DETAILED ACTION
Current Status of 18/210,992
This Office Action is responsive to the amended claims received 17 December 2025.
Claims 1, 3, 5-15, and 19-22 are currently pending.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of ALS in the telephone conversation of 12 September 2025, as the species of “neuron inflammation condition” of claim 1, is acknowledged. The elected species has been determined to read on claims 1, 3, 9-15, and 19-21. Claims 5-8 and 22 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
A search for Applicant’s elected species did not retrieve applicable prior art or double patent art. Therefore, the search was expanded sufficiently to reach the references upon which the rejections below are based. MPEP 803.02; Ex parte Ohsaka, 2 USPQ2d 1460, 1461 (Bd. Pat. App. lnt. 1987).
Priority
Applicant’s claim for the benefit of the prior-filed patent applications 17/323,514 (filed 18 May 2021), 16/328,956 (filed 27 February 2019), PCT/US2017/049702 (filed 31 August 2017), and 62/382,192 (filed 31 August 2016) under 35 U.S.C. 119(e), 120, 121, 365(c), or 386(c) is acknowledged.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) received on 17 December 2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, this information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Response to Amendments
The objections to the drawings, present in the previous office action, are hereby withdrawn due to the replacement drawing sheets.
The objections to the claims, present in the previous office action, are hereby withdrawn due to Applicant’s amendments.
The 35 U.S.C. 112 rejections to the claims, present in the previous office action, are hereby withdrawn due to Applicant’s amendments.
The 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and/or 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) rejections to the claims, present in the previous office action, are hereby withdrawn due to Applicant’s amendments. New rejections are provided herein, as necessitated by Applicant’s amendments.
The 35 U.S.C. 103 rejections to the claims, present in the previous office action, are hereby withdrawn due to Applicant’s amendments. New rejections are provided herein, as necessitated by Applicant’s amendments.
The nonstatutory double patenting rejections to the claims, present in the previous office action, are hereby withdrawn due to Applicant’s amendments.
Response to Arguments
Applicant argues that MOUSSY does not teach one of the instantly claimed compounds. Applicant argues that the ‘648 patent, cited within a double patenting rejection in the previous action, does not teach the subject matter of the amended claims.
The Examiner has withdrawn the rejections based upon MOUSSY and the ‘648 patent due to Applicant’s amendments.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 9-11, 14-15, and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by:
ELMALEH (Cited by Applicant in IDS of 9 November 2023; WO 2014/066318 A1; International Publication Date 1 May 2014).
ELMALEH teaches the compound shown below in Table 2 therein (referred to as TS734 therein). The TS734 compound of ELMALEH is identical to compound (I) of the instant claims. ELMALEH teaches TS734 to be a cromolyn derivative in paragraph [00190] therein. Together, claims 1 and 18 of ELMALEH teach the administration of a cromolyn derivate for the treatment of dementia.
The Examiner interprets “a condition associated with prion disease”, as stated in instant claim 1, to include dementia. A definition of this phrase is not present in the instant specification.
Paragraphs [00123]-[00125] of ELMALEH teach intravenous and transdermal administration, and administration through inhalation, of the compositions therein. Together, paragraphs [0030], [0059], and claim 7 of ELMALEH teaches the additional administration of siRNA to target Aβ peptide. Paragraph [00190] of ELMALEH teaches that TS734 inhibits aggregation of Aβ.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 9-15, and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over:
ELMALEH (Cited by Applicant in IDS of 9 November 2023; WO 2014/066318 A1; International Publication Date 1 May 2014).
Teachings of ELMALEH are described in the rejections above.
Regarding claims 12-13: Example 1 of ELMALEH teaches a cromolyn dosage of 20 mg taken 4 times per day (80 mg/day/patient). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the instant effective filing date, to apply the dosage taught for cromolyn (within ELMALEH) to the cromolyn derivative taught by ELMALEH, TS734. The artisan would have expected success using this dosage because the TS734 derivative is nearly identical to cromolyn.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3 and 19-20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The closest prior art is that of ELMALEH (Cited by Applicant in IDS of 9 November 2023; WO 2014/066318 A1; International Publication Date 1 May 2014), which teaches an identical compound. Specifically, ELMALEH teaches the compound shown below in Table 2 therein (referred to as TS734 therein), shown below. Together, claims 1 and 18 of ELMALEH teach the administration of a cromolyn derivate for the treatment of dementia.
ELMALEH does not provide any teachings related to the condition of ALS. The Examiner is not aware of a reasonable explanation why one of ordinary skill in the art would take the compound of ELMALEH and apply it to the treatment of ALS.
Conclusion
Claims 1, 9-15, and 21 are currently rejected. Claims 3 and 19-20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JDMc/Examiner, Art Unit 1625 /Andrew D Kosar/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1625