DETAILED ACTION
Status
Acknowledgement is made of the amendment filed 12/29/2025 which amended claims 1, 9, 12-14, 16 and 18-19. Claims 1-20 are currently pending in the application for patent.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7, 9-16 and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Peng et al (US 2022/0179147; hereinafter referred to as Peng) in view of Kim et al (US 2019/0086671; hereinafter referred to as Kim).
Regarding Claims 1 and 12, Peng discloses an apparatus (Figure 10A; AR Display System 1000) for providing an augmented reality (AR) display (see Paragraph [0065]; wherein it is disclosed that the backlights and displays of this disclosure may be configured to at least partially transmit light, which makes them suitable for augmented reality (AR) displays), the apparatus (Figure 10A; AR Display System 1000) comprising: a first linear polarizer (Figure 6; Polarizer 628) configured to allow light from an object to transmit through as a polarized light (see Paragraph [0065]; wherein it is disclosed that the backlights and displays of this disclosure may be configured to at least partially transmit light);
a liquid crystal layer (Figure 6; LC Layer 620) disposed on the first linear polarizer (Figure 6; Polarizer 628) and at an opposite side with respect to the object (see Figure 6), the liquid crystal layer (Figure 6; LC Layer 620) comprising an array of liquid crystal pixels corresponding to AR content (see Abstract and Paragraph [0065]), each pixel configured to modify the polarized light (see Abstract and Paragraph [0065]); and
eyeglasses (Figure 11; HMD 1100) worn by a user and configured to directly receive the modified polarized light (see Paragraph [0067]), at least one lens of the eyeglasses (Figure 11; HMD 1100) comprising a second linear polarizer (Figure 6; Top Polarizer 626).
Peng does not expressly disclose a panel configured to present AR content, the panel comprising a first linear polarizer and a liquid crystal layer, and eyeglasses separated away from the panel.
Kim discloses an apparatus (Figure 5; Head-Mounted Display Device 10) comprising a first linear polarizer (Figure 5; First Polarizing Layer 200) and a liquid crystal layer (Figure 5; Display Elements 120), and eyeglasses (Figure 5; Optical Unit 600) separated away from the panel (see Figure 5; wherein the optical unit 600 is separated away from the display elements 120 by adhesive layer 500).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to modify the apparatus of Peng such that the panel configured to present AR content comprises a first linear polarizer and a liquid crystal layer, and eyeglasses separated away from the panel, as taught by Kim, because doing so would predictably ensure the polarization of the image displayed to a viewer is pure.
Regarding Claim 2, Peng as modified by Kim further discloses the limitations of claim 1 as detailed above.
Peng further discloses one lens of the eyeglasses (Figure 11; HMD 1100) comprises the second linear polarizer (see Figures 6 and 11; wherein the liquid crystal display panel 600 is inherently duplicated to ensure coverage for both the right and left eye of a user such that both would include a top polarizer 626 and a bottom polarizer 628).
Regarding Claim 3, Peng as modified by Kim discloses the limitations of claim 2 as detailed above.
Peng does not expressly disclose that the first linear polarizer and the second linear polarizer have a polarization difference between each other.
Kim discloses an apparatus (Figure 5; Head-Mounted Display Device 10) comprising a first linear polarizer (Figure 5; First Polarizing Layer 200) and a second linear polarizer (Figure 5; Second Polarizing Layer 630), wherein
the first linear polarizer (Figure 5; First Polarizing Layer 200) and the second linear polarizer (Figure 5; Second Polarizing Layer 630) have a polarization difference between each other (see Paragraphs [0037] and [0050]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to modify the first and second linear polarizers of Peng such that the first linear polarizer and the second linear polarizer have a polarization difference between each other, as taught by Kim, because doing so would predictably ensure the polarization of the image displayed to a viewer is pure.
Regarding Claim 4, Peng as modified by Kim discloses the limitations of claim 1 as detailed above.
Peng further discloses one lens of the eyeglasses (Figure 11; HMD 1100) comprises the second linear polarizer (Figure 6; Top Polarizer 626), and another lens of the eyeglasses (Figure 11; HMD 1100) comprises a third linear polarizer (see Figures 6 and 11; wherein the liquid crystal display panel 600 is inherently duplicated to ensure coverage for both the right and left eye of a user such that both would include a top polarizer 626 and a bottom polarizer 628 wherein the top polarizer 626 in a left eye display is equivalent to the top polarizer in a right eye display); and the second linear polarizer (Figure 6; Top Polarizer 626) and the third linear polarizer have same polarization (see Figures 6 and 11; wherein the liquid crystal display panel 600 is inherently duplicated to ensure coverage for both the right and left eye of a user such that both would include a top polarizer 626 and a bottom polarizer 628 wherein the top polarizer 626 in a left eye display is equivalent to the top polarizer in a right eye display).
