DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed on 08/05/26 has been entered in the case. Claims 25, 28-29, 32, 35, 37, 40, 44, 47, 51-52 are pending for examination; claims 48-49 are withdrawn and claims 1-24, 26-27, 30-31, 33-34, 36, 38-39, 41-43, 45-46, 50 & 53 are cancelled.
1) The Examiner noted a Correction of Election/Restriction in previous Non-Final Rejection 03/09/26; please see the marked-up figure above. During the interview on 02/08/26 & 02/19/26, Attorney Neil Gershon agreed to amend claim 28. Consequently, claim 28 is currently being examined based on that agreed-upon amended limitation. However, in the present response to the Non-Final Office Action 03/09/26, claim 28 remains identical to its originally filed version. It is therefore unclear whether the Applicant intends to retain claim 28 as originally filed or to amend it as previously discussed. The Applicant is requested to clarify this matter and confirm the status of claim 28.
Claims 48-49 require that: a plurality of exits for fluid introduction; wherein the exits are in the outer tubular member or the inner tubular member. These limitations are designated to non-elected Fig. 15. Therefore, claims 48-48 are withdrawn.
2) During the interviews on 02/18/26 and 02/19/26, the Applicant re-elected species 8 (Fig. 7). However, based on the Remarks filed on 08/05/26 (see below), the Applicant included the non-elected Fig. 28 in this argument. Note that the non-elected Fig. 28 is a different embodiment from the elected species 8 (Fig. 7).
Note: To clarify the record, the Applicant is requested to confirm in the next response whether the intended election is Fig. 7 or Fig. 14 (as original election in 01/17/25).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 25, 28-29, 32-33, 35, 37, 40, 44, 46-47, 50-52 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
The limitation “the imaging device positioned at distal end of the endoscope such that it does not extend beyond the distal most end of the endoscope, the housing of the imaging device in contact with the inner tubular member” in claim 40 is failing to comply with the written description requirement in elected Fig. 7.
Oppositely, the elected Figs. 7 & reproduced Fig. 7A show that the imaging device 46 extends (radially or in vertical direction in Fig. 7) beyond a distal most end of the endoscope;
and when the housing of the imaging device in contact with the inner tubular member 122, as shown in reproduced Fig. 7A, the imaging device 46 extends beyond the distal most end 118 of the endoscope (in radial direction, on the left side of the distal end 118).
Note: During the interview on 02/18/26-02/20/26, the Examiner believed that the limitation above is suitable in Fig. 28. However, the attorney Gershon disagrees and still elected Fig. 7. Since the Applicant disagrees with Examiner’s statement above, the Applicant is requested to identify the specific claim limitations supported in the elected Fig. 7. The Applicant should amend claimed invention that align with the elected Fig. 7.
Response to Applicant’s argument, see below:
In response, the Applicant included the non-elected Fig. 28 in this argument. Note that the non-elected Fig. 28 is a different embodiment from the elected species 8 (Fig. 7).
The examiner acknowledges that the imaging device 46 is attached to the distal end of the outer catheter. As indicated above, the imaging device 46 extends beyond the absolute distal end of the endoscope. This configuration contradicts the claimed invention, where the imaging device does not extend beyond the distal-most end of the endoscope.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claims 25, 28-29, 32, 35, 37, 40, 44, 48-52 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Salahieh et al. (US 2010/0331776) in view of Adair (US 6,086,528).
Regarding claim 40, Salahieh discloses a steerable & insertable device 30 into a patient comprising:
Note: it is well-known in the art that the steerable catheter is being used in endoscope. Therefore, the insertable device 30 is fair enough to call as endoscope device.
an outer tubular member 34 having a proximal portion, a distal portion, a distal opening, a longitudinal axis and a first lumen; and
an inner tubular member 36 having a second lumen and a distal opening, the inner tubular member coaxially positioned within the first lumen of the outer tubular member, the inner tubular member disposed in the first lumen of the outer tubular for axial movement of one or both of the inner tubular member and outer tubular member (the D & P arrows, in Fig. 2b, the inner tubular member 36 attached to the outer tubular member 34 (at fixation location 38) so a distal region of the outer tubular member is joined to a distal region of the inner tubular member, para [0067] & Fig. 2b;
wherein axial movement of one or both of the inner tubular member and outer tubular member causes deflection of a distal end of the endoscope wherein one or both of:
a) the inner tubular member is axially movable within the first lumen of the outer tubular member in one axial direction to cause deflection of the distal end of the endoscope laterally in a first direction (in Fig. 2a) and the inner tubular member is axially movable in an opposite axial direction within the outer tubular member to cause deflection of the distal end of the endoscope laterally in a second direction (in Fig. 2b) opposite the first direction; or
b) the outer tubular member is axially movable over the inner tubular member in one longitudinal direction to cause deflection of the distal end of the endoscope laterally in the first direction (in Fig. 2a) and the outer tubular member is axially movable over the inner tubular member in an opposite longitudinal direction to cause deflection of the distal end of the endoscope laterally in the second direction (in Fig. 2b) opposite the first direction; and
Salahieh does not disclose that an imaging device including a housing, the imaging device positioned at a distal end of the endoscope such that it does not extend beyond a distal most end of the endoscope, the housing of the imaging device in contact with the inner tubular member, wherein deflection of the endoscope moves the imaging device in direction of deflection.
