DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings were received on 08 March 2026. These drawings are accepted.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: In the last line of the claim, the recitation “a CFW clip ridge” should be “one said CFW clip ridge”.
Claim 10 is objected to because of the following informalities: In lines 1-2, the recitation “further comprising” should be deleted.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 14-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a), as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
With respect to claim 14: See Applicant’s Figs. 3A-3E. The locations of the prongs 324 and the prong holes 320 are not inside the enclosure, and/or are not obscured by the first panel assembly 316 and the second panel assembly 318.
The claim limitation “wherein a location inside the CSHC enclosure for at least one of the first fastener and the second fastener is obscured by the first panel assembly and the second panel assembly” raises the issue of new matter, when the first and second fasteners are a prong hole and a prong as defined by lines 6 and 10 of the claim, respectively.
With respect to claims 15-16: The claims are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 112(a) via dependency.
Claims 5, 7, 10-12, and 14-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b), as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
With respect to claim 5: The claim indirectly depends from claim 1. Claim 1 defines that the first fastener is on the first panel assembly, and the second fastener is on the second panel assembly (claim 1, lines 6-10).
Claim 5 defines the first fasteners on the second panel assembly, and the second fasteners on the first panel assembly. This is the reverse of, and mutually exclusive of, the configuration defined by claim 1. It is unclear where the first and second fasteners are located, based on claim 5 as written.
With respect to claim 7: Lines 4-7 of the claim recite that the “first panel assembly” comprises “a CFC clip assembly” that has “a CFC clip bottom portion formed on an interior portion of a bottom panel of a second panel assembly”. It is unclear how the first panel assembly can include a component on a second panel assembly.
Lines 9-12 of the claim recite the CFC clip assembly of the first panel assembly further includes “a CFC clip top portion” that “extends horizontally relative to the bottom panel of the second panel assembly”. It is unclear how the first panel assembly can include a component on a second panel assembly.
With respect to claim 10: In line 8, the recitation “the first fastener” lacks antecedent basis. In lines 9-10, the recitation “the second fastener” lacks antecedent basis.
With respect to claims 11-12: The claims are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 112(b) via dependency.
With respect to claim 14: In line 18, the recitation “the one or more CSHC prongs” lacks antecedent basis. In line 19, the recitation “the one or more CSHC prong holes” lacks antecedent basis. In lines 20-21, the recitation “the one or more CSHC prongs” lacks antecedent basis.
With respect to claims 15-16: The claims are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 112(b) via dependency.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 4-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 6,315,142 B1 (Kitamura).
With respect to claim 1: Kitamura discloses an electronic device enclosure comprising: a first panel assembly (upper case 1); a second panel assembly (lower case 2); a plurality of first fasteners (fitting pieces 10 and the not-numbered vertical walls adjacent to the fitting pieces 10); and a plurality of second fasteners (fitting pieces 20); wherein a first fastener of the plurality of first fasteners is provided with the first panel assembly (a first of the fitting pieces 10 and the adjacent vertical walls are provided on upper case 1); wherein a second fastener of the plurality of second fasteners corresponds to the first fastener and is provided with the second panel assembly (a first of the fitting pieces 20 corresponding to said first fitting piece 10 is provided on lower case 2); wherein the first fastener is couplable with the second fastener (at least Fig. 5A and cols. 4-5); wherein a location inside the electronic device enclosure for at least one of the first fastener and the second fastener is obscured by the first panel assembly and the second panel assembly (at least Figs. 1-2B and cols. 4-5); and wherein a coupling of the first fastener with the second fastener results in the electronic device enclosure having a secured configuration (at least Figs. 1-2B and cols. 4-5); wherein the electronic device enclosure is a cover flex window (CFW) enclosure (Fig. 5B and cols. 4-5 disclose flexing to release cases 1, 2); wherein the first fastener is a CFW clip stop assembly comprising: a CFW clip stop ridge (fitting piece 10); wherein the CFW clip stop ridge is horizontal with a top panel of the first panel assembly (Figs. 2B, 3, 5A-5B, 8, and 10); and a CFW clip stop wall (one or both of the vertical walls adjacent to the fitting piece 10) formed perpendicular to the clip stop ridge (Figs. 2B, 3, 5A-5B, 8, and 10); wherein a CFW clip ridge (edge/potion of fitting piece 20 that engages fitting piece 10 – at least Fig. 5A) couples with the CFW clip stop ridge when the first panel assembly is coupled with the second panel assembly; and wherein the second fastener is a CFW clip assembly comprising: a CFW clip bottom portion formed on a bottom panel of the second panel assembly (Fig. 2A: bottom portion of fitting piece 20 extends from the bottom panel of lower case 2); a CFW clip top portion formed with the CFW clip bottom portion (upper portion of fitting piece 20, including the edge/portion that engages fitting piece 10); and a CFW clip ridge (edge/potion of fitting piece 20 that engages fitting piece 10 – at least Figs. 2A and 5A) formed as a part of the CFW clip top portion.
