DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claims 1-4,7,10-16 and 19-20 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Edis et al. (US 2010/0144414 A1) in view of Bentley (US 2006/0166737 A1) and Gilley et al. (US 2008/0086318 A1).
Re claims 1, 15, 20:
1. Edis teaches [A] method (Edis, Abstract) comprising:
presenting, to the display device, a prompt for a user to perform an athletic movement (Edis, [0036], “athletic training program … display live, on demand, pay per view, DVD, Blu-Ray, Interactive television”; [0037], “The system 100 can also interact with and display information for officials such as referees, judges, coaches, trainers, and doctors to monitor athletes at an event”; [0071], “Stage 1110 shows the computer storing or displaying the identified pre-identified motions or outcomes. An example of displaying the identified pre-identified motions or outcomes is by overlaying the analysis on a live boxing screen, such as a Jumbotron screen at an event, a television, or a website”),
in response to detecting the athletic movement of the user, automatically capturing, with an image capture device, motion parameter data of the user performing the athletic movement, wherein the image capture device comprises a plurality of cameras (Edis, fig. 1, 104; [0083]);
generating, by a processor, one or more movement scores based on at least a first portion of the motion parameter data of the user performing the athletic movement, wherein generating the one or more movement scores includes processing the motion parameter data to assess movement of the user performing the athletic movement (Edis, fig. 12, 1208; fig. 1, “speed, direction, punch type …”; [0065], “particular boxer's punches and motions can also be profiled to create a boxer specific motion profile”; [0072], “statistics and score”) relative to a desired form of the athletic movement (Edis, Abstract, “pre-identified motion rules … pre-identified motion”; fig. 11, 1104, “OBTAIN MOTION PROFILE FROM A DATABASE”; [0069], “the computer compares the activity-related data to the motion profile rules”);
generating, by the processor, a personalized exercise program based on the one or more movement scores, and comprising a plurality of workouts (Edis, fig. 12, 1208; fig. 1, “speed, direction, punch type …”; [0065], “particular boxer's punches and motions can also be profiled to create a boxer specific motion profile”; [0072], “statistics and score”);
providing, to the display of the computing device, a graphical user interface that includes a display of the one or more movement scores and an interactive indication of the personalized exercise program that includes one or more exercises, each exercise associated with the one or more movement scores (Edis, [0084], “the system can be used for training. The system can obtain raw data and analyze it while an athlete is training. Analysis software can display faults of an athlete's movements while training … the computer can even give the trainee instructions on how to improve”; [0085]; [0036], “visualization engine 302 can process information including enhanced statistics, interactive visualizations, real-time information for officials and advanced athletic training programs”; Edis’ system tracks the speed, force, direction, pressure, acceleration … etc associates with a punch (Edis, fig. 1; [0032]; [0043]).
15. Edis teaches [A]n apparatus comprising: at least one processor; a display device; an image capture device; a non-transitory computer-readable medium comprising computer-executable instructions that when executed by the at least one processor cause the at least one processor (Edis, fig. 1) to:
presenting, to the display device, a prompt for a user to perform an athletic movement (Edis, fig. 12, “Fight Screen”; [0074]),
in response to detecting the athletic movement of the user, automatically capture, from the image capture device, motion parameter data of the user performing the athletic movement (Edis, fig. 1, 104; [0083]);
generate, by the at least one processor, one or more movement scores based on the at least a first portion of the motion parameter data of the user performing the athletic movement (Edis, fig. 12, 1208; fig. 1, “speed, direction, punch type …”; [0065], “particular boxer's punches and motions can also be profiled to create a boxer specific motion profile”; [0072], “statistics and score”), wherein generating the one or more movement scores includes processing the motion parameter data to assess movement of the user performing the athletic movement relative to a desired form of the athletic movement (Edis, Abstract, “pre-identified motion rules … pre-identified motion”; fig. 11, 1104, “OBTAIN MOTION PROFILE FROM A DATABASE”; [0069], “the computer compares the activity-related data to the motion profile rules”);
generate, by the at least one processor, a personalized exercise program based on the one or more movement scores, wherein the personalized exercise program comprises a plurality of workouts (Edis, fig. 12, 1208; fig. 1, “speed, direction, punch type …”; [0065], “particular boxer's punches and motions can also be profiled to create a boxer specific motion profile”; [0072], “statistics and score”);
provide, to the display device, a graphical user interface that includes a display of the one or more movement scores and an interactive indication of the personalized exercise program that includes one or more exercises, each exercise associated with the one or more movement scores (Edis, [0084], “the system can be used for training. The system can obtain raw data and analyze it while an athlete is training. Analysis software can display faults of an athlete's movements while training … the computer can even give the trainee instructions on how to improve”; [0085]; [0036], “visualization engine 302 can process information including enhanced statistics, interactive visualizations, real-time information for officials and advanced athletic training programs”; Edis’ system tracks the speed, force, direction, pressure, acceleration … etc associates with a punch (Edis, fig. 1; [0032]; [0043]).
