DETAILED ACTION
Notice of AIA Status
The present application is being examined under the AIA the first inventor to file provisions.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers submitted under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d), which papers have been placed of record in the file.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
.Response to Amendments
Applicant’s arguments see remarks, filed 05/21/2026, with respect to the claim objections, are persuasive due to claim amendments thus have been withdrawn.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments see remarks, filed 05/21/2026, with respect to the 103, art rejection have been fully considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to the current combinations of references being used in the current rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 1, 10, and 21 along with its dependent claims are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, because the specification, while being enabling for may provide a guide indicating the time interval in a state of editing the video 310, as described in Paragraph [0090] in the specification, also please see Fig. 4 does not reasonably provide enablement for explicitly disclosing the claim language “wherein the stored data is used when the first video is edited”, as claimed in claims 1, 10, and 21.
The specification does not enable any person skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to use the invention commensurate in scope with these claims. The claimed subject matter, not taught by the specification is having the store data used when the first video is edited.
Claims 3, 8, 12, and 23 along with their dependent claims 6-14, and 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, because the specification, while being enabling for may provide a guide indicating the time interval in a state of editing the video 310, as described in Paragraph [0090] in the specification, also please see Fig. 4, does not reasonably provide enablement for explicitly disclosing the claim language “wherein the stored another data is used when the first video is edited” as claimed in claims 3, 8, 12, and 23.
The specification does not enable any person skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to use the invention commensurate in scope with these claims. The claimed subject matter, not taught by the specification is having the store data used when the first video is edited.
Claims 29 and 32, along with their dependent claims are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, because the specification, while being enabling for Referring to FIG. 3, according to an embodiment, the electronic device 101 may obtain the video through the camera 210. The electronic device 101 may obtain the video by controlling the camera 210 in a folding state, an unfolding state, and/or a flex mode. The electronic device 101 may identify at least one subject 315 while obtaining the video. For example, the electronic device 101 may identify a direction of the at least one subject 315 identified in the video, as described in Paragraph [0081] in the specification, also please see Fig. 3, does not reasonably provide enablement for explicitly disclosing the claim language “second frames of the first video obtained via the camera in the folded state of the electronic device, and third frames of the first video obtained via the camera in the partially-folded state of the electronic device, and wherein the first frames indicated by the stored data are displayed as visually distinct relative to the second frames and the third frames” as claimed in claims 29 and 32.
The specification does not enable any person skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to use the invention commensurate in scope with these claims. The claimed subject matter, not taught by the specification is having separate groups of frames based on the state of the when the image was taken and displaying a specific group of frames as visually distinct.
Claim 34, along with their dependent claims are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, because the specification, while being enabling for Referring to FIG. 3, according to an embodiment, the electronic device 101 may obtain the video through the camera 210. The electronic device 101 may obtain the video by controlling the camera 210 in a folding state, an unfolding state, and/or a flex mode. The electronic device 101 may identify at least one subject 315 while obtaining the video. For example, the electronic device 101 may identify a direction of the at least one subject 315 identified in the video, as described in Paragraph [0081] in the specification, also please see Fig. 3, does not reasonably provide enablement for explicitly disclosing the claim language “second frames of the first video obtained via the first camera, and third frames of the first video obtained via the second camera, and wherein the first frames indicated by the stored data are displayed as visually distinct relative to the second frames and the third frames” as claimed in claims 34.
The specification does not enable any person skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to use the invention commensurate in scope with these claims. The claimed subject matter, not taught by the specification is having separate groups of frames based on the state of the when the image was taken and displaying a specific group of frames as visually distinct.
Claims 30, 33, and 35 along with their dependent claims are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, because the specification, while being enabling for the electronic device may store the video obtained by segmenting the time interval 601, as in the state 610, based on an input that accepts the segment of the time interval 601. The electronic device may display a visual object for canceling the input that accepts the segment, on the screen, as described in Paragraph [0104] in the specification, also please see Fig. 6, does not reasonably provide enablement for explicitly disclosing the claim language “other user input for excluding the first frames displayed as visually distinct relative to the second frames and the third frames in the UI from the first video” as claimed in claims 30, 33, and 35.
The specification does not enable any person skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to use the invention commensurate in scope with these claims. The claimed subject matter, not taught by the specification is having user input for frames to exclude frames based on them being visually distinct frames.
Claim 31 along with their dependent claims are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, because the specification, while being enabling for the electronic device may identify the state and/or the mode of the electronic device. For example, in the fifth case, the electronic device may identify that the electronic device changes from the flex mode to the unfolding state. For example, the electronic device may obtain a time interval including a timing changing from the flex mode to the unfolding state. The electronic device may store metadata including the time interval in the video 310., as described in Paragraph [0107] in the specification, also please see Fig. 6, does not reasonably provide enablement for explicitly disclosing the claim language “a first time period that the electronic device is in the folded state, a second time period that a state of the electronic device is changed from the folded state to the partially-folded state, and a third time period that the electronic device is in the partially-folded state” as claimed in claim 31.
The specification does not enable any person skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to use the invention commensurate in scope with these claims. The claimed subject matter, not taught by the specification is taking images in certain states for certain time periods.
The office respectfully requests the Applicant to indicate where in the specification teaches the limitation in claims 1, 3, 8, 10, 12, 21, 23, 29-35 or amend in order to overcome the rejection under 35 U.S.C. 112(a.).
Claims 31, and associated dependent claims are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 31 recites the limitation “wherein the frames of the first video are obtained via the camera the second time period from the plurality of the time periods” in Line 7-8. The office finds the term “wherein the frames of the first video are obtained via the camera the second time period from the plurality of the time periods.” rendering the claim indefinite. It is not clear what the applicant means by “obtained via the camera the second time period from the plurality of the time periods”, whether or not the images are taken during, after, or before the second time period. For purpose of examination the examiner is interpreting the limitation as “wherein the frames of the first video are obtained via the camera during the second time period from the plurality of the time periods.”. The office respectfully requests the Applicant to amend claim 31 in order to clarify the claimed invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 10, and 29-35 are rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over Kang et al. (US 20170094168 A1) hereafter referenced as Kang in view of Cheong et al. (US 20180039387 A1) hereafter referenced as Cheong.
Regarding claim 1, Kang teaches an electronic device comprising (Fig. 1, Paragraph [0037]- Kang discloses an electronic device according to various embodiments of the present disclosure may be a device including a communication function.):
a housing including a first housing part and a second housing part rotatably coupled with the first housing part (Fig. 2A Paragraph [0051]- Kang discloses the flexible device may have a structure in which the housing is divided into a first housing 220 and a second housing 230 with respect to a folding device. Furthermore, the flexible device may be a single housing that has parts connected to each other, and the parts may be differently referred to as the first housing 220 and the second housing 230. Herein, the folding device may be a hinge 210. The electronic device may refer to a device that may be curved, bent, or folded through the hinge 210. Accordingly, the hinge 210 and the folding axis 215 may exist in the electronic device.);
at least one sensor (Fig. 5, paragraph [0075]- Kang discloses the first sensor 133 may be installed adjacent to the hinge 210 or the folding device 430.);
a camera (Fig. 5, paragraph [0076]- Kang discloses in the photographing mode, the camera 120 may acquire an image, and the acquired image may be processed by the processor 100 and may be displayed on the display 140.);
memory comprising one or more storage media storing one or more instructions (Fig. 1, paragraph [0041]- Kang discloses a memory 110 may include a volatile and/or non-volatile memory. The memory 110 may store, for example, commands or data relating to at least one other element of the electronic device. According to an embodiment, the memory 110 may store software and/or programs.);
and at least one processor comprising processing circuitry (Fig. 1, paragraph [0040]- Kang discloses a processor 100 may include one or more of a Central Processing Unit (CPU), an Application Processor (AP), and a Communication Processor (CP). The processor 100 may carry out, for example, operations or data processing relating to the control, image processing, and/or communication of at least one other element of the electronic device.),
identify frames of the first video obtained via the camera while a state of the electronic device is changed from the folded state to the partially-folded state (Fig. 15. Paragraph [0126]- Kang discloses the processor 100 may process output images of the camera 120 acquired according to the folding of the electronic device and may compose the processed images according to the rotation angle in step 1513. When a signal for ending the photographing (e.g., a signal for unfolding the electronic device) is detected, the processor 100 may recognize the signal in step 1515 and may turn the camera 120 off to end the photographing in step 1519.);
and store data indicating that the frames are obtained while a state of the electronic device is changed from the folded state to the partially-folded state (Fig. 13, Paragraph [0117]- Kang discloses the processor 100 may process the images acquired by the camera 120 at the set intervals and may temporarily store the processed images as still images. The set intervals may be set time intervals or set folding angles.),
wherein the stored data is used when the first video is edited (Fig. 10, Paragraph [0109]- Kang discloses when an input of an end button is detected, or the electronic device is detected to be unfolded as indicated by reference numeral 1090, while the moving panorama photographing mode is being performed, the processor 100 may recognize it in step 919, process the images into a moving panoramic image by processing and composing the images, and display the processed moving panoramic image on the display 140 as shown on a screen 1040 (wherein the first video is the stream of images created and its edited by composing the images/frames).);
and at least based on editing the first video, generate a second video by excluding the frames from the first video (Fig. 19, Paragraph [0147]- Kang discloses editing the displayed images by removing images selected from the displayed images).
Cheong fails to explicitly teach wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the electronic device to: while the electronic device is in a folded state in which the second housing part is fully folded with respect to the first housing part, obtain, via the camera, a first video; while the first video is obtained via the camera, identify, using the at least one sensor, changing a state of the electronic device from the folded state to a partially-folded state in which the second housing part is partially folded with respect to the first housing part.
