Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “a cam mechanism” in claims 2, 4, 7, 8, 10, 11, 12, 19, and 20; “mechanism” in claims 3 and 18.
Paragraph [0012] discloses… The actuator may comprise an actuation mechanism comprising a shaft; the shaft may be configured to translate to actuate an actuator to rotate to actuate the first scent-dispensing cartridge. The actuator may comprise a mechanism configured to actuate a valve arrangement for the at least one scent-dispensing cartridge; the mechanism may comprise a slider arrangement configured to provide cam action to open the valve arrangement for the unsealed state and to close the valve arrangement for the sealed state.
Paragraph [0016] discloses the actuation mechanism may comprise at least one of (a) a cam mechanism; (b) a cam mechanism operated by a controller. The system may comprise an actuation mechanism for the valve mechanism; the at least one cartridge may comprise a first scent cartridge comprising first scent media and a first valve assembly and a second scent cartridge comprising second scent media and a second valve assembly; the valve mechanism may comprise the first valve assembly and the second valve assembly; the actuation mechanism may comprise a cam mechanism configured to actuate the valve mechanism. The cam mechanism may be configured to selectively open and close a valve of the first valve assembly for the first scent cartridge and to selectively open and close a valve of the second valve assembly of the second scent cartridge. The cam mechanism may be configured to selectively open and close a set of valves of the first valve assembly for the first scent cartridge and to selectively open and close a set of valves of the second valve assembly of the second scent cartridge.
Paragraph [0103] discloses … As indicated schematically, the actuator may comprise a mechanism (e.g. slider, cam mechanism; etc.); each cartridge may comprise a valve mechanism actuated by the actuator; each mechanism may comprise a spring. See e.g. FIGURES 27A-27B, 38A- 38B and 45A-45D. As shown schematically in FIGURES 5A-5B, the module may comprise a fan to provide airflow. As shown schematically, the component may provide a user interface.
…
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 15, 18, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 15 recites the limitation "the latch" at line 1 in the claim. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 18 recites the limitation "the latch" at line 1 in the claim. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 20 recites the limitation "the set of scent-dispensing cartridges" at line 1 in the claim. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
There is insufficient antecedent basis for the limitation “the scent scent-dispensing cartridge” at line 7 in the claim. It is unclear and indefinite to the relationship between “a first scent-dispensing cartridge” and “a second scent-dispensing cartridge” and to whether they are the same or different. Further clarification is required to either further differentiate (the scent scent-dispensing cartridge) or provide proper antecedent basis.
Furthermore, with respect to the limitation “any scent-dispensing cartridge” at line 8 in the claim, it is unclear which scent-dispensing cartridge is referring to, i.e. “the set of scent-dispensing cartridges” or “at least one scent-dispensing cartridge” or “a first scent-dispensing cartridge” or “a second scent-dispensing cartridge”. Clarification is required.
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 2, 4, 5, 1, and 7 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 2, 4, 3, 10, and 17 of U.S. Patent No. 11,679,648. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they discloses similar subject matter as the instant invention.
Instant Invention
US 11,679,648
Claim 1: A component for a vehicle interior configured to dispense scent from at least one scent-dispensing cartridge containing scent media into air in the vehicle interior comprising:
a scent-dispensing apparatus configured for the at least one scent-dispensing cartridge; wherein the at least one scent-dispensing cartridge comprises a first scent-dispensing cartridge and a second scent-dispensing cartridge;
wherein the scent-dispensing apparatus comprises an actuator configured
(a) to actuate the at least one scent-dispensing cartridge between a sealed state and an unsealed state and
(b) to move the at least one scent-dispensing cartridge from the scent-dispensing apparatus to facilitate removal of the at least one scent-dispensing cartridge from the scent-dispensing apparatus.