20. Edis teaches [A] non-transitory computer-readable medium comprising computer-executable instructions that when executed by a processor (Edis, fig. 1), cause the processor to perform at least:
in response presenting, to an interactive display, a prompt a user to perform an athletic movement, capturing, with an image capture device, video data of the user performing the athletic movement (Edis, fig. 1, 104; [0083]);
processing, with at least one processor, the video data to obtain motion parameter data of the user performing the athletic movement (Edis, fig. 1, 104; [0083]);
generating, with at least one processor, one or more movement scores based on at least a first portion of motion parameter data of the user performing the athletic movement (Edis, fig. 12, 1208; fig. 1, “speed, direction, punch type …”; [0065], “particular boxer's punches and motions can also be profiled to create a boxer specific motion profile”; [0072], “statistics and score”), wherein generating the one or more movement scores includes processing the motion parameter data to assess movement of the user performing the athletic movement (Edis, fig. 12, 1208; fig. 1, “speed, direction, punch type …”; [0065], “particular boxer's punches and motions can also be profiled to create a boxer specific motion profile”; [0072], “statistics and score”) relative to a desired form of the athletic movement (Edis, Abstract, “pre-identified motion rules … pre-identified motion”; fig. 11, 1104, “OBTAIN MOTION PROFILE FROM A DATABASE”; [0069], “the computer compares the activity-related data to the motion profile rules”);
generating, at the at least one processor, a personalized exercise program based on the one or more movement scores, wherein the personalized exercise program comprises a plurality of workouts (Edis, fig. 12, 1208; fig. 1, “speed, direction, punch type …”; [0065], “particular boxer's punches and motions can also be profiled to create a boxer specific motion profile”; [0072], “statistics and score”);
providing, to the interactive display, a graphical user interface that includes a display of the one or more movement scores and an indication of the personalized exercise program that includes one or more exercises, each exercise associated with the one or more movement scores (Edis, [0084], “the system can be used for training. The system can obtain raw data and analyze it while an athlete is training. Analysis software can display faults of an athlete's movements while training … the computer can even give the trainee instructions on how to improve”; [0085]; [0036], “visualization engine 302 can process information including enhanced statistics, interactive visualizations, real-time information for officials and advanced athletic training programs”; Edis’ system tracks the speed, force, direction, pressure, acceleration … etc associates with a punch (Edis, fig. 1; [0032]; [0043]).
Edis does not explicitly disclose upon receiving a user interaction with a selectable element of the personalized exercise program, providing an exercise interface that displays an exercise associated with the selectable element: and in response to detecting the user performing the exercise, updating the exercise interface to display both a comparison of a form of the user and a desired form of the exercise and a feedback comprising a correction to the form of the user.
Bentley (US 2006/0166737 A1) teaches a system and method for analyzing and improving the performance of an athletic motion such as a golf swing (Bentley, Abstract). Bentley teaches
generating, by a processor, one or more movement scores based on at least a first portion of the motion parameter data of the user performing the athletic movement (Bentley, [0049]; [0128], “The methodology of the invention depends on capturing motion data, processing it into the described parameters relating to body segments and components of the motion, providing a quantitative analysis of each component of motion, and then summing the scores for each component of motion so as to produce a unitary number or "kinetic index" for the performance as a whole”; [0130]), wherein generating the one or more movement scores includes processing the motion parameter data to assess movement of the user performing the athletic movement relative to a desired form of the athletic movement (Bentley, [0014], “The still images are then overlaid with a series of corrected images which include lines depicting proper form”; [0053]; [0110], “use of overlays of alignment lines relating to the golfer's position, size, posture, and expected motions, so as to make motions and deviations in alignment very apparent in subsequent video presentations of the swing motion”; );
generating, by the processor, a personalized exercise program based on the one or more movement scores, and comprising a plurality of workouts (Bentley, [0038], “those diagnostic parameters can be utilized by indexing a cross reference table of test results and exercises to automatically prescribe to the golfer an assignment of appropriate individualized exercises to improve his or her swing”; Abstract, “based on the results prescribing a user-specific training regime with exercises selected from a library of standardized exercises using standardized tools and training aids”; [0040]);
providing, to the display of the computing device, a graphical user interface that includes a display of the one or more movement scores (Bentley, [0022], “The performance reports provide an objective record of the type and degree of changes in performance that the user has experienced”; [0034], “Calculated diagnostic parameters of interest can be reported on the screen”; [0036]) and an interactive indication of the personalized exercise program that includes one or more exercises, each exercise associated with the one or more movement scores (Bentley, [0004], “Instructional feedback may be comments relative to problems associated with the student's swing, compliments regarding improvement in the student's swing, suggestions on correcting the user's swing, or any”; [0014], “The still images are then overlaid with a series of corrected images which include lines depicting proper form. The result is then augmented with further visual or audio information and recorded onto another tape for viewing and analysis”; [0086], “Analyze 300 requires analyzing the collected data, and includes accessing a database 700 of related data for comparison and for relating types and degrees of deviations in performance from benchmark values to a library of standard exercises for generating prescriptions of appropriate practice exercises or corrective measures … Finally, exercise 600, requires the user to practice the exercises or corrective measures in accordance with the prescription”; [0092], “Individual systems of the invention work in standalone configurations as individual test and evaluation systems for collecting student performance data, analyzing and comparing student data to a library of performance data including expert performance data, reporting the results, and prescribing corrective exercises”);
