DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of the amendment filed 06/03/2026 which amended claims 1, 12 and 19. Claims 1-20 are currently pending in the application for patent.
Claim Objections
Claim 19 is objected to because of the following informalities:
The limitation “uteyeglasses” should be revised to read “eyeglasses”
Appropriate correction is required.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5, 7-8, 12-14 and 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Jung (US 2002/0085280).
Regarding Claims 1 and 12, Jung teaches an apparatus (Figure 8) for providing an augmented reality (AR) display, the apparatus (Figure 8) comprising:
a transparent panel (Figure 8) configured to present AR content and to be positioned between an object (see Figure 8; wherein the object is located on the size wherein unpolarized light originates) and eyeglasses (Figure 8; wherein the eyeglasses are referred to as polarizing glass), the panel (Figure 8) comprising a first linear polarizer (Figure 8; Polarizer 1) and a liquid crystal layer (Figure 8; Liquid Crystal LC), wherein:
the first linear polarizer (Figure 8; Polarizer 1) is configured to allow light from an object (Figure 8; Unpolarized Light) to transmit through as a polarized light (see Figure 8 and Paragraph [0035]; wherein it is disclosed that liquid crystal display panel LC includes a polarizer which converts light from the back light into polarized light), and
the liquid crystal layer (Figure 8; Liquid Crystal LC) is disposed on the first linear polarizer (Figure 8; Polarizer 1) and at an opposite side with respect to the object (see Figure 8), the liquid crystal layer (Figure 8; Liquid Crystal LC) comprising an array of liquid crystal pixels corresponding to the AR content, each pixel configured to modify the polarized light (see Paragraph [0035]; wherein the liquid crystal display modulates the polarized light from the second polarizer in accordance with signal data) and
the eyeglasses (Figure 8; wherein the eyeglasses are referred to as polarizing glass) physically separated away from and unattached to the panel (see Figure 8) and, the eyeglasses (Figure 8; wherein the eyeglasses are referred to as polarizing glass) configured to be positioned on an opposite side of the panel (Figure 8) from the object (see Figure 8) and to directly receive the modified polarized light (see Figure 8), at least one lens of the eyeglasses comprising a second linear polarizer (see claims 8 and 9).
Regarding Claim 2, Jung teaches the limitations of claim 1 as detailed above.
Jung further teaches one lens of the eyeglasses comprises the second linear polarizer (see claims 8 and 9).
Regarding Claim 3, Jung teaches the limitations of claim 2 as detailed above.
Jung further teaches the first linear polarizer (Figure 8; Polarizer 1) and the second linear polarizer have a polarization difference between each other (see claims 8 and 9).
Regarding Claim 4, Jung teaches the limitations of claim 1 as detailed above.
Jung further teaches one lens of the eyeglasses comprises the second linear polarizer, and another lens of the eyeglasses comprises a third linear polarizer; and the second linear polarizer and the third linear polarizer have same polarization (see Paragraph [0011]).
Regarding Claim 5, Jung teaches the limitations of claim 1 as detailed above.
Jung further teaches the first linear polarizer and the second linear polarizer have a polarization difference between each other (see Paragraph [0011]).
Regarding Claim 7, Jung teaches the limitations of claim 1 as detailed above.
Jung further teaches each pixel of the liquid crystal layer (Figure 8; Liquid Crystal LC) is configured to modify the polarized light according to a control voltage applied on the pixel (see Paragraph [0035]; wherein the liquid crystal display modulates the polarized light from the second polarizer in accordance with signal data).
Regarding Claim 8, Jung teaches the limitations of claim 7 as detailed above.
Jung further teaches in response to the control voltage applied on the pixel being non-zero, the pixel of the liquid crystal layer (Figure 8; Liquid Crystal LC) is configured to change a polarization state of the polarized light to an elliptical polarized state (see Paragraph [0016]; wherein it is disclosed that the retarder layer is made from liquid crystal (LC) mixtures that includes chiral materials and wherein the polarization of light that pass through LCD is changed by passing through one pattern of retarder and is remained by passing through the other pattern of retarder); and in response to the control voltage applied on the pixel being zero, the pixel of the liquid crystal layer is configured to maintains the polarization state of the polarized light (see Paragraph [0016]; wherein it is disclosed that the retarder layer is made from liquid crystal (LC) mixtures that includes chiral materials and wherein the polarization of light that pass through LCD is changed by passing through one pattern of retarder and is remained by passing through the other pattern of retarder).
Regarding Claim 13, Jung teaches the limitations of claim 12 as detailed above.
