DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to the communication received on 09/18/2026 concerning application no. 18/210,978 filed on 06/16/2023.
Claims 1-21 are pending (Claims 9-19 are withdrawn from consideration).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Interpretation
Claim 1 recites “element-respective voltage amplitudes and phases”. While the specification does not recite the term “amplitude”, Paragraph 0043 of the instant specification discloses “Locally integrated sample and hold circuits in each cell are disposed to capture a level voltage for the respective element transmit signal for the respective stimulation refresh event….. The analog data can be distributed in low voltage format (0V to 5V range) ...” It is well-known that “Key aspects of amplitude in wave theory include…Unite of measurement: Often measured in decibels (dB) for sound waves or volts for electrical signals.”1 Therefore, the claim element, in its current form, has adequate support for “amplitude” as operational control is performed via consideration of voltage.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 5 is indefinite for the following reasons:
Recites “a globally distributed ramping analog voltage”. This claim element is indefinite. It would be unclear to one with ordinary skill in the art if the “globally distributed ramping analog voltage” is the same as the “globally distributed programmable level voltage” established in claim 4 or is a separate and distinct feature.
Applicant is encouraged to provide consistent and clear language.
Claims that are not discussed above but are cited to be rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) are also rejected because they inherit the indefiniteness of the claims they respectively depend upon.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hynynen et al. (PGPUB No. US 2010/0063422) in view of Pugh (PGPUB No. US 2018/0132818).
Regarding claim 1, Hynynen teaches a non-invasive wearable ultrasound neural stimulation system, comprising;
a high voltage Application Specific Integrated Circuit (ASIC) configured to generate output drive signals in a range of 0V to 50V and comprising an array of transmit control cells (Paragraph 0034-38 teaches the use of AIC chips that can be combined with the analog circuity. The transducer is controlled for ultrasound imaging via transmission and reception. This includes transmission for a voltage swing from 0 to 11 volts or of 22 volts. See Figs. 5 and 7-8. Paragraph 0028-30 teaches the driving and control of the transducer based on the voltage and the reference voltage. Paragraphs 0032-34 teaches that the voltage is used to drive the transducer. Paragraph 0025 teaches that the connection for the transducer is via the flex circuit or circuit board. Paragraph 0032 teaches a dynamic range of 0-1 volt. Paragraph 0031 teaches phase modulation); and
a 2D array of ultrasound transducers coupled to the high voltage ASIC (Paragraph 0034-38 teaches the use of AIC chips that can be combined with the analog circuity. The transducer is controlled for ultrasound imaging via transmission and reception. This includes transmission for a voltage swing from 0 to 11 volts or of 22 volts. See Figs. 5 and 7-8. Paragraph 0028-30 teaches the driving and control of the transducer based on the voltage and the reference voltage. Paragraphs 0032-34 teaches that the voltage is used to drive the transducer. Paragraph 0025 teaches that the connection for the transducer is via the flex circuit or circuit board. Paragraph 0032 teaches a dynamic range of 0-1 volt. Paragraph 0031 teaches phase modulation);
wherein the high voltage ASIC is disposed to receive and store programmable voltage levels (Paragraph 0034-38 teaches the use of AIC chips that can be combined with the analog circuity. The transducer is controlled for ultrasound imaging via transmission and reception. This includes transmission for a voltage swing from 0 to 11 volts or of 22 volts. See Figs. 5 and 7-8. Paragraph 0028-30 teaches the driving and control of the transducer based on the voltage and the reference voltage. Paragraphs 0032-34 teaches that the voltage is used to drive the transducer. Paragraph 0025 teaches that the connection for the transducer is via the flex circuit or circuit board. Paragraph 0032 teaches a dynamic range of 0-1 volt. Paragraph 0031 teaches phase modulation),
wherein the system is configured to electrically excite all transducer elements of the 2D array with element-respective voltage amplitudes and phases (Paragraph 0034-38 teaches the use of AIC chips that can be combined with the analog circuity. The transducer is controlled for ultrasound imaging via transmission and reception. This includes transmission for a voltage swing from 0 to 11 volts or of 22 volts. See Figs. 5 and 7-8. Paragraph 0028-30 teaches the driving and control of the transducer based on the voltage and the reference voltage. Paragraphs 0032-34 teaches that the voltage is used to drive the transducer. Paragraph 0025 teaches that the connection for the transducer is via the flex circuit or circuit board. Paragraph 0032 teaches a dynamic range of 0-1 volt. Paragraph 0031 teaches phase modulation).
