DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of Species B, embodiment drawn to Figures 6-8, in the reply filed on 10/28/25 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
Claims 1-11, 16-18 and 23 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 10/28/25.
Regarding claim 23, although Applicant indicated it reads on elected Species B, the Examiner respectfully disagrees, noting claim 23 positively recites “a second passage” that appears clearly drawn to non-elected Species A, specifically Figure 3 and [0036, 0042] of the instant Specification. No further disclosure of the “second passage” appear correlated to elected Species B.
Applicant is reminded that upon the cancelation of claims to a non-elected invention, the inventorship must be corrected in compliance with 37 CFR 1.48(a) if one or more of the currently named inventors is no longer an inventor of at least one claim remaining in the application. A request to correct inventorship under 37 CFR 1.48(a) must be accompanied by an application data sheet in accordance with 37 CFR 1.76 that identifies each inventor by his or her legal name and by the processing fee required under 37 CFR 1.17(i).
Information Disclosure Statement
The accompanying information disclosure statement (IDS) submission is/are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“brush control mechanism” in claims 12 and 23.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 12-15 and 19-22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Worthen et al. (US 5,445,164, hereinafter Worthen).
For claim 12, Worthen discloses an apparatus (10) for conducting gynecological and proctological exams (Figs 1-10) (Title, abstract, Cols 1-4), comprising inter alia:
a sensor body (12) having a proximal end (left end Fig 8), a distal end (right end Fig 8), a first passage (lumen of 12 in Fig 8) passing through the sensor body from the proximal end to the distal end (Fig 8), and a lip (14) disposed on the distal end of the sensor body (Fig 8);
a brush control mechanism (33) (Fig 3 and 8) having a proximal end (left end Fig 3) and a distal end (right end Fig 3), the proximal end of the brush control mechanism configured to pass through the first passage from the distal end of the sensor body (Fig 2 and 8); and
a brush (34, 40) disposed on the distal end of the brush control mechanism (Fig 3).
For claim 13, Worthen discloses the apparatus of claim 12, further comprising a grip (16) disposed on the proximal end of the sensor body (Fig 8).
For claim 14, Worthen discloses the apparatus of claim 13, wherein the grip includes a first handle (20) and a second handle (22) (Fig 8).
For claim 15, Worthen discloses the apparatus of claim 14, wherein at least one of the first handle and the second handle is disposed perpendicular to a longitudinal axis (Fig 8).
For claim 19, Worthen discloses the apparatus of claim 12, wherein the sensor body further comprises an alignment guide (30, 32) (Fig 8) and the brush control mechanism further comprises an alignment protrusion (74, 76, 78, 80, 82, 84, 86, 88) (Fig 8), wherein the alignment guide of the sensor body is configured to receive the alignment protrusion of the brush control mechanism (Fig 8) and would inherently rotate the brush control mechanism.
For claim 20, Worthen discloses the apparatus of claim 19, wherein the alignment guide further includes a stop (30, 32) (Fig 8) configured to inhibit movement of the brush control mechanism (Cols 1-4).
For claim 21, Worthen discloses the apparatus of claim 12, wherein the first passage defines a first length and the brush control mechanism defines a rod having a second length, longer than the first length (Figs 1-10).
For claim 22, Worthen discloses the apparatus of claim 12, wherein the brush comprises a tissue swab (36).
Conclusion
The cited prior art made of record on the accompanying PTO-892 and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure, relating to means for configuring a gynecological/proctological examination, sensing, and sampling apparatus.
Jeffrey G. Hoekstra
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3791
/JEFFREY G. HOEKSTRA/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3791