However, Cheong explicitly teaches wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the electronic device to: while the electronic device is in a folded state in which the second housing part is fully folded with respect to the first housing part, obtain, via the camera, a first video (Fig. 1C, Paragraph [0128]- Cheong discloses when the electronic device is folded while executing the camera application or the capturing the video, the electronic device may wait (e.g., listen) for a preset user input while simultaneously turning off a screen and/or stopping the capturing of a video.);
while the first video is obtained via the camera, identify, using the at least one sensor, changing a state of the electronic device from the folded state to a partially-folded state in which the second housing part is partially folded with respect to the first housing part (Fig. 3A, Paragraph [0058]- Cheong discloses the first and second sensors 345 and 346 may provide information for calculating the folding angle of the electronic device 301. For example, each of the first and second sensors 345 and 346 may include at least one of a distance sensor and a gyroscope sensor.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to combine the teachings of Kang of an electronic device comprising: a housing including a first housing part and a second housing part rotatably coupled with the first housing part; at least one sensor; a camera; memory comprising one or more storage media storing one or more instructions; and at least one processor comprising processing circuitry with the teachings of Cheong wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the electronic device to: while the electronic device is in a folded state in which the second housing part is fully folded with respect to the first housing part, obtain, via the camera, a first video; while the first video is obtained via the camera, identify, using the at least one sensor, changing a state of the electronic device from the folded state to a partially-folded state in which the second housing part is partially folded with respect to the first housing part.
Wherein having Kang’s system of image processing on a foldable device wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the electronic device to: while the electronic device is in a folded state in which the second housing part is fully folded with respect to the first housing part, obtain, via the camera, a first video; while the first video is obtained via the camera, identify, using the at least one sensor, changing a state of the electronic device from the folded state to a partially-folded state in which the second housing part is partially folded with respect to the first housing part.
The motivation behind the modification would have been to have a more user-friendly experience, since both Kang and Cheong are both systems that use foldable devices and change depending on folding state. Wherein Kang’s system provides a way to improve how intuitive the image processing is for the user, while Cheong’s system provides a way to further improve user experience. Please see Kang et al. (US 20170094168 A1) Paragraph [0008] and Cheong et al. (US 20180039387 A1) Paragraph [0154].
Regarding claim 10, Kang teaches a method executed in an electronic device comprising (Fig. 6, Paragraph [0008]- Kang discloses various embodiments of the present disclosure provide a device and method that enable an electronic device with a folding structure to intuitively select a desired image among consecutively photographed images and to process various forms of panoramic images in real time.):
a housing including a first housing part and a second housing part rotatably coupled with the first housing part (Fig. 2A Paragraph [0051]- Kang discloses the flexible device may have a structure in which the housing is divided into a first housing 220 and a second housing 230 with respect to a folding device. Furthermore, the flexible device may be a single housing that has parts connected to each other, and the parts may be differently referred to as the first housing 220 and the second housing 230. Herein, the folding device may be a hinge 210. The electronic device may refer to a device that may be curved, bent, or folded through the hinge 210. Accordingly, the hinge 210 and the folding axis 215 may exist in the electronic device.);
and at least one sensor (Fig. 5, paragraph [0075]- Kang discloses the first sensor 133 may be installed adjacent to the hinge 210 or the folding device 430.);
identifying frames of the first video obtained via the camera while a state of the electronic device is changed from the folded state to the partially-folded state (Fig. 15. Paragraph [0126]- Kang discloses the processor 100 may process output images of the camera 120 acquired according to the folding of the electronic device and may compose the processed images according to the rotation angle in step 1513. When a signal for ending the photographing (e.g., a signal for unfolding the electronic device) is detected, the processor 100 may recognize the signal in step 1515 and may turn the camera 120 off to end the photographing in step 1519.);
storing data indicating that the frames are obtained while a state of the electronic device is changed from the folded state to the partially-folded state (Fig. 13, Paragraph [0117]- Kang discloses the processor 100 may process the images acquired by the camera 120 at the set intervals and may temporarily store the processed images as still images. The set intervals may be set time intervals or set folding angles.),
wherein the stored data is used when the first video is edited (Fig. 10, Paragraph [0109]- Kang discloses when an input of an end button is detected, or the electronic device is detected to be unfolded as indicated by reference numeral 1090, while the moving panorama photographing mode is being performed, the processor 100 may recognize it in step 919, process the images into a moving panoramic image by processing and composing the images, and display the processed moving panoramic image on the display 140 as shown on a screen 1040 (wherein the first video is the stream of images created and its edited by composing the images/frames).);
and at least based on editing the first video, generating a second video by excluding the frames from the first video (Fig. 19, Paragraph [0147]- Kang discloses editing the displayed images by removing images selected from the displayed images).
Kang fails to explicitly teach the method comprising: while the electronic device is in a folded state in which the second housing part is fully folded with respect to the first housing part, obtaining, via the camera, a first video; while the first video is obtained via the camera, identifying, using the at least one sensor, changing a state of the electronic device from the folded state to a partially-folded state in which the second housing part is partially folded with respect to the first housing part.
However, Cheong explicitly teaches the method comprising: while the electronic device is in a folded state in which the second housing part is fully folded with respect to the first housing part, obtaining, via the camera, a first video (Fig. 1C, Paragraph [0128]- Cheong discloses when the electronic device is folded while executing the camera application or the capturing the video, the electronic device may wait (e.g., listen) for a preset user input while simultaneously turning off a screen and/or stopping the capturing of a video.);
while the first video is obtained via the camera, identifying, using the at least one sensor, changing a state of the electronic device from the folded state to a partially-folded state in which the second housing part is partially folded with respect to the first housing part (Fig. 3A, Paragraph [0058]- Cheong discloses the first and second sensors 345 and 346 may provide information for calculating the folding angle of the electronic device 301. For example, each of the first and second sensors 345 and 346 may include at least one of a distance sensor and a gyroscope sensor.);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to combine the teachings of Kang of a method executed in an electronic device comprising: a housing including a first housing part and a second housing part rotatably coupled with the first housing part; and at least one sensor with the teachings of Cheong the method comprising: while the electronic device is in a folded state in which the second housing part is fully folded with respect to the first housing part, obtaining, via the camera, a first video; while the first video is obtained via the camera, identifying, using the at least one sensor, changing a state of the electronic device from the folded state to a partially-folded state in which the second housing part is partially folded with respect to the first housing part.
Wherein having Kang’s system of image processing on a foldable device wherein the method comprising: while the electronic device is in a folded state in which the second housing part is fully folded with respect to the first housing part, obtaining, via the camera, a first video; while the first video is obtained via the camera, identifying, using the at least one sensor, changing a state of the electronic device from the folded state to a partially-folded state in which the second housing part is partially folded with respect to the first housing part.
The motivation behind the modification would have been to have a more user-friendly experience, since both Kang and Cheong are both systems that use foldable devices and change depending on folding state. Wherein Kang’s system provides a way to improve how intuitive the image processing is for the user, while Cheong’s system provides a way to further improve user experience. Please see Kang et al. (US 20170094168 A1) Paragraph [0008] and Cheong et al. (US 20180039387 A1) Paragraph [0154].
Regarding claim 29, Kang in view of Cheong teaches the electronic device of claim 1, Kang further teaches further comprising a display (Fig. 1, Paragraph [0045]- Kang discloses a display 140 may include, for example, a Liquid Crystal Display (LCD), a Light-Emitting Diode (LED) display, an Organic Light-Emitting Diode (OLED) display, a MicroElectroMechanical System (MEMS) display, or an electronic paper display. The display 140 may display, for example, various types of content (e.g., text, images, videos, icons, symbols, etc.) for a user. The display 140, according to various embodiments of the present disclosure, may be a flexible display.);
wherein the frames are first frames of the first video (Fig. 13, Paragraph [0117]- Kang discloses the processor 100 may acquire images output from the camera 120 at set intervals and may process the images into still images in step 1311),
wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor, further cause the electronic device to: receive a user input for displaying a user interface (UI) for editing the first video (Fig. 13, Paragraph [0117]- Kang discloses the processor 100 may acquire images output from the camera 120 at set intervals and may process the images into still images in step 1311);
and based on the user input, display, via the display, the UI including a plurality of the first video including (Fig. 1, Paragraph [0046]- Kang discloses an input unit 150 may serve as, for example, an interface that forwards commands or data input from a user or an external device to the other element(s) of the electronic device. The input unit 150 may be a touch panel.):
the first frames (Fig. 13, Paragraph [0117]- Kang discloses the processor 100 may acquire images output from the camera 120 at set intervals and may process the images into still images in step 1311),
second frames of the first video obtained via the camera in the folded state of the electronic device (Fig. 5, Paragraph [0076]- Kang discloses when the electronic device is folded as indicated by reference numeral 530, the photographing position of the camera 120 may also be changed, and an image of a newly photographed area (area B) may be added accordingly as indicated by reference numeral 535.),
and third frames of the first video obtained via the camera in the partially-folded state of the electronic device (Fig. 5, Paragraph [0076]- Kang discloses when the electronic device is folded as indicated by reference numeral 530, the photographing position of the camera 120 may also be changed, and an image of a newly photographed area (area B) may be added accordingly as indicated by reference numeral 535.),
and wherein the first frames indicated by the stored data are displayed as visually distinct relative to the second frames and the third frames (Fig. 5, Paragraph [0076]- Kang discloses the processor 100 may create a panoramic image by processing and composing the image that is not displayed on the display 140 as indicated by reference numeral 533 and the image that is additionally acquired as indicated by reference numeral 535.).
Regarding claim 30, Kang in view of Cheong teaches the electronic device of claim 29, Kang further teaches wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor, further cause the electronic device to: receive other user input for excluding the first frames displayed as visually distinct relative to the second frames and the third frames in the UI from the first video (Fig. 13, Paragraph [0119]- Kang discloses the processor 100 may recognize the images selected by the user through the input unit 150 and may remove the recognized images in step 1319.);
and based on the other user input, generate the second video (Fig. 13, Paragraph [0119]- Kang discloses the processor 100 may recognize the images selected by the user through the input unit 150 and may remove the recognized images in step 1319.).