upon receiving a user interaction with a selectable element of the personalized exercise program, providing an exercise interface that displays an exercise associated with the selectable element (Bentley, [0038], “those diagnostic parameters can be utilized by indexing a cross reference table of test results and exercises to automatically prescribe to the golfer an assignment of appropriate individualized exercises to improve his or her swing”; Abstract, “based on the results prescribing a user-specific training regime with exercises selected from a library of standardized exercises using standardized tools and training aids”; [0040]); and
in response to detecting the user performing the exercise, updating the exercise interface to display both a comparison of a form of the user and a desired form of the exercise (Bentley, [0049], “The analysis may include for selected parameters comparing the motion data test value to a pre-defined benchmark value for the same parameter and determining a degree of deviation”; [0117], “present a comparative trace of the present motion or component of motion compared to a prior motion or an expert motion”; [0152], “the system is able to compare the performance results to a catalog of exercises appropriate to the respective parameters and their test result, and provide an automated recommendation or prescription of exercises”) and a feedback comprising a correction to the form of the user (Bentley, [0004], “Instructional feedback may be comments relative to problems associated with the student's swing, compliments regarding improvement in the student's swing, suggestions on correcting the user's swing, or any”; [0014], “The still images are then overlaid with a series of corrected images which include lines depicting proper form. The result is then augmented with further visual or audio information and recorded onto another tape for viewing and analysis”; [0086], “Analyze 300 requires analyzing the collected data, and includes accessing a database 700 of related data for comparison and for relating types and degrees of deviations in performance from benchmark values to a library of standard exercises for generating prescriptions of appropriate practice exercises or corrective measures … Finally, exercise 600, requires the user to practice the exercises or corrective measures in accordance with the prescription”; [0092], “Individual systems of the invention work in standalone configurations as individual test and evaluation systems for collecting student performance data, analyzing and comparing student data to a library of performance data including expert performance data, reporting the results, and prescribing corrective exercises”).
Therefore, in view of Bentley, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of invention was made, to modify the method / apparatus / computer program described in Edis, by prescribing a user-specific training regime as taught by Bentley, in order to provide practice of prescribed drills intended to improve aspects of the motion based on the feedback and score (Bentley, [0038]).
In view of Bentley, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of invention was made, to modify the method / apparatus / computer program described in Edis, by providing comparison between user and expert motion movement as taught by Bentley, to demonstrate graphically the coordination between hips, shoulders and hand motion; or it may present a comparative trace of the present motion or component of motion compared to a prior motion or an expert motion in order to illustrate the degree of deviation and required improvement to achieve a desired performance level (Bentley, [0117]).
Edis does not explicitly disclose receiving additional exercise data associated with the user; and modifying, based on the additional exercise data, a duration of a next workout of the plurality of workouts.
Gilley et al. (US 2008/0086318 A1) teaches a receiving additional exercise data associated with the user; and modifying, based on the additional exercise data, a duration of a next workout of the plurality of workouts (Gilley, [0076], “if the collected data indicates that the user will not reach a target performance metric (e.g., target number of calories burned or target heart rate) during a current fitness activity, the lifestyle companion system can increase the intensity or duration of the current fitness activity or a future fitness activity … If the collected data indicates that the user will not reach his fitness goals based on his performance over multiple workouts, the lifestyle companion system can increase the intensity or frequency of future workouts”; [0104]; [0140]). Therefore, in view of Gilley, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the method/system described in Bentley, by adjusting duration based on the collected data as taught by Gilley, since the lifestyle companion system can dynamically adapt the user's short-term or long-term goals based on the data collected by adjusting exercise parameter such as (intensity or duration) (Gilley, [0076]).
Re claims 2 – 3:
2. The method of claim 1, wherein capturing motion parameter data further comprises:
capturing, with a sensor worn on the user, additional motion parameter data of a user performing an athletic movement (Edis, [0032] – [0035]); and
correlating the motion parameter data of the image capture device with the additional motion parameter data of the sensor (Edis, [0041]; [0049]).
3. The method of claim 2, wherein the sensor comprises a wrist-worn or a footwear-worn accelerometer (Edis, [0032] – [0035]).
Re claim 4:
4. The method of claim 1, further comprising modifying, by the processor, the personalized exercise program based on one or more aspects of a user profile of the user (Edis, [0084], “the system can be used for training. The system can obtain raw data and analyze it while an athlete is training. Analysis software can display faults of an athlete's movements while training … the computer can even give the trainee instructions on how to improve”; [0085]; [0036], “visualization engine 302 can process information including enhanced statistics, interactive visualizations, real-time information for officials and advanced athletic training programs”).
Re claim 7:
7. The method of claim 1, wherein generating the personalized exercise program is based on the one or more movement scores and an input of the user (Edis, [0084], “the system can be used for training. The system can obtain raw data and analyze it while an athlete is training. Analysis software can display faults of an athlete's movements while training … the computer can even give the trainee instructions on how to improve”; [0085]; [0036], “visualization engine 302 can process information including enhanced statistics, interactive visualizations, real-time information for officials and advanced athletic training programs”).
Re claim 10:
10. The method of claim 1, wherein generating the one or more movement scores comprises evaluating a form of the user by identifying locations of body parts of the user at different times (Edis, [0049]; [0064]).
