DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This action is in response to Amendments made on 3/16/2026, in which: claims 1, 4, 7 are amended, claims 2-3, 6, 8-20 remain as filed originally, claims 5 are cancelled and claims 21 are new.
Drawings
The drawing objection in the Non-Final Office Action dated 1/2/2026 is hereby withdrawn and the replacement drawings filed 3/16/2026 are accepted and entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 6-9, 15-16, 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Saika (US 2016/0352992).
Regarding claim 1, 21, Saika discloses a system of an unmanned aerial vehicle (UAV), comprising: a first body (110) configured to fly; a second body (310, 315, 320) detachably attached to the first body (110) and configured as a handheld stabilizer ([0031] can be mounted to other platforms such as a handheld grip); a power supply system ([0029] The connections can also provide power to the camera 120, from a battery located on the aerial vehicle 110. The battery of the aerial vehicle 110 can also power the gimbal 100.) configured to power the first body (110) and the second body (310, 315, 320); one or more sensors (101, 440); at least one processor ([0037] processor of element 120, image processor 416, system controller 420 is a microprocessor, [0052] audio processor and [0074]-[0078] groups of processors, special purpose processors, general-purpose processors); and at least one storage medium ([0030] storage media of vehicle 110, system memory 430, [0050] memory card or internal storage) storing instructions that, when executed, instruct the at least one processor ([0037] processor of element 120, image processor 416, system controller 420 is a microprocessor, [0052] audio processor and [0074]-[0078] groups of processors, special purpose processors, general-purpose processors) to receive sensor data ([0049] configured to store executable computer instructions that, when executed by the system controller 420 and/or the image processors 416, perform the camera functionalities described herein, [0054] can allow the mount platform (e.g., an aerial vehicle 110) to send executable instructions to the camera 120, such as a command to change the frame rate of a video, or take a picture, [0056] handheld grip can also transmit executable instructions, and [0062] transmit instructions to the aerial vehicle 110 to return to a predefined location as further described herein) from the one or more sensors (101, 440), wherein the second body (310, 315, 320) comprises an user interface (470, 720) configured to receive a user command ([0061] used for communication of controls from the remote controller 720 to the aerial vehicle 110) for the first body (110), and the user command instructs the first body (110) attached to the second body (310, 315, 320) to perform at least one flying operation ([0062] to control “up-down” direction (e.g. lift and landing), to control “forward-reverse” direction, to start the rotary assembly (e.g., start the propellers 710) and the remote controller 720 can also include hardware buttons or other controls that control the gimbal 100).
Regarding claim 2, Saika discloses wherein the second body (310, 315, 320) includes a carrier (100) configured to adjust (via motors 301, 302, 303 of gimbal) a load (120) detachably connected to the carrier (100).
Regarding claim 3, Saika discloses wherein the carrier (100) is a gimbal (element 100 is a gimbal).
Regarding claim 4, Saika discloses wherein the user interface (470, 720) includes a display screen ([0061] the remote controller can be a smartphone or tablet) configured to display information of the system ([0052] 470 may include various control and display components associated with operation of the camera 120 including, for example, LED lights, a display, buttons, microphones, speakers, and the like, and [0063] can allow for display of information related to the remote controller 720, such as menus for configuring the remote controller 720 or remotely configuring the aerial vehicle 110), and the display screen ([0061] the remote controller can be a smartphone or tablet) comprises a touchscreen ([0063] the remote controller includes a screen that can be a touch sensitive screen) configured to receive the user command ([0063] can allow for display of information related to the remote controller 720, such as menus for configuring the remote controller 720 or remotely configuring the aerial vehicle 110).
Regarding claim 6, Saika discloses wherein the second body (120) includes a remote control (element 720 is a remote controller) configured to control the first body (110) when the second body (310, 315, 320) is detached from the first body (110).
Regarding claim 7, Saika discloses wherein the first body (110) is a sub-UAV (Fig. 2) when the second body (310, 315, 320) is detached from the first body (110).
Regarding claim 8, Saika discloses wherein the at least one processor ([0037] processor of element 120, image processor 416, system controller 420 is a microprocessor, [0052] audio processor and [0074]-[0078] groups of processors, special purpose processors, general-purpose processors) is further configured to: receive the user command ([0027] transmits to the remote controller); and control the UAV to fly according to the user command ([0027] the aerial vehicle 110 transmits the video currently being captured to a remote controller, with which a user controls the movement of the aerial vehicle 110, via a wireless communication network.).