However, Hynynen is silent regarding a system, arranged around a corneal window of a wearable ocular assembly, the wearable ocular assembly configured to couple to a portion of an eye around a cornea of the eye, and
wherein the system is configured to electrically excite all transducer elements of the 2D array with, to generate an acoustic stimulation pattern on a retina.
In an analogous imaging field of endeavor, regarding ultrasound system design, Pugh teaches a system, arranged around a corneal window of a wearable ocular assembly, the wearable ocular assembly configured to couple to a portion of an eye around a cornea of the eye (Abstract teaches a device integrated into the contact lens for placement over the eye. Paragraph 0058 teaches the use and pulsing of ultrasound for identification and imaging. Paragraph 0077 teaches the retinal imaging via the ultrasound imaging system through the cornea. See Fig. 1-7. Paragraph 0044 teaches the control of the voltage and transmission via an ASIC), and
wherein the system is configured to electrically excite all transducer elements of the 2D array with element-respective voltage amplitudes and phases, to generate an acoustic stimulation pattern on a retina (Paragraph 0034-38 teaches the use of AIC chips that can be combined with the analog circuity. The transducer is controlled for ultrasound imaging via transmission and reception. This includes transmission for a voltage swing from 0 to 11 volts or of 22 volts. See Figs. 5 and 7-8. Paragraph 0028-30 teaches the driving and control of the transducer based on the voltage and the reference voltage. Paragraphs 0032-34 teaches that the voltage is used to drive the transducer. Paragraph 0025 teaches that the connection for the transducer is via the flex circuit or circuit board. Paragraph 0032 teaches a dynamic range of 0-1 volt. Paragraph 0031 teaches phase modulation).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Hynynen with Pugh’s teaching of implementation in a contact lens system. This modified apparatus would allow the user to have integration of ultrasound would provide for feedback and analysis without significant delay (Paragraph 0007 of Pugh). Furthermore, the modification allows for integration for contact lens systems would allow for the assessment of cardiac conditions, diabetes, and cardiac rhythm (Paragraph 0077 of Pugh).
Regarding claim 3, modified Hynynen teaches the non-invasive wearable ultrasound neural stimulation system in claim 1, as discussed above.
Hynynen further teaches a system, wherein at least one of:
the 2D array of ultrasound transducers is coupled to the high voltage ASIC via an electrical routing substrate; or the 2D array of ultrasound transducers is coupled to the high voltage ASIC via a vertically integrated assembly (Paragraph 0035-38 teaches the use of AIC chips that can be combined with the analog circuity. The transducer is controlled for ultrasound imaging via transmission and reception. See Figs. 5 and 7-8. Paragraph 0028-30 teaches the driving and control of the transducer based on the voltage and the reference voltage. Paragraphs 0032-34 teaches that the voltage is used to drive the transducer. Paragraph 0025 teaches that the connection for the transducer is via the flex circuit or circuit board).
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hynynen et al. (PGPUB No. US 2010/0063422) in view of Pugh (PGPUB No. US 2018/0132818) further in view of Rubin et al. (PGPUB No. US 2003/0195413).
Regarding claim 2, modified Hynynen teaches the system in claim 1, as discussed above.
However, the combination of Hynynen and Pugh is silent regarding a system, further comprising a local storage of individual phase delays for each respective transducer channel.
In an analogous imaging field of endeavor, regarding ultrasound system design, Rubin teaches a system, further comprising a local storage of individual phase delays for each respective transducer channel (Paragraph 0035 teaches the phase delay can be introduced and controlled for each transducer channel. Paragraph 0040 teaches that the phase shifting and delay can be performed for each channel. See Fig. 3).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the combination of Hynynen and Pugh with Rubin’s teaching of storage of individualized phase delays for ultrasound channels. This modified apparatus would allow the user to control the focal point delivery (Paragraph 0009 of Rubin). Furthermore, the modification simultaneously sum electrical signals, dynamically focus ultrasound, and continuously change the signal (Paragraph 0036 of Rubin).