Jung further teaches providing the eyeglasses (Figure 8; wherein the eyeglasses are referred to as polarizing glass) to be separated away from the panel (Figure 8) and configured to directly receive the modified polarized light further comprises: providing the eyeglasses (Figure 8; wherein the eyeglasses are referred to as polarizing glass) with one of two lenses of the eyeglasses (Figure 8; wherein the eyeglasses are referred to as polarizing glass) comprising the second linear polarizer (see claims 8 and 9).
Regarding Claim 14, Jung teaches the limitations of claim 13 as detailed above.
Jung further teaches providing the eyeglasses (Figure 8; wherein the eyeglasses are referred to as polarizing glass) to be separated away from the panel (Figure 8) and configured to directly receive the modified polarized light further comprises: providing the eyeglasses (Figure 8; wherein the eyeglasses are referred to as polarizing glass) with the second linear polarizer having a different polarization from the first linear polarizer (see claims 8 and 9).
Regarding Claim 16, Jung teaches the limitations of claim 12 as detailed above.
Jung further teaches disposing the panel (Figure 8) configured to present the AR content further comprises: disposing the liquid crystal layer (Figure 8; Liquid Crystal LC), each pixel of the liquid crystal layer (Figure 8; Liquid Crystal LC) configured to modify the polarized light according to a control voltage applied on the pixel (see Paragraph [0035]; wherein the liquid crystal display modulates the polarized light from the second polarizer in accordance with signal data).
Regarding Claim 17, Jung teaches the limitations of claim 16 as detailed above.
Jung further teaches in response to the control voltage applied on the pixel being non-zero, the pixel of the liquid crystal layer (Figure 8; Liquid Crystal LC) is configured to change a polarization state of the polarized light to an elliptical polarized state (see Paragraph [0016]; wherein it is disclosed that the retarder layer is made from liquid crystal (LC) mixtures that includes chiral materials and wherein the polarization of light that pass through LCD is changed by passing through one pattern of retarder and is remained by passing through the other pattern of retarder); and in response to the control voltage applied on the pixel being zero, the pixel of the liquid crystal layer is configured to maintains the polarization state of the polarized light (see Paragraph [0016]; wherein it is disclosed that the retarder layer is made from liquid crystal (LC) mixtures that includes chiral materials and wherein the polarization of light that pass through LCD is changed by passing through one pattern of retarder and is remained by passing through the other pattern of retarder).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jung (US 2002/0085280) as applied to claims 1 and 12, in view of Lee (US 2014/0133025).
Regarding Claim 6, Jung teaches the limitations of claim 1 as detailed above.
Jung does not expressly disclose a color filter layer comprising color pixels aligned with the liquid crystal pixels in the liquid crystal layer.
Lee discloses a color filter layer (Figure 2; Color Filter 142) comprising color pixels aligned with the liquid crystal pixels in the liquid crystal layer (see Figure 2 and Paragraph [0029]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to modify the apparatus of Jung to incorporate a color filter layer comprising color pixels aligned with the liquid crystal pixels in the liquid crystal layer, as taught by Lee, because doing so would predictably allow for the production of a projection image with bright and pure primary colors.
Regarding Claim 15, Jung teaches the limitations of claim 12 as detailed above.
Jung does not expressly disclose a color filter layer comprising color pixels aligned with the liquid crystal pixels in the liquid crystal layer.
Lee discloses a color filter layer (Figure 2; Color Filter 142) comprising color pixels aligned with the liquid crystal pixels in the liquid crystal layer (see Figure 2 and Paragraph [0029]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to modify the apparatus of Jung to incorporate a color filter layer comprising color pixels aligned with the liquid crystal pixels in the liquid crystal layer, as taught by Lee, because doing so would predictably allow for the production of a projection image with bright and pure primary colors.
Claims 9-11 and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jung (US 2002/0085280) as applied to claims 1 and 12, in view of Robbins (US 2014/0176528).
Regarding Claim 9, Jung teaches the limitations of claim 1 as detailed above.
Jung does not expressly disclose at least one camera configured to acquire at least one image of a user to obtain a face position of the user; and a controller configured to render the AR content based on the face position.
Robbins discloses at least one camera (Figure 3; Eye Tracking System 304) configured to acquire at least one image of a user to obtain a face position of the user (see Paragraph [0029]); and a controller (Figure 3; Computing Device 102) configured to render the AR content based on the face position (see Paragraph [0033]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to modify the apparatus of Jung such that at least one camera configured to acquire at least one image of a user to obtain a face position of the user; and a controller configured to render the AR content based on the face position, as taught by Robbins, because doing so would allow for the tracking of the pupil positions of the left and right eyes of the user (see Robbins Paragraph [0029]).