Re claims 11 – 12:
11. The method of claim 1, further comprising presenting a post-workout-dashboard permitting a user to review analysis to view movement scores based on the motion parameter data. 12. The method of claim 11, wherein presenting a post-workout-dashboard includes a feedback for improving movement scores in future workout sessions (Edis, [0084]; [0085]; [0036], “visualization engine 302 can process information including enhanced statistics, interactive visualizations, real-time information for officials and advanced athletic training programs”; fig. 12).
Re claims 13 – 14:
13. The method of claim 12, further comprising modifying the personalized exercise program based on the feedback for improving movement scores in future workout sessions. 14. The method of claim 12, further comprising providing suggested exercises that target specified areas for improving movement scores in future workout sessions (Edis, [0084], “Analysis software can display faults of an athlete's movements while training”; [0085]; [0036], “visualization engine 302 can process information including enhanced statistics, interactive visualizations, real-time information for officials and advanced athletic training programs”; fig. 12).
Re claim 16:
16. The apparatus of claim 15, wherein the computer-readable medium further comprises computer-executable instructions that when executed by the at least one processor cause the at least one processor to: modify the personalized exercise program based on receiving one or more aspects of a user profile of the user (Edis, [0084], “the system can be used for training. The system can obtain raw data and analyze it while an athlete is training. Analysis software can display faults of an athlete's movements while training … the computer can even give the trainee instructions on how to improve”; [0085]; [0036], “visualization engine 302 can process information including enhanced statistics, interactive visualizations, real-time information for officials and advanced athletic training programs”).
Re claim 19:
19. The apparatus of claim 15, wherein the image capture device comprises a plurality of video cameras (Edis, fig. 1; [0080] – [0081]).
Claims 5 and 8 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Edis, Bentley and Gilley in view of Brown (US 6746371 B1).
Re claims 5 and 8:
Edis does not explicitly disclose a scheduling feature. However, Brown teaches a computer system for managing fitness activity of a user between multiple exercise machines (Brown, Abstract; col. 3, lines 40-54). Brown teaches 5. The method of claim 4, wherein the one or more aspects of the user profile include a probable availability of the user calculated by analyzing historical calendar data of the user. 8. The method of claim 7, wherein the input of the user comprises at least one of: a time commitment or a number of exercise sessions in a predetermined time period (Brown, col. 9, lines 26-38). Therefore, in view of Brown, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of invention was made, to modify the method described in Edis, by providing the scheduling feature as taught by Edis, in order to schedule for the user what type of exercise should be performed each day and how much time should be allotted for exercise. This function is particularly helpful for people wanting to follow a particular workout schedule (Brown, col. 9, lines 26 - 38) and allow an individual to reserve exercise machines from the available scheduling (Brown, col. 12, lines 33 - 45).
Claims 6 and 17 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Edis, Bentley and Gilley in view of Astilean (US 2006/0183602 A1).
Re claims 6 and 17:
Edi does not explicitly disclose a start option. Astilean teaches a system and method are provided for improving the physical fitness of a person wherein the person performs at least one walking or running exercise routine (Astilean, Abstract). Astilean teaches 6. The method of claim 1, further comprising presenting the user with an option to start a plan to complete the personalized exercise program. 17. The apparatus of claim 15, wherein the computer-readable medium further comprises computer-executable instructions that when executed by the at least one processor cause the at least one processor to: present the user with an option to start a plan to complete the personalized exercise program (Astilean ([0054]; [0055], “program may prompt the user to press the START button 104 at the beginning of a particular routine within the regimen”). Therefore, in view of Cargill, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of invention was made, to modify the method/apparatus described in Edis, by start prompt as taught by Astilean, in order to allow a user to start an exercise routine based his/her schedule.
Claims 9 and 18 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Edis , Bentley and Gilley in view of Cargill (US 2010/0069148 A1).
Re claims 9 and 18:
Edis does not explicitly disclose athletic item available for purchase. Cargill teaches a method includes receiving data indicating performance of an offline activity by the game player such as completion of a quantity of exercise (Cargill, Abstract). Cargill teaches 9. The method of claim 1, further comprising providing an indication of athletic item available for purchase upon the user reaching a milestone in the personalized exercise program. 18. The apparatus of claim 15, wherein the computer-readable medium further comprises computer-executable instructions that when executed by the at least one processor cause the at least one processor to: provide an indication of athletic item available for purchase based on the one or more movement scores of the user (Cargill, [0015], “the rewards may awarded based on earned points or "green bucks" that are stored in an online or virtual bank account for the player”; [0017], “number of steps 124 taken by a player and the number of steps (or length of activity/exercise) may be converted into a number of earned points or green bucks)”; [0022], “a green buck value or number of points 177 may be provided or defined to indicate how many bucks a player must have to obtain or "purchase" the reward 176”; [0029], “purchase price for the product ("plushie")”; the item becomes available when a user earning enough “green buck” by performing a certain amount of exercise or fitness level). Therefore, in view of Cargill, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of invention was made, to modify the method/apparatus described in Edis, by providing store as taught by Cargill, in order to track activities such as exercise may result in green bucks being rewarded that may be used in a variety of ways to obtain rewards (such as sponsor's products, coupons to make purchases, changes/improvements in an avatar, donations to a charity/organization, and so on) (Cargill, [0028]) and provide incentives/rewards may also be chosen to motivate players (Cargill, [0027]).