Regarding claim 9, Saika discloses wherein the user command ([0027] the aerial vehicle 110 transmits the video currently being captured to a remote controller, with which a user controls the movement of the aerial vehicle 110, via a wireless communication network.) includes one or more parameters ([0030] lift (take off), land, hover, and move (forward, backward) in flight. Modulation of the power supplied to each of the rotors can control the trajectory and torque on the aerial vehicle 110); and the one or more parameters include at least one of: a flight mode, or one or more predetermined flight trajectories ([0030] lift (take off), land, hover, and move (forward, backward) in flight. Modulation of the power supplied to each of the rotors can control the trajectory and torque on the aerial vehicle 110).
Regarding claim 15, Saika discloses wherein the power supply system ([0029] The connections can also provide power to the camera 120, from a battery located on the aerial vehicle 110. The battery of the aerial vehicle 110 can also power the gimbal 100.) includes: a first battery assembly ([0029] battery of element 110) associated with the first body (110); and a second battery assembly ([0029] the gimbal 100 contains a battery) associated with the second body (310, 315, 320).
Regarding claim 16, Saika discloses wherein the at least one processor ([0037] processor of element 120, image processor 416, system controller 420 is a microprocessor, [0052] audio processor and [0074]-[0078] groups of processors, special purpose processors, general-purpose processors) includes: a tier-two processor (([0074]-[0078] the special purpose processors are understood as tier-two processors) associated with the first body (110); and a tier-one processor ([0037] processor of element 120, image processor 416, system controller 420 is a microprocessor, [0052] audio processor and [0074]-[0078] groups of processors, and general-purpose processors are understood as tier-one processors) associated with the second body (310, 315, 320), wherein the tier-one processor ([0037] processor of element 120, image processor 416, system controller 420 is a microprocessor, [0052] audio processor and [0074]-[0078] groups of processors, and general-purpose processors are understood as tier-one processors) has a stronger data processing (tier-one processors are known to have stronger data processing due to the broad and basic needs, while tier-two processors provide more focused and specialized processing) capability than the tier-two processor (([0074]-[0078] the special purpose processors are understood as tier-two processors).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Saika (US 2016/0352992) in view of Chambers (US 2018/0362190).
Regarding claim 10, Saika discloses the invention substantially as set forth above, and further discloses the specific flight modes ([0030] lift (take off), land, hover, and move (forward, backward) in flight) based on user commands, but does not expressly disclose the processor is further configured to: conduct a self-inspection and an environmental inspection; and determine whether a flight condition is met based on the flight modes, self-inspection and the environmental inspection.
However, Chambers discloses a similar system (100) having a processor (116) is further configured to: conduct a self-inspection ([0085] self-assessment) and an environmental inspection ([0075] flight environment); and determine whether a flight condition is met (via real-rime planning and control from the processor element 116) based on self-inspection ([0085] self-assessment) and the environmental inspection ([0085] flight environment via sensor data).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention/application, to modify Saika, by making the processor further configured to: conduct a self-inspection and an environmental inspection; and determine whether a flight condition is met based on the flight modes, self-inspection and the environmental inspection, as taught by Chambers, for the purpose of providing real-time information regarding the system for allowing the user to make informed decisions about the UAV and its flight conditions ([0085]).
Claims 11, 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Saika (US 2016/0352992) in view of Henry (US 2021/0263515).
Regarding claims 11, 13, Saika discloses the invention substantially as set forth above, and further discloses wherein the load (120) includes an imaging sensor (element 120 is a camera); the carrier (100) adjusts the load (120) to rotate (via motors 301, 302, 303) so as to keep the imaging sensor (element 120 is a camera) facing towards a target ([0025] adjust the orientation of the mounted object to a preferred position), but does not expressly disclose the sensors including: one or more first range sensors on a front side of the first body; one or more second range sensors on a rear side of the first body; one or more third range sensors on a left side of the first body; and one or more fourth range sensors on a right side of the first body, and the UAV is configured to operate in an obstacle avoidance flight mode and the obstacle avoidance flight mode is achieved by the imaging sensor, the one or more first range sensors and the one or more second range sensors.
