DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-25 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 1 and 12 recited the capsule needs to comply with “the requirements of 21 C.F.R. Section 211.132”, but like claiming a trademark, the code may change over time. As such, what may be claimed now could change later based on potential modifications of the Federal Rules.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 6-8, and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Warner (EP 0426428).
Warner teaches a dried formation having a flavor delivery system comprising 65.5% w/w gum arabic, 12% w/w acesulfame K, 20% w/w peppermint, and 2.5% emulsifier.
Claims 1-8 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by McNeil (WO 2007/133140).
McNeil discloses an oral film composition comprising 51.3% w/w gelling agent consisting of pullulan, xanthan gum, locust bean gum, carrageenan and pectin, 1.53% w/w polysorbate 80 and Atmos 300, 32.7% w/w flavor system consisting of 8.3% sweeteners (sucralose or sorbitol) and 24.4% flavors.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Derwent (“Band seal liquid for hard gelatin capsule- contains gelatin, edible surfactant and water, XP002189839”) in view of Warner (EP 0426428) or McNeil (WO 2007/133140).
Derwent teaches a band seal liquid for hard gelatin capsules containing 15-30wt% gelatin, 0.1-10wt% edible surfactant, and water, where edible surfactants include polyoxyethylene sorbitan fatty acid ester, glycerin fatty acid ester, sucrose fatty acid ester, sorbitan fatty acid ester, propylene glycol fatty acid ester, saponin, or soybean lipid.
Derwent does not teach the flavor component.
It would have been obvious to one of ordain skill in the art to modify the band seal liquid of Derwent using the formulations disclosed in either Warner or McNeil, where they are all dried gelling agents. See MPEP 2144.06.
With regards to the tamper evident limitation, where the primary reference teaches the formulations are used to seal a hard capsule system, it would be obvious to make sure it meets the legal requirements for pharmaceutical sales, which include tamper evident properties.
Conclusion
/BENJAMIN J PACKARD/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1612