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 15, 20are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 17, 22 of U.S. Patent No. 9457256 (‘256) in view of Bentley (US 2006/0166737 A1) and Gilley et al. (US 2008/0086318 A1). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the subject matter claimed in the instant application is fully disclosed in the more specific claims of ‘256.
Claims 1, 15, 20 (see claims 1, 17, 22 of ‘256), except wherein generating the one or more movement scores includes processing the motion parameter data to assess movement of the user performing the athletic movement … receiving a user interaction with a selectable element of the personalized exercise program, providing an exercise interface that displays an exercise associated with the selectable element: and in response to detecting the user performing the exercise, updating the exercise interface to display both a comparison of a form of the user and a desired form of the exercise and a feedback comprising a correction to the form of the user.
Bentley (US 2006/0166737 A1) teaches a system and method for analyzing and improving the performance of an athletic motion such as a golf swing (Bentley, Abstract). Bentley teaches
generating, by a processor, one or more movement scores based on at least a first portion of the motion parameter data of the user performing the athletic movement (Bentley, [0049]; [0128], “The methodology of the invention depends on capturing motion data, processing it into the described parameters relating to body segments and components of the motion, providing a quantitative analysis of each component of motion, and then summing the scores for each component of motion so as to produce a unitary number or "kinetic index" for the performance as a whole”; [0130]), wherein generating the one or more movement scores includes processing the motion parameter data to assess movement of the user performing the athletic movement relative to a desired form of the athletic movement (Bentley, [0014], “The still images are then overlaid with a series of corrected images which include lines depicting proper form”; [0053]; [0110], “use of overlays of alignment lines relating to the golfer's position, size, posture, and expected motions, so as to make motions and deviations in alignment very apparent in subsequent video presentations of the swing motion”; );
generating, by the processor, a personalized exercise program based on the one or more movement scores, and comprising a plurality of workouts (Bentley, [0038], “those diagnostic parameters can be utilized by indexing a cross reference table of test results and exercises to automatically prescribe to the golfer an assignment of appropriate individualized exercises to improve his or her swing”; Abstract, “based on the results prescribing a user-specific training regime with exercises selected from a library of standardized exercises using standardized tools and training aids”; [0040]);
providing, to the display of the computing device, a graphical user interface that includes a display of the one or more movement scores (Bentley, [0022], “The performance reports provide an objective record of the type and degree of changes in performance that the user has experienced”; [0034], “Calculated diagnostic parameters of interest can be reported on the screen”; [0036]) and an interactive indication of the personalized exercise program that includes one or more exercises, each exercise associated with the one or more movement scores (Bentley, [0004], “Instructional feedback may be comments relative to problems associated with the student's swing, compliments regarding improvement in the student's swing, suggestions on correcting the user's swing, or any”; [0014], “The still images are then overlaid with a series of corrected images which include lines depicting proper form. The result is then augmented with further visual or audio information and recorded onto another tape for viewing and analysis”; [0086], “Analyze 300 requires analyzing the collected data, and includes accessing a database 700 of related data for comparison and for relating types and degrees of deviations in performance from benchmark values to a library of standard exercises for generating prescriptions of appropriate practice exercises or corrective measures … Finally, exercise 600, requires the user to practice the exercises or corrective measures in accordance with the prescription”; [0092], “Individual systems of the invention work in standalone configurations as individual test and evaluation systems for collecting student performance data, analyzing and comparing student data to a library of performance data including expert performance data, reporting the results, and prescribing corrective exercises”);
upon receiving a user interaction with a selectable element of the personalized exercise program, providing an exercise interface that displays an exercise associated with the selectable element (Bentley, [0038], “those diagnostic parameters can be utilized by indexing a cross reference table of test results and exercises to automatically prescribe to the golfer an assignment of appropriate individualized exercises to improve his or her swing”; Abstract, “based on the results prescribing a user-specific training regime with exercises selected from a library of standardized exercises using standardized tools and training aids”; [0040]); and
in response to detecting the user performing the exercise, updating the exercise interface to display both a comparison of a form of the user and a desired form of the exercise (Bentley, [0049], “The analysis may include for selected parameters comparing the motion data test value to a pre-defined benchmark value for the same parameter and determining a degree of deviation”; [0117], “present a comparative trace of the present motion or component of motion compared to a prior motion or an expert motion”; [0152], “the system is able to compare the performance results to a catalog of exercises appropriate to the respective parameters and their test result, and provide an automated recommendation or prescription of exercises”) and a feedback comprising a correction to the form of the user (Bentley, [0004], “Instructional feedback may be comments relative to problems associated with the student's swing, compliments regarding improvement in the student's swing, suggestions on correcting the user's swing, or any”; [0014], “The still images are then overlaid with a series of corrected images which include lines depicting proper form. The result is then augmented with further visual or audio information and recorded onto another tape for viewing and analysis”; [0086], “Analyze 300 requires analyzing the collected data, and includes accessing a database 700 of related data for comparison and for relating types and degrees of deviations in performance from benchmark values to a library of standard exercises for generating prescriptions of appropriate practice exercises or corrective measures … Finally, exercise 600, requires the user to practice the exercises or corrective measures in accordance with the prescription”; [0092], “Individual systems of the invention work in standalone configurations as individual test and evaluation systems for collecting student performance data, analyzing and comparing student data to a library of performance data including expert performance data, reporting the results, and prescribing corrective exercises”).
