Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 10, 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Haechler et al. (US 20090264737 A1), hereinafter Haechler.
Regarding Claim 1, Haechler teaches: A knee joint implant (figure 1) comprising:
a femoral implant coupled to a femur of a patient (abstract; paragraph 0008; 0046-0048; 0058), the femoral implant including at least one marker (paragraph 0030);
a patellar implant including (abstract; paragraph 0008; 0046-0048; 0058):
at least one marker reader to detect a position of the marker to ascertain positional data of the patellar implant with respect to the femoral implant (paragraph 0030), and
a processor operatively coupled to the marker reader,
wherein the processor outputs the positional data to an external source (paragraph 0029; figure 1).
Regarding Claim 10, Haechler teaches: The knee joint implant of claim 1, wherein the patellar implant includes a transmitter to transmit the positional data to an external source (figure 1; paragraph 0029-0030; Examiner notes that the transmitter is inherent).
Regarding Claim 11, Haechler teaches: The knee joint implant of claim 1, wherein the positional data indicates at least one of patellar shift and patellar rotation (paragraph 0033).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Haechler in view of Disilvestro (US 20050010299 A1).
Regarding Claim 2, Haechler teaches: The knee joint implant of claim 1, but does not mention wherein the marker is a magnet and the marker reader is a magnetic sensor.
Disilvestro teaches wherein the marker is a magnet and the marker reader is a magnetic sensor (paragraph 0044-0053). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date to have modified the invention to include wherein the marker is a magnet and the marker reader is a magnetic sensor as the substitution of one marker for another would have yielded predictable results to one of ordinary skill.
Regarding Claim 3, Haechler in view of Disilvestro teach: The knee joint implant of claim 2, wherein the magnetic sensor is a Hall sensor assembly including at least one Hall sensor (Disilvestro – paragraph 0053).
Claim(s) 4-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Haechler in view of Disilvestro, further in view of Johannaber et al. (US 20180116805 A1), hereinafter Johannaber.
Regarding Claim 4, Haechler in view of Disilvestro teach: The knee joint implant of claim 3, but do not explicitly mention wherein the magnet is a magnetic track disposed along a surface of the femoral implant.
Johannaber teaches wherein the magnet is a magnetic track disposed along a surface of the femoral implant(paragraph 0025-0032). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date to have modified the invention to include wherein the magnet is a magnetic track disposed along a surface of the femoral implant as the substitution of one magnetic tracker for another would have yielded predictable results to one of ordinary skill.
Regarding Claim 5, Haechler in view of Disilvestro, further in view of Johannaber teach: The knee joint implant of claim 4, wherein the femoral implant includes a first magnetic track extending along a medial side of the first implant and a second magnetic track extending along a lateral side of the femoral implant (figure 1; while a ring is shown, a first and second track can be arbitrarily identified).
Regarding Claim 6, Haechler in view of Disilvestro, further in view of Johannaber teach: The knee joint implant of claim 5, wherein the patellar implant includes a first Hall sensor assembly on a medial side of the patellar implant and a second Hall sensor assembly on a lateral side of the patellar implant, the first Hall sensor assembly configured to read a magnetic flux density of the first magnetic track and the second Hall sensor assembly configured to read a magnetic flux density of the second magnetic track (figure 2A; paragraph 0029-0031).
Regarding Claim 7, Haechler in view of Disilvestro, further in view of Johannaber teach: The knee joint implant of claim 6, but do not mention wherein a central portion of the first magnetic track is narrower than an anterior end and a posterior end of the first magnetic track. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified the invention wherein a central portion of the first magnetic track is narrower than an anterior end and a posterior end of the first magnetic track as it has been held that changes in shape or size is a matter of obvious design choice to one of ordinary skill (MPEP 2144.04).
Regarding Claim 8, Haechler in view of Disilvestro, further in view of Johannaber teach: The knee joint implant of claim 7, wherein the first magnetic track includes curved magnetic lines extending across the first magnetic track (figure 1).
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Haechler in view of Stein et al. (US 20140275815 A1 – cited by Applicant), hereinafter Stein.
Regarding Claim 9, Haechler teaches: The knee joint implant of claim 1, but does not mention wherein the patellar implant includes any of a pH sensor, a temperature sensor, a load sensor and a pressure sensor operatively coupled to the processor.
Stein teaches wherein the patellar implant includes any of a pH sensor, a temperature sensor, a load sensor and a pressure sensor operatively coupled to the processor (paragraph 0188). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date to have modified the invention wherein the patellar implant includes any of a pH sensor, a temperature sensor, a load sensor and a pressure sensor operatively coupled to the processor in order to obtain additional data to make qualitative assessments of joint stability and health.
Conclusion
JAY SHAH
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3791
/JAY B SHAH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3791