DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamaura (US 2011/0081593 A1) in view of Oyama et al (US 2019/0097244 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Yamaura disclose a fuel cell stack (Fig. 4 #100; paragraph [0021]) comprising:
power generation cells (single cells in fuel cell stack; Fig. 4 #100; paragraph [0025]) configured to generate power using gas (using oxidizing gas from gas distribution chamber; Fig. 4 #100; paragraph [0026]) and stacked in a vertical direction (stacked in z direction in Fig. 4; Fig. 4 #100; paragraph [0021]); and
a discharge passage defining member extending in the vertical direction and having an annular cross-sectional shape (space #350 of a generally rectangular parallelepiped space; Fig. 4 #350; paragraph [0025]), wherein
each of the power generation cells includes a gas hole (communication hole #115 in Fig. 4 leading air from gas distribution chamber to electrolyte membrane inside each single cell; Fig. 4 #115; paragraph [0026]), the gas holes of the power generation cells defining a gas manifold which extends in the vertical direction and through which the gas flows (oxidizing gas supply manifold #400 in Fig. 4; Fig. 4 #400; paragraph [0026]),
part of an upper wall surface of the gas manifold includes a water collection portion configured to collect water from the upper wall surface (protrusion #410 in Fig. 4; Fig. 4 #410; paragraph [0027]), and
the discharge passage defining member is located below the water collection portion of the gas manifold (space #350 is below protrusion #410; Fig. 4; paragraphs [0026]-[0027]) and defines a discharge passage out of which the water dropping from the water collection portion is discharged (space #350; Fig. 4 #350; paragraph [0025]).
Yamaura does not disclose the fuel cell stack comprising each of the power generation cells including a support frame that supports a membrane electrode assembly and two separators that sandwich the support frame.
However, Oyama discloses a power generation cell (Fig. 2 #12; paragraph [0025]) including a support frame (frame shaped resin film; Fig. 2 #28; paragraph [0029]) that supports a membrane electrode assembly (Fig. 2 #28; paragraph [0025]) and two separators that sandwich the support frame (first metal separator #30 and second metal separator #32 sandwich frame shaped resin film #46; Fig. 4 #30 and #32; paragraph [0026]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the fuel cell stack of Yamaura to substitute each of the single cells of Yamaura with power generation cell having metal separators on both sides of a MEA and sandwiching a frame shaped resin film of Oyama because having the power generation cell where the metal separators have a beaded structure provides suppressed variation of seal surface pressure in bead seals (see paragraph [0006] of Oyama).
Claims 2-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamaura (US 2011/0081593 A1) in view of Oyama et al (US 2019/0097244 A1) in further view of Owejan et al (US 2009/0142632 A1).
Regarding claim 2, Yamaura and Oyama disclose the fuel cell stack of claim 1 as noted above.
Yamaura and Oyama do not disclose the fuel cell stack comprising the water collection portion includes an inclined surface that becomes lower toward the discharge passage defining member.
However, Owejan discloses a fuel cell stack comprising the water collection portion includes an inclined surface that becomes lower toward the discharge passage defining member (water management feature #302 may be a wedge #305 and a surface #306 of water management feature #302 is disposed at a slope with respect to insulation layer #300 sufficient for water drawn by the force of gravity to a terminus #304; Fig. 3 #302; paragraphs [0031]-[0032]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the fuel cell stack of Yamaura and Oyama to substitute the protrusion of Yamaura for the water management feature having a wedge shape of Owejan because having a water management feature with a wedge shape allows for water to drip away from the edges of the fuel cell stack (paragraph [0030] of Owejan).
Regarding claim 3, Yamaura and Oyama disclose the fuel cell stack of claim 1 as noted above.
Yamaura and Oyama do not disclose the fuel cell stack comprising the water collection portion includes a hydrophilic portion that is more hydrophilic than a portion of the upper wall surface other than the water collection portion.
However, Owejan discloses fuel cell stack comprising a water collection portion includes a hydrophilic portion that is more hydrophilic than a portion of the upper wall surface other than the water collection portion (water management feature #302 formed from a material that facilitates the drawing of water away from the fuel cell plates; paragraph [0033]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the fuel cell stack of Yamaura and Oyama substitute the protrusion of Yamaura for the water management feature having a wedge shape of Owejan because having a water management feature with a wedge shape facilitates the drawing of water away from the fuel cell plates (paragraph [0030] of Owejan).
Conclusion
/SATHAVARAM I REDDY/Examiner, Art Unit 1785