Therefore, in view of Bentley, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of invention was made, to modify the method / apparatus / computer program described in ‘256, by prescribing a user-specific training regime as taught by Bentley, in order to provide practice of prescribed drills intended to improve aspects of the motion based on the feedback and score (Bentley, [0038]).
In view of Bentley, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of invention was made, to modify the method / apparatus / computer program described in ‘256, by providing comparison between user and expert motion movement as taught by Bentley, to demonstrate graphically the coordination between hips, shoulders and hand motion; or it may present a comparative trace of the present motion or component of motion compared to a prior motion or an expert motion in order to illustrate the degree of deviation and required improvement to achieve a desired performance level (Bentley, [0117]).
‘256 does not explicitly disclose receiving additional exercise data associated with the user; and modifying, based on the additional exercise data, a duration of a next workout of the plurality of workouts.
Gilley teaches a receiving additional exercise data associated with the user; and modifying, based on the additional exercise data, a duration of a next workout of the plurality of workouts (Gilley, [0076], “if the collected data indicates that the user will not reach a target performance metric (e.g., target number of calories burned or target heart rate) during a current fitness activity, the lifestyle companion system can increase the intensity or duration of the current fitness activity or a future fitness activity … If the collected data indicates that the user will not reach his fitness goals based on his performance over multiple workouts, the lifestyle companion system can increase the intensity or frequency of future workouts”; [0104]; [0140]). Therefore, in view of Gilley, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the method/system described in ‘256, by adjusting duration based on the collected data as taught by Gilley, since the lifestyle companion system can dynamically adapt the user's short-term or long-term goals based on the data collected by adjusting exercise parameter such as (intensity or duration) (Gilley, [0076]).
Claims 1, 15, 20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 4, 7 – 11 of U.S. Patent No. 9283429 (‘429) in view of Bentley (US 2006/0166737 A1) and Gilley et al. (US 2008/0086318 A1). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the subject matter claimed in the instant application is fully disclosed in the more specific claims of ‘429.
Claims 1, 15, 20 (see claims 1, 4, 7 – 11), except upon receiving a user interaction with a selectable element of the personalized exercise program, providing an exercise interface that displays an exercise associated with the selectable element; in response to detecting the user performing the exercise, updating the exercise interface to display both a comparison of a form of the user and a desired form of the exercise and a feedback comprising a correction to the form of the user.
Bentley (US 2006/0166737 A1) teaches a system and method for analyzing and improving the performance of an athletic motion such as a golf swing (Bentley, Abstract). Bentley teaches
generating, by a processor, one or more movement scores based on at least a first portion of the motion parameter data of the user performing the athletic movement (Bentley, [0049]; [0128], “The methodology of the invention depends on capturing motion data, processing it into the described parameters relating to body segments and components of the motion, providing a quantitative analysis of each component of motion, and then summing the scores for each component of motion so as to produce a unitary number or "kinetic index" for the performance as a whole”; [0130]), wherein generating the one or more movement scores includes processing the motion parameter data to assess movement of the user performing the athletic movement relative to a desired form of the athletic movement (Bentley, [0014], “The still images are then overlaid with a series of corrected images which include lines depicting proper form”; [0053]; [0110], “use of overlays of alignment lines relating to the golfer's position, size, posture, and expected motions, so as to make motions and deviations in alignment very apparent in subsequent video presentations of the swing motion”; );
generating, by the processor, a personalized exercise program based on the one or more movement scores, and comprising a plurality of workouts (Bentley, [0038], “those diagnostic parameters can be utilized by indexing a cross reference table of test results and exercises to automatically prescribe to the golfer an assignment of appropriate individualized exercises to improve his or her swing”; Abstract, “based on the results prescribing a user-specific training regime with exercises selected from a library of standardized exercises using standardized tools and training aids”; [0040]);
providing, to the display of the computing device, a graphical user interface that includes a display of the one or more movement scores (Bentley, [0022], “The performance reports provide an objective record of the type and degree of changes in performance that the user has experienced”; [0034], “Calculated diagnostic parameters of interest can be reported on the screen”; [0036]) and an interactive indication of the personalized exercise program that includes one or more exercises, each exercise associated with the one or more movement scores (Bentley, [0004], “Instructional feedback may be comments relative to problems associated with the student's swing, compliments regarding improvement in the student's swing, suggestions on correcting the user's swing, or any”; [0014], “The still images are then overlaid with a series of corrected images which include lines depicting proper form. The result is then augmented with further visual or audio information and recorded onto another tape for viewing and analysis”; [0086], “Analyze 300 requires analyzing the collected data, and includes accessing a database 700 of related data for comparison and for relating types and degrees of deviations in performance from benchmark values to a library of standard exercises for generating prescriptions of appropriate practice exercises or corrective measures … Finally, exercise 600, requires the user to practice the exercises or corrective measures in accordance with the prescription”; [0092], “Individual systems of the invention work in standalone configurations as individual test and evaluation systems for collecting student performance data, analyzing and comparing student data to a library of performance data including expert performance data, reporting the results, and prescribing corrective exercises”);