Adair discloses an endoscope device 10 comprising: an outer tubular member 12; an inner tubular member 27; an imaging device 20 including a housing (element 25 & a distal portion/sleeve of the inner tubular member) positioned at a distal end of the endoscope such that it does not extend beyond a distal most end of the endoscope, the housing (located at distal portion of the inner tubular member 27) of the imaging device in contact with the inner tubular member 27, wherein deflection of the endoscope moves the imaging device in direction of deflection.
It would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the device of Salahieh with providing an image unit located at distal end of the endoscope that does not extend beyond a distal most end of the endoscope, as taught by Adair, in order to capture an image from a different angle and provide a forward view of body cavity.
Note: The Salahieh discloses that the distal tip region of the endoscope being deflected; wherein the imaging device (as modified by Adair) is located at distal end of the endoscope; therefore, the deflection of the endoscope moves the imaging device in direction of deflection.
Regarding claim 25, Salahieh in view of Adair discloses the invention substantially as claimed. Adair discloses that wherein the imaging device 60 includes a complementary metal oxide semiconductor module, col. 3, lines 45-47.
Regarding claim 28, Salahieh in view of Adair discloses the invention substantially as claimed. Salahieh also discloses that inner tubular member 36 can have at least one slot formed therein, para [0079]. Adair discloses that: in addition to light fibers 27, fluid can be introduced through one or more of the channels 26 in order to flush, col. 5, lines 57-59. It is noted that the channel 26 is located within the inner tubular member. Therefore, Adair (or Salahieh in view of Adair) discloses that a gap 26/27 is formed in between the inner tubular member and outer tubular member for irrigation (and/or aspiration for intended use purpose).
Regarding claims 29 & 32, Salahieh in view of Adair discloses the invention substantially as claimed. Salahieh discloses that a guidewire (is same as a removable wire in claim 32) is advanced to a desired location within the subject, para [0132]. It is well-known in the art that the guidewire being used in the endoscope device. Therefore, a person skilled in the art would recognize that the inner/second lumen 36 can be used for passage of a guidewire or removable wire. The removable wire can be performed to ad introduction of the endoscope.
Regarding claim 35, Salahieh in view of Adair discloses the invention substantially as claimed. Adair further states that: in addition to light fibers, other device, i.e. guidewire is passed through the small lumens or channels 26, col. 5, lines 24-26. Salahieh also a lubricious inner line being provided for a medical device or instrument to be advanced therethrough, paras [0071-0072]. Therefore, a person skilled in the art would recognize that the channel 26 (as being used for the guidewire channel passing through) is being provided a lubricous inner liner, as suggested by Salahieh, to facilitate guidewire movement easily within the endoscope.
Regarding claim 37, Salahieh in view of Adair discloses the invention substantially as claimed. Salahieh in view of Adair further discloses that wherein the imaging device includes a camera and lighting includes an optical fiber.
Regarding claim 44, Salahieh in view of Adair discloses the invention substantially as claimed. Salahieh in view of Bayer further discloses that wherein the inner tubular member is lockable (at fixation location 38 in Fig. 1-2 in Salahieh) to the outer tubular member.
Regarding claims 48-49, Note: The Examiner finds the Applicant's election of Figure 7 or Figure 14 confusing. At this stage, the features of claims 48 and 49 were already addressed under claim 28 in the previous Non-Final Rejection 03/09/26 (see below).
Salahieh discloses a plurality of slots/holes 50. Adair discloses the channel 26 can be used to flush or introduce a fluid. Therefore, Salahieh in view of Adair discloses that a plurality of exits 510 (in Salahieh) for fluid introduction; wherein the exits 510 are in the outer tubular member.
Regarding claim 51, Salahieh in view of Adair discloses the invention substantially as claimed. Adair discloses that wherein the imaging device includes transmission members, i.e., #14, 18 & 19 in Fig. 2A, extending proximally, wherein the transmission members extend through the first lumen in the outer member. Note: Adair discloses the transmission members extend through the inner lumen and also extend through the first lumen 26 in the outer member 12, see Fig. 2A.
Regarding claim 52, Salahieh in view of Adair discloses the invention substantially as claimed. Salahieh discloses that the inner tubular member is formed from a laser cut tube, see Fig. 8.
Claim 47 is rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Salahieh et al. (US 2010/0331776) in view of Adair (US 6,086,528) and further in view of Corcoran et al. (US 2006/0241564).
Regarding claim 47, Salahieh in view of Adair discloses the invention substantially as claimed except for the limitations in the claim 47.
Corcoran discloses a steerable catheter device comprising: an outer tubular member 2; an inner tubular member 3 having a second lumen 11 is used for passage of a guidewire, para [0068]; wherein the first lumen of the outer tubular member is lubricated a coating 14 to facilitate movement of the inner tubular member within the outer tubular member, para [0070].
It would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the device of Salahieh in view of Adair with obtaining a lubricious inner liner being formed between the inner and outer tubular members, as taught by Corcoran, in order to facilitate movement of the inner tubular member within the outer tubular member easily.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 08/05/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
In this case, while Salahieh does not disclose an imaging device positioned at the distal end of the endoscope, Adair compensates for this missing feature. Adair discloses an imaging device 20 provided at the distal end of the endoscope to capture an image from a different angle and provide a forward view of a body cavity.
The Applicant argues that Adair fails to disclose coaxial inner and outer tubular members, or their relative movement to deflect the endoscope. However, as discussed in the rejection the above, Salahieh clearly discloses this claimed feature.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/QUYNH-NHU H. VU/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3783