of the electronic device, to the smart device which identifies the electronic device according to the second broadcast signal and the related information of the electronic device to (Para. [0007]-Peng discloses in response to the second input, the first dual-mode Bluetooth terminal can enter the traditional Bluetooth discoverable state, receive the paging message, respond to the received paging message, the first dual-mode Bluetooth terminal sends a paging response, and the paging response carries the MAC address of the first dual-mode Bluetooth terminal; The first input above is different from the second input above. Para. [0105]-Peng discloses when the first dual-mode Bluetooth terminal sends the first BLE pairing broadcast message, the TV can scan the first BLE pairing broadcast message sent by the first dual-mode Bluetooth terminal after entering the scanning state. When the second terminal scans the first BLE pairing broadcast message, it can determine whether the fixed broadcast address carried in the first BLE pairing broadcast message is saved locally ... The Discovery Device List 601 includes the identification of the device that sent the first BLE pair broadcast message, such as the icon and the name of the discovery. For example, the discovery name of the mobile phone is "Aimi". Para. [0099]-Peng discloses the fixed broadcast address can also be used to establish a BLE connection with the second terminal, the first dual-mode Bluetooth terminal can obtain a fixed address according to the preset formula or table, and when the second terminal is established back-to-back, the first dual-mode Bluetooth terminal can obtain the fixed address according to the above preset formula or table. This fixed broadcast address can also be the unique Media Access Control (MAC) address of the first dual-mode Bluetooth terminal itself) to further
activate the auto-connection application program according to the positioning beacon information (Para. [0191]-Peng discloses when the first dual-mode Bluetooth terminal receives the second transmission, it can call the native BLE broadcast interface to generate and send the above second BLE pairing broadcast message in response to the second input. This second input can be the input that activates the Bluetooth function of the first dual-mode Bluetooth terminal. Para. [0008]-Peng discloses by sending the first BLE pairing broadcast message containing a fixed broadcast address, the first dual-mode Bluetooth terminal and the second terminal can be automatically reconnected, shortening the reconnection time, simplifying the reconnection process, and improving the user experience. Para. [0190]-Peng discloses when the second terminal is a smart device with only switches or limited control functions such as lights and fans, or when the second terminal is a key, sweeping robot, Bluetooth headset, smart glasses and other devices that users have positioning needs, the process of establishing a connection and reconnection between the first dual-mode Bluetooth terminal and the second terminal is ... the user can directly receive the input instructing the user to establish a BLE connection with the first dual-mode Bluetooth terminal, such as the receiving user clicking a button on the second terminal, in response to the input, the second terminal can send a pairing request to the first dual-mode Bluetooth terminal),
the positioning beacon information is a positioning data type configured to activate the auto-connection application program (Para. [0191-0192]-Peng discloses when the first dual-mode Bluetooth terminal receives the second transmission, it can call the native BLE broadcast interface to generate and send the above second BLE pairing broadcast message in response to the second input. This second input can be the input that activates the Bluetooth function of the first dual-mode Bluetooth terminal ... in response to the second input, ..., the first dual-mode Bluetooth terminal can also enter the traditional Bluetooth discoverable state, receive a paging message, and respond to the received paging message, and the first dual-mode Bluetooth terminal can send a paging response, which carries the MAC address of the first dual-mode Bluetooth terminal. It should be noted that the first dualmode Bluetooth terminal responds to the second input, and the process of establishing a traditional Bluetooth connection with other devices is the same as that of traditional Bluetooth ... The message format of the paging message and the paging response can refer to the corresponding description in the existing standard agreement. Para. [0008]-Peng discloses by sending the first BLE pairing broadcast message containing a fixed broadcast address, the first dual-mode Bluetooth terminal and the second terminal can be automatically reconnected, shortening the reconnection time, simplifying the reconnection process, and improving the user experience. Moreover, the first dual-mode Bluetooth terminal can also enter the traditional Bluetooth discoverable state after receiving the second input, so that the first dual-mode Bluetooth terminal and the second terminal can establish a traditional Bluetooth connection in order to transmit audio and video files and data to meet the various data transmission needs of users); and
receiving a connection request delivered by the activated auto-connection application program of the smart device by the electronic device to establish a re-connection with the smart device (Para. [0106-0107]-Peng discloses S404, the second terminal receives the input of the user's instructions to establish a BLE connection with the first dual-mode Bluetooth terminal ... S405. In response to the above input, the second terminal sends a pairing request to the first dual-mode Bluetooth terminal. Para. [0008]-Peng discloses by sending the first BLE pairing broadcast message containing a fixed broadcast address, the first dual-mode Bluetooth terminal and the second terminal can be automatically reconnected, shortening the reconnection time, simplifying the reconnection process, and improving the user experience. Para. [0191]-Peng discloses when the first dual-mode Bluetooth terminal receives the second transmission, it can call the native BLE broadcast interface to generate and send the above second BLE pairing broadcast message in response to the second input. This second input can be the input that activates the Bluetooth function of the first dual-mode Bluetooth terminal).