Claims 4-5 and 7-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hynynen et al. (PGPUB No. US 2010/0063422) in view of Pugh (PGPUB No. US 2018/0132818) further in view of Koptenko (PGPUB No. US 2016/0011305).
Regarding claim 4, modified Hynynen teaches the system in claim 1, as discussed above.
However, the combination of Hynynen and Pugh is silent regarding a system, wherein each transmit control cell of the array of transmit control cells comprises a locally integrated analog memory capturing a globally distributed programmable level voltage.
In an analogous imaging field of endeavor, regarding ultrasound system design, Koptenko teaches a system, wherein each transmit control cell of the array of transmit control cells comprises a locally integrated analog memory capturing a globally distributed programmable level voltage (Paragraph 0042 teaches the use of analog memory with capacitive storage. Paragraph 0045 teaches the operation of the capacitor with the voltage value. See Fig. 8-10).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the combination of Hynynen and Pugh with Koptenko’s teaching of analog memory. This modified apparatus would allow the user to improve signal-to-noise ratio (SNR) and have a scalable system (Abstract of Koptenko). Furthermore, the modification provides better image quality combined with significant reduction in systems' size, power consumption and production cost (Paragraph 0035 of Koptenko).
Regarding claim 5, modified Hynynen teaches the system in claim 4, as discussed above.
However, the combination of Hynynen and Pugh is silent regarding a system, wherein at least one of: the high voltage ASIC comprises an analog memory having capacitive sample and hold circuitry; the analog memory is programmed by sequential sampling of analog voltage levels on a globally distributed analog programming bus; the analog memory is programmed by sequential sampling of analog voltage levels on multiple globally distributed analog programming busses; or the analog memory is programmed by sampling of a globally distributed ramping analog voltage based on a digitally programmed time step value at each unit cell.
In an analogous imaging field of endeavor, regarding ultrasound system design, Koptenko teaches a system, wherein at least one of: the high voltage ASIC comprises an analog memory having capacitive sample and hold circuitry; the analog memory is programmed by sequential sampling of analog voltage levels on a globally distributed analog programming bus; the analog memory is programmed by sequential sampling of analog voltage levels on multiple globally distributed analog programming busses; or the analog memory is programmed by sampling of a globally distributed ramping analog voltage based on a digitally programmed time step value at each unit cell (Paragraph 0042 teaches the use of analog memory with capacitive storage. Paragraph 0045 teaches the operation of the capacitor with the voltage value. See Fig. 8-10).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the combination of Hynynen and Pugh with Koptenko’s teaching of analog memory. This modified apparatus would allow the user to improve signal-to-noise ratio (SNR) and have a scalable system (Abstract of Koptenko). Furthermore, the modification provides better image quality combined with significant reduction in systems' size, power consumption and production cost (Paragraph 0035 of Koptenko).
Regarding claim 7, modified Hynynen teaches the system in claim 1, as discussed above.
However, the combination of Hynynen and Pugh is silent regarding a system, wherein each transmit control cell comprises multiple locally integrated analog memory cells capturing multiple globally distributed programmable level voltages.
In an analogous imaging field of endeavor, regarding ultrasound system design, Koptenko teaches a system, wherein each transmit control cell comprises multiple locally integrated analog memory cells capturing multiple globally distributed programmable level voltages (Paragraph 0042 teaches the use of analog memory with capacitive storage. Paragraph 0045 teaches the operation of the capacitor with the voltage value. See Fig. 8-10. Paragraph 0037-38 teaches that the cells are in distinct rows or banks 132 and that have common signal lines and control switches and operates for beamforming).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the combination of Hynynen and Pugh with Koptenko’s teaching of multiple analog memory cells. This modified apparatus would allow the user to improve signal-to-noise ratio (SNR) and have a scalable system (Abstract of Koptenko). Furthermore, the modification provides better image quality combined with significant reduction in systems' size, power consumption and production cost (Paragraph 0035 of Koptenko).
Regarding claim 8, modified Hynynen teaches the system in claim 7, as discussed above.
