DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 4-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hasegawa et al. (US 2015/0096169) in view of Tsutsui et al. (WO 2020/136975), English equivalent US 2021/0305627.
Regarding claims 1 and 4, Hasegawa teaches a slurry for positive electrode for sulfide-based solid-state battery and method of manufacturing the same comprising:
kneading a positive electrode active material, a sulfide-based solid electrolyte, and a solvent (para 0078) to prepare a first electrode material;
further, before and/or after kneading, a dispersion means such as ultrasonic dispersion or the like may be used to make a composition in a slurry homogeneous (para 0078) to prepare a second electrode material;
preparing slurry containing the second electrode material;
coating the slurry on at least one surface of a base material (para 0079); and
a composite body is formed by the solid electrolyte adhering to a surface of the active material in the first step.
Hasegawa does not teach the dispersion means is adding dispersion promotion component to the first electrode active material, the dispersion promotion component promoting dispersion of the solid electrolyte in the solvent.
Tsutsui, directed to a battery material, teaches a dispersing agent, a compound having an imidazoline ring (para 0011).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to add a dispersion agent to achieve the same as in Hasegawa, wherein the slurry with the dispersion agent it is possible to improve dispersibility in a battery material; moreover, suppress a decrease in ionic conductivity of a solid electrolyte, and thus the characteristics of a battery can be improved (para 0011).
Regarding claim 5, Tsutsui teaches solvents including tetralin (para 0047).
Regarding claim 6, Hasegawa teaches producing a sulfide-based solid-state battery (para 0098: Example 1).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2 and 3 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter. With respect to claim 2, the prior art does not further teach storing the second electrode material. With respect to claim 3, the prior does not recognize SBR-based binder as a dispersion promotion component that promotes dispersion of the solid electrolyte in the solvent.
Conclusion
/CARLOS BARCENA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1723