With respect to claim 4: Kitamura discloses wherein the CFW clip top portion (upper portion of fitting piece 20) extends horizontally relative to the bottom panel of the second panel assembly and above the CFW clip bottom portion (at least Figs. 2A and 5A: the edge/portion of fitting piece 20 that engages fitting piece 10 extends horizontally relative to the bottom panel of lower case 2, and is above the bottom portion of fitting piece 20).
With respect to claim 5: Kitamura discloses further comprising: a first CFW window (at a first corresponding pair of fitting pieces 10 and 20); a second CFW window (at a second corresponding pair of fitting pieces 10 and 20); a second-first fastener of the plurality of first fasteners (a second of the fitting pieces 10 and corresponding vertical walls adjacent thereto); and a second-second fastener of the plurality of second fasteners (a second of the fitting pieces 20); wherein the first fastener is provided with the bottom panel for the second panel assembly (in the same/similar way as the Applicant’s invention); wherein the second-first fastener is provided with the bottom panel for the second panel assembly (in the same/similar way as the Applicant’s invention); wherein the second fastener is provided with a first side panel for the first panel assembly (in the same/similar way as the Applicant’s invention); wherein the second-second fastener is provided with a second side panel for the first panel assembly (in the same/similar way as the Applicant’s invention); wherein the first CFW window corresponds with a first location on the first side panel for the first panel assembly (fittings 10, 20 on the left side of the assembled apparatus); wherein the second CFW window corresponds with a second location on the second side panel for the first panel assembly (fittings 10, 20 on the right side of the assembled apparatus); wherein the first location and the second location are opposingly aligned (the left side is opposite to the right side); wherein, when the electronic device enclosure is in the secured configuration, the second-first fastener is coupled with the second-second fastener (similarly to Fig. 5A); wherein the first CFW window facilitates application of a first force on the first fastener when coupled to the second fastener (similarly to Fig. 5B and cols. 4-5); wherein the second CFW window facilitates application of a second force on the second-first fastener when coupled to the second-second fastener (similarly to Fig. 5B and cols. 4-5); and wherein upon application of the first force in conjunction with the application of the second force: the first fastener is released from the second fastener; and the second-first fastener is released from the second-second fastener; and the first panel assembly is unsecured from the second panel assembly (similarly to Fig. 5B and cols. 4-5).
With respect to claim 6: Kitamura discloses wherein when the first fastener is coupled with the second fastener, the CFW clip bottom portion couples with the CFW clip stop wall (when cases 1 and 2 are assembled, the bottom portion of fitting 20 abuts the vertical walls adjacent the fitting 10) to form a rigid combined structure which increases structural rigidity of the electronic device enclosure (the vertical walls reduce and/or prevent side-to-side wiggle/play/movement of the fitting 20).
Claim(s) 7 and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 7,133,279 B2 (Lin).