Claim 1: A component for a vehicle interior configured to dispense scent from at least one scent-dispensing cartridge containing
scent media into air in the vehicle interior comprising:
a scent-dispensing apparatus comprising a module providing an inlet and an outlet; a latch configured to retain the at least one scent-dispensing cartridge for use in the module; and a plunger comprising a spring-actuated plunger configured to present the at least one scent-dispensing cartridge to facilitate removal from the module; wherein the module comprises an enclosure configured for the at least one scent-dispensing cartridge providing the scent media;
wherein the module comprises an actuator comprising an arm configured to actuate the at least one scent-dispensing cartridge between a sealed state and an unsealed state;
wherein the at least one scent-dispensing cartridge comprises a first scent-dispensing cartridge and a second scent-dispensing cartridge;
wherein the actuator comprises a motor configured to pull the arm toward the motor to actuate the first scent-dispensing cartridge and to push the arm to actuate the second scent-dispensing cartridge; wherein the latch is configured to provide the scent-dispensing cartridge with a latched state for use in the enclosure of the module and an unlatched state for removal from the enclosure of the module facilitated by the plunger;
wherein the spring-actuated plunger comprises a spring configured to present the at least one scent-dispensing cartridge to facilitate removal from the module for replacement in response to movement of the latch.
Claim 2: The component of Claim 1
wherein the actuator is configured to operate a cam mechanism configured (a) to actuate the first scent-dispensing cartridge and (b) to actuate the second scent-dispensing cartridge.
Claim 2: The component of Claim 1
wherein the actuator is configured to operate a cam mechanism configured (a) to actuate the first scent-dispensing cartridge and (b) to actuate the second scent-dispensing cartridge.
Claim 4: The component of Claim 1
wherein the actuator is configured to operate a cam mechanism configured
(a) to rotate in a first direction to actuate the first scent-dispensing cartridge and
(b) to rotate in a second direction generally opposite the first direction to actuate the second scent-dispensing cartridge.
Claim 4: The component of claim 3
wherein the actuator comprises an actuation mechanism comprising a cam mechanism; wherein the cam mechanism comprises a slider comprising (a) a cam for the first scent-dispensing cartridge;
(b) a cam for the second scent-dispensing cartridge.
Claim 5: The component of Claim 1
wherein the actuator is configured to provide the scent-dispensing apparatus with
(a) a bypass state with the first scent-dispensing cartridge in a sealed state and the second scent-dispensing cartridge in a sealed state;
(b) a first actuation state actuating the first scent-dispensing cartridge in an unsealed state with the second scent- dispensing cartridge in the sealed state;
(c) a second actuation state actuating the second scent- dispensing cartridge in an unsealed state with the first scent-dispensing cartridge in the sealed state.
Claim 3: The component of claim 2
wherein the actuator is configured to provide the scent-dispensing apparatus with
(a) a bypass state with the first scent-dispensing cartridge in a sealed state and the second scent-dispensing cartridge in a sealed state;
(b) a first actuation state actuating the first
scent-dispensing cartridge in an unsealed state with the second scent-dispensing
cartridge in the sealed state;
(c) a second actuation state actuating the second scent-dispensing cartridge in an unsealed state with the first scent-dispensing
cartridge in the sealed state.
Claim 1: A component for a vehicle interior configured to dispense scent from at least one scent-dispensing cartridge containing scent media into air in the vehicle
interior comprising:
a scent-dispensing apparatus configured for the at least one scent-dispensing cartridge;
wherein the at least one scent-dispensing cartridge comprises a first scent-dispensing cartridge and a second scent-dispensing cartridge;
wherein the scent-dispensing apparatus comprises an actuator configured
(a) to actuate the at least one scent-dispensing cartridge between a sealed state and an unsealed state and
(b) to move the at least one scent-dispensing cartridge from the scent-dispensing apparatus to facilitate removal of the at least one scent-dispensing cartridge from the scent-dispensing apparatus.
