DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 4-7, 14, 17 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by U.S. Patent No. 10,851,544 to Volin.
Regarding claim 1, Volin discloses a gazebo (structurally equivalent to a pergola) having a gutter beam system, side gutter beams and end gutter beams with a louver (slat) system which opens and closes (abstract). Regarding the functional limitations of directing wind flow and connection with second gazebos and robot assembly, these functional limitations are met, as structurally claimed since Volin is inherently capable of performing these functions.
Regarding claim 4, post leveling is disclosed (fig. 4B: see levelling means 173C, 137).
Regarding claim 5, the slats (louver blades) are a projector screen (claim 18).
Regarding claim 6, an automatic means is disclosed for the screen (column 24, lines 26-28).
Regarding claim 7, Volin is inherently capable of use in all seasons.
Regarding claim 14, a control bar (fig. 1N, 1O) is disclosed for opening and closing slats (blades).
Regarding claim 17, the slats may inherently protect from rain by their leading edges.
Regarding claim 18, the leading edges of the slats are strip like and inherently provide a level of insulation.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 and 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent No. 10,851,544 to Volin in view of U.S. Patent Application No. US 2020/0354962 to Whytlaw.
Regarding claims 2 and 3, retractable slats are not disclosed. Whytlaw discloses such a system [0005] in an automatic manner [0049]. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Volin by using such a system to allow for more sunlight.
Claim(s) 8-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent No. 10,851,544 to Volin.
Regarding claim 8, Volin discloses an angle adjustable system (column 13, lines 49-67) which may adjust gutter angles but not explicitly reversable spacers. The examiner takes official notice that reversable spacers are well known as simple disc shaped washers, rubber or metal, and are well known to be used in connections and may be reversable as their front and back sides are identical. The use of such washers/spacers would help connect to components. Additionally, the function of connecting to another gazebo/structure is inherent.
Regarding claims 9-12, Volin discloses the claimed invention except for multiple units connected even though there are length variations as seen in fig. 9G, which appears as two units when compared to fig. 10B. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use multiple units, since it has been held that a mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. St. Regis Paper Co. V. Bemis Co., 193 USPQ 8. The use of multiple units would cover a larger area than that of just a single unit, the orientation being an obvious design choice.
Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent No. 10,851,544 to Volin in view of U.S. Design Patent DE785,201 to Hassman.
Regarding claim 13, a canopy is not disclosed. Hassman discloses a canopy for a gazebo/structure (see description). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Volin by adding a canopy to better protect from high winds.
Claim(s) 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent No. 10,851,544 to Volin in view of U.S. Patent No. 2,471,962 to Jones.
Regarding claim 16, an awning with crank is not disclosed. Jones discloses such a device (fig. 1 and fig. 7). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Volin by using such a system to better protect from high winds.
Claim Objections
Claims 15 and 19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. The prior art of record does not disclose the structural limitations of claims 1 and 15 combined or that of claims 1 and 19 combined.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 12/11/25 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The Applicant argues the 102 rejection in that Volin’s gutter beams do not connect with other gazebos, is not configured for robot assembly. However, the Applicant should note that the limitations in the claim are functional and are not positively claimed. The capability of connecting to another structure is possible, as not other structure has been claimed by the Applicant and the structural limitation which is required for connection to another structure is met, as Volin meets the claimed limitations of the instant application. Regarding the function of being capable of construction by robots, the Applicant should note that as claimed, Volin meets this limitations since it is possible for a robot to complete some type of construction step. Also, it is not clear as to what robot is being used, what function a robot might perform, or what portion of the structure may or may not be handled by a robot. This is a functional limitation and the prior art, may be assemble by a type of robot. For example, a simple piece of metal may be welded, riveted, or nailed by a “robot”.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BASIL S KATCHEVES/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3633