However, Henry discloses a similar UAV device (102) having one or more first range sensors (302) on a front side (Fig. 3) of the first body (220); one or more second range sensors (304, 306) on a rear side (Fig. 3) of the first body (220); one or more third range sensors (214) on a left side (Fig. 2) of the first body (220); and one or more fourth range sensors (212) on a right side (Fig. 2) of the first body (220), and the UAV (102) is configured to operate in an obstacle avoidance flight mode ([0058] the sensors enable visual inertial odometry (VIO) for high resolution localization and obstacle detection and avoidance) and the obstacle avoidance flight mode ([0058] the sensors enable visual inertial odometry (VIO) for high resolution localization and obstacle detection and avoidance) is achieved by the imaging sensor (208), the one or more first range sensors (302) and the one or more second range sensors (304, 306).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention/application, to modify Saika, by adding one or more first range sensors on a front side of the first body; one or more second range sensors on a rear side of the first body; one or more third range sensors on a left side of the first body; and one or more fourth range sensors on a right side of the first body, and the UAV is configured to operate in an obstacle avoidance flight mode and the obstacle avoidance flight mode is achieved by the imaging sensor, the one or more first range sensors and the one or more second range sensors., as taught by Henry, for the purpose of providing a wide field of view to obtain scanning for navigational and 3D model building of the images gathered.
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Saika (US 2016/0352992) and Henry (US 2021/0263515) in view of Guhya (US 2021/0248548).
Regarding claim 12, Saika/Henry disclose the invention substantially as set forth above, but does not expressly disclose wherein a combination of the sensors covers a horizontal angle of view of at least 360 degrees.
However, Guhya discloses a similar UAV device (130) with sensors (470) that covers a horizontal angle of view of at least 360 degrees ([0039] and [0045] drone 130 is operated to capture 360 degrees of an inventory lot or location).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention/application, to modify Saika, by using the sensors to cover a 360 degree angle of view, as taught by Guhya, for the purpose of collecting image data of an area and correlate said image data with locations of specific captured imagery.
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Saika (US 2016/0352992) in view of Suzuki (US 2020/0277055) and Henry (US 2021/0263515).
Regarding claim 14, Saika discloses the invention substantially as set forth above, but does not expressly disclose wherein the first body includes a first layer and a second layer connected with the first layer via a steering mechanism; the one or more sensors includes: one or more first range sensors on a front side of the first layer, and one or more second range sensors on a rear side of the first layer; and when the UAV is configured to operate in an obstacle avoidance flight mode: the steering mechanism steers the first layer to rotate with respect to the second layer, and the obstacle avoidance flight mode is achieved by operating the one or more first range sensors and the one or more second range sensors based on the first layer rotating with respect to the second layer.
However, Suzuki discloses a similar UAV (Fig. 1) having a first layer (20) and a second layer (13) connected with the first layer (20) via a steering mechanism (30) and the steering mechanism (30) steers the first layer (20) to rotate (Figs. 9A-9C) with respect to the second layer (13).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention/application, to modify Saika, by adding a steering mechanism between two layers of the UAV for rotation of the first lay relative to the second, as taught by Suzuki, for the purpose of rotating a portion of the body of the UAV along a predetermined range during specific flight modes.
Henry discloses a similar UAV device (102) having one or more first range sensors (302) on a front side (Fig. 3) of the first body (220); one or more second range sensors (304, 306) on a rear side (Fig. 3) of the first body (220); and the UAV (102) is configured to operate in an obstacle avoidance flight mode ([0058] the sensors enable visual inertial odometry (VIO) for high resolution localization and obstacle detection and avoidance) and the obstacle avoidance flight mode ([0058] the sensors enable visual inertial odometry (VIO) for high resolution localization and obstacle detection and avoidance) is achieved by the one or more first range sensors (302) and the one or more second range sensors (304, 306).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention/application, to modify Saika, by adding one or more first range sensors on a front side of the first body; one or more second range sensors on a rear side of the first body and when the UAV is configured to operate in an obstacle avoidance flight mode and the obstacle avoidance flight mode is achieved by the one or more first range sensors and the one or more second range sensors., as taught by Henry, for the purpose of providing a wide field of view to obtain scanning for navigational and 3D model building of the images gathered.
Claims 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Saika (US 2016/0352992) in view of Woodman (WO2016/172260).
Regarding claim 17, Saika discloses the invention substantially as set forth above, and further discloses wherein the first body (110) includes: one or more arms (235), and one or more propulsion devices (240) mounted on the one or more arms (235), but does not expressly disclose wherein each arm is pivotally coupled to the body and the one or more arms are configured to switch between a flight configuration and a compact configuration, wherein the one or more arms extend away from the first body in the flight configuration, and the one or more arms are folded and closely placed relative to the first body in the compact configuration.