Regarding claim 31, Kang in view of Cheong teaches the electronic device of claim 1, Kang further teaches wherein the first video is obtained via the camera during a plurality of time periods: a first time period that the electronic device is in the folded state (Paragraph [0103]- Kang discloses namely, the processor 100 may process the images acquired by the camera 120 at the set time intervals. Furthermore, in a case where the set intervals are set to be specified folding angles, the processor 100 may recognize the folding angles of the electronic device from the output of the first sensor 133 and may process the images output from the camera 120 at the set folding angle intervals.),
a second time period that a state of the electronic device is changed from the folded state to the partially-folded state (Paragraph [0103]- Kang discloses namely, the processor 100 may process the images acquired by the camera 120 at the set time intervals. Furthermore, in a case where the set intervals are set to be specified folding angles, the processor 100 may recognize the folding angles of the electronic device from the output of the first sensor 133 and may process the images output from the camera 120 at the set folding angle intervals.),
and a third time period that the electronic device is in the partially-folded state (Paragraph [0103]- Kang discloses namely, the processor 100 may process the images acquired by the camera 120 at the set time intervals. Furthermore, in a case where the set intervals are set to be specified folding angles, the processor 100 may recognize the folding angles of the electronic device from the output of the first sensor 133 and may process the images output from the camera 120 at the set folding angle intervals.),
and wherein the frames of the first video are obtained via the camera the second time period from the plurality of the time periods (Fig. 9, Paragraph [0103]- Kang discloses in a case where the set intervals are set to be specified folding angles, the processor 100 may recognize the folding angles of the electronic device from the output of the first sensor 133 and may process the images output from the camera 120 at the set folding angle intervals. The image processing in step 917 may include an operation of processing the images acquired by the camera 120 and an operation of composing the processed images).
Regarding claim 32, Kang in view of Cheong teaches the method of claim 10, Kang further teaches wherein the frames are first frames of the first video (Fig. 13, Paragraph [0117]- Kang discloses the processor 100 may acquire images output from the camera 120 at set intervals and may process the images into still images in step 1311),
wherein the method further comprises: receiving a user input for displaying a user interface (UI) for editing the first video (Fig. 13, Paragraph [0119]- Kang discloses the processor 100 may recognize the images selected by the user through the input unit 150 and may remove the recognized images in step 1319.);
and based on the user input, displaying, via a display of the electronic device, the UI including a plurality of the first video including (Fig. 1, Paragraph [0046]- Kang discloses an input unit 150 may serve as, for example, an interface that forwards commands or data input from a user or an external device to the other element(s) of the electronic device. The input unit 150 may be a touch panel.):
the first frames (Fig. 13, Paragraph [0117]- Kang discloses the processor 100 may acquire images output from the camera 120 at set intervals and may process the images into still images in step 1311),
second frames of the first video obtained via the camera in the folded state of the electronic device (Fig. 5, Paragraph [0076]- Kang discloses when the electronic device is folded as indicated by reference numeral 530, the photographing position of the camera 120 may also be changed, and an image of a newly photographed area (area B) may be added accordingly as indicated by reference numeral 535.),
and third frames of the first video obtained via the camera in the partially-folded state of the electronic device (Fig. 5, Paragraph [0076]- Kang discloses when the electronic device is folded as indicated by reference numeral 530, the photographing position of the camera 120 may also be changed, and an image of a newly photographed area (area B) may be added accordingly as indicated by reference numeral 535.),
and wherein the first frames indicated by the stored data are displayed as visually distinct relative to the second frames and the third frames (Fig. 5, Paragraph [0076]- Kang discloses the processor 100 may create a panoramic image by processing and composing the image that is not displayed on the display 140 as indicated by reference numeral 533 and the image that is additionally acquired as indicated by reference numeral 535.).
Regarding claim 33, Kang in view of Cheong teaches the method of claim 32, Kang further teaches further comprising: receiving other user input for excluding the first frames displayed as visually distinct relative to the second frames and the third frames in the UI from the first video (Fig. 13, Paragraph [0119]- Kang discloses the processor 100 may recognize the images selected by the user through the input unit 150 and may remove the recognized images in step 1319.);
and based on the other user input, generating the second video (Fig. 13, Paragraph [0119]- Kang discloses the processor 100 may recognize the images selected by the user through the input unit 150 and may remove the recognized images in step 1319.).
Regarding claim 34, Kang in view of Cheong teaches the electronic device of claim 21, Kang further teaches further comprising a display (Fig. 1, Paragraph [0045]- Kang discloses a display 140 may include, for example, a Liquid Crystal Display (LCD), a Light-Emitting Diode (LED) display, an Organic Light-Emitting Diode (OLED) display, a MicroElectroMechanical System (MEMS) display, or an electronic paper display. The display 140 may display, for example, various types of content (e.g., text, images, videos, icons, symbols, etc.) for a user. The display 140, according to various embodiments of the present disclosure, may be a flexible display.);
wherein the frames are first frames of the first video (Fig. 13, Paragraph [0117]- Kang discloses the processor 100 may acquire images output from the camera 120 at set intervals and may process the images into still images in step 1311),
wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor, further cause the electronic device to: receive a user input for displaying a user interface (UI) for editing the first video (Fig. 13, Paragraph [0117]- Kang discloses the processor 100 may acquire images output from the camera 120 at set intervals and may process the images into still images in step 1311);
and based on the user input, display, via the display, the UI including a plurality of the first video including (Fig. 1, Paragraph [0046]- Kang discloses an input unit 150 may serve as, for example, an interface that forwards commands or data input from a user or an external device to the other element(s) of the electronic device. The input unit 150 may be a touch panel.):
the first frames (Fig. 13, Paragraph [0117]- Kang discloses the processor 100 may acquire images output from the camera 120 at set intervals and may process the images into still images in step 1311),
second frames of the first video obtained via the first camera (Fig. 5, Paragraph [0076]- Kang discloses when the electronic device is folded as indicated by reference numeral 530, the photographing position of the camera 120 may also be changed, and an image of a newly photographed area (area B) may be added accordingly as indicated by reference numeral 535.),
and third frames of the first video obtained via the second camera (Fig. 5, Paragraph [0076]- Kang discloses when the electronic device is folded as indicated by reference numeral 530, the photographing position of the camera 120 may also be changed, and an image of a newly photographed area (area B) may be added accordingly as indicated by reference numeral 535 (wherein the first and second camera are the same).),
and wherein the first frames indicated by the stored data are displayed as visually distinct relative to the second frames and the third frames (Fig. 5, Paragraph [0076]- Kang discloses the processor 100 may create a panoramic image by processing and composing the image that is not displayed on the display 140 as indicated by reference numeral 533 and the image that is additionally acquired as indicated by reference numeral 535.).
Regarding claim 35, Kang in view of Cheong teaches the electronic device of claim 34, Kang further teaches wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor, further cause the electronic device to: receive other user input for excluding the first frames displayed as visually distinct relative to the second frames and the third frames in the UI from the first video (Fig. 13, Paragraph [0119]- Kang discloses the processor 100 may recognize the images selected by the user through the input unit 150 and may remove the recognized images in step 1319.);
and based on the other user input, generate the second video (Fig. 13, Paragraph [0119]- Kang discloses the processor 100 may recognize the images selected by the user through the input unit 150 and may remove the recognized images in step 1319.).
Claims 2 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over Kang et al. (US 20170094168 A1) hereafter referenced as Kang in view of Cheong et al. (US 20180039387 A1) hereafter referenced as Cheong and Adeel et al. (US 20240037761 A1) hereafter referenced as Adeel.
Regarding claim 2, Kang in view of Cheong teaches the electronic device of claim 1, Kang in view of Cheong fails to explicitly teach wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor, further cause the electronic device to: identify a subject in the first video; and identify other frames of the first video, from among the frames, including the subject positioned outside of a central area in the other frames; and at least based on editing the first video, generate a third video by excluding the other frames from the first video.
However, Adeel explicitly teaches wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor, further cause the electronic device to: identify a subject in the first video (Fig. 2, Paragraph [0038]- Adeel discloses the object detection module 216 may be configured to, in conjunction with the processor(s) 204, use one or more object recognition techniques to identify one or more objects depicted within received image data.);
and identify other frames of the first video, from among the frames, including the subject positioned outside of a central area in the other frames (Fig. 2, Paragraph [0039]- Adeel discloses the object tracking module 218 may be configured to, in conjunction with the processor(s) 204, identify frames in which an object is detected by the object detecting module 216 within a video and create tracks of frames that have the detected object, excluding frames in which the object is not detected by the object detecting module 216.);
and at least based on editing the first video, generate a third video by excluding the other frames from the first video (Fig. 2, Paragraph [0039]- Adeel discloses the object tracking module 218 may be configured to, in conjunction with the processor(s) 204, identify frames in which an object is detected by the object detecting module 216 within a video and create tracks of frames that have the detected object, excluding frames in which the object is not detected by the object detecting module 216.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to combine the teachings of Kang in view of Cheong of an electronic device comprising: a housing including a first housing part and a second housing part rotatably coupled with the first housing part; at least one sensor; a camera; memory comprising one or more storage media storing one or more instructions; and at least one processor comprising processing circuitry with the teachings of Adeel wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor, further cause the electronic device to: identify a subject in the first video; and identify other frames of the first video, from among the frames, including the subject positioned outside of a central area in the other frames; and at least based on editing the first video, generate a third video by excluding the other frames from the first video.
Wherein having Kang’s system of image processing on a foldable device wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor, further cause the electronic device to: identify a subject in the first video; and identify other frames of the first video, from among the frames, including the subject positioned outside of a central area in the other frames; and at least based on editing the first video, generate a third video by excluding the other frames from the first video.
The motivation behind the modification would have been to have a more accurate system, since both Kang and Adeel are both systems that use cameras to take video. Wherein Kang’s system provides a way to improve how intuitive the image processing is for the user, while Adeel’s system provides an increase to accuracy of recognition. Please see Kang et al. (US 20170094168 A1) Paragraph [0008] and Adeel et al. (US 20240037761 A1) Paragraph [0015].