Peng fails to teach location area of the electronic device.
However, Rowitch teaches transmitting a second broadcast signal by the electronic device that includes a value entry that comprises positioning beacon information and an indication of a location area of the electronic device, to the smart device which identifies the electronic device according to the second broadcast signal and the related information of the electronic device (Fig. 1, Para. [0039]-Rowitch discloses beacon transmitter for use in positioning operations … beacon transmitter 210 may transmit a {positioining} beacon signal modulated by a unique identifier (e.g., MAC address) and a location of the beacon transmitter using any one of several well-known wireless signal modulation techniques. Fig. 2, Para. [0044]-Rowitch discloses the beacon transmitter 210 may transmit signals providing an identifier of the beacon transmitter 210 (e.g., unique MAC address) and/or describing capabilities of the beacon transmitter 210).
Peng and Rowitch are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of communication networks, dealing with positioning beacon.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the Peng to incorporate the teachings of Rowitch on positioning beacon, with a motivation to indicate location area, and guarantee most home appliances are equipped with a remote control for wirelessly controlling them to provide users with a convenient control experience, (Peng, Para. [0002]).
Regarding claims 11, Peng teaches an electronic device having automatic re-connection activating mechanism, comprising: a communication circuit; and a processing circuit (Para. [0005]-Peng discloses a Bluetooth communication method and a dual-mode Bluetooth terminal, which solves the problem that the terminal and household appliances cannot realize automatic reconnection, and the reconnection process is more complex and takes a long time. Para. [0033]-Peng discloses a dual-mode Bluetooth terminal, which may comprise: one or more processors, memory, touch screens, and one or more computer programs; One or more processors, memory, touch screens, and one or more computer programs are connected via one or more communication buses),
transmit a first broadcast signal by using the communication circuit to a smart device (Para. [0105]-Peng discloses when the first dual-mode Bluetooth terminal sends the first BLE pairing broadcast message, the TV can scan the first BLE pairing broadcast message sent by the first dual-mode Bluetooth terminal after entering the scanning state. When the second terminal scans the first BLE pairing broadcast message, it can determine whether the fixed broadcast address carried in the first BLE pairing broadcast message is saved locally)
the smart device identifies the electronic device as a terminal device according to the first broadcast signal (Para. [0105]-Peng discloses when the first dual-mode Bluetooth terminal sends the first BLE pairing broadcast message, the TV can scan the first BLE pairing broadcast message sent by the first dual-mode Bluetooth terminal after entering the scanning state. When the second terminal scans the first BLE pairing broadcast message, it can determine whether the fixed broadcast address carried in the first BLE pairing broadcast message is saved locally ... The Discovery Device List 601 includes the identification of the device that sent the first BLE pair broadcast message, such as the icon and the name of the discovery. For example, the discovery name of the mobile phone is "Aimi" and in the case that the mobile phone sends out the first BLE pairing broadcast message, the icon 602 of the mobile phone and the discovery name "Aimi" 603 can be included in the list of devices found 601. The second terminal can also save the fixed broadcast address);
establish an initial connection and perform pairing with the smart device by exchanging information with an auto-connection application program stored and executing in the smart device storing related information of the electronic device, by using the communication circuit (Para. [0095]-Peng discloses applications use BLE, and at the same time, ensure that the first dual-mode Bluetooth terminal and the second terminal can implement automatic connection back. Para. [0178]-Peng discloses Bluetooth remote control of the second terminal, the BLE connection between the first dual-mode Bluetooth terminal and the second terminal, such as a home device, will be automatically disconnected when the user exits the first application, such as the intelligent remote control application, or the Bluetooth function of the first dual-mode Bluetooth terminal. Para. [0089]-Peng discloses after the first dual-mode Bluetooth terminal receives the first input, the loading interface can also be displayed in the foreground to indicate that the BLE connection between the first dual-mode Bluetooth terminal and the second terminal is being established. For example, as shown in (d) in Figure 5, the mobile phone can also display the loading interface 507 in the foreground to prompt the user that the smart remote control is in the process of being created. In addition, in the loading interface 507, a prompt box 508 can be included to prompt the user to initiate pairing on a second terminal, such as a home device (such as a television). Para. [0059]-Peng