Claim 10: A component for a vehicle interior configured to dispense scent from scent
media into air in the vehicle interior comprising:
a scent-dispensing apparatus comprising
a module providing an inlet and an outlet; wherein the module comprises an enclosure configured for at least one scent-dispensing cartridge providing the scent media;
wherein the at least one scent-dispensing cartridge comprises a first scent-dispensing cartridge and a second scent-dispensing cartridge;
wherein the module comprises an actuator configured
(a) to actuate the at least one scent-dispensing cartridge between a sealed state
and an unsealed state and
(b) to move the at least one scent-dispensing cartridge from the enclosure to facilitate removal from the module;
wherein the module comprises a cover configured for (a) a closed state to conceal the at least one scent-dispensing cartridge and (b) an open state to expose the at least one scent-dispensing cartridge; wherein the cover comprises an outlet for the at least one scent-dispensing cartridge and a cover structure for the at least one scent-dispensing cartridge configured to form an outlet chamber for the at least one scent-dispensing cartridge.
Claim 7: A component for a vehicle interior configured to dispense scent from at least one scent-dispensing cartridge containing scent media into air in the vehicle interior comprising:
a scent-dispensing apparatus configured for the at least one scent-dispensing cartridge;
wherein the scent-dispensing apparatus comprises an actuator for a valve assembly configured to actuate the at least one scent-dispensing cartridge between a sealed state and an unsealed state;
wherein the actuator is configured to operate a cam mechanism comprising
a slider configured to selectively open and close the valve assembly for the at least one scent-dispensing cartridge;
wherein the slider comprises a cam configured to actuate a follower to open the valve assembly to facilitate air flow for the at least one scent-dispensing cartridge.
Claim 17: A component for a vehicle interior configured to dispense scent from a cartridge system comprising at least one scent-dispensing cartridge providing a scent media into air in the vehicle interior comprising:
a scent-dispensing apparatus comprising a module providing an inlet and an outlet; wherein the module comprises an enclosure configured for the cartridge system
comprising the at least one scent-dispensing cartridge providing the scent media;
wherein the module comprises an actuator for a valve assembly configured to actuate the at least one scent-dispensing cartridge between a sealed state and an unsealed state;
wherein the at least one scent-dispensing cartridge comprises a body comprising an inlet port and an outlet port and a chamber configured to contain the scent media; wherein the valve assembly comprises a flow control element configured to facilitate air flow for the at least one scent-dispensing cartridge; wherein the flow control element of the valve assembly is configured to control the air flow for the at least one scent-dispensing cartridge into the inlet port across the scent media in the chamber and from the outlet port; so that the flow control element when open is configured to facilitate the air flow across the scent media in the chamber of the body and when closed is configured to provide a seal of the air flow to the scent media in the chamber of the body;
wherein the actuator comprises a cam mechanism comprising a slider configured to selectively open and
close the flow control element for the at least one scent-dispensing cartridge;
wherein the slider comprises a cam
configured to actuate a follower to open the flow control element to facilitate air flow for the at least one scent-dispensing cartridge.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fantuzzi et al (US 20170253338) in view of Queinnec et al. (EP 3002142).
Regarding claim 1, Fantuzzi discloses a component (i.e. a scent delivery assembly) for a vehicle interior (i.e. a cabin interior of an aircraft) configured to dispense scent (¶ 0003) from at least one scent-dispensing cartridge (22, 112) containing scent media (¶ 0005, e.g. fragrance oil, etc.) into air in the vehicle interior comprising (¶ 0076-0079, 0090-0093): a scent-dispensing apparatus 10, 100 (i.e. scent delivery assembly/systems) configured for the at least one scent-dispensing cartridge (22, 112); wherein the at least one scent-dispensing cartridge comprises a first scent-dispensing cartridge (22, 112) and a second scent-dispensing cartridge (22, 112, i.e. same reference number); wherein the scent-dispensing apparatus (10, 100) comprises an actuator (40) configured (a) to actuate the at least one scent-dispensing cartridge between a sealed state (i.e. closed position) and an unsealed state (i.e. opened position) (¶ 0016, 0076-0077).
Fantuzzi discloses aal the limitations of the claimed invention as set forth above, except for the actuator configured (b) to move the at least one scent-dispensing cartridge from the scent-dispensing apparatus to facilitate removal of the at least one scent-dispensing cartridge from the scent-dispensing apparatus.
