Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Nogami et al (US 2017/0338512).
Nogami teaches an all-solid secondary battery in which a solid electrolyte composed of an ionic conductor 0.9 LiBH4-0.10 P2S5 (example 1); which is laminated on a solid electrolyte composed of a complex hydride solid electrolyte 3LiBH4-LiI ; a positive electrode using TiS2 as an active material on the ionic conductor; and a negative electrode (0077-0079) wherein the electrodes are on opposing sides of the electrolyte. The positive electrode is taught to be on top of the ionic conductor (considered to be the first electrolyte layer) which is taught to be laminated to the complex hydride (considered to be the second electrolyte layer) which is in contact on the opposite side with the negative electrode (0054-0055; 0077-0079 and example 1). The materials of Nogami are the same as a lithium sulfur battery and therefore the all solid-secondary battery is considered to be a lithium sulfur battery.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3-4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nogami et al (US 2017/0338512).
Regarding claim 3, Nogami teaches the battery as discussed above.
Nogami does not explicitly teach the area differences as claimed.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have the area of the electrolytes laminated together to be bigger than the positive electrode on the first electrolyte as such is a known configuration and would have been well within the purview of an ordinarily skilled artisan without undue experimentation and with a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding claim 4, Nogami teaches the positive electrode to be on top of the ionic conductor (considered to be the first electrolyte layer) which is taught to be laminated to the complex hydride (considered to be the second electrolyte layer) which is in contact on the opposite side with the negative electrode (0054-0055; 0077-0079 and example 1).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2, 5, and 6 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The closest prior art of record is considered to be Nogami et al (US 2017/0338512), as discussed above. Nogami neither teaches nor renders obvious the claimed limitations of instant claims 2, 5, and 6.
Conclusion
/SARAH A. SLIFKA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1759 February 4, 2026