discloses second terminal 102 can be TV, network box, set-top box, air conditioner, refrigerator, washing machine, water dispenser and other household equipment with more complex control functions, or it can be electric lights, fans, Bluetooth speakers, curtains and other smart devices with only switches or limited control functions, and can also be keys, sweeping robots, Bluetooth headsets, smart glasses, smart watches, smart bracelets, smart wristbands and other devices that users have positioning needs. Para. [0105]-Peng discloses when the first dual-mode Bluetooth terminal sends the first BLE pairing broadcast message, the TV can scan the first BLE pairing broadcast message sent by the first dual-mode Bluetooth terminal after entering the scanning state. When the second terminal scans the first BLE pairing broadcast message, it can determine whether the fixed broadcast address carried in the first BLE pairing broadcast message is saved locally ... The Discovery Device List 601 includes the identification of the device that sent the first BLE pair broadcast message, such as the icon and the name of the discovery. For example, the discovery name of the mobile phone is "Aimi" and in the case that the mobile phone sends out the first BLE pairing broadcast message, the icon 602 of the mobile phone and the discovery name "Aimi" 603 can be included in the list of devices found 601. The second terminal can also save the fixed broadcast address. Para. [0017-0019]-Peng discloses by calling the new BLE broadcast interface to generate and send the first BLE pairing broadcast message, and retain the native BLE broadcast interface, it not only ensures the security of other applications when using BLE, but also ensures that the first dual-mode Bluetooth terminal and the second terminal can be automatically connected ... responding to the user's first input, the first dual-mode Bluetooth terminal determines that the application calling the BLE broadcast interface is the first application, and the first application is the application with the permission to call the BLE broadcast interface; The first dual-mode Bluetooth terminal calls the above BLE broadcast interface to generate a BLE broadcast message ... The new BLE broadcast interface only allows application calls with the permission to call the BLE broadcast interface);
break the initial connection such that the auto-connection application program of the smart device enters a deactivated status (Para. [0178]-Peng discloses after the user successfully creates the Bluetooth remote control of the second terminal, the BLE connection between the first dual-mode Bluetooth terminal and the second terminal, such as a home device, will be automatically disconnected when the user exits the first application, such as the intelligent remote control application, or the Bluetooth function of the first dual-mode Bluetooth terminal is turned off (such as the user manually turns off the switch button of the Bluetooth function), or the user leaves the house);
transmit a second broadcast signal by using the communication circuit in the electronic device that includes a value entry that comprises positioning beacon information …, to the smart device which identifies the electronic device according to the second broadcast signal and the related information of the electronic device (Para. [0007]-Peng discloses in response to the second input, the first dual-mode Bluetooth terminal can enter the traditional Bluetooth discoverable state, receive the paging message, respond to the received paging message, the first dual-mode Bluetooth terminal sends a paging response, and the paging response carries the MAC address of the first dual-mode Bluetooth terminal; The first input above is different from the second input above. Para. [0105]-Peng discloses when the first dual-mode Bluetooth terminal sends the first BLE pairing broadcast message, the TV can scan the first BLE pairing broadcast message sent by the first dual-mode Bluetooth terminal after entering the scanning state. When the second terminal scans the first BLE pairing broadcast message, it can determine whether the fixed broadcast address carried in the first BLE pairing broadcast message is saved locally ... The Discovery Device List 601 includes the identification of the device that sent the first BLE pair broadcast message, such as the icon and the name of the discovery. For example, the discovery name of the mobile phone is "Aimi". Para. [0099]-Peng discloses the fixed broadcast address can also be used to establish a BLE connection with the second terminal, the first dual-mode Bluetooth terminal can obtain a fixed address according to the preset formula or table, and when the second terminal is established back-to-back, the first dual-mode Bluetooth terminal can obtain the fixed address according to the above preset formula or table. This fixed broadcast address can also be the unique Media Access Control (MAC) address of the first dual-mode Bluetooth terminal itself) to
