DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The numerous information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner. Nevertheless, it is impractical for the examiner to review the cited references thoroughly due to the number of references disclosed in the case. By initialing each of the disclosures on the accompanying 1449 forms, the examiner is merely acknowledging the submission of the cited references and indicating that only a cursory review has been made of the cited references. Further, examiner notes: Applicant's duty to disclose information material to patentability is not satisfied by presenting the examiner with “a mountain of largely irrelevant data from which he is presumed to have been able, with his expertise and with adequate time, to have found the critical data. It ignores the real world conditions under which examiners work.” Rohm & Haas Co. v. Crystal Chem. Co., 722 F.2d 1556, 1573, 200 USPQ 289 (Fed. Cir. 1983), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 851 (1984). Patent applicant has a duty not only to disclose pertinent prior art references, but also to make the disclosure in such way as to avoid "burying" a material reference within a large number of less material references. See Golden Valley Microwave Food Inc. v. Weaver Popcorn Co., 837 F. Supp. 1444, 1447, 24 U.S.P.Q.2d (BNA) 1801 (N.D. Ind. 1992); Penn Yan Boats, Inc. v. Sea Lark Boats, Inc., 359 F. Supp. 948, 175 U.S.P.Q. (BNA) 260, 272 (S.D. FIa. 1972).
Claim Interpretation
Double Patenting
Claims 1-2, 5, 9-10, 15-17 and 23 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 4, 6, 12, 14 and 21 of copending Application No. 18/211289 (the ‘289 application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because all of the limitations of claims 1-2, 5, 9-10, 15-17 and 23 are anticipated by or inherent to claims 4, 6, 12, 14 and 21 of the ’289 application. Therefore, in making or using the invention of claims 4, 6, 12, 14 and 21 of the ‘289 application, one of ordinary skill in the art would also make or use the invention of claims 1-2, 5, 9-10, 15-17 and 23. The following list gives the claim of the instant application and the anticipating claim of the ‘289 application: Claims 1-2 correspond to claim 4, claim 5 corresponds to claim 6, claims 9-10 correspond to claim 12, claim 15 corresponds to claim 14 and claims 16-17 and 23 correspond to claim 21. This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Patent 5,720,659 to Wicks (Wicks) in view of KR101840682 (KR’682). KR’682 as cited on an IDS and a copy thereof filed with the application. A machine translation thereof has been included with this Office Action and recitations of specific portions of the text refer to the translation document.
Regarding claims 1-2, 9-10 and 16-17, Wicks discloses a safety system and method of a structure, comprising: an air storage system comprising a source of breathable air (air source 44) and another source of breathable air (second air source 44); a fixed piping system (30) installed within the structure for supply of the breathable air across from the sources across the safety system; an air analysis device (82) along an air flow path of the breathable air from the source thereof, the air analysis device comprising a sensor associated therewith to sense a parameter (smoke or carbon monoxide level in the air from the source) of the breathable air within the safety system (col. 3, lines 38-43); coupling an air analysis device along an air flow path of the breathable air from the source within the safety system (see Fig. 1, air analysis device 82 is positioned in the air flow path); sensing the parameter of the breathable air using a sensor associated with the air analysis device (detecting the smoke or CO level in the air); and automatically bypassing the source of the breathable air with respect to the supply of the breathable air across at least the portion of the safety system using a bypass controller device coupled to the air analysis device (col. 3, lines 38-43; the controller selects the best air source based on the air quality data, which bypasses at least a portion of the safety system [i.e., the portion from the unsafe air source]). Wicks does not disclose automatically purging the safety system of at least a portion of the breathable air in response to an alert signal indicative of the sensed parameter of the breathable air being outside a predetermined threshold value, wherein automatically purging the safety system of at least the portion of the breathable air based on an alert signal from one of: the air analysis device, a bypass controller device coupled to the air analysis device, and a data processing device communicatively coupled to the air analysis device through a computer network. KR’682 discloses a safety system and method ([0033], [0117]-[0131] and figures 3-6) including a flow control unit (260) determines whether to switch a flow based on a judgment of an evacuation instruction unit (240), maintains an air supply flow path (311) and an exhaust flow path (321), and maintains a switching exhaust flow path (312) and a switching air supply flow path (322), wherein the judgment is based on detected parameters of the air being outside a predetermined threshold (see [0130]), wherein automatically purging the safety system of at least the portion of the breathable air based on an alert signal from one of: the air analysis device (see [0130]), a bypass controller device coupled to the air analysis device, and a data processing device communicatively coupled to the air analysis device through a computer network. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included automatically purging at least a portion of the breathable air as taught by KR’682 in the system and method of Wicks to reduce the likelihood of dangerous gases being supplied to the occupants during a fire emergency.
Regarding claims 3, 11 and 18, Wicks as modified by KR’682 further discloses in response to the detection of the parameter of the breathable air being outside the predetermined threshold value based on the sensing using at least one of: the air analysis device (82) and the data processing device, through the bypass controller device, shutdown of one source of breathable air (the valve of the air source which is deemed unsafe or less desirable by the controller is closed, thereby shutting down that source) and switching from the source of the breathable air to another source (sources 44) of the breathable air in the safety system in addition to the automatic bypassing of the source of the breathable air to ensure a continued supply of the breathable air across the safety system (the system of Wicks automatically switches and bypasses an unsafe source of air in favor of the safest air source; col. 3, lines 38-43).
Regarding claims 4, 12 and 19, Wicks as modified by KR’682 further discloses the parameter of the breathable air comprising at least one of: an air quality parameter and an air component parameter (Wicks discloses detecting smoke and CO in the breathable air; KR’682 discloses detecting oxygen concentration, carbon dioxide concentration, humidity and temperature of the breathable air).
Regarding claims 5 and 20, Wicks as modified by KR’682 further discloses at least one of: automatically bypassing the source of the breathable air and switching to another source of the breathable air (col. 3, lines 38-43) based on controlling, through the bypass controller device (the controller that operates the valves based on the sensor signals), at least one valve (valves 46) associated with at least one component of the safety system.
Regarding claims 6, 13 and 21, Wicks as modified by KR’682 further discloses the sensor associated with the air analysis device comprising at least one of: a carbon monoxide sensor configured to sense a level of carbon monoxide in the breathable air (sensor 82 of Wicks), a carbon dioxide sensor configured to sense a level of carbon dioxide in the breathable air (carbon dioxide sensor of KR’682), an oxygen sensor configured to sense a level of oxygen in the breathable air (oxygen sensor of KR’682), a nitrogen sensor configured to sense a level of nitrogen in the breathable air, a hydrocarbon sensor configured to sense a condensed hydrocarbon content in the breathable air, and a moisture sensor configured to sense a moisture concentration in the breathable air (humidity sensor of KR’682).
Regarding claims 7, 14, and 22, Wicks as modified by KR’682 further discloses wherein at least one of: the bypass controller device and the air storage system interprets the response signal through control circuitry therein to automatically trigger the switching to the another source of the breathable air (col. 3, lines 38-43; the controller selects the best air source based on the air quality data, which requires interpreting the response signal; further, the controller uses control circuitry).
Regarding claims 8, 15 and 23, Wicks as modified by KR’682 further discloses automatically purging the safety system of at least the portion of the breathable air using at least one of: a valve (valves 34 and 36) and a vacuum pump controllable based on the alert signal.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure and claimed invention.
/NICOLAS A ARNETT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3753 February 20, 2026