However, Queinnec teaches the actuator (250, i.e. the actuating button) configured (b) to move the at least one scent-dispensing cartridge (130) from the scent-dispensing apparatus (i.e. a diffusion module housing 100) to facilitate removal of the at least one scent-dispensing cartridge (130) from the scent-dispensing apparatus (i.e. a diffusion module housing 100) (abstract; page 7). The combination of references are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor of a fragrance dispensing system. Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Fantuzzi and Queinnec before him or her, to include such an actuator of Queinnec because a removable cartridge locking system in a housing, said system comprising a
movable member intended to close and/or open one and/or openings of said cartridge, said system further comprising a trigger, intended to allow an extraction of said cartridge out of the casing in case of actuation, said movable member being configured to block the actuation of said trigger so as to prevent the cartridge from leaving the casing. The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been obvious because it allows the user to quickly change/remove the cartridge safely (page 2).
With respect to claim 2, Fantuzzi in view of Queinnec discloses the limitations of the claimed invention as set forth above of which Fantuzzi further discloses wherein the actuator (40) is configured to operate a cam mechanism 154, 156, 158 (fig. 11, i.e. a motor, arm, and finger) configured (a) to actuate the first scent-dispensing cartridge (22, 112) and (b) to actuate the second scent-dispensing cartridge (22, 112, i.e. same reference number).
With respect to claim 3, Fantuzzi in view of Queinnec discloses the limitations of the claimed invention as set forth above of which Fantuzzi further discloses wherein the actuator is configured to operate a mechanism 146 (fig. 12, i.e. the pivot shaft) configured (a) to facilitate air flow (P2, i.e. an air flow path) to actuate the first scent-dispensing cartridge (112) and (b) to facilitate air flow (P2, i.e. the same air flow path) to actuate the second scent-dispensing cartridge (112, i.e. same reference number).
With respect to claim 4, Fantuzzi in view of Queinnec discloses the limitations of the claimed invention as set forth above of which Fantuzzi further discloses wherein the actuator (40) is configured to operate a cam mechanism 154, 156, 158 (fig. 11, i.e. a motor, arm, and finger) configured (a) to rotate (i.e. the arm 156 with fingers 158 rotates to the cartridge 112 which needs to remove and/or replace as seen in figure 9 for example) in a first direction to actuate the first scent-dispensing cartridge (22, 112) and (b) to rotate (i.e. similar step(s) for the next cartridge 112 with a different direction) in a second direction generally opposite the first direction to actuate the second scent-dispensing cartridge (22, 112, i.e. same reference number).
With respect to claim 5, Fantuzzi in view of Queinnec discloses the limitations of the claimed invention as set forth above of which Fantuzzi further discloses wherein the actuator(40) is configured to provide the scent-dispensing apparatus 10, 100 (i.e. scent delivery assembly/systems) with (a) a bypass state with the first scent-dispensing cartridge (22) in a sealed state and the second scent-dispensing cartridge 22 (fig. 5, i.e. same reference number) in a sealed state (see figure 5, three covers 28 are in closed position); (b) a first actuation state actuating the first scent-dispensing cartridge in an unsealed state (see figures 3-4, i.e. the middle cartridge 22 with the cover 28 in the open position) with the second scent- dispensing cartridge in the sealed state (i.e. the top and bottom cartridge are closed); (c) a second actuation state actuating the second scent- dispensing cartridge in an unsealed state (i.e. the middle cartridge is in the open position) with the first scent-dispensing cartridge in the sealed state (see figures 3-4, i.e. the top and bottom cartridges are closed position) (¶ 0076).
With respect to claim 6, Fantuzzi in view of Queinnec discloses the limitations of the claimed invention as set forth above of which Fantuzzi further discloses wherein the scent-dispensing apparatus comprises a cover (28) configured for (a) a first accessible state (see figure 3, i.e. when the cover 28 opens) actuating the first scent-dispensing cartridge (22) in an accessible position (i.e. when the cover 28 opens, the cartridge 22 can be removed and replaced, see figure 6) for replacement with the second scent-dispensing cartridge (22, i.e. same reference number) in the inaccessible position (i.e. the other cartridges 22 are closed);
(b) a second accessible state (i.e. similar step(s) for the next cartridge 22) actuating the second scent-dispensing cartridge (22, i.e. same reference number) in an accessible position (i.e. when the nest cover 28 opens) for replacement with the first scent-dispensing cartridge (22) in the inaccessible position (i.e. in the closed position) (¶ 0016, 0030, 0076-0077, 0092).