However, the combination of Hynynen and Pugh is silent regarding a system, wherein extended pulse trains of multiple independently programmed voltage levels are implemented by transmitting in turn pulses that are scaled to match respective individual voltage levels stored in multiple individual local analog memory cells.
In an analogous imaging field of endeavor, regarding ultrasound system design, Koptenko teaches a system, wherein extended pulse trains of multiple independently programmed voltage levels are implemented by transmitting in turn pulses that are scaled to match respective individual voltage levels stored in multiple individual local analog memory cells (Paragraph 0042 teaches the use of analog memory with capacitive storage. Paragraph 0045 teaches the operation of the capacitor with the voltage value. See Fig. 8-10. Paragraph 0037-38 teaches that the cells are in distinct rows or banks 132 and that have common signal lines and control switches and operates for beamforming).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the combination of Hynynen and Pugh with Koptenko’s teaching of multiple analog memory cells. This modified apparatus would allow the user to improve signal-to-noise ratio (SNR) and have a scalable system (Abstract of Koptenko). Furthermore, the modification provides better image quality combined with significant reduction in systems' size, power consumption and production cost (Paragraph 0035 of Koptenko).
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hynynen et al. (PGPUB No. US 2010/0063422) in view of Pugh (PGPUB No. US 2018/0132818) further in view of Bappoo et al. (PGPUB No. US 2024/0180523).
Regarding claim 6, modified Hynynen teaches the system in claim 1, as discussed above.
However, the combination of Hynynen and Pugh is silent regarding a system, wherein at least one of: the programmable voltage levels are generated by a locally integrated noise- shaping DAC at each element; or the programmable voltage levels are generated by a single locally integrated noise-shaping DAC for the entire array.
In an analogous imaging field of endeavor, regarding ultrasound system design, Bappoo teaches a system, wherein at least one of: the programmable voltage levels are generated by a locally integrated noise- shaping DAC at each element; or the programmable voltage levels are generated by a single locally integrated noise-shaping DAC for the entire array (Paragraph 0109 teaches the use of DAC and the noise filtering. The system can operate with respect to the ASIC chip and used in beamforming and multiplexing).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the combination of Hynynen and Pugh with Bappoo’s teaching of DAC and noise filtering. This modified apparatus would allow the user to improve image visibility (Paragraph 0077 of Bappoo). Furthermore, the modification filter noise and have a reduced size for the system (Paragraphs 0108-09 of Bappoo).
Claims 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hynynen et al. (PGPUB No. US 2010/0063422) in view of Pugh (PGPUB No. US 2018/0132818) further in view of Kim et al. (US Patent No. 10,302,964) as supported by Pugh (PGPUB No. US 2015/0148650).
Regarding claim 18, modified Hynynen teaches the system in claim 1, as discussed above.
Hynynen further teaches a system, comprising: the high-precision non-invasive wearable ultrasound neural stimulation system of claim 1 (As discussed above).
However, the combination of Hynynen and Pugh is silent regarding a system, one or more fluid channels at least partially surrounding the high-precision non-invasive wearable ultrasound neural stimulation system device.
In an analogous imaging field of endeavor, regarding ultrasound system design, Kim teaches a system, one or more fluid channels at least partially surrounding the high-precision non-invasive wearable ultrasound neural stimulation system device (Claim 1 teaches that the contact lens can have an inlet port for fluid collection).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the combination of Hynynen and Pugh with Kim’s teaching of fluid channels. It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art that the channels can be arranged about the ultrasound transducers and integrated into a contact lens. This integration of ultrasound would provide for feedback and analysis without significant delay as noted in Pugh (Paragraph 0007). It would be clear to one with ordinary skill in the art that this integration for contact lens systems would allow for the assessment of cardiac conditions, diabetes, and cardiac rhythm as noted in Pugh (Paragraph 0077). This modified apparatus would allow the user to provide necessary treatment (Col. 1 of Kim). Furthermore, the modification does not have be burden of collection of tear and has clinical purpose (Col. 1 of Kim).
Regarding claim 19, modified Hynynen teaches the system in claim 18, as discussed above.
