DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 11 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 11, line 5, “a second cover half comprising a first half” should be changed to -a second cover half comprising a second half-. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 7-14 and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Smith et al. (US 4,427,253) hereafter Smith.
Regarding claim 1, Smith, (figs. 9-10) discloses an enclosure 110 (10) for containing an electrical connector 132 for connecting a plurality of conductors 115, 116, the enclosure comprising: a first cover half 111 comprising a first half of a conductor channel portion 114, 114a extending from a first end of the enclosure to a second end of the enclosure; a second cover half 112 comprising a second half of the conductor channel portion extending 113, 113a from the first end of the enclosure to the second end of the enclosure; at least one first seal member 210( positionable (in slot 220a, 220b) (fig. 9) between the first cover half and the second cover half; a first latch member 147 pivotably attached to the first cover half (see column 6, lines 57); a second latch member 146 pivotably attached to the second cover half (see column 6, lines 34-57); and wherein when the first cover half is mated with the second cover half with the at least one seal member 210 positioned between the first cover half and the second cover half (upon assembling), the first latch member is pivoted to latch with the second cover half (see column 6, lines 34-57); and the second latch member is pivoted to latch with the first cover half (see column 6, lines 34-57) such that the first half of the conductor channel portion 114, 114a and the second half of the conductor channel portion 113, 113a form an inner pocket extending from the first end of the enclosure to the second end of the enclosure for receiving the electrical connector 132 and the plurality of conductors 115, 116.
Regarding claim 2, Smith, (figs. 9-10) discloses at least one of the first and second latch members and the first and second cover halves comprise at least one snap recess 144, 148.
Regarding claim 3, Smith, (figs. 9-10) discloses at least one of the first and second latch members and the first and second cover halves comprise at least one snap arm member 143, 146 engageable with the at least one snap recess144, 148.
Regarding claim 4, Smith, (figs. 9-10) discloses the first cover half and the second cover half are substantially identical.
Regarding claim 7, Smith, (figs. 9-10) discloses at least one second seal member 210a engageable with the at least one first seal member (upon assembling first and second half, through both first and second halves.
Regarding claim 8, Smith, (figs. 9-10) discloses the first seal member 210 and the second seal member 210a comprise portions for receiving and sealing around a first conductor 115/116 (or 15/16).
Regarding claim 9, Smith, (figs. 9-10) discloses the second seal member 210a comprise at least one portion for receiving and sealing around at least one second conductor 116/115.
Regarding claim 10, Smith, (figs. 9-10) discloses the first conductor comprises at least one run conductor and the at least one second conductor comprises at least one branch conductor.
Regarding claim 11, Smith, (figs. 9-10) discloses, an enclosure 110 (10) for containing electrical connectors 132 connecting a plurality of conductors 115, 116 (15/16), the enclosure 110 comprising: a first cover half 111 comprising a first half of a conductor channel 114, 114a extending from a first end of the enclosure to a second end of the enclosure; a second cover half 112 comprising a second half of a conductor channel portion 113, 113a extending from the first end of the enclosure to the second end of the enclosure; at least one first seal member 210 positionable (in slot 220a, 220b) (fig. 9) with respect to at least one of the first cover half and the second cover half; at least one second seal member 210a positionable with respect to at least one of the first cover half and the second cover half in slot 220a, 220b) (fig. 9); a first latch member 147 pivotably attached to the first cover half (see column 6, lines 34-57); a second latch member pivotably attached to the second cover half (see column 6, lines 34-57); and wherein when the first cover half 111 is mated with the second cover half 112 with the at least one first seal member 210 and the at least one second seal member 210a positioned with respect to the first cover half and the second cover half(in slot 220a, 220b) (fig. 9), the first latch member is 147 pivoted to latch with the second cover half 112 and the second latch member 146 is pivoted to latch with the first cover half 111 such that the first half of the conductor channel portion 114, 114a and the second half of the conductor channel portion 113, 113a form an inner pocket extending from the first end of the enclosure to the second end of the enclosure for receiving the electrical connector132 and the plurality of conductors 115, 116.
Regarding claim 12, Smith, (figs. 9-10) discloses at least one of the first and second latch members and the first and second cover halves comprise at least one snap recess 114, 148.
Regarding claim 13, Smith, (figs. 9-10) discloses at least one of the first and second latch members and the first and second cover halves comprise at least one snap arm member 143, 146 engageable with the at least one snap recess 144, 148.
Regarding claim 14, Smith, (figs. 9-10) discloses the first cover half and the second cover half are substantially identical.
Regarding claim 17, Smith, (figs. 9-10) discloses the first seal member 210 and the second seal member 210a comprise portions for receiving and sealing around a first conductor (115/116).
Regarding claim 18, Smith, (figs. 9-10) discloses the at least one of the first seal member and the second seal member 210, 210a comprise at least one portion for receiving and sealing around at least one second conductor 116/115.
Regarding claim 19, Smith, (figs. 9-10) discloses the first seal member 210comprise at least one through hole 250.
Regarding claim 20, Smith, (figs. 9-10) discloses an enclosure 100 (10) for containing electrical connectors 132 for connecting a plurality of conductors 115, 116 (15/16), the enclosure 100 (10) comprising: a first cover half 111 comprising a first cavity extending from a first end of the enclosure to a second end of the enclosure and at least one wall including one or more alignment notches 148; a second cover half 112 comprising a second cavity extending from the first end of the enclosure to the second end of the enclosure and at least one wall including one or more alignment notches 144; at least one seal member 210 (201a) positionable (in slot 220a, 220b) (fig. 9) between the first cover half and the second cover half; a first latch member 147 pivotably attached to the first cover half (see column 6, lines 34-57); a second latch member pivotably attached to the second cover half (see column 6, lines 34-57); and wherein when the first cover half 111 is mated with the second cover half 112 the first and second cavities form an inner pocket extending from the first end of the enclosure 100 to the second end of the enclosure for receiving an electrical connector 115/116 (15/16).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to recent amendments have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/HARSHAD C PATEL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2831