activate the auto-connection application program according to the positioning beacon information (Para. [0191]-Peng discloses when the first dual-mode Bluetooth terminal receives the second transmission, it can call the native BLE broadcast interface to generate and send the above second BLE pairing broadcast message in response to the second input. This second input can be the input that activates the Bluetooth function of the first dual-mode Bluetooth terminal. Para. [0008]-Peng discloses by sending the first BLE pairing broadcast message containing a fixed broadcast address, the first dual-mode Bluetooth terminal and the second terminal can be automatically reconnected, shortening the reconnection time, simplifying the reconnection process, and improving the user experience. Para. [0190]-Peng discloses when the second terminal is a smart device with only switches or limited control functions such as lights and fans, or when the second terminal is a key, sweeping robot, Bluetooth headset, smart glasses and other devices that users have positioning needs, the process of establishing a connection and reconnection between the first dual-mode Bluetooth terminal and the second terminal is ... the user can directly receive the input instructing the user to establish a BLE connection with the first dual-mode Bluetooth terminal, such as the receiving user clicking a button on the second terminal, in response to the input, the second terminal can send a pairing request to the first dual-mode Bluetooth terminal),
the positioning beacon information is a positioning data type configured to activate the auto- connection application program (Para. [0191-0192]-Peng discloses when the first dual-mode Bluetooth terminal receives the second transmission, it can call the native BLE broadcast interface to generate and send the above second BLE pairing broadcast message in response to the second input. This second input can be the input that activates the Bluetooth function of the first dual-mode Bluetooth terminal ... in response to the second input, ..., the first dual-mode Bluetooth terminal can also enter the traditional Bluetooth discoverable state, receive a paging message, and respond to the received paging message, and the first dual-mode Bluetooth terminal can send a paging response, which carries the MAC address of the first dual-mode Bluetooth terminal. It should be noted that the first dualmode Bluetooth terminal responds to the second input, and the process of establishing a traditional Bluetooth connection with other devices is the same as that of traditional Bluetooth ... The message format of the paging message and the paging response can refer to the corresponding description in the existing standard agreement. Para. [0008]-Peng discloses by sending the first BLE pairing broadcast message containing a fixed broadcast address, the first dual-mode Bluetooth terminal and the second terminal can be automatically reconnected, shortening the reconnection time, simplifying the reconnection process, and improving the user experience. Moreover, the first dual-mode Bluetooth terminal can also enter the traditional Bluetooth discoverable state after receiving the second input, so that the first dual-mode Bluetooth terminal and the second terminal can establish a traditional Bluetooth connection in order to transmit audio and video files and data to meet the various data transmission needs of users); and
receive a connection request delivered by the activated auto-connection application program of the smart device by using the communication circuit to establish a re-connection with the smart device (Para. [0106-0107]-Peng discloses S404, the second terminal receives the input of the user's instructions to establish a BLE connection with the first dual-mode Bluetooth terminal ... S405. In response to the above input, the second terminal sends a pairing request to the first dual-mode Bluetooth terminal. Para. [0008]-Peng discloses by sending the first BLE pairing broadcast message containing a fixed broadcast address, the first dual-mode Bluetooth terminal and the second terminal can be automatically reconnected, shortening the reconnection time, simplifying the reconnection process, and improving the user experience. Para. [0191]-Peng discloses when the first dual-mode Bluetooth terminal receives the second transmission, it can call the native BLE broadcast interface to generate and send the above second BLE pairing broadcast message in response to the second input. This second input can be the input that activates the Bluetooth function of the first dual-mode Bluetooth terminal).
Peng fails to teach location area of the electronic device.
However, Rowitch teaches transmit a second broadcast signal by using the communication circuit in the electronic device that includes a value entry that comprises positioning beacon information and an indication of a location area of the electronic device, to the smart device which identifies the electronic device according to the second broadcast signal and the related information of the electronic device (Fig. 1, Para. [0039]-Rowitch discloses beacon transmitter for use in positioning operations … beacon transmitter 210 may transmit a {positioining} beacon signal modulated by a unique identifier (e.g., MAC address) and a location of the beacon transmitter using any one of several well-known wireless signal modulation techniques. Fig. 2, Para. [0044]-Rowitch discloses the beacon transmitter 210 may transmit signals providing an identifier of the beacon transmitter 210 (e.g., unique MAC address) and/or describing capabilities of the beacon transmitter 210).
