DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-4, and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 19 and 20 recite the limitation "the substituted axial hydroxy-trans-cyclooctene" in lines 1-2 of the claim. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claims. Both claims ultimately depend from claim 17 which is drawn to a method for producing the alpha-substituted trans-cyclooct-4-enone of found in claim 9 of the present invention. There is no mention of an axial hydroxy-trans-cyclooctene in claims 9 or 17 of the invention.
Independent claims 1 and 17 recite parenthetical the limitation (400 MHz, CDCl3). It is not clear if the proton NMR must be conducted at the indicated MHz and solvent, or whether that is exemplary. Claims 2-4 and 18-20 depend from claims 1 and 17, respectively, and so are likewise indefinite.
Claims 6 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. The instant claims are drawn to a compound of formula (2a) as recited in claim 5, wherein R is selected from groups like allyl, cyano, acetohydrazide, hydroxyethyl, aminoethyl, etc.; however, claim 5 states that R is only selected from hydrogen, alkyl, aryl, and heteroaryl. Therefore, some of the substituents for R in claims 6 and 8 are broader than the definition of R in claim 5, from which the instant claims depend. Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Crandall et al. (J. Org. Chem., 1974).
Crandall et al. disclose a trans-cyclooct-4-enone compound that is isolated at 95% purity, is produced by irradiating cis-cyclooct-4-enone, and is characterized by 1H NMR including peaks from 1.8 to 3.0, 5.1 to 5.9 (page 248, 2nd col.; page 249, experimental section). This disclosure anticipates the instant claims.
Claim(s) 5-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Scinto et al. (J. Amer. Chem. Soc., 2019).
Scinto et al. disclose an axial hydroxy-trans-cyclooctene (1), wherein R of instant formula (2a) is hydrogen (page 10933). This disclosure anticipates the instant claims.
Claim(s) 9, 17, 18, and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Wolf et al. (Macromolecules, 2020).
Wolf et al. disclose an alpha-substituted trans-cyclooct-4-enone of formula (13) that formed by reaction of a trans-cyclooct-4-enone with a base (potassium tert-butoxide) and an electrophile (iodomethane). This disclosure anticipates the instant claims since the reference teaches an alpha-substituted trans-cyclooct-4-enone, wherein R’ in the instant claims is alkyl (methyl), and the electrophile used in the process is an alkyl halide (iodomethane).
Allowable Subject Matter
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: claims 10 and 11 are drawn to trans-cyclooctene oxime conjugates not taught or suggested by prior art.
Claims 12-16 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. The prior art does not teach or suggest producing an axial hydroxy-trans-cyclooctene by contacting trans-4-cyclooct-4-enone with a Grignard reagent, an organolithium, or an organozinc compound, as recited by the instant claims.
/SIKARL A WITHERSPOON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1692