With respect to claim 7: Lin discloses a cover flex clip (CFC) enclosure, for an electronic device, comprising: a first panel assembly comprising: a CFC clip assembly comprising: a CFC clip bottom portion (Fig. 6C: bottom portions of ribs 121, 122) formed on an interior portion (interior of second wall 10 and/or interior of the not-numbered horizontal bottom wall) of a bottom panel of a second panel assembly (the claimed “bottom panel of a second panel assembly” is all of second case 1); wherein the bottom panel includes a clip access slot (not-numbered slot beneath second connecting portion 11); a CFC clip top portion (upper portions of ribs 121, 122 and second connecting portion 11) formed with the CFC clip bottom portion; wherein the CFC clip top portion (at the bottom of second connecting portion 11) extends horizontally relative to the bottom panel of the second panel assembly and above the CFC clip bottom portion (at least Fig. 6E: the bottom of second connecting portion 11 is horizontal); and a CFC clip ridge (second connecting portion 11) formed as a part of the CFC clip top portion; the second panel assembly comprising: a CFC hook assembly comprising: a CFC hook opening (hole 211); wherein the CFC hook opening is couplable with the CFC clip ridge when the first panel assembly is coupled with the second panel assembly (at least Figs. 6D-6E); and a CFC hook bottom portion (Fig. 6C: portion of first connecting portion 21 beneath hole 211 – forms the lower wall of hole 211), located below the CFC hook opening; and wherein the CFC hook bottom portion seals the clip access slot when the first CFC clip assembly is coupled to the CFC hook assembly (Figs. 6D-6E: the bottom portion of the fist connecting portion 21 covers the slot beneath the second connecting portion 11); wherein a location inside the CFC enclosure for at least one of the CFC clip assembly and the CFC hook assembly is obscured by the first panel assembly and the second panel assembly (as in Figs. 6D-6E); and wherein a coupling of the CFC clip assembly with the CFC hook assembly results in the CFC enclosure having a secured configuration which prevents intrusions of pollutants into an internal environment of the CFC enclosure (as in Figs. 6D-6E).
With respect to claim 11: Lin discloses further comprising: at least one second-first fastener (Fig. 6B: a second one of the first connecting portions 21); and at least one second-second fastener (Fig. 6B: a second one of the second connecting portions 11 and corresponding ribs 121, 122); wherein the at least one second-first fastener is formed on an interior surface of a top panel of the first panel assembly (all of case 2 is the claimed “top panel of the first panel assembly”); wherein the at least one second-second fastener is formed on an interior surface of a back panel of the second panel assembly (second connecting portion 11 and the ribs 121, 122 are formed on an interior surface of wall 10); wherein the at least one second-first fastener is couplable with the at least one second-second fastener; wherein the at least one second-first fastener is a CFC clip assembly (first connecting portion 21 forms a “clip”); and wherein the at least one second-second fastener is a CFC access and retention slot (the space between ribs 121, 122 and the slot beneath second connecting portion 11 is/are slot(s) that provide access to and retain the first connecting portion 21).
Claim(s) 14-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by WO 2007/046789 A1 (Chao).
With respect to claim 14: Chao discloses a cover slide & hook clip (CSHC) enclosure, for an electronic device, comprising: a first panel assembly (bottom cover 4); a second panel assembly (top cover 2); a first fastener (female latch 32); and wherein the first fastener is a CSHC prong hole (female latch 32 is a hole for the “prong” of male latch 26); and wherein the CSHC prong hole is accessible from a location external to the CSHC enclosure when the CSHC enclosure is in a secured configuration (via opening 68 – see Fig. 3 and page 9); and a second fastener (male latch 26); wherein the second fastener is a CSHC prong (male latch 26); wherein the second fastener corresponds to the first fastener (male latch 26 corresponds to female latch 32); wherein the first fastener is couplable with the second fastener (female latch 32 is couplable with male latch 26); wherein a location inside the CSHC enclosure for at least one of the first fastener and the second fastener is obscured by the first panel assembly and the second panel assembly (male latch 26 and/or female latch 32 is/are obscured when covers 2 and 4 are assembled); wherein a coupling of the first fastener with the second fastener results in the CSHC enclosure having a secured configuration (latches 26 and 32 are coupled to secure covers 2 and 4 together); wherein the one or more CSHC prongs is couplable with a respectively corresponding CSHC prong hole from the one or more CSHC prong holes (female latch 32 is couplable with male latch 26); and wherein the CSHC enclosure is in the secured configuration when the one or more CSHC prongs are respectively coupled with the respectively corresponding CSHC prong hole (latches 26 and 32 are coupled to secure covers 2 and 4 together).