upon receiving a user interaction with a selectable element of the personalized exercise program, providing an exercise interface that displays an exercise associated with the selectable element (Bentley, [0038], “those diagnostic parameters can be utilized by indexing a cross reference table of test results and exercises to automatically prescribe to the golfer an assignment of appropriate individualized exercises to improve his or her swing”; Abstract, “based on the results prescribing a user-specific training regime with exercises selected from a library of standardized exercises using standardized tools and training aids”; [0040]); and
in response to detecting the user performing the exercise, updating the exercise interface to display both a comparison of a form of the user and a desired form of the exercise (Bentley, [0049], “The analysis may include for selected parameters comparing the motion data test value to a pre-defined benchmark value for the same parameter and determining a degree of deviation”; [0117], “present a comparative trace of the present motion or component of motion compared to a prior motion or an expert motion”; [0152], “the system is able to compare the performance results to a catalog of exercises appropriate to the respective parameters and their test result, and provide an automated recommendation or prescription of exercises”) and a feedback comprising a correction to the form of the user (Bentley, [0004], “Instructional feedback may be comments relative to problems associated with the student's swing, compliments regarding improvement in the student's swing, suggestions on correcting the user's swing, or any”; [0014], “The still images are then overlaid with a series of corrected images which include lines depicting proper form. The result is then augmented with further visual or audio information and recorded onto another tape for viewing and analysis”; [0086], “Analyze 300 requires analyzing the collected data, and includes accessing a database 700 of related data for comparison and for relating types and degrees of deviations in performance from benchmark values to a library of standard exercises for generating prescriptions of appropriate practice exercises or corrective measures … Finally, exercise 600, requires the user to practice the exercises or corrective measures in accordance with the prescription”; [0092], “Individual systems of the invention work in standalone configurations as individual test and evaluation systems for collecting student performance data, analyzing and comparing student data to a library of performance data including expert performance data, reporting the results, and prescribing corrective exercises”).
Therefore, in view of Bentley, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of invention was made, to modify the method / apparatus / computer program described in ‘429, by prescribing a user-specific training regime as taught by Bentley, in order to provide practice of prescribed drills intended to improve aspects of the motion based on the feedback and score (Bentley, [0038]). In view of Bentley, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of invention was made, to modify the method / apparatus / computer program described in ‘429, by providing comparison between user and expert motion movement as taught by Bentley, to demonstrate graphically the coordination between hips, shoulders and hand motion; or it may present a comparative trace of the present motion or component of motion compared to a prior motion or an expert motion in order to illustrate the degree of deviation and required improvement to achieve a desired performance level (Bentley, [0117]).
‘429 does not explicitly disclose receiving additional exercise data associated with the user; and modifying, based on the additional exercise data, a duration of a next workout of the plurality of workouts.
Gilley teaches a receiving additional exercise data associated with the user; and modifying, based on the additional exercise data, a duration of a next workout of the plurality of workouts (Gilley, [0076], “if the collected data indicates that the user will not reach a target performance metric (e.g., target number of calories burned or target heart rate) during a current fitness activity, the lifestyle companion system can increase the intensity or duration of the current fitness activity or a future fitness activity … If the collected data indicates that the user will not reach his fitness goals based on his performance over multiple workouts, the lifestyle companion system can increase the intensity or frequency of future workouts”; [0104]; [0140]). Therefore, in view of Gilley, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the method/system described in ‘429, by adjusting duration based on the collected data as taught by Gilley, since the lifestyle companion system can dynamically adapt the user's short-term or long-term goals based on the data collected by adjusting exercise parameter such as (intensity or duration) (Gilley, [0076]).
Claims 1, 15, 20 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 2, 10 – 11, 15, 20 of copending Application No. 15609084 (‘084) (reference application) in view of Bentley (US 2006/0166737 A1) and Gilley et al. (US 2008/0086318 A1). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the subject matter claimed in the instant application is fully disclosed in the more specific claims of ‘084.
Claims 1, 15, 20 (See claims 1, 2, 10 – 11, 15, 20), except upon receiving a user interaction with a selectable element of the personalized exercise program, providing an exercise interface that displays an exercise associated with the selectable element; in response to detecting the user performing the exercise, updating the exercise interface to display both a comparison of a form of the user and a desired form of the exercise and a feedback comprising a correction to the form of the user.