Regarding claim 11, Kang in view of Cheong teaches the method of claim 10, Kang further teaches and at least based on editing the first video, generating a third video by excluding the another frames from the first video (Fig. 19, Paragraph [0147]- Kang discloses editing the displayed images by removing images selected from the displayed images).
Kang in view of Cheong fails to explicitly teach further comprising: identifying a subject in the first video; identifying other frames of the first video, from among the frames, including the subject positioned outside of a central area of the another frames.
However, Adeel explicitly teaches further comprising: identifying a subject in the first video (Fig. 2, Paragraph [0039]- Adeel discloses the object detection module 216 may be configured to, in conjunction with the processor(s) 204, use one or more object recognition techniques to identify one or more objects depicted within received image data.);
identifying other frames of the first video, from among the frames, including the subject positioned outside of a central area of the another frames (Fig. 2, Paragraph [0039]- Adeel discloses the object tracking module 218 may be configured to, in conjunction with the processor(s) 204, identify frames in which an object is detected by the object detecting module 216 within a video and create tracks of frames that have the detected object, excluding frames in which the object is not detected by the object detecting module 216. (wherein frames where the object is not detected are considered the object being positioned outside a central area));
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to combine the teachings of Kang in view of Cheong of a method executed in an electronic device comprising: a housing including a first housing part and a second housing part rotatably coupled with the first housing part; and at least one sensor with the teachings of Adeel further comprising: identifying a subject in the first video; identifying other frames of the first video, from among the frames, including the subject positioned outside of a central area of the another frames.
Wherein having Kang’s system of image processing on a foldable device wherein further comprising: identifying a subject in the first video; identifying other frames of the first video, from among the frames, including the subject positioned outside of a central area of the another frames.
The motivation behind the modification would have been to have a more accurate system, since both Kang and Adeel are both systems that use cameras to take video. Wherein Kang’s system provides a way to improve how intuitive the image processing is for the user, while Adeel’s system provides an increase to accuracy of recognition. Please see Kang et al. (US 20170094168 A1) Paragraph [0008] and Adeel et al. (US 20240037761 A1) Paragraph [0015].
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over Kang et al. (US 20170094168 A1) hereafter referenced as Kang in view of Cheong et al. (US 20180039387 A1) hereafter referenced as Cheong and Lawrence et al. (US 20170187983 A1) hereafter referenced as Lawrence.
Regarding claim 3, Kang in view of Cheong teaches the electronic device of claim 1, Kang further teaches further comprising another sensor (Fig. 1, Paragraph [0043]- Kang discloses the second sensor 135 may include, for example, at least one of a gesture sensor, a gyro sensor, an acceleration sensor, and a grip sensor. The second sensor 135 may be used as an auxiliary means for the first sensor 133 to measure the folding angle of the electronic device. For example, the second sensor 135 may measure the relative value of the folding angle. Furthermore, the second sensor 135 may measure a change in the direction of the electronic device and the rotation angle of the electronic device that photographs an image.),
and a state of the electronic device is changed from the folded state to the partially-folded state (Fig. 15. Paragraph [0126]- Kang discloses the processor 100 may process output images of the camera 120 acquired according to the folding of the electronic device and may compose the processed images according to the rotation angle in step 1513. When a signal for ending the photographing (e.g., a signal for unfolding the electronic device) is detected, the processor 100 may recognize the signal in step 1515 and may turn the camera 120 off to end the photographing in step 1519.);
and a state of the electronic device is changed from the folded state to the partially-folded state (Fig. 13, Paragraph [0117]- Kang discloses the processor 100 may process the images acquired by the camera 120 at the set intervals and may temporarily store the processed images as still images. The set intervals may be set time intervals or set folding angles.),
wherein the stored another data is used when the first video is edited (Fig. 10, Paragraph [0109]- Kang discloses when an input of an end button is detected, or the electronic device is detected to be unfolded as indicated by reference numeral 1090, while the moving panorama photographing mode is being performed, the processor 100 may recognize it in step 919, process the images into a moving panoramic image by processing and composing the images, and display the processed moving panoramic image on the display 140 as shown on a screen 1040 (wherein the first video is the stream of images created and its edited by composing the images/frames).);
and at least based on editing the first video, generate third video by excluding the other frames from the first video (Fig. 19, Paragraph [0147]- Kang discloses editing the displayed images by removing images selected from the displayed images).
Kang in view of Cheong fails to explicitly teach wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor, further cause the electronic device to: while the first video is obtained via the camera, identify, via the another sensor, an orientation of the electronic device; identify other frames obtained via the camera while an orientation of the electronic device is changed from a first orientation to a second orientation; store another data indicating that the other frames are obtained while an orientation of the electronic device is changed from the first orientation to the second orientation.
However, Lawrence explicitly teaches wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor, further cause the electronic device to: while the first video is obtained via the camera, identify, via the another sensor, an orientation of the electronic device (Fig. 5, Paragraph [0036]- Lawrence discloses once activated, this operation may include “determine image capture device orientation” 504, and precisely the orientation, and changes in orientation, while the device is recording.);
identify other frames obtained via the camera while an orientation of the electronic device is changed from a first orientation to a second orientation (Fig. 5, Paragraph [0037]- Lawrence discloses the recording operation also may include “capture video frames” 506. Thus, the raw image data may be divided into frames in the raw data bitstream, by vertical blank for example, and from a camera sensor and to be pre-processed and stored, and either prepared for (1) display or (2) encoding and transmission.);
store another data indicating that the other frames are obtained while an orientation of the electronic device is changed from the first orientation to the second orientation (Fig. 5, Paragraph [0038]- Lawrence discloses the recording operation also may include “associate device orientation indicator with individual frames” 508. Thus, the orientation determinations are matched with frames with the same (or sufficiently similar as within a set margin) timestamp or clock value, and may be in the form of a bit that is placed in a memory of the recording device when the same device is to play the video as well, or placed in the metadata of individual, or each, frame when the video is to be transmitted to another device for rendering.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to combine the teachings of Kang in view of Cheong of an electronic device comprising: a housing including a first housing part and a second housing part rotatably coupled with the first housing part; at least one sensor; a camera; memory comprising one or more storage media storing one or more instructions; and at least one processor comprising processing circuitry with the teachings of Lawrence wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor, further cause the electronic device to: while the first video is obtained via the camera, identify, via the another sensor, an orientation of the electronic device; identify other frames obtained via the camera while an orientation of the electronic device is changed from a first orientation to a second orientation; store another data indicating that the other frames are obtained while an orientation of the electronic device is changed from the first orientation to the second orientation.
Wherein having Kang’s system of image processing on a foldable device wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor, further cause the electronic device to: while the first video is obtained via the camera, identify, via the another sensor, an orientation of the electronic device; identify other frames obtained via the camera while an orientation of the electronic device is changed from a first orientation to a second orientation; store another data indicating that the other frames are obtained while an orientation of the electronic device is changed from the first orientation to the second orientation.
The motivation behind the modification would have been to improve the viewing experience, since both Kang and Lawrence are both systems that obtain information about images while changing states. Wherein Kang’s system provides a way to improve how intuitive the image processing is for the user, while Lawrence’s system provides a way to improve the quality of the viewing experience. Please see Kang et al. (US 20170094168 A1) Paragraph [0008] and Lawrence et al. (US 20170187983 A1) Paragraphs [0029].
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over Kang et al. (US 20170094168 A1) hereafter referenced as Kang in view of Cheong et al. (US 20180039387 A1) hereafter referenced as Cheong and Seo et al. (US 20220377416 A1) hereafter referenced as Seo.
Regarding claim 6, Kang in view of Cheong teaches the electronic device of claim 1, Kang further teaches further comprising a display (Fig. 1, Paragraph [0045]- Kang discloses a display 140 may include, for example, a Liquid Crystal Display (LCD), a Light-Emitting Diode (LED) display, an Organic Light-Emitting Diode (OLED) display, a MicroElectroMechanical System (MEMS) display, or an electronic paper display. The display 140 may display, for example, various types of content (e.g., text, images, videos, icons, symbols, etc.) for a user. The display 140, according to various embodiments of the present disclosure, may be a flexible display.),
Kang in view of Cheong fails to explicitly teach wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the electronic device to: display, via the display, a UI for guiding to restore the frames; and based on a user input on the UI, obtain the first video by restoring the frames from the second video.
However, Seo explicitly teaches wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the electronic device to: display, via the display, a UI for guiding to restore the frames (Fig. 3, Paragraph [0087]- Seo discloses according to an embodiment, the icon 3030 may include an icon to display the first video 3000 in an original aspect ratio, an icon to resize the first video 3000 in accordance with the aspect ratio of the first area and display the resized video, and an icon to crop a portion of the first video 3000 in accordance with the aspect ratio of the first area and display the cropped video. In addition, the icon 3030 may include an icon 3031 to display the expanded video. Further in Fig. 3, Paragraph [0342]- Seo discloses the device 1000 may guide efficient use of the memory 2362 by providing a user interface for deleting the generated expanded video generation module upon request of the user.);
and based on a user input on the UI, obtain the first video by restoring the frames from the second video (Fig. 3, Paragraph [0087]- Seo discloses according to an embodiment, the icon 3030 may include an icon to display the first video 3000 in an original aspect ratio, an icon to resize the first video 3000 in accordance with the aspect ratio of the first area and display the resized video, and an icon to crop a portion of the first video 3000 in accordance with the aspect ratio of the first area and display the cropped video. In addition, the icon 3030 may include an icon 3031 to display the expanded video. Further in Fig. 3, Paragraph [0097]- According to an embodiment, the device 1000 may generate an expanded video and a second video by inputting the first video to an AI neural network built in the device 1000. In this case, the second video may include at least one portion of the first video and the expanded video.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to combine the teachings of Kang in view of Cheong of an electronic device comprising: a housing including a first housing part and a second housing part rotatably coupled with the first housing part; at least one sensor; a camera; memory comprising one or more storage media storing one or more instructions; and at least one processor comprising processing circuitry with the teachings of Seo wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the electronic device to: display, via the display, a UI for guiding to restore the frames; and based on a user input on the UI, obtain the first video by restoring the frames from the second video.