Regarding Claim 5, Peng as modified by Kim discloses the limitations of claim 4 as detailed above.
Peng does not expressly disclose that the first linear polarizer and the second linear polarizer have a polarization difference between each other.
Kim discloses an apparatus (Figure 5; Head-Mounted Display Device 10) comprising a first linear polarizer (Figure 5; First Polarizing Layer 200) and a second linear polarizer (Figure 5; Second Polarizing Layer 630), wherein
the first linear polarizer (Figure 5; First Polarizing Layer 200) and the second linear polarizer (Figure 5; Second Polarizing Layer 630) have a polarization difference between each other (see Paragraphs [0037] and [0050]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to modify the first and second linear polarizers of Peng such that the first linear polarizer and the second linear polarizer have a polarization difference between each other, as taught by Kim, because doing so would predictably ensure the polarization of the image displayed to a viewer is pure.
Regarding Claim 13, Peng as modified by Kim discloses the limitations of claim 12 as detailed above.
Peng does not expressly disclose providing the eyeglasses to be separated away from the panel and configured to directly receive the modified polarized light further comprises: providing the eyeglasses with one of two lenses of the eyeglasses comprising the second linear polarizer.
Kim discloses an apparatus (Figure 5; Head-Mounted Display Device 10) comprising a first linear polarizer (Figure 5; First Polarizing Layer 200) and a second linear polarizer (Figure 5; Second Polarizing Layer 630), wherein
Providing the eyeglasses (Figure 5; Optical Unit 600) to be separated away from the panel (see Figure 5; wherein the optical unit 600 is separated away from the display elements 120 by adhesive layer 500) and configured to directly receive the modified polarized light (see Figure 5) further comprises: providing the eyeglasses (Figure 5; Optical Unit 600) with one of two lenses of the eyeglasses (Figure 5; Optical Unit 600) comprising the second linear polarizer (Figure 5; Second Polarizing Layer 630).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to modify the method of Peng to incorporate providing the eyeglasses to be separated away from the panel and configured to directly receive the modified polarized light further comprises: providing the eyeglasses with one of two lenses of the eyeglasses comprising the second linear polarizer, as taught by Kim, because doing so would predictably ensure the polarization of the image displayed to a viewer is pure.
Regarding Claim 14, Peng as modified by Kim discloses the limitations of claim 13 as detailed above.
Peng does not expressly disclose providing the eyeglasses to be separated away from the panel and configured to directly receive the modified polarized light further comprises: providing the eyeglasses with the second linear polarizer having a different polarization from the first linear polarizer.
Kim discloses an apparatus (Figure 5; Head-Mounted Display Device 10) comprising a first linear polarizer (Figure 5; First Polarizing Layer 200) and a second linear polarizer (Figure 5; Second Polarizing Layer 630), wherein
Providing the eyeglasses (Figure 5; Optical Unit 600) to be separated away from the panel (see Figure 5; wherein the optical unit 600 is separated away from the display elements 120 by adhesive layer 500) and configured to directly receive the modified polarized light (see Figure 5) further comprises: providing the eyeglasses (Figure 5; Optical Unit 600) with the second linear polarizer (Figure 5; Second Polarizing Layer 630) having a different polarization from the first linear polarizer (Figure 5; First Polarizing Layer 200) and the second linear polarizer (Figure 5; Second Polarizing Layer 630) have a polarization difference between each other (see Paragraphs [0037] and [0050]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to modify the method of Peng to incorporate providing the eyeglasses to be separated away from the panel and configured to directly receive the modified polarized light further comprises: providing the eyeglasses with the second linear polarizer having a different polarization from the first linear polarizer, as taught by Kim, because doing so would predictably ensure the polarization of the image displayed to a viewer is pure.
Regarding Claims 6 and 15, Peng as modified by Kim discloses the limitations of claims 1 and 12 as detailed above.
Peng further discloses a color filter layer (Figure 6; Color Filter Layers 622) comprising color pixels aligned with the liquid crystal pixels in the liquid crystal layer (see Figure 6 and Paragraph [0060]).