However, the combination of Hynynen and Pugh is silent regarding a system, further comprising: one or more fluid inlets defining an opening between one or more of the fluid channels and an environment.
In an analogous imaging field of endeavor, regarding ultrasound system design, Kim teaches a system, further comprising: one or more fluid inlets defining an opening between one or more of the fluid channels and an environment (Claim 1 teaches that the contact lens can have an inlet port for fluid collection).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the combination of Hynynen and Pugh with Kim’s teaching of fluid inlets for fluids. It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art that the channels can be arranged about the ultrasound transducers and integrated into a contact lens. This integration of ultrasound would provide for feedback and analysis without significant delay as noted in Pugh (Paragraph 0007). It would be clear to one with ordinary skill in the art that this integration for contact lens systems would allow for the assessment of cardiac conditions, diabetes, and cardiac rhythm as noted in Pugh (Paragraph 0077). This modified apparatus would allow the user to provide necessary treatment (Col. 1 of Kim). Furthermore, the modification does not have be burden of collection of tear and has clinical purpose (Col. 1 of Kim).
Regarding claim 20, modified Hynynen teaches the system in claim 19, as discussed above.
However, the combination of Hynynen and Pugh is silent regarding a system, the environment comprising one or more of an ambient environment and an in vivo environment.
In an analogous imaging field of endeavor, regarding ultrasound system design, Kim teaches a system, the environment comprising one or more of an ambient environment and an in vivo environment (Abstract teaches placement of the contact lens on the eyeball).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the combination of Hynynen and Pugh with Kim’s teaching of placement of the contact lens in an environment. It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art that the channels can be arranged about the ultrasound transducers and integrated into a contact lens. This integration of ultrasound would provide for feedback and analysis without significant delay as noted in Pugh (Paragraph 0007). It would be clear to one with ordinary skill in the art that this integration for contact lens systems would allow for the assessment of cardiac conditions, diabetes, and cardiac rhythm as noted in Pugh (Paragraph 0077). This modified apparatus would allow the user to provide necessary treatment (Col. 1 of Kim). Furthermore, the modification does not have be burden of collection of tear and has clinical purpose (Col. 1 of Kim).
Claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hynynen et al. (PGPUB No. US 2010/0063422) in view of Pugh (PGPUB No. US 2018/0132818) further in view of Tyler (PGPUB No. US 2012/0289869).
Regarding claim 21, modified Hynynen teaches the system in claim 1, as discussed above.
However, the combination of Hynynen and Pugh is silent regarding a system, wherein at least one of: the ultrasound transducers are micromachined; or the ultrasound transducers are sectioned using a dicing saw.
In an analogous imaging field of endeavor, regarding ultrasound system design, Tyler teaches a system, wherein at least one of: the ultrasound transducers are micromachined; or the ultrasound transducers are sectioned using a dicing saw (Paragraph 0006 teaches use of CMUT).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the combination of Hynynen and Pugh with Tyler’s teaching of CMUT transducers. This modified apparatus would allow the user to treat the patient and improve learning and memory (Paragraph 0083 of Tyler). Furthermore, the modification allows for the desired ultrasound application on the subject (Paragraph 0006 of Tyler).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Abreu (PGPUB No. US 2002/0049389): Teaches contact lens with ultrasound implementation.
Toner et al. (PGPUB No. US 2020/0333630): Teaches contact lens with ultrasound implementation.
Sakuma et al. (PGPUB No. US 2022/0171218): Teaches contact lens with ultrasound implementation.
Adoni et al. (PGPUB No. US 2022/0357592): Teaches contact lens with ultrasound implementation.
Bujak et al. (PGPUB No. US 2015/0148711): Teaches contact lens with ultrasound implementation.
Langford et al. (PGPUB No. US 2019/0346692): Teaches contact lens with ultrasound implementation.
Shoham et al. (PGPUB No. US 2013/0079621): Teaches contact lens with ultrasound implementation.
Khuri-Yakub et al. (PGPUB No. US 2013/0245505): Teaches contact lens with ultrasound implementation.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ADIL PARTAP S VIRK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3798
1 Link: https://www.keysight.com/used/us/en/knowledge/guides/how-to-measure-amplitude-engineers-guide