Wherein having Kang’s system of image processing on a foldable device wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the electronic device to: display, via the display, a UI for guiding to restore the frames; and based on a user input on the UI, obtain the first video by restoring the frames from the second video.
The motivation behind the modification would have been to improve the users experience, since both Kang and Seo are both systems that obtain user input on an electronic device. Wherein Kang’s system provides a way to improve how intuitive the image processing is for the user, while Seo’s system provides a way to improve user experience with a video. Please see Kang et al. (US 20170094168 A1) Paragraph [0008] and Seo et al. (US 20220377416 A1) Paragraphs [0006 and 0069-71].
Claims 7-9, 21, and 27-28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over Kang et al. (US 20170094168 A1) hereafter referenced as Kang in view of Cheong et al. (US 20180039387 A1) hereafter referenced as Cheong and Kim et al. (US 20200356140 A1) hereafter referenced as Kim.
Regarding claim 7, Kang in view of Cheong teaches the electronic device of claim 1, Kang further teaches wherein the camera is disposed on the rear side of the first housing part (Fig. 2B, Paragraph [0053]- Kang discloses the electronic device, according to various embodiments of the present disclosure, may have a camera 120 fixedly disposed on the rear side surface thereof as illustrated in FIG. 2B. The camera 120 may be disposed in the first or second housing 220 or 230.)
Kang fails to explicitly teach further comprising a display visible from a rear side of the first housing part.
However, Cheong explicitly teaches further comprising a display visible from a rear side of the first housing part (Fig. 1C, Paragraph [0047]- Cheong discloses a sub-display 162, a second camera 192, a flash, a speaker, and/or at least one sensor such as a distance sensor and/or the like may be disposed on a rear surface 103 of the electronic device 101.),
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to combine the teachings of Kang of an electronic device comprising: a housing including a first housing part and a second housing part rotatably coupled with the first housing part; at least one sensor; a camera; memory comprising one or more storage media storing one or more instructions; and at least one processor comprising processing circuitry with the teachings of Cheong further comprising a display visible from a rear side of the first housing part.
Wherein having Kang’s system of image processing on a foldable device wherein further comprising a display visible from a rear side of the first housing part.
The motivation behind the modification would have been to have a more user-friendly experience, since both Kang and Cheong are both systems that use foldable devices and change depending on folding state. Wherein Kang’s system provides a way to improve how intuitive the image processing is for the user, while Cheong’s system provides a way to further improve user experience. Please see Kang et al. (US 20170094168 A1) Paragraph [0008] and Cheong et al. (US 20180039387 A1) Paragraph [0154].
Kang in view of Cheong fails to explicitly teach wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the electronic device to, while the first video is obtained via the camera, display, via the display, a preview image corresponding to a frame of the first video.
However, Kim explicitly teaches wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the electronic device to, while the first video is obtained via the camera, display, via the display, a preview image corresponding to a frame of the first video (Fig. 5, Paragraph [0096]- Kim discloses in operation 501, the processor 120 may execute a camera application according to a request of the user, and may display a preview image obtained by the executed camera application on a display (e.g. first display 230 or second display 240 in FIGS. 2A and 2B).).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to combine the teachings of Kang in view of Cheong of an electronic device comprising: a housing including a first housing part and a second housing part rotatably coupled with the first housing part; at least one sensor; a camera; memory comprising one or more storage media storing one or more instructions; and at least one processor comprising processing circuitry with the teachings of Kim wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the electronic device to, while the first video is obtained via the camera, display, via the display, a preview image corresponding to a frame of the first video.
Wherein having Kang’s system of image processing on a foldable device wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the electronic device to, while the first video is obtained via the camera, display, via the display, a preview image corresponding to a frame of the first video.
The motivation behind the modification would have been to be able to help guide the user on better using the camera, since both Kang and Kim are both systems that use foldable devices and change depending on folding state. Wherein Kang’s system provides a way to improve how intuitive the image processing is for the user, while Kim’s system provides a way to further guide the user on taking an image. Please see Kang et al. (US 20170094168 A1) Paragraph [0008] and Kim et al. (US 20200356140 A1) Paragraph [0099-100].
Regarding claim 8, Kang in view of Cheong teaches the electronic device of claim 1, Kang further teaches wherein the camera includes a first camera disposed on a rear side of the first housing part (Fig. 2B, Paragraph [0053]- Kang discloses the electronic device, according to various embodiments of the present disclosure, may have a camera 120 fixedly disposed on the rear side surface thereof as illustrated in FIG. 2B. The camera 120 may be disposed in the first or second housing 220 or 230.),
and a state of the electronic device is changed from the folded state to the partially-folded state (Fig. 15. Paragraph [0126]- Kang discloses the processor 100 may process output images of the camera 120 acquired according to the folding of the electronic device and may compose the processed images according to the rotation angle in step 1513. When a signal for ending the photographing (e.g., a signal for unfolding the electronic device) is detected, the processor 100 may recognize the signal in step 1515 and may turn the camera 120 off to end the photographing in step 1519.);
and a state of the electronic device is changed from the folded state to the partially-folded state (Fig. 13, Paragraph [0117]- Kang discloses the processor 100 may process the images acquired by the camera 120 at the set intervals and may temporarily store the processed images as still images. The set intervals may be set time intervals or set folding angles.),
wherein the stored another data is used when the first video is edited (Fig. 10, Paragraph [0109]- Kang discloses when an input of an end button is detected, or the electronic device is detected to be unfolded as indicated by reference numeral 1090, while the moving panorama photographing mode is being performed, the processor 100 may recognize it in step 919, process the images into a moving panoramic image by processing and composing the images, and display the processed moving panoramic image on the display 140 as shown on a screen 1040 (wherein the first video is the stream of images created and its edited by composing the images/frames).).
and at least based on the editing the first video, generate third video by excluding the other frames from the first video (Fig. 19, Paragraph [0147]- Kang discloses editing the displayed images by removing images selected from the displayed images).
Kang fails to explicitly teach and a second camera disposed on a front side of the first housing part.
However, Cheong explicitly teaches and a second camera disposed on a front side of the first housing part (Fig. 1A Paragraph [0046]- Cheong explicitly teaches a first camera 190 and/or at least one sensor may be disposed on the front surface of the electronic device 101.),
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to combine the teachings of Kang of an electronic device comprising: a housing including a first housing part and a second housing part rotatably coupled with the first housing part; at least one sensor; a camera; memory comprising one or more storage media storing one or more instructions; and at least one processor comprising processing circuitry with the teachings of Cheong a second camera disposed on a front side of the first housing part.
Wherein having Kang’s system of image processing on a foldable device wherein a second camera disposed on a front side of the first housing part.
The motivation behind the modification would have been to have a more user-friendly experience, since both Kang and Cheong are both systems that use foldable devices and change depending on folding state. Wherein Kang’s system provides a way to improve how intuitive the image processing is for the user, while Cheong’s system provides a way to further improve user experience. Please see Kang et al. (US 20170094168 A1) Paragraph [0008] and Cheong et al. (US 20180039387 A1) Paragraph [0154].
Kang in view of Cheong fails to explicitly teach wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor, further cause the electronic device to: while the first video is obtained via the first camera, change a camera being used to obtain the first video from the first camera to the second camera; identify other frames obtained while a camera being used to obtain the first video is changed from the first camera to the second camera; store another data indicating that the other frames are obtained while a camera being used to obtain the first video is changed from the first camera to the second camera.
However, Kim explicitly teaches wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor, further cause the electronic device to: while the first video is obtained via the first camera, change a camera being used to obtain the first video from the first camera to the second camera (Fig. 4, Paragraph [0091]- Kim discloses if the image capturing mode information 415 is changed from “Selfie” to “Rear Selfie (or rear surface selfie)” according to a user input when the electronic device 101 is in the closed state, and then the electronic device 101 is changed to the open state, the electronic device 101 may activate at least one of the plurality of cameras. In this example, the electronic device 101 may activate the second camera 215. If the second camera 215 is activated, the electronic device 101 may deactivate (or turn off) the fifth camera 225.);
identify other frames obtained while a camera being used to obtain the first video is changed from the first camera to the second camera (Fig. 15, Paragraph [0186]- Kim discloses a processor 120 of the out-folding type electronic device may display, in the open state (e.g. FIG. 2A), a second execution screen 1520 that includes a preview image 1521 obtained from one (e.g. second camera 215) among a plurality of cameras (e.g. first camera 214 to fifth camera 225 in FIG. 15) included (or mounted) in the electronic device. (Wherein it is shown to identify the frames associated with the camera swap between the video for 1510 taken with 225 and the video taken in 1520 with 214));
store another data indicating that the other frames are obtained while a camera being used to obtain the first video is changed from the first camera to the second camera (Fig. 15, Paragraph [0186]- Kim discloses a processor 120 of the out-folding type electronic device may display, in the open state (e.g. FIG. 2A), a second execution screen 1520 that includes a preview image 1521 obtained from one (e.g. second camera 215) among a plurality of cameras (e.g. first camera 214 to fifth camera 225 in FIG. 15) included (or mounted) in the electronic device. (Wherein it is shown to identify the frames associated with the camera swap between the video for 1510 taken with 225 and the video taken in 1520 with 214.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to combine the teachings of Kang in view of Cheong of an electronic device comprising: a housing including a first housing part and a second housing part rotatably coupled with the first housing part; at least one sensor; a camera; memory comprising one or more storage media storing one or more instructions; and at least one processor comprising processing circuitry with the teachings of Kim wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor, further cause the electronic device to: while the first video is obtained via the first camera, change a camera being used to obtain the first video from the first camera to the second camera; identify other frames obtained while a camera being used to obtain the first video is changed from the first camera to the second camera; store another data indicating that the other frames are obtained while a camera being used to obtain the first video is changed from the first camera to the second camera.