Claim(s) 7-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fantuzzi et al (US 20170253338) in view of Fehling (US 20130277456) and Kim et al. (KR 20130000134).
Regarding claim 7, Fantuzzi in view of Queinnec discloses the limitations of the claimed invention as set forth above of which Fantuzzi further discloses a component (i.e. a scent delivery assembly) for a vehicle interior (i.e. a cabin interior of an aircraft) configured to dispense scent (¶ 0003) from at least one scent-dispensing cartridge (22, 112) containing scent media into air in the vehicle interior comprising: a scent-dispensing apparatus 10, 100 (i.e. scent delivery assembly/systems) configured for the at least one scent-dispensing cartridge (22, 112);
wherein the scent-dispensing apparatus 10, 100 (i.e. scent delivery assembly/systems) comprises an actuator (40) configured to actuate the at least one scent-dispensing cartridge (22, 112) between a sealed state (i.e. closed position) and an unsealed state (i.e. opened position) (¶ 0016, 0076-0077).
Fantuzzi discloses all the limitations of the claimed invention as set forth above, except for a valve assembly, and wherein the actuator is configured to operate a cam mechanism comprising a slider configured to selectively open and close the valve assembly for the at least one scent-dispensing cartridge; wherein the slider comprises a cam configured to actuate a follower to open the valve assembly to facilitate air flow for the at least one scent-dispensing cartridge.
However, Fehling teaches a valve assembly (see figures 1 and 2, i.e. a functional head) comprises a spring-loaded valve plate (5) (abstract; ¶ 0030-0033).
The combination of references are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor of a fragrance system. Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Fantuzzi and Fehling before him or her, to include such valve system of Fehling because the inlet and outlet openings are arranged in a housing wall section of functional head. Valve plate is arranged in the interior of functional head and is spring-loaded behind housing wall section such that valve plate is biased to close inlet and outlet openings in the absence of a counter-force against valve plate. The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been obvious because it prevents unintentional release of liquid fragrance from the fragrance container and resulting fragrance contamination with a relatively high level of certainty (¶ 0007).
Furthermore, Kim teaches wherein the actuator (192) is configured to operate a cam mechanism (190) comprising a slider (176a, 176b) configured to selectively open and close the valve assembly (i.e. doors) for the at least one scent-dispensing cartridge (120a, 120b); wherein the slider (176a, 176b) comprises a cam (190) configured to actuate a follower to open the valve assembly to facilitate air flow for the at least one scent-dispensing cartridge (120a, 120b) (pages 4-5).
The combination of references are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor of air freshener. Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Fantuzzi and Fehling and Kim before him or her, to include such an actuator system of Kim because the air introduced into the first air inlet is discharged to the first air outlet with a first direction, and the air introduced into the second air inlet is connected to the second air outlet with the second direction. The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been obvious because it controls air to flow in the cartridges.
With respect to claim 8, Fantuzzi in view of Fehling and Kim et al. discloses the limitations of the claimed invention as set forth above of which Fantuzzi further discloses wherein the at least one scent-dispensing cartridge (112) comprises a first scent-dispensing cartridge and a second scent-dispensing cartridge (112, i.e. a seme reference number); wherein the cam mechanism 154, 156, 158 (fig. 11, i.e. a motor, arm, and finger) is configured (a) to translate the slider in a first direction (i.e. the arm 156 with fingers 158 to actuate in a direction) to actuate the first scent-dispensing cartridge(112) and (b) to translate the slider in a second direction (i.e. similar steps for next cartridge in another direction) generally opposite the first direction to actuate the second scent-dispensing cartridge (112, i.e. a seme reference number) (¶ 0094, 0096).