However, Woodman discloses a similar UAV device (110) having arms (135) that are pivotally coupled to the body (130) and the one or more arms (135) are configured to switch between a flight configuration (Fig. 2B) and a compact configuration (Fig. 2C), wherein the one or more arms (135) extend away from the first body (130) in the flight configuration (Fig. 2B), and the one or more arms (135) are folded and closely placed relative to the first body (130) in the compact configuration (Fig. 2C).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention/application, to modify Saika, by adding arms that are pivotally coupled to the body and the one or more arms are configured to switch between a flight configuration and a compact configuration, wherein the one or more arms extend away from the first body in the flight configuration, and the one or more arms are folded and closely placed relative to the first body in the compact configuration, as taught by Woodman, for the purpose of maintaining the arms close to the body in a compact nature when in the folded position and not in use.
Regarding claim 18, Saika discloses wherein the first body (110) is capable of flying when the first body (110) is detached from the second body (310, 315, 320); and the first body (110) further includes: a controller (via element 720) configured to control the one or more propulsion devices (240), and a battery ([0029] battery of the aerial vehicle 110) configured to provide power to the controller (via element 720) and the one or more propulsion devices (240).
Claims 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Saika (US 2016/0352992) in view of Kempel (US 2018/0322749).
Regarding claims 19-20, Saika discloses the invention substantially as set forth above, but does not expressly disclose further comprising a storage container configured to store the first body and the second body and wherein the storage container includes a power source and a receiving portion configured to store the power supply system; and the receiving portion includes a power connector configured to connect the power supply system with the power source when the power supply system is stored in the receiving portion.
However, Kempel discloses a similar drone structure (Abstract) having a storage container ([0049] carrying case) configured to store the body ([0049] drone) and wherein the storage container ([0049] carrying case) includes a power source ([0049] integrated battery within carrying case) and a receiving portion ([0049] interior of carrying case) configured to store the power supply system (drone batteries); and the receiving portion ([0049] interior of carrying case) includes a power connector configured to connect the power supply system with the power source when the power supply system is stored in the receiving portion ([0049] which also includes an integrated battery to charge the personal safety drone automatically when it is in the stowed state. The carrying case might have a mechanical docking connector that mates with a charging port on the personal safety drone, or the carrying case can include a wireless charging coil that can charge the personal safety drone without requiring it to be placed within the carrying case).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention/application, to modify Saika, by adding a storage container configured to store the first body and the second body and wherein the storage container includes a power source and a receiving portion configured to store the power supply system; and the receiving portion includes a power connector configured to connect the power supply system with the power source when the power supply system is stored in the receiving portion, as taught by Kempel, for the purpose of providing a storage structure for storing the UAV and equipment with charging capabilities to maximize the use time of the UAV when in use.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 3/16/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to applicants remarks that prior art Saika (US 2016/0352992) fails to teach or disclose the second body comprises a user interface configured to receive a user command for the first body, and the user command instructs the first body attached to the second body to perform at least one flying operation, examiner respectfully disagrees. As stated above, Saika discloses wherein the second body (310, 315, 320) comprises an user interface (470, 720) configured to receive a user command ([0061] used for communication of controls from the remote controller 720 to the aerial vehicle 110) for the first body (110), and the user command instructs the first body (110) attached to the second body (310, 315, 320) to perform at least one flying operation ([0062] to control “up-down” direction (e.g. lift and landing), to control “forward-reverse” direction, to start the rotary assembly (e.g., start the propellers 710) and the remote controller 720 can also include hardware buttons or other controls that control the gimbal 100) and further states the user interface (470, 720) includes a display screen ([0061] the remote controller can be a smartphone or tablet) configured to display information of the system ([0052] 470 may include various control and display components associated with operation of the camera 120 including, for example, LED lights, a display, buttons, microphones, speakers, and the like, and [0063] can allow for display of information related to the remote controller 720, such as menus for configuring the remote controller 720 or remotely configuring the aerial vehicle 110), and the display screen ([0061] the remote controller can be a smartphone or tablet) comprises a touchscreen ([0063] the remote controller includes a screen that can be a touch sensitive screen). Saika discloses that the remote controller device can be used to control the gimbal structure, as well as the UAV/first body.
Applicant further states that Saika fails to disclose the display interface being integrated into the second body. However, there is no language or limitation in the claims that provide for the display interface to be integrated into the second body. Saika further discloses the second body having a user interface (470 with display screen 460 within element controller element 120) which is integrated in the second body. As such, Saika discloses the limitations as claimed above.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/AARON M RODZIWICZ/Examiner, Art Unit 3642 /JOSHUA J MICHENER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3642