DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 6-10, 16, 18, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 9,470,364 (Cocks).
Regarding claim 6, Cocks discloses a cover (10) for an adapter for connecting stationary portions of two housings (18, 20) that are connected via a rotatable shaft (see Figures 1-16); the cover comprising:
at least one sheet segment (12, 14) extending longitudinally from a first axial end (top of Figure 2) to a second axial end (bottom of Figure 2) and extending laterally from a first lateral end (at 26) to a second lateral end (at 26) having at least two mounting areas (26) thereon configured to secure the at least one sheet segment over at least a portion of the adapter (see Figure 1), and
a notch (30) formed in the at least one sheet segment at the first axial end, the notch being open to a peripheral edge of the at least one sheet segment and configured to receive a retainer of the adapter at the first axial end so as to axially and circumferentially retain and orient the at least one sheet segment relative to a longitudinal opening of the adapter (see Figure 5).
Regarding claim 7, Cocks discloses t the at least two mounting areas (26) comprise a first flange located along the first lateral end and a second flange located along the second lateral end (see Figure 3 and column 2, lines 20-45).
Regarding claim 8, Cocks discloses the first flange (26) and the second flange (26) have at least one aperture (35, 36) extending therethrough for receiving a fastener (34; see Figures 2-5).
Regarding claim 9, Cocks discloses at least one of the first flange (26) and the second flange (26) have a fastener retention feature configured to hold the fastener during installation of the cover on the adapter (see “nut/bolt” combination in column 2, lines 20-45).
Regarding claim 10, Cocks discloses the fastener retention feature comprises at least one of a washer and nut or a bolt head holder (see “nut/bolt” combination in column 2, lines 20-45).
Regarding claim 16, Cocks discloses the at least one sheet segment (12, 14) is opaque (see Figures 1-5).
Regarding claim 18, Cocks discloses the at least one sheet segment (12, 14) is flexible for selectively forming around the adapter (the at least one segment being made of sheet metal; see column 2, line 61).
Regarding claim 19, Cocks discloses the first lateral end (at 26) and the second lateral end (at 26) are parallel to one another to form a cylindrical shape when the cover is assembled (see Figure 2).
Claim 26 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 8,267,437 (Maier).
Maier discloses a rotary drive assembly (10; see Figures 1-5) comprising:
a drive unit (22) comprising a rotatable drive shaft extending outwardly from a drive unit housing, the drive unit housing having a first axially facing mounting arrangement (at 18, left, in Figure 4) thereon and surrounding the drive shaft (see column 2, line 31, through column 3, line 13);
a driven unit (18) comprising a rotatable driven shaft extending outwardly from a driven unit housing, the driven unit housing having a second axially facing mounting arrangement (at 18, right, in Figure 4) thereon and surrounding the driven shaft (see column 2, line 31, through column 3, line 13);
a coupling (see “drive coupling” at column 3, line 16) removably secured to the drive shaft and the driven shaft thereby connecting the drive shaft to the driven shaft (formed inside 14 in Figure 2);
an adapter (58) secured to the first axially facing mounting arrangement of the drive unit housing and to the second axially facing mounting arrangement of the driven unit housing, the coupling being positioned in an interior area (62) of the adapter, the adapter has a longitudinal opening (54) being sized and positioned so that the coupling can be inspect, maintained, and/or replaced via the longitudinal opening without removing the adapter (see column 3, lines 14-21); and
a cover (66) installed on the adapter to cover the longitudinal opening (see Figures 2-4).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 11-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cocks in view of US 4,848,409 (Jahnke).
Regarding claim 11, Cocks discloses the cover of claim 6, but does not expressly disclose the at least one sheet segment (12, 14) comprises a gasket secured to at least a portion thereof for sealing against the adapter.
Jahnke teaches at least one sheet segment (14) comprises a gasket (22, 32) secured to at least a portion thereof for sealing against the adapter to prevent unnecessary ingress or egress of material (see column 3, lines 23-26). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the cover of Cocks, such that the at least one sheet segment comprises a gasket secured to at least a portion thereof for sealing against the adapter, as taught in Jahnke, in order to prevent unnecessary ingress or egress of material.
Regarding claim 12, Jahnke teaches a lip (30) extending around a periphery of the at least one sheet segment (14) for limiting compression of the gasket (22, 32) to a predetermined magnitude (see Figure 2).
Regarding claim 13, Jahnke teaches a recess in an underside of the at least one sheet segment (14), the recess configured to retain the gasket (22, 32) therein and being defined by a lip (30) for limiting compression of the gasket to a predetermined magnitude (see Figure 2).
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cocks in view of US 6,190,261 (Powell).
Cocks discloses the cover of claim 6, but does not expressly disclose at least a portion of the at least one sheet segment (12, 14) is transparent or translucent.
Powell teaches at least a portion of at least one sheet segment (30, 40) is transparent or translucent in order to more clearly indicate the sheet segment is positioned about potentially dangerous moving parts (see column 3, lines 32-44). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the at least one sheet segment of Cocks to be transparent or translucent, as taught in Powell, in order to more clearly indicate the at least one sheet segment is positioned about potentially dangerous moving parts.
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cocks in view of US 11,324,976 (Wechsler).
Cocks discloses the cover of claim 6, but does not expressly disclose the first lateral end (at 26) and the second lateral end (at 26) are arranged at an angle to one another to form a conical shape when the cover is assembled.
Wechsler teaches it is known in the art of covers to choose between ends being arranged even with one another (i.e. straight) or ends which are arranged at an angle to one another to form a conical shape when the cover is assembled (see column 10, lines 23-35). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the at least one sheet segment of Cocks such that the first lateral end and the second lateral end are arranged at an angle to one another to form a conical shape when the cover is assembled, as Wechsler teaches it is an obvious design choice known in the art of covers to choose between ends being arranged even with one another (i.e. straight) or ends which are arranged at an angle to one another to form a conical shape when the cover is assembled.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1-5, 21-23, 25, and 27 are allowed. The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
Applicant’s arguments filed July 20, 2026, see pages 7-10, are persuasive. The prior art fails to fairly show or suggest, alone or in combination, an adapter comprising all the limitations of amended independent claim 1, or an adapter and cover assembly comprising all the limitations of amended independent claim 27.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 8-9, with respect to the rejection of claim 6 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made as set forth above.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Josh Skroupa/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3678