With respect to claim 9, Fantuzzi in view of Fehling and Kim et al. discloses the limitations of the claimed invention as set forth above of which Fantuzzi further discloses wherein the at least one scent-dispensing cartridge comprises a first scent-dispensing cartridge and a second scent-dispensing cartridge; wherein the actuator (40) is configured (a) to actuate the first scent-dispensing cartridge (22, 112) and (b) to actuate the second scent-dispensing cartridge (22, 112, i.e. same reference number) (¶ 0090, 0093-0094, 0096).
Claim(s) 10-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fantuzzi et al (US 20170253338) in view of Fehling (US 20130277456) and Kim et al. (KR 20130000134) as applied to claim 9 above, and further in view of Bauer et al. (US 20180208024).
Regarding claim 10, Fantuzzi et al in view of Fehling and Kim et al. discloses all the limitations of the claimed invention as set forth above, except for wherein the valve assembly comprises a valve for the first scent-dispensing cartridge and a valve for the second scent-dispensing cartridge; wherein the cam mechanism is configured (a) to open the valve for the first scent-dispensing cartridge to facilitate air flow through the first scent-dispensing cartridge and (b) to open the valve for the second scent-dispensing cartridge to facilitate air flow through the second scent-dispensing cartridge.
However, Bauer teaches for wherein the valve assembly comprises a valve 14 (fig. 1) for the first scent-dispensing cartridge 29 (fig. 4, i.e. a replaceable cartridge in the first aromatic substance container 7) and a valve 15 (fig. 1) for the second scent-dispensing cartridge 29 (fig. 4, i.e. same reference number in the second aromatic substance container 8); wherein the cam mechanism 18 (fi. 1, i.e. a first container cam) is configured (a) to open the valve 14 (fig. 1) for the first scent-dispensing cartridge 29 (fig. 4, i.e. a replaceable cartridge in the first aromatic substance container 7) to facilitate air flow through the first scent-dispensing cartridge and (b) to open the valve 15 (fig. 1) for the second scent-dispensing cartridge to facilitate air flow through the second scent-dispensing cartridge 29 (fig. 4, i.e. same reference number in the second aromatic substance container 8) (¶ 0045, 0053).
The combination of references are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor of a scenting device. Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Fantuzzi et al in view of Fehling and Kim and Bauer before him or her, to include such a valve assembly configuration of Bauer because the bypass duct is assigned a bypass valve with which a volume flow of the air flowing through the bypass duct is controlled. In addition, the respective scenting path is assigned an associated container valve with which a volume flow of the air flowing through the associated scenting path can be controlled. This means that with a first container valve the volume flow of the air through the first scenting path and thus through the first aromatic substance container or the associated aromatic substance and with a second container valve the volume flow through the second scenting path and thus through the second aromatic substance container or the associated aromatic substance can be controlled. The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been obvious because it improves accuracy of the scenting device, this results in a greater adjusting range in particular of the aromatic substance intensity, and/or an increased comfort for users of the scenting device (¶ 0011).
With respect to claim 11, Fantuzzi et al in view of Fehling and Kim et al. discloses the limitations of the claimed invention as set forth above in claim 9 of which Bauer further discloses wherein the valve assembly (see figures 1 and 4) comprises a valve (14) for the first scent-dispensing cartridge (29) and a valve (15) for the second scent-dispensing cartridge (29, i.e. same reference number); wherein the cam mechanism (18) is configured (a) to close the valve (14) for the first scent-dispensing cartridge (29) to obstruct air flow through the first scent-dispensing cartridge and (b) to close the valve (15) for the second scent-dispensing cartridge to obstruct air flow through the second scent-dispensing cartridge (29, i.e. same reference number) (¶ 0055).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Fantuzzi et al in view of Fehling and Kim and Bauer before him or her, to include such a valve assembly arrangement of Bauer because the bypass duct is assigned a bypass valve with which a volume flow of the air flowing through the bypass duct is controlled. In addition, the respective scenting path is assigned an associated container valve with which a volume flow of the air flowing through the associated scenting path can be controlled. This means that with a first container valve the volume flow of the air through the first scenting path and thus through the first aromatic substance container or the associated aromatic substance and with a second container valve the volume flow through the second scenting path and thus through the second aromatic substance container or the associated aromatic substance can be controlled. The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been obvious because it improves accuracy of the scenting device, this results in a greater adjusting range in particular of the aromatic substance intensity, and/or an increased comfort for users of the scenting device (¶ 0011).