Regarding Claim 10, Jung as modified by Robbins discloses the limitations of claim 9 as detailed above.
Robbins further discloses the controller (Figure 3; Computing Device 102) is configured to perform stereo reconstruction of the face position with respect to the object (see Paragraph [0029]); and the controller (Figure 3; Computing Device 102) is configured to render the AR content based on the stereo reconstruction (see Paragraph [0029]).
Regarding Claim 11, Jung as modified by Robbins discloses the limitations of claim 10 as detailed above.
Robbins further discloses the controller (Figure 3; Computing Device 102) is configured to render the AR content based on the stereo reconstruction (see Paragraph [0029]), the controller (Figure 3; Computing Device 102) is configured to determine a subset of the liquid crystal pixels in a liquid crystal layer, on each of which a control voltage is applied (see Paragraph [0022]).
Regarding Claim 18, Jung teaches the limitations of claim 12 as detailed above.
Jung does not expressly disclose providing at least one camera configured to acquire at least one image of a user to obtain a face position of the user; and providing a controller configured to render the AR content based on the face position.
Robbins discloses providing at least one camera (Figure 3; Eye Tracking System 304) configured to acquire at least one image of a user to obtain a face position of the user (see Paragraph [0029]); and providing a controller (Figure 3; Computing Device 102) configured to render the AR content based on the face position (see Paragraph [0033]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to modify the method of Jung to incorporate providing at least one camera configured to acquire at least one image of a user to obtain a face position of the user; and providing a controller configured to render the AR content based on the face position, as taught by Robbins, because doing so would allow for the tracking of the pupil positions of the left and right eyes of the user (see Robbins Paragraph [0029]).
Regarding Claim 19, Jung discloses a system (Figure 8) for providing an augmented reality (AR) display, the system (Figure 8) comprising:
a transparent panel (Figure 8) configured to present AR content and to be positioned between an object (see Figure 8; wherein the object is located on the size wherein unpolarized light originates) and eyeglasses (Figure 8; wherein the eyeglasses are referred to as polarizing glass), the panel (Figure 8) comprising a first linear polarizer (Figure 8; Polarizer 1) and a liquid crystal layer (Figure 8; Liquid Crystal LC), wherein:
the first linear polarizer (Figure 8; Polarizer 1) is configured to allow light from an object (Figure 8; Unpolarized Light) to transmit through as a polarized light (see Figure 8 and Paragraph [0035]; wherein it is disclosed that liquid crystal display panel LC includes a polarizer which converts light from the back light into polarized light), and
the liquid crystal layer (Figure 8; Liquid Crystal LC) is disposed on the first linear polarizer (Figure 8; Polarizer 1) and at an opposite side with respect to the object (see Figure 8), the liquid crystal layer (Figure 8; Liquid Crystal LC) comprising an array of liquid crystal pixels corresponding to the AR content, each pixel configured to modify the polarized light (see Paragraph [0035]; wherein the liquid crystal display modulates the polarized light from the second polarizer in accordance with signal data) and
the eyeglasses (Figure 8; wherein the eyeglasses are referred to as polarizing glass) physically separated away from and unattached to the panel (see Figure 8) and, the eyeglasses (Figure 8; wherein the eyeglasses are referred to as polarizing glass) configured to be positioned on an opposite side of the panel (Figure 8) from the object (see Figure 8) and to directly receive the modified polarized light (see Figure 8), at least one lens of the eyeglasses comprising a second linear polarizer (see claims 8 and 9).
Jung does not expressly disclose at least one camera configured to acquire at least one image of a user to obtain a face position of the user; and a controller configured to render the AR content based on the face position.
Robbins discloses at least one camera (Figure 3; Eye Tracking System 304) configured to acquire at least one image of a user to obtain a face position of the user (see Paragraph [0029]); and a controller (Figure 3; Computing Device 102) configured to render the AR content based on the face position (see Paragraph [0033]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to modify the system of Jung such that at least one camera configured to acquire at least one image of a user to obtain a face position of the user; and a controller configured to render the AR content based on the face position, as taught by Robbins, because doing so would allow for the tracking of the pupil positions of the left and right eyes of the user (see Robbins Paragraph [0029]).
Regarding Claim 20, Jung as modified by Robbins discloses the limitations of claim 19 as detailed above.
Robbins further discloses the controller (Figure 3; Computing Device 102) is configured to perform stereo reconstruction of the face position with respect to the object (see Paragraph [0029]); and the controller (Figure 3; Computing Device 102) is configured to render the AR content based on the stereo reconstruction (see Paragraph [0029]).
Inquiry
/CHRISTOPHER A LAMB II/Examiner, Art Unit 2882