Wherein having Kang’s system of image processing on a foldable device wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor, further cause the electronic device to: while the first video is obtained via the first camera, change a camera being used to obtain the first video from the first camera to the second camera; identify other frames obtained while a camera being used to obtain the first video is changed from the first camera to the second camera; store another data indicating that the other frames are obtained while a camera being used to obtain the first video is changed from the first camera to the second camera.
The motivation behind the modification would have been to be able to help guide the user on better using the camera, since both Kang and Kim are both systems that use foldable devices and change depending on folding state. Wherein Kang’s system provides a way to improve how intuitive the image processing is for the user, while Kim’s system provides a way to further guide the user on taking an image. Please see Kang et al. (US 20170094168 A1) Paragraph [0008] and Kim et al. (US 20200356140 A1) Paragraph [0099-100].
Regarding claim 9, Kang in view of Cheong and Kim the electronic device of claim 8, Kang further teaches a second display visible from a front side of the housing (Fig. 2C, Paragraph [0052]- Kang discloses the electronic device, according to various embodiments of the present disclosure, may have a display 140 fixedly disposed on the front side surface thereof as illustrated in FIG. 2C.),
Kang fails to explicitly teach further comprising a first display visible from the rear side of the first housing part.
However, Cheong explicitly teaches further comprising a first display visible from the rear side of the first housing part (Fig. 1C, Paragraph [0047]- Cheong discloses a sub-display 162, a second camera 192, a flash, a speaker, and/or at least one sensor such as a distance sensor and/or the like may be disposed on a rear surface 103 of the electronic device 101.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to combine the teachings of Kang of an electronic device comprising: a housing including a first housing part and a second housing part rotatably coupled with the first housing part; at least one sensor; a camera; memory comprising one or more storage media storing one or more instructions; and at least one processor comprising processing circuitry with the teachings of Cheong further comprising a first display visible from the rear side of the first housing part.
Wherein having Kang’s system of image processing on a foldable device wherein further comprising a first display visible from the rear side of the first housing part.
The motivation behind the modification would have been to have a more user-friendly experience, since both Kang and Cheong are both systems that use foldable devices and change depending on folding state. Wherein Kang’s system provides a way to improve how intuitive the image processing is for the user, while Cheong’s system provides a way to further improve user experience. Please see Kang et al. (US 20170094168 A1) Paragraph [0008] and Cheong et al. (US 20180039387 A1) Paragraph [0154].
Kang in view of Cheong fails to explicitly teach wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor, further cause the electronic device to: while the first video is obtained via the first camera, display, via the first display, a preview image corresponding to a frame of the first video; and while the first video is obtained via the second camera, display, via the second display, another preview image corresponding to another frame of the first video.
However, Kim explicitly teaches wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor, further cause the electronic device to: while the first video is obtained via the first camera, display, via the first display, a preview image corresponding to a frame of the first video (Fig. 10 and 11A-B, Paragraph [0145]- Kim discloses in operation 1007, the processor 120 may turn off the second display 240, and display a first preview image and the plurality of camera objects through a first display. While the processor 120 is displaying, on the second display 240, a preview image obtained from a camera included in the fourth surface 223 of the electronic device 101 in the closed state, if the electronic device 101 is changed from the closed state to the open state, the processor 120 may turn off (or deactivate) the second display 240 and turn on (or activate, drive) the first display (e.g. first display 230 in FIGS. 2A and 2B).);
and while the first video is obtained via the second camera, display, via the second display, another preview image corresponding to another frame of the first video (Fig. 10 and 11A-B, Paragraph [0145]- Kim discloses in operation 1007, the processor 120 may turn off the second display 240, and display a first preview image and the plurality of camera objects through a first display. While the processor 120 is displaying, on the second display 240, a preview image obtained from a camera included in the fourth surface 223 of the electronic device 101 in the closed state, if the electronic device 101 is changed from the closed state to the open state, the processor 120 may turn off (or deactivate) the second display 240 and turn on (or activate, drive) the first display (e.g. first display 230 in FIGS. 2A and 2B).).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to combine the teachings of Kang in view of Cheong of an electronic device comprising: a housing including a first housing part and a second housing part rotatably coupled with the first housing part; at least one sensor; a camera; memory comprising one or more storage media storing one or more instructions; and at least one processor comprising processing circuitry with the teachings of Kim wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor, further cause the electronic device to: while the first video is obtained via the first camera, display, via the first display, a preview image corresponding to a frame of the first video; and while the first video is obtained via the second camera, display, via the second display, another preview image corresponding to another frame of the first video.
Wherein having Kang’s system of image processing on a foldable device wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor, further cause the electronic device to: while the first video is obtained via the first camera, display, via the first display, a preview image corresponding to a frame of the first video; and while the first video is obtained via the second camera, display, via the second display, another preview image corresponding to another frame of the first video.
The motivation behind the modification would have been to be able to help guide the user on better using the camera, since both Kang and Kim are both systems that use foldable devices and change depending on folding state. Wherein Kang’s system provides a way to improve how intuitive the image processing is for the user, while Kim’s system provides a way to further guide the user on taking an image. Please see Kang et al. (US 20170094168 A1) Paragraph [0008] and Kim et al. (US 20200356140 A1) Paragraph [0099-100].
Regarding claim 21, Kang teaches an electronic device comprising (Fig. 1, Paragraph [0037]- Kang discloses an electronic device according to various embodiments of the present disclosure may be a device including a communication function.):
a housing including a first housing part and a second housing part rotatably coupled with the first housing part (Fig. 2A Paragraph [0051]- Kang discloses the flexible device may have a structure in which the housing is divided into a first housing 220 and a second housing 230 with respect to a folding device. Furthermore, the flexible device may be a single housing that has parts connected to each other, and the parts may be differently referred to as the first housing 220 and the second housing 230. Herein, the folding device may be a hinge 210. The electronic device may refer to a device that may be curved, bent, or folded through the hinge 210. Accordingly, the hinge 210 and the folding axis 215 may exist in the electronic device.);
a first camera disposed on a rear side of the first housing part (Fig. 2B, Paragraph [0053]- Kang discloses the electronic device, according to various embodiments of the present disclosure, may have a camera 120 fixedly disposed on the rear side surface thereof as illustrated in FIG. 2B. The camera 120 may be disposed in the first or second housing 220 or 230.);
memory comprising one or more storage media storing one or more instructions (Fig. 1, paragraph [0041]- Kang discloses a memory 110 may include a volatile and/or non-volatile memory. The memory 110 may store, for example, commands or data relating to at least one other element of the electronic device. According to an embodiment, the memory 110 may store software and/or programs.);
and at least one processor comprising processing circuitry (Fig. 1, paragraph [0040]- Kang discloses a processor 100 may include one or more of a Central Processing Unit (CPU), an Application Processor (AP), and a Communication Processor (CP). The processor 100 may carry out, for example, operations or data processing relating to the control, image processing, and/or communication of at least one other element of the electronic device.),
and at least based on editing the first video, generate a second video by excluding the frames from the first video (Fig. 19, Paragraph [0147]- Kang discloses editing the displayed images by removing images selected from the displayed images).
Kang fails to explicitly teach a second camera disposed on a front side of the first housing part, wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the electronic device to: while the electronic device is in a partially-folded state in which the second housing part is partially folded with respect to the first housing part, obtain, via the first camera, a first video.
However, Cheong explicitly teaches a second camera disposed on a front side of the first housing part (Fig. 1A Paragraph [0046]- Cheong explicitly teaches a first camera 190 and/or at least one sensor may be disposed on the front surface of the electronic device 101.),
wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the electronic device to: while the electronic device is in a partially-folded state in which the second housing part is partially folded with respect to the first housing part, obtain, via the first camera, a first video (Fig. 1C, Paragraph [0128]- Cheong discloses when the electronic device is folded while executing the camera application or the capturing the video, the electronic device may wait (e.g., listen) for a preset user input while simultaneously turning off a screen and/or stopping the capturing of a video.);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to combine the teachings of Kang of an electronic device comprising: a housing including a first housing part and a second housing part rotatably coupled with the first housing part; a first camera disposed on a rear side of the first housing part; memory comprising one or more storage media storing one or more instructions; and at least one processor comprising processing circuitry with the teachings of Cheong a second camera disposed on a front side of the first housing part, wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the electronic device to: while the electronic device is in a partially-folded state in which the second housing part is partially folded with respect to the first housing part, obtain, via the first camera, a first video.
Wherein having Kang’s system of image processing on a foldable device wherein a second camera disposed on a front side of the first housing part, wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the electronic device to: while the electronic device is in a partially-folded state in which the second housing part is partially folded with respect to the first housing part, obtain, via the first camera, a first video.
The motivation behind the modification would have been to have a more user-friendly experience, since both Kang and Cheong are both systems that use foldable devices and change depending on folding state. Wherein Kang’s system provides a way to improve how intuitive the image processing is for the user, while Cheong’s system provides a way to further improve user experience. Please see Kang et al. (US 20170094168 A1) Paragraph [0008] and Cheong et al. (US 20180039387 A1) Paragraph [0154].
Kang in view of Cheong fails to explicitly teach while the first video is obtained via the first camera, change a camera being used to obtain the first video from the first camera to the second camera; identify frames of the first video obtained while a camera being used to obtain the first video is changed from the first camera to the second camera; store data indicating that the frames are obtained while a camera being used to obtain the first video is changed from the first camera to the second camera, wherein the stored data is used when the first video is edited.