With respect to claim 12, Fantuzzi et al in view of Fehling and Kim et al. discloses the limitations of the claimed invention as set forth above in claim 9 of which Bauer further discloses wherein the valve assembly (see figures 1 and 4) comprises a valve (14) for the first scent-dispensing cartridge (29) and a valve (15) for the second scent-dispensing cartridge (29, i.e. same reference number); wherein the cam mechanism (18) is configured (a) to open the valve (14) for the first scent-dispensing cartridge (29) and to close the valve (14) for the second scent-dispensing cartridge (29, i.e. same reference number) to facilitate air flow through the first scent-dispensing cartridge (29) and (b) to close the valve (15) for the first scent-dispensing cartridge (29) and to open the valve (15) for the second scent-dispensing cartridge (29, i.e. same reference number) to facilitate air flow through the second scent-dispensing cartridge (29, i.e. same reference number) (¶ 0052, 0055).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Fantuzzi et al in view of Fehling and Kim and Bauer before him or her, to include such a valve assembly arrangement of Bauer because the bypass duct is assigned a bypass valve with which a volume flow of the air flowing through the bypass duct is controlled. In addition, the respective scenting path is assigned an associated container valve with which a volume flow of the air flowing through the associated scenting path can be controlled. This means that with a first container valve the volume flow of the air through the first scenting path and thus through the first aromatic substance container or the associated aromatic substance and with a second container valve the volume flow through the second scenting path and thus through the second aromatic substance container or the associated aromatic substance can be controlled. The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been obvious because it improves accuracy of the scenting device, this results in a greater adjusting range in particular of the aromatic substance intensity, and/or an increased comfort for users of the scenting device (¶ 0011).
Claim(s) 13-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fantuzzi et al (US 20170253338) in view of Accurso (US 9,823,263).
Regarding claim 13, Fantuzzi discloses a component (i.e. a scent delivery assembly) for a vehicle interior (i.e. a cabin interior of an aircraft) configured to dispense scent (¶ 0003) from a scent-dispensing cartridge (22, 112) containing scent media (¶ 0005, e.g. fragrance oil, etc.) into air in the vehicle interior comprising (¶ 0076-0079, 0090-0093): a scent-dispensing apparatus 10, 100 (i.e. scent delivery assembly/systems) comprising a base (not labeled, i.e. the base of the scent delivery system) configured to retain the scent-dispensing cartridge (22, 112); a retainer (44, i.e. a connection member) configured to retain the scent-dispensing cartridge (22, 112) in the base of the scent- dispensing apparatus (10, 100) for use and to release the scent-dispensing cartridge from the base of the scent-dispensing apparatus for removal (¶ 0019, 0078-0079).
Fantuzzi discloses all the limitations of the claimed invention as set forth above except
for a plunger configured to present the scent-dispensing cartridge to facilitate removal from the base of the scent-dispensing apparatus; wherein the plunger is configured to present the scent-dispensing cartridge for removal from the base upon release of the scent-dispensing apparatus by the retainer.
However, Accurso teaches a plunger 120 (fig. 1, i.e. a release button) configured to present the scent-dispensing cartridge 104 (fig. 1, i.e. called a container) to facilitate removal (see figure 14C, as indicated a removal by the upward arrow) from the base of the scent-dispensing apparatus 1400 (fig. 14C, i.e. a drawer); wherein the plunger (120) is configured to present the scent-dispensing cartridge (104) for removal from the base upon release of the scent-dispensing apparatus by the retainer (col. 7, lines 32-48; col. 13, lines 4-63). The combination of references are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor of a release actuator. Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Fantuzzi and Accurso before him or her, to include such an actuator of Accurso because it provides a simpler way to fluidly connect and disconnect a container to a fluid system. The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been obvious because it secures the cartridge/container in the module and preventing it from being removed inadvertently from the module (col. 7, lines 35-38).