Regarding Claims 7 and 16, Peng as modified by Kim discloses the limitations of claims 1 and 12 as detailed above.
Peng further discloses disposing the liquid crystal layer (Figure 6; LC Layer 620) and each pixel of the liquid crystal layer (Figure 6; LC Layer 620) is configured to modify the polarized light according to a control voltage applied on the pixel (see Paragraph [0060]; wherein the LC layer is described as a twisted nematic (TN) LC layer wherein twisted nematic LC layers inherently work by twisting the path of polarized light, acting as a light valve to control pixel brightness such that in the "off" state, the liquid crystal molecules twist light's polarization by 90°, allowing it to pass through a second polarizer to create a bright pixel and when a voltage is applied, the molecules untwist and align perpendicularly to the glass, preventing light from passing through the second polarizer and creating a dark pixel).
Regarding Claims 9 and 18, Peng as modified by Kim discloses the limitations of claims 1 and 12 as detailed above.
Peng further discloses at least one camera (Figure 11; Eye Tracking System 1114) configured to acquire at least one image of the user to obtain a face position of the user (see Paragraph [0069]-[0070]); and a controller configured to render the AR content based on the face position (see Paragraph [0067]-[0070]; wherein it is disclosed that a control means is used to provide user input and controls to the system and that position sensors 1112 track the position of the HMD 1100 and an eye tracking system 1114 determines the orientation and position of a user's eyes in real time).
Regarding Claim 10, Peng as modified by Kim discloses the limitations of claim 9 as detailed above.
Peng further discloses the controller is configured to perform stereo reconstruction of the face position with respect to the object (see Paragraph [0067]-[0071]; wherein it is disclosed that a control means is used to provide user input and controls to the system and that position sensors 1112 track the position of the HMD 1100 and an eye tracking system 1114 determines the orientation and position of a user's eyes in real time wherein an artificial reality system adjusts sensory information about outside world obtained through the senses such as visual information, audio, touch (somatosensation) information, acceleration, balance, etc., in some manner before presentation to a user); and the controller is configured to render the AR content based on the stereo reconstruction (see Paragraph [0067]-[0070]; wherein it is disclosed that a control means is used to provide user input and controls to the system and that position sensors 1112 track the position of the HMD 1100 and an eye tracking system 1114 determines the orientation and position of a user's eyes in real time).
Regarding Claim 11, Peng as modified by Kim discloses the limitations of claim 10 as detailed above.
Peng further discloses the controller is configured to render the AR content based on the stereo reconstruction (see Paragraph [0067]-[0070]; wherein it is disclosed that a control means is used to provide user input and controls to the system and that position sensors 1112 track the position of the HMD 1100 and an eye tracking system 1114 determines the orientation and position of a user's eyes in real time), the controller is configured to determine a subset of the liquid crystal pixels in the liquid crystal layer, on each of which a control voltage is applied (see Paragraphs [0067]-[0068]; wherein it is disclosed that the control means provides user input and controls to the system and controls a display system to augment views of a physical, real-world environment with computer-generated imagery, or to generate the entirely virtual 3D imagery).
Regarding Claim 19, Peng discloses a system (Figure 10A; AR Display System 1000) for providing an augmented reality (AR) display (see Paragraph [0067]), the system (Figure 10A; AR Display System 1000) comprising: a panel (Figure 6; Liquid Crystal Display Panel 600) comprising:
a first linear polarizer (Figure 6; Polarizer 628) configured to allow light from an object to transmit through as a polarized light (see Paragraph [0065]; wherein it is disclosed that the backlights and displays of this disclosure may be configured to at least partially transmit light); and
a liquid crystal layer (Figure 6; LC Layer 620) disposed on the first linear polarizer (Figure 6; Polarizer 628) and at an opposite side with respect to the object (see Figure 6), the liquid crystal layer (Figure 6; LC Layer 620) comprising an array of liquid crystal pixels corresponding to AR content (see Abstract and Paragraph [0065]), each pixel configured to modify the polarized light (see Abstract and Paragraph [0065]);
eyeglasses (Figure 11; HMD 1100) worn by a user and configured to directly receive the modified polarized light (see Paragraph [0067]), at least one lens of the eyeglasses (Figure 11; HMD 1100) comprising a second linear polarizer (Figure 6; Top Polarizer 626);
at least one camera (Figure 11; Eye Tracking System 1114) configured to acquire at least one image of the user to obtain a face position of the user (see Paragraph [0069]-[0070]); and
a controller configured to render the AR content based on the face position (see Paragraph [0067]-[0070]; wherein it is disclosed that a control means is used to provide user input and controls to the system and that position sensors 1112 track the position of the HMD 1100 and an eye tracking system 1114 determines the orientation and position of a user's eyes in real time).