However, Kim explicitly teaches while the first video is obtained via the first camera, change a camera being used to obtain the first video from the first camera to the second camera (Fig. 4, Paragraph [0091]- Kim discloses if the image capturing mode information 415 is changed from “Selfie” to “Rear Selfie (or rear surface selfie)” according to a user input when the electronic device 101 is in the closed state, and then the electronic device 101 is changed to the open state, the electronic device 101 may activate at least one of the plurality of cameras. In this example, the electronic device 101 may activate the second camera 215. If the second camera 215 is activated, the electronic device 101 may deactivate (or turn off) the fifth camera 225.);
identify frames of the first video obtained while a camera being used to obtain the first video is changed from the first camera to the second camera (Fig. 15, Paragraph [0186]- Kim discloses a processor 120 of the out-folding type electronic device may display, in the open state (e.g. FIG. 2A), a second execution screen 1520 that includes a preview image 1521 obtained from one (e.g. second camera 215) among a plurality of cameras (e.g. first camera 214 to fifth camera 225 in FIG. 15) included (or mounted) in the electronic device. (Wherein it is shown to identify the frames associated with the camera swap between the video for 1510 taken with 225 and the video taken in 1520 with 214.);
store data indicating that the frames are obtained while a camera being used to obtain the first video is changed from the first camera to the second camera (Fig. 15, Paragraph [0186]- Kim discloses a processor 120 of the out-folding type electronic device may display, in the open state (e.g. FIG. 2A), a second execution screen 1520 that includes a preview image 1521 obtained from one (e.g. second camera 215) among a plurality of cameras (e.g. first camera 214 to fifth camera 225 in FIG. 15) included (or mounted) in the electronic device. (Wherein it is shown to identify the frames associated with the camera swap between the video for 1510 taken with 225 and the video taken in 1520 with 214.),
wherein the stored data is used when the first video is edited (Fig. 10, Paragraph [0109]- Kang discloses when an input of an end button is detected, or the electronic device is detected to be unfolded as indicated by reference numeral 1090, while the moving panorama photographing mode is being performed, the processor 100 may recognize it in step 919, process the images into a moving panoramic image by processing and composing the images, and display the processed moving panoramic image on the display 140 as shown on a screen 1040 (wherein the first video is the stream of images created and its edited by composing the images/frames).);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to combine the teachings of Kang in view of Cheong of an electronic device comprising: a housing including a first housing part and a second housing part rotatably coupled with the first housing part; at least one sensor; a camera; memory comprising one or more storage media storing one or more instructions; and at least one processor comprising processing circuitry with the teachings of Kim while the first video is obtained via the first camera, change a camera being used to obtain the first video from the first camera to the second camera; identify frames of the first video obtained while a camera being used to obtain the first video is changed from the first camera to the second camera; store data indicating that the frames are obtained while a camera being used to obtain the first video is changed from the first camera to the second camera, wherein the stored data is used when the first video is edited.
Wherein having Kang’s system of image processing on a foldable device wherein while the first video is obtained via the first camera, change a camera being used to obtain the first video from the first camera to the second camera; identify frames of the first video obtained while a camera being used to obtain the first video is changed from the first camera to the second camera; store data indicating that the frames are obtained while a camera being used to obtain the first video is changed from the first camera to the second camera, wherein the stored data is used when the first video is edited.
The motivation behind the modification would have been to be able to help guide the user on better using the camera, since both Kang and Kim are both systems that use foldable devices and change depending on folding state. Wherein Kang’s system provides a way to improve how intuitive the image processing is for the user, while Kim’s system provides a way to further guide the user on taking an image. Please see Kang et al. (US 20170094168 A1) Paragraph [0008] and Kim et al. (US 20200356140 A1) Paragraph [0099-100].
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over Kang et al. (US 20170094168 A1) hereafter referenced as Kang in view of Cheong et al. (US 20180039387 A1) hereafter referenced as Cheong, Adeel et al. (US 20240037761 A1) hereafter referenced as Adeel, and Lawrence et al. (US 20170187983 A1) hereafter referenced as Lawrence.
Regarding claim 12, Kang in view of Cheong and Adeel teaches the method of claim 11, Kang further teaches and a state of the electronic device is changed from the folded state to the partially-folded state (Fig. 15. Paragraph [0126]- Kang discloses the processor 100 may process output images of the camera 120 acquired according to the folding of the electronic device and may compose the processed images according to the rotation angle in step 1513. When a signal for ending the photographing (e.g., a signal for unfolding the electronic device) is detected, the processor 100 may recognize the signal in step 1515 and may turn the camera 120 off to end the photographing in step 1519.);
and a state of the electronic device is changed from the folded state to the partially-folded state (Fig. 13, Paragraph [0117]- Kang discloses the processor 100 may process the images acquired by the camera 120 at the set intervals and may temporarily store the processed images as still images. The set intervals may be set time intervals or set folding angles.),
wherein the stored another data is used when the first video is edited (Fig. 10, Paragraph [0109]- Kang discloses when an input of an end button is detected, or the electronic device is detected to be unfolded as indicated by reference numeral 1090, while the moving panorama photographing mode is being performed, the processor 100 may recognize it in step 919, process the images into a moving panoramic image by processing and composing the images, and display the processed moving panoramic image on the display 140 as shown on a screen 1040 (wherein the first video is the stream of images created and its edited by composing the images/frames).);
and at least based on the editing the first video, generating the third video by excluding the other frames from the first video (Fig. 19, Paragraph [0147]- Kang discloses editing the displayed images by removing images selected from the displayed images).
Kang in view of Cheong and Adeel fails to explicitly teach further comprising: while the first video is obtained via the camera, identifying, via another sensor of the electronic device, an orientation of the electronic device; identifying other frames obtained via the camera while an orientation of the electronic device is changed from a first orientation to a second orientation; storing another data indicating that the other frames are obtained while an orientation of the electronic device is changed from the first orientation to the second orientation.
However, Lawrence explicitly teaches further comprising: while the first video is obtained via the camera, identifying, via another sensor of the electronic device, an orientation of the electronic device (Fig. 5, Paragraph [0036]- Lawrence discloses once activated, this operation may include “determine image capture device orientation” 504, and precisely the orientation, and changes in orientation, while the device is recording.);
identifying other frames obtained via the camera while an orientation of the electronic device is changed from a first orientation to a second orientation (Fig. 5, Paragraph [0037]- Lawrence discloses the recording operation also may include “capture video frames” 506. Thus, the raw image data may be divided into frames in the raw data bitstream, by vertical blank for example, and from a camera sensor and to be pre-processed and stored, and either prepared for (1) display or (2) encoding and transmission.);
storing another data indicating that the other frames are obtained while an orientation of the electronic device is changed from the first orientation to the second orientation (Fig. 5, Paragraph [0038]- Lawrence discloses the recording operation also may include “associate device orientation indicator with individual frames” 508. Thus, the orientation determinations are matched with frames with the same (or sufficiently similar as within a set margin) timestamp or clock value, and may be in the form of a bit that is placed in a memory of the recording device when the same device is to play the video as well, or placed in the metadata of individual, or each, frame when the video is to be transmitted to another device for rendering.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to combine the teachings of Kang in view of Cheong and Adeel of a method executed in an electronic device comprising: a housing including a first housing part and a second housing part rotatably coupled with the first housing part; and at least one sensor with the teachings of Lawrence further comprising: while the first video is obtained via the camera, identifying, via another sensor of the electronic device, an orientation of the electronic device; identifying other frames obtained via the camera while an orientation of the electronic device is changed from a first orientation to a second orientation; storing another data indicating that the other frames are obtained while an orientation of the electronic device is changed from the first orientation to the second orientation.
Wherein having Kang’s system of image processing on a foldable device wherein further comprising: while the first video is obtained via the camera, identifying, via another sensor of the electronic device, an orientation of the electronic device; identifying other frames obtained via the camera while an orientation of the electronic device is changed from a first orientation to a second orientation; storing another data indicating that the other frames are obtained while an orientation of the electronic device is changed from the first orientation to the second orientation.
The motivation behind the modification would have been to improve the viewing experience, since both Kang and Lawrence are both systems that obtain information about images while changing states. Wherein Kang’s system provides a way to improve how intuitive the image processing is for the user, while Lawrence’s system provides a way to improve the quality of the viewing experience. Please see Kang et al. (US 20170094168 A1) Paragraph [0008] and Lawrence et al. (US 20170187983 A1) Paragraphs [0029].
Claim 23 is rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over Kang et al. (US 20170094168 A1) hereafter referenced as Kang in view of Cheong et al. (US 20180039387 A1) hereafter referenced as Cheong and Kim et al. (US 20200356140 A1) hereafter referenced as Kim and Lawrence et al. (US 20170187983 A1) hereafter referenced as Lawrence.
Regarding claim 23, Kang in view of Cheong and Kim teaches the electronic device of claim 21, Kang further teaches further comprising a sensor (Fig. 5, paragraph [0075]- Kang discloses the first sensor 133 may be installed adjacent to the hinge 210 or the folding device 430.);
wherein the stored another data is used when the first video is edited (Fig. 10, Paragraph [0109]- Kang discloses when an input of an end button is detected, or the electronic device is detected to be unfolded as indicated by reference numeral 1090, while the moving panorama photographing mode is being performed, the processor 100 may recognize it in step 919, process the images into a moving panoramic image by processing and composing the images, and display the processed moving panoramic image on the display 140 as shown on a screen 1040 (wherein the first video is the stream of images created and its edited by composing the images/frames).);
and at least based on editing the first video, generate the second video (Fig. 19, Paragraph [0147]- Kang discloses editing the displayed images by removing images selected from the displayed images).
Kang in view of Cheong fails to explicitly teach and a camera being used to obtain the first video is changed from the first camera to the second camera; and a camera being used to obtain the first video is changed from the first camera to the second camera.