With respect to claim 14, Fantuzzi in view of Accurso discloses the limitations of the claimed invention as set forth above of which Fantuzzi further discloses wherein the scent-dispensing cartridge (22, 112) comprises a set of scent-dispensing cartridges (¶ 0024, i.e. a plurality of cartridges); wherein the base (not labeled, i.e. the base of the scent delivery system) comprises a compartment (i.e. the interior of the scent delivery assembly 10) for each scent-dispensing cartridge (22) of the set of scent-dispensing cartridges (¶ 0024, i.e. a plurality of cartridges); wherein the retainer (44, i.e. a connection member) comprises a retainer for each scent-dispensing cartridge (22) of the set of scent-dispensing cartridges (i.e. a plurality of cartridges).
Accurso wherein the plunger comprises a plunger (120) for each scent-dispensing cartridge (104, i.e. called a container) of the set of scent-dispensing cartridges (see figure 14A, i.e. a plurality of containers).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Fantuzzi and Accurso before him or her, to include such actuator(s) of Accurso because it provides a simpler way to fluidly connect and disconnect a container to a fluid system. The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been obvious because it secures the cartridge/container in the module and preventing it from being removed inadvertently from the module (col. 7, lines 35-38).
With respect to claim 15, Fantuzzi in view of Accurso discloses the limitations of the claimed invention as set forth above of which Fantuzzi further discloses wherein the latch is configured to be actuated by an arm (42) configured to be moved from a latched position (i.e. closed position) to retain the scent-dispensing cartridge (22) in the base and an unlatched position (i.e. opened position) to release the scent-dispensing cartridge (22) from the base (¶ 0016, 0076-0078).
Accurso discloses wherein the plunger (120) is configured to present the scent-dispensing cartridge 104 (fig. 1, i.e. called a container) for removal from the base of the scent-dispensing apparatus 1400 (fig. 14C, i.e. a drawer) when the arm for the latch is moved to the unlatched position (col. 7, lines 32-48).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Fantuzzi and Accurso before him or her, to include such an actuator of Accurso because it provides a simpler way to fluidly connect and disconnect a container to a fluid system. The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been obvious because it secures the cartridge/container in the module and preventing it from being removed inadvertently from the module (col. 7, lines 35-38).
With respect to claim 16, Fantuzzi in view of Accurso discloses the limitations of the claimed invention as set forth above of which Accurso further discloses wherein the retainer comprises a latch (118); wherein the latch comprises a spring-actuated latch configured
(a) to provide a latched state (i.e. engaged) for use of the scent-dispensing cartridge 104 (fig. 1, i.e. called a container) in the scent-dispensing apparatus 1400 (fig. 14C, i.e. a drawer) and
(b) to provide an unlatched state (i.e. disengaged) for removal of the scent-dispensing cartridge 104 (fig. 1, i.e. called a container) from the scent-dispensing apparatus 1400 (fig. 14C, i.e. a drawer).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Fantuzzi and Accurso before him or her, to include such an actuator of Accurso because it provides a simpler way to fluidly connect and disconnect a container to a fluid system. The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been obvious because it secures the cartridge/container in the module and preventing it from being removed inadvertently from the module (col. 7, lines 35-38).
With respect to claim 17, Fantuzzi in view of Accurso discloses the limitations of the claimed invention as set forth above of which Accurso further discloses wherein the plunger (120) comprises a spring-actuated plunger configured to push the scent-dispensing cartridge 104 (fig. 1, i.e. called a container) for removal from the base of the scent- dispensing apparatus 1400 (fig. 14C, i.e. a drawer).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Fantuzzi and Accurso before him or her, to include such an actuator of Accurso because it provides a simpler way to fluidly connect and disconnect a container to a fluid system. The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been obvious beca