Peng does not expressly disclose a panel configured to present AR content, the panel comprising a first linear polarizer and a liquid crystal layer, and eyeglasses separated away from the panel.
Kim discloses an apparatus (Figure 5; Head-Mounted Display Device 10) comprising a first linear polarizer (Figure 5; First Polarizing Layer 200) and a liquid crystal layer (Figure 5; Display Elements 120), and eyeglasses (Figure 5; Optical Unit 600) separated away from the panel (see Figure 5; wherein the optical unit 600 is separated away from the display elements 120 by adhesive layer 500).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to modify the apparatus of Peng such that the panel configured to present AR content comprises a first linear polarizer and a liquid crystal layer, and eyeglasses separated away from the panel, as taught by Kim, because doing so would predictably ensure the polarization of the image displayed to a viewer is pure.
Regarding Claim 20, Peng as modified by Kim discloses the limitations of claim 19 as detailed above.
Peng further discloses the controller is configured to perform stereo reconstruction of the face position with respect to the object (see Paragraph [0067]-[0071]; wherein it is disclosed that a control means is used to provide user input and controls to the system and that position sensors 1112 track the position of the HMD 1100 and an eye tracking system 1114 determines the orientation and position of a user's eyes in real time wherein an artificial reality system adjusts sensory information about outside world obtained through the senses such as visual information, audio, touch (somatosensation) information, acceleration, balance, etc., in some manner before presentation to a user); and the controller is configured to render the AR content based on the stereo reconstruction (see Paragraph [0067]-[0070]; wherein it is disclosed that a control means is used to provide user input and controls to the system and that position sensors 1112 track the position of the HMD 1100 and an eye tracking system 1114 determines the orientation and position of a user's eyes in real time).
Claims 8 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Peng et al (US 2022/0179147; hereinafter referred to as Peng) as modified by Kim et al (US 2019/0086671; hereinafter referred to as Kim) as applied to claims 7 and 16, in view of Ryu et al (US 2020/0142254; hereinafter referred to as Ryu).
Regarding Claims 8 and 17, Peng as modified by Kim discloses the limitations of claims 7 and 16 as detailed above.
Peng does not expressly disclose that in response to the control voltage applied on the pixel being non-zero, the pixel of the liquid crystal layer is configured to change a polarization state of the polarized light to an elliptical polarized state; and in response to the control voltage applied on the pixel being zero, the pixel of the liquid crystal layer is configured to maintain the polarization state of the polarized light.
Ryu discloses an apparatus (Figure 3A and 3B) comprising a liquid crystal layer (Figures 3A and 3B; Liquid Crystal Layer 302), wherein in response to the control voltage applied on the pixel being non-zero, the pixel of the liquid crystal layer (Figures 3A and 3B; Liquid Crystal Layer 302) is configured to change a polarization state of the polarized light to an elliptical polarized state (see Paragraph [0054]; wherein it is disclosed that in the first mode, the transparent display is turned on and emits light, and liquid crystal molecules in the switchable λ/4 retarder 310 change a linearly polarized state (i.e., the p-state or the s-state) to a circularly polarized state (i.e., the LHCP or RHCP state)); and in response to the control voltage applied on the pixel being zero, the pixel of the liquid crystal layer (Figures 3A and 3B; Liquid Crystal Layer 302) is configured to maintain the polarization state of the polarized light (see Paragraph [0054]; wherein it is disclosed that in the second mode, the transparent display is turned off, and the liquid crystal molecules in the switchable λ/4 retarder 310 are aligned to deliver ambient light passing through the transparent display to the eyes of the user without reflection).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to modify the apparatus of Peng as modified by Kim such that the control voltage applied on the pixel being non-zero, the pixel of the liquid crystal layer is configured to change a polarization state of the polarized light to an elliptical polarized state; and in response to the control voltage applied on the pixel being zero, the pixel of the liquid crystal layer is configured to maintain the polarization state of the polarized light, as taught by Ryu, because doing so would allow the user to alternately view an ambient scene and an image displayed on the display (see Ryu Paragraph [0054]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CHRISTOPHER A LAMB II/Examiner, Art Unit 2882