Peng and Rowitch are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of communication networks, dealing with positioning beacon.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the Peng to incorporate the teachings of Rowitch on positioning beacon, with a motivation to indicate location area, and guarantee most home appliances are equipped with a remote control for wirelessly controlling them to provide users with a convenient control experience, (Peng, Para. [0002]).
Regarding claims 2 and 12, Peng in view of Rowitch teaches the Bluetooth communication method of claim 1 and the electronic device of claim 11 respectively,
Peng further teaches the first broadcast signal comprises human interface device (HID) information of the electronic device such that the smart device receives the human interface device information and identifies the electronic device as the terminal device that is equipped with human interface device service (Para. [0105]-Peng discloses when the first dual-mode Bluetooth terminal sends the first BLE pairing broadcast message, the TV can scan the first BLE pairing broadcast message sent by the first dual-mode Bluetooth terminal after entering the scanning state. When the second terminal scans the first BLE pairing broadcast message, it can determine whether the fixed broadcast address carried in the first BLE pairing broadcast message is saved locally ... The Discovery Device List 601 includes the identification of the device that sent the first BLE pair broadcast message, such as the icon and the name of the discovery. For example, the discovery name of the mobile phone is "Aimi" and in the case that the mobile phone sends out the first BLE pairing broadcast message, the icon 602 of the mobile phone and the discovery name "Aimi" 603 can be included in the list of devices found 601. The second terminal can also save the fixed broadcast address. Para. [0097]-Peng discloses the first dual-mode Bluetooth terminal supports BR/EDR. The above service information may include Human Interface Device (HID) services, etc).
Regarding claims 3 and 13, Peng in view of Rowitch teaches the Bluetooth communication method of claim 1 and the electronic device of claim 11 respectively,
Peng further teaches the device related information comprises identification information of the electronic device (Para. [0105]-Peng discloses when the first dual-mode Bluetooth terminal sends the first BLE pairing broadcast message, the TV can scan the first BLE pairing broadcast message sent by the first dual-mode Bluetooth terminal after entering the scanning state. When the second terminal scans the first BLE pairing broadcast message, it can determine whether the fixed broadcast address carried in the first BLE pairing broadcast message is saved locally ... The Discovery Device List 601 includes the identification of the device that sent the first BLE pair broadcast message, such as the icon and the name of the discovery. Para. [0099]-Peng discloses the fixed broadcast address can also be used to establish a BLE connection with the second terminal, the first dual-mode Bluetooth terminal can obtain a fixed address according to the preset formula or table, and when the second terminal is established back-to-back, the first dual-mode Bluetooth terminal can obtain the fixed address according to the above preset formula or table. This fixed broadcast address can also be the unique Media Access Control (MAC) address of the first dual-mode Bluetooth terminal itself).
Regarding claims 4 and 14, Peng in view of Rowitch teaches the Bluetooth communication method of claim 1 and the electronic device of claim 11 respectively,
Peng further teaches the electronic device and the smart device establishes the initial connection and the re-connection based on a Bluetooth Low Energy (BLE) protocol (Para. [0054]-Peng discloses a method for Bluetooth communication, which can be applied to a dual-mode Bluetooth terminal that supports both traditional Bluetooth and Bluetooth Low Energy (BLE). Para. [0007]-Peng discloses a method of Bluetooth communication, which may comprise: the first dual-mode Bluetooth terminal receives the first input of the user; In response to the first input, the first dual-mode Bluetooth terminal can send the first BLE pairing broadcast message, the address type in the first BLE pairing broadcast message is public, the broadcast address in the first BLE pairing broadcast message is a fixed broadcast address).
Regarding claims 5 and 15, Peng in view of Rowitch teaches the Bluetooth communication method of claim 1 and the electronic device of claim 11 respectively,
Peng further teaches deactivating the auto-connection application program after the smart device establishes the re-connection (Para. [0189]-Peng discloses after the first dual-mode Bluetooth terminal and the second terminal are successfully paired, the broadcast will be stopped immediately. Para. [0008]-Peng discloses by sending the first BLE pairing broadcast message containing a fixed broadcast address, the first dual-mode Bluetooth terminal and the second terminal can be automatically reconnected, shortening the reconnection time, simplifying the reconnection process, and improving the user experience).