However, Kim explicitly teaches and a camera being used to obtain the first video is changed from the first camera to the second camera (Fig. 4, Paragraph [0091]- Kim discloses if the image capturing mode information 415 is changed from “Selfie” to “Rear Selfie (or rear surface selfie)” according to a user input when the electronic device 101 is in the closed state, and then the electronic device 101 is changed to the open state, the electronic device 101 may activate at least one of the plurality of cameras. In this example, the electronic device 101 may activate the second camera 215. If the second camera 215 is activated, the electronic device 101 may deactivate (or turn off) the fifth camera 225.);
and a camera being used to obtain the first video is changed from the first camera to the second camera (Fig. 15, Paragraph [0186]- Kim discloses a processor 120 of the out-folding type electronic device may display, in the open state (e.g. FIG. 2A), a second execution screen 1520 that includes a preview image 1521 obtained from one (e.g. second camera 215) among a plurality of cameras (e.g. first camera 214 to fifth camera 225 in FIG. 15) included (or mounted) in the electronic device. (Wherein it is shown to identify the frames associated with the camera swap between the video for 1510 taken with 225 and the video taken in 1520 with 214.),
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to combine the teachings of Kang in view of Cheong of an electronic device comprising: a housing including a first housing part and a second housing part rotatably coupled with the first housing part; at least one sensor; a camera; memory comprising one or more storage media storing one or more instructions; and at least one processor comprising processing circuitry with the teachings of Kim a camera being used to obtain the first video is changed from the first camera to the second camera; and a camera being used to obtain the first video is changed from the first camera to the second camera.
Wherein having Kang’s system of image processing on a foldable device wherein a camera being used to obtain the first video is changed from the first camera to the second camera; and a camera being used to obtain the first video is changed from the first camera to the second camera.
The motivation behind the modification would have been to be able to help guide the user on better using the camera, since both Kang and Kim are both systems that use foldable devices and change depending on folding state. Wherein Kang’s system provides a way to improve how intuitive the image processing is for the user, while Kim’s system provides a way to further guide the user on taking an image. Please see Kang et al. (US 20170094168 A1) Paragraph [0008] and Kim et al. (US 20200356140 A1) Paragraph [0099-100].
Kang in view of Cheong and Kim fails to explicitly teach wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor, further cause the electronic device to: while the first video is obtained via the first camera or the second camera, identify, via the sensor, an orientation of the electronic device; identify other frames obtained while an orientation of the electronic device is changed from a first orientation to a second orientation; store another data indicating that the other frames are obtained while an orientation of the electronic device is changed from the first orientation to the second orientation.
However, Lawrence explicitly teaches wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor, further cause the electronic device to: while the first video is obtained via the first camera or the second camera, identify, via the sensor, an orientation of the electronic device (Fig. 5, Paragraph [0036]- Lawrence discloses once activated, this operation may include “determine image capture device orientation” 504, and precisely the orientation, and changes in orientation, while the device is recording.);
identify other frames obtained while an orientation of the electronic device is changed from a first orientation to a second orientation (Fig. 5, Paragraph [0037]- Lawrence discloses the recording operation also may include “capture video frames” 506. Thus, the raw image data may be divided into frames in the raw data bitstream, by vertical blank for example, and from a camera sensor and to be pre-processed and stored, and either prepared for (1) display or (2) encoding and transmission.);
store another data indicating that the other frames are obtained while an orientation of the electronic device is changed from the first orientation to the second orientation (Fig. 5, Paragraph [0038]- Lawrence discloses the recording operation also may include “associate device orientation indicator with individual frames” 508. Thus, the orientation determinations are matched with frames with the same (or sufficiently similar as within a set margin) timestamp or clock value, and may be in the form of a bit that is placed in a memory of the recording device when the same device is to play the video as well, or placed in the metadata of individual, or each, frame when the video is to be transmitted to another device for rendering.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to combine the teachings of Kang in view of Cheong and Kim of an electronic device comprising: a housing including a first housing part and a second housing part rotatably coupled with the first housing part; at least one sensor; a camera; memory comprising one or more storage media storing one or more instructions; and at least one processor comprising processing circuitry with the teachings of Lawrence wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor, further cause the electronic device to: while the first video is obtained via the first camera or the second camera, identify, via the sensor, an orientation of the electronic device; identify other frames obtained while an orientation of the electronic device is changed from a first orientation to a second orientation; store another data indicating that the other frames are obtained while an orientation of the electronic device is changed from the first orientation to the second orientation.
Wherein having Kang’s system of image processing on a foldable device wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor, further cause the electronic device to: while the first video is obtained via the first camera or the second camera, identify, via the sensor, an orientation of the electronic device; identify other frames obtained while an orientation of the electronic device is changed from a first orientation to a second orientation; store another data indicating that the other frames are obtained while an orientation of the electronic device is changed from the first orientation to the second orientation.
The motivation behind the modification would have been to improve the viewing experience, since both Kang and Lawrence are both systems that obtain information about images while changing states. Wherein Kang’s system provides a way to improve how intuitive the image processing is for the user, while Lawrence’s system provides a way to improve the quality of the viewing experience. Please see Kang et al. (US 20170094168 A1) Paragraph [0008] and Lawrence et al. (US 20170187983 A1) Paragraphs [0029].
Claim 26 is rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over Kang et al. (US 20170094168 A1) hereafter referenced as Kang in view of Cheong et al. (US 20180039387 A1) hereafter referenced as Cheong and Kim et al. (US 20200356140 A1) hereafter referenced as Kim and Seo et al. (US 20220377416 A1) hereafter referenced as Seo.
Regarding claim 26, Kang in view of Cheong and Kim teaches the electronic device of claim 21, Kang in view of Cheong and Kim fails to explicitly teach further comprising a display, wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor, further cause the electronic device to: display, via the display, a UI for guiding to restore the frames; and based on a user input on the UI, obtain the first video by restoring the frames from the second video.
However, Seo explicitly teaches further comprising a display, wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the electronic device to: display, via the display, a UI for guiding to restore the frames (Fig. 3, Paragraph [0087]- Seo discloses according to an embodiment, the icon 3030 may include an icon to display the first video 3000 in an original aspect ratio, an icon to resize the first video 3000 in accordance with the aspect ratio of the first area and display the resized video, and an icon to crop a portion of the first video 3000 in accordance with the aspect ratio of the first area and display the cropped video. In addition, the icon 3030 may include an icon 3031 to display the expanded video. Further in Fig. 3, Paragraph [0342]- Seo discloses the device 1000 may guide efficient use of the memory 2362 by providing a user interface for deleting the generated expanded video generation module upon request of the user.);
and based on a user input on the UI, obtain the first video by restoring the frames from the second video (Fig. 3, Paragraph [0087]- Seo discloses according to an embodiment, the icon 3030 may include an icon to display the first video 3000 in an original aspect ratio, an icon to resize the first video 3000 in accordance with the aspect ratio of the first area and display the resized video, and an icon to crop a portion of the first video 3000 in accordance with the aspect ratio of the first area and display the cropped video. In addition, the icon 3030 may include an icon 3031 to display the expanded video. Further in Fig. 3, Paragraph [0097]- According to an embodiment, the device 1000 may generate an expanded video and a second video by inputting the first video to an AI neural network built in the device 1000. In this case, the second video may include at least one portion of the first video and the expanded video.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to combine the teachings of Kang in view of Cheong of an electronic device comprising: a housing including a first housing part and a second housing part rotatably coupled with the first housing part; at least one sensor; a camera; memory comprising one or more storage media storing one or more instructions; and at least one processor comprising processing circuitry with the teachings of Seo further comprising a display, wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor, further cause the electronic device to: display, via the display, a UI for guiding to restore the frames; and based on a user input on the UI, obtain the first video by restoring the frames from the second video.
Wherein having Kang’s system of image processing on a foldable device wherein further comprising a display, wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor, further cause the electronic device to: display, via the display, a UI for guiding to restore the frames; and based on a user input on the UI, obtain the first video by restoring the frames from the second video.
The motivation behind the modification would have been to improve the users experience, since both Kang and Seo are both systems that obtain user input on an electronic device. Wherein Kang’s system provides a way to improve how intuitive the image processing is for the user, while Seo’s system provides a way to improve user experience with a video. Please see Kang et al. (US 20170094168 A1) Paragraph [0008] and Seo et al. (US 20220377416 A1) Paragraphs [0006 and 0069-71].
Conclusion
Listed below are the prior arts made of record and not relied upon but are considered
pertinent to applicant`s disclosure.
KITAMURA et al. (US 20190098225 A1)- An object is to clarify a relation between a partial area on an image and a voice corresponding to the area when providing them to a user. A control section acquires an image such as a fisheye moving image stored in a storage section and a voice corresponding to this image from the storage section, specifies a partial area on a plane of the entire area of the acquired image, acquires a voice from a direction corresponding to the specified partial area among all acquired voices and outputs this voice from a loudspeaker section.........................Please see Fig. 1. Abstract.
OHSAKI et al. (US 20120026069 A1)- A mobile terminal device comprises: a first main display unit that has a first display screen; a second main display unit that has a second display screen which can display equivalent to the first display screen, the second main display unit being connected so as to be capable of being juxtaposed to the first main display unit; a display state detection unit that detects whether or not both the first display screen and the second display screen are in a state where simultaneous display is possible; an operation target screen selection unit that executes a function to select, among the first display screen and the second display screen, a screen that is a target for operation; and an operation target screen switching icon display unit that executes a function to display an operation target screen switching icon at least on the screen selected by the operation target screen selection unit, when the display state detection unit detects that both the first display screen and the second display screen are in a state in which display is possible; wherein the operation target screen selection unit switches an operation target screen when the operation target screen switching icon is selected.........................Please see Fig. 1. Abstract.
NICHOLS et al. (US 20170085797 A1)- Embodiments of the present invention include methods and apparatus for the rotational stabilization of images and video. Rotational stabilization of images includes determining an amount of degrees of cant or tilt of an image capturing device, and capturing an image. The captured image is rotated an angular distance equal to the amount of degrees of tilt of the image capturing device. The rotated image is then cropped. The determining, rotating, and cropping are generally performed automatically by the image capturing device without user action at the time of capturing the image.........................Please see Fig. 1. Abstract.
/LUCIUS CAMERON GREEN ALLEN/Examiner, Art Unit 2673
/CHINEYERE WILLS-BURNS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2673