Bentley (US 2006/0166737 A1) teaches a system and method for analyzing and improving the performance of an athletic motion such as a golf swing (Bentley, Abstract). Bentley teaches
generating, by a processor, one or more movement scores based on at least a first portion of the motion parameter data of the user performing the athletic movement (Bentley, [0049]; [0128], “The methodology of the invention depends on capturing motion data, processing it into the described parameters relating to body segments and components of the motion, providing a quantitative analysis of each component of motion, and then summing the scores for each component of motion so as to produce a unitary number or "kinetic index" for the performance as a whole”; [0130]), wherein generating the one or more movement scores includes processing the motion parameter data to assess movement of the user performing the athletic movement relative to a desired form of the athletic movement (Bentley, [0014], “The still images are then overlaid with a series of corrected images which include lines depicting proper form”; [0053]; [0110], “use of overlays of alignment lines relating to the golfer's position, size, posture, and expected motions, so as to make motions and deviations in alignment very apparent in subsequent video presentations of the swing motion”; );
generating, by the processor, a personalized exercise program based on the one or more movement scores, and comprising a plurality of workouts (Bentley, [0038], “those diagnostic parameters can be utilized by indexing a cross reference table of test results and exercises to automatically prescribe to the golfer an assignment of appropriate individualized exercises to improve his or her swing”; Abstract, “based on the results prescribing a user-specific training regime with exercises selected from a library of standardized exercises using standardized tools and training aids”; [0040]);
providing, to the display of the computing device, a graphical user interface that includes a display of the one or more movement scores (Bentley, [0022], “The performance reports provide an objective record of the type and degree of changes in performance that the user has experienced”; [0034], “Calculated diagnostic parameters of interest can be reported on the screen”; [0036]) and an interactive indication of the personalized exercise program that includes one or more exercises, each exercise associated with the one or more movement scores (Bentley, [0004], “Instructional feedback may be comments relative to problems associated with the student's swing, compliments regarding improvement in the student's swing, suggestions on correcting the user's swing, or any”; [0014], “The still images are then overlaid with a series of corrected images which include lines depicting proper form. The result is then augmented with further visual or audio information and recorded onto another tape for viewing and analysis”; [0086], “Analyze 300 requires analyzing the collected data, and includes accessing a database 700 of related data for comparison and for relating types and degrees of deviations in performance from benchmark values to a library of standard exercises for generating prescriptions of appropriate practice exercises or corrective measures … Finally, exercise 600, requires the user to practice the exercises or corrective measures in accordance with the prescription”; [0092], “Individual systems of the invention work in standalone configurations as individual test and evaluation systems for collecting student performance data, analyzing and comparing student data to a library of performance data including expert performance data, reporting the results, and prescribing corrective exercises”);
upon receiving a user interaction with a selectable element of the personalized exercise program, providing an exercise interface that displays an exercise associated with the selectable element (Bentley, [0038], “those diagnostic parameters can be utilized by indexing a cross reference table of test results and exercises to automatically prescribe to the golfer an assignment of appropriate individualized exercises to improve his or her swing”; Abstract, “based on the results prescribing a user-specific training regime with exercises selected from a library of standardized exercises using standardized tools and training aids”; [0040]); and
in response to detecting the user performing the exercise, updating the exercise interface to display both a comparison of a form of the user and a desired form of the exercise (Bentley, [0049], “The analysis may include for selected parameters comparing the motion data test value to a pre-defined benchmark value for the same parameter and determining a degree of deviation”; [0117], “present a comparative trace of the present motion or component of motion compared to a prior motion or an expert motion”; [0152], “the system is able to compare the performance results to a catalog of exercises appropriate to the respective parameters and their test result, and provide an automated recommendation or prescription of exercises”) and a feedback comprising a correction to the form of the user (Bentley, [0004], “Instructional feedback may be comments relative to problems associated with the student's swing, compliments regarding improvement in the student's swing, suggestions on correcting the user's swing, or any”; [0014], “The still images are then overlaid with a series of corrected images which include lines depicting proper form. The result is then augmented with further visual or audio information and recorded onto another tape for viewing and analysis”; [0086], “Analyze 300 requires analyzing the collected data, and includes accessing a database 700 of related data for comparison and for relating types and degrees of deviations in performance from benchmark values to a library of standard exercises for generating prescriptions of appropriate practice exercises or corrective measures … Finally, exercise 600, requires the user to practice the exercises or corrective measures in accordance with the prescription”; [0092], “Individual systems of the invention work in standalone configurations as individual test and evaluation systems for collecting student performance data, analyzing and comparing student data to a library of performance data including expert performance data, reporting the results, and prescribing corrective exercises”).
Therefore, in view of Bentley, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of invention was made, to modify the method / apparatus / computer program described in ‘084, by prescribing a user-specific training regime as taught by Bentley, in order to provide practice of prescribed drills intended to improve aspects of the motion based on the feedback and score (Bentley, [0038]). In view of Bentley, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of invention was made, to modify the method / apparatus / computer program described in ‘084, by providing comparison between user and expert motion movement as taught by Bentley, to demonstrate graphically the coordination between hips, shoulders and hand motion; or it may present a comparative trace of the present motion or component of motion compared to a prior motion or an expert motion in order to illustrate the degree of deviation and required improvement to achieve a desired performance level (Bentley, [0117]).
‘084 does not explicitly disclose receiving additional exercise data associated with the user; and modifying, based on the additional exercise data, a duration of a next workout of the plurality of workouts.
Gilley teaches a receiving additional exercise data associated with the user; and modifying, based on the additional exercise data, a duration of a next workout of the plurality of workouts (Gilley, [0076], “if the collected data indicates that the user will not reach a target performance metric (e.g., target number of calories burned or target heart rate) during a current fitness activity, the lifestyle companion system can increase the intensity or duration of the current fitness activity or a future fitness activity … If the collected data indicates that the user will not reach his fitness goals based on his performance over multiple workouts, the lifestyle companion system can increase the intensity or frequency of future workouts”; [0104]; [0140]). Therefore, in view of Gilley, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the method/system described in ‘084, by adjusting duration based on the collected data as taught by Gilley, since the lifestyle companion system can dynamically adapt the user's short-term or long-term goals based on the data collected by adjusting exercise parameter such as (intensity or duration) (Gilley, [0076]).
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 – 20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
The newly cited reference: Gilley et al. (US 2008/0086318 A1) teaches the newly added limitations.
Conclusion
/JACK YIP/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3715