Regarding claims 6 and 16, Peng in view of Rowitch teaches the Bluetooth communication method of claim 1 and the electronic device of claim 11 respectively,
Peng further teaches executing a predetermined function according to the re-connection by the electronic device (Para. [0190]-Peng discloses when the second terminal is a smart device with only switches or limited control functions such as lights and fans ... after the BLE connection between the first dual-mode Bluetooth terminal and the second terminal is successfully established, the first dual-mode Bluetooth terminal can create a simple remote control to realize the control of the second terminal, such as the first dual-mode Bluetooth terminal creates a switch button for the light to turn on or off the light).
Regarding claims 7 and 17, Peng in view of Rowitch teaches the Bluetooth communication method of claim 1 and the electronic device of claim 11 respectively,
Peng further teaches the predetermined function is an electronic locking function, an electronic unlocking function, an electronic switching on function, an electronic switching off function or a combination thereof (Para. [0190]-Peng discloses when the second terminal is a smart device with only switches or limited control functions such as lights and fans ... after the BLE connection between the first dual-mode Bluetooth terminal and the second terminal is successfully established, the first dual-mode Bluetooth terminal can create a simple remote control to realize the control of the second terminal, such as the first dual-mode Bluetooth terminal creates a switch button for the light to turn on or off the light).
Regarding claims 8 and 18, Peng in view of Rowitch teaches the Bluetooth communication method of claim 1 and the electronic device of claim 11 respectively,
Peng further teaches the second broadcast signal at least comprises a data type entry used to indicate the positioning beacon information and an identification code entry used to indicate the electronic device (Para. [0097]-Peng discloses the BLE broadcast message can include configuration information such as the connection method of the broadcast, the broadcast address, the address type, the identity used to indicate whether BR/EDR is supported, and service information. Para. [0007]-Peng discloses the first dual-mode Bluetooth terminal can send the first BLE pairing broadcast message, the address type in the first BLE pairing broadcast message is public, the broadcast address in the first BLE pairing broadcast message is a fixed broadcast address. Para. [0105]-Peng discloses when the first dual-mode Bluetooth terminal sends the first BLE pairing broadcast message, the TV can scan the first BLE pairing broadcast message sent by the first dual-mode Bluetooth terminal after entering the scanning state. When the second terminal scans the first BLE pairing broadcast message, it can determine whether the fixed broadcast address carried in the first BLE pairing broadcast message is saved locally).
Regarding claims 9 and 19, Peng in view of Rowitch teaches the Bluetooth communication method of claim 8 and the electronic device of claim 18 respectively,
Peng further teaches performing calculation actively by the electronic device to set a value of the identification code entry or setting the value of the identification code entry by receiving a calculation result of the auto-connection application program from the smart device by the electronic device (Para. [0099]-Peng discloses the fixed broadcast address can also be used to establish a BLE connection with the second terminal, the first dual-mode Bluetooth terminal can obtain a fixed address according to the preset formula or table, and when the second terminal is established back-to-back, the first dual-mode Bluetooth terminal can obtain the fixed address according to the above preset formula or table. This fixed broadcast address can also be the unique Media Access Control (MAC) address of the first dual-mode Bluetooth terminal itself.
Regarding claims 10 and 20, Peng in view of Rowitch teaches the Bluetooth communication method of claim 1 and the electronic device of claim 11 respectively,
Peng further teaches the connection request is delivered by the smart device when the smart device determines that a Bluetooth connection status between the electronic device and the smart device is a disconnected status (Para. [0106-0107]-Peng discloses S404, the second terminal receives the input of the user's instructions to establish a BLE connection with the first dual-mode Bluetooth terminal ... S405. In response to the above input, the second terminal sends a pairing request to the first dual-mode Bluetooth terminal. Para. [0014]-Peng discloses the second terminal detects the first BLE pairing broadcast message and sends a pairing request when it determines that the fixed broadcast address carried in the first BLE pairing broadcast message is not saved locally, save the received fixed broadcast address; The first dual-mode Bluetooth terminal receives the pairing request from the second terminal. In response to the received pairing request, the first dual-mode Bluetooth terminal displays the pairing window; First, the dual-mode Bluetooth terminal receives the pairing code entered by the user in the pairing window; The first dual-mode Bluetooth terminal sends a pairing response to the second terminal, which includes the pairing code entered by the user).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the claims have been considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to the new reference (Douglas N. ROWITCH (US 20140253383 A1)) being used in the current rejection.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/OO/
Examiner, Art Unit 2472
/NICHOLAS A JENSEN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2472