With respect to claim 15: Chao discloses wherein the first fastener is one or more CSHC hook assemblies (one or more of the hooks 18); wherein the second fastener is one or more CSHC hook cavity assemblies (one or more of the of alignment pockets 48 and protrusions 50); wherein the one or more CSHC hook assemblies is couplable with a respectively corresponding CSHC hook cavity assembly from the one or more CSHC hook cavity assemblies (hooks 18 are received in pockets 48 and couple with protrusions 50); and wherein the CSHC enclosure is in a secured configuration when the one or more CSHC hook assemblies are respectively coupled with the respectively corresponding CSHC hook cavity assembly (covers 2 and 4 are secured together by the hooks 18 being received in pockets 48 and coupling with protrusions 50).
With respect to claim 16: Chao discloses further comprising: a second-first fastener (channel pockets 64); and a second-second fastener (tabs 62); wherein the second-first fastener is one or more CSHC prong holes (pockets 64 are holes that receive “prongs” in tabs 62); wherein the second-second fastener is one or more CSHC prongs (tabs 62); wherein the one or more CSHC prongs is couplable with a respectively corresponding CSHC prong hole from the one or more CSHC prong holes (tabs 62 couple with pockets 64); and wherein the CSHC enclosure is in a secured configuration when the one or more CSHC prongs are coupled with a respectively corresponding CSHC prong hole and the one or more CSHC hook assemblies are coupled with the respectively corresponding CSHC hook cavity assembly (covers 2 and 4 are secured by tabs 62 coupling into pockets 64, and by hooks 18 coupling pockets 48 and protrusion 50).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 and 4-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 5,348,356 (Moulton) in view of US 7,133,279 B2 (Lin).
With respect to claim 1: Moulton discloses an electronic device enclosure comprising: a first panel assembly (first panel 10); a second panel assembly (second panel 20); a plurality of first fasteners (tangs 12); and a plurality of second fasteners (tabs 24); wherein a first fastener of the plurality of first fasteners is provided with the first panel assembly (a first of the tangs 12 is on first panel 10); wherein a second fastener of the plurality of second fasteners corresponds to the first fastener and is provided with the second panel assembly (a first of the tabs 24 is on second panel 20 and corresponds to said first of the tangs 12); wherein the first fastener is couplable with the second fastener (at least Figs. 3, 6, and 8-9); wherein a location inside the electronic device enclosure for at least one of the first fastener and the second fastener is obscured by the first panel assembly and the second panel assembly (at least Figs. 3, 6, and 8-9); and wherein a coupling of the first fastener with the second fastener results in the electronic device enclosure having a secured configuration (at least Figs. 3, 6, and 8-9); wherein the electronic device enclosure is a cover flex window (CFW) enclosure (In Figs. 5-6, the front of the assembly forms a window, and the cover [first panel 10] is flexed to release the assembly [Fig. 4]. Additionally or alternatively, the hole 22 of the tab 24 is a window in which the tang 12 engages, and the cover [first panel 10] is flexed to release the assembly.); wherein the first fastener is a CFW clip stop assembly comprising: a CFW clip stop ridge (tang 12 forms a ridge); wherein the CFW clip stop ridge is horizontal with a top panel of the first panel assembly (at least Figs. 3-6); wherein a CFW clip ridge (upper portion of tab 24 having hole 22 therein forms a ridge) couples with the CFW clip stop ridge when the first panel assembly is coupled with the second panel assembly (hole 22 couples with tang 12); and wherein the second fastener is a CFW clip assembly comprising: a CFW clip bottom portion formed on a bottom panel of the second panel assembly (Fig. 5: bottom portion of tab 24 extends from the bottom panel of piece 20); a CFW clip top portion formed with the CFW clip bottom portion (upper portion of tab 24, including the hole 22); and a CFW clip ridge (upper portion of tab 24 having hole 22 therein forms a ridge) formed as a part of the CFW clip top portion.
Moulton does not disclose “and a CFW clip stop wall formed perpendicular to the clip stop ridge” as claimed.
Lin discloses ribs 121, 122 on either side of a second connecting portion 11. The ribs 121, 122 guide a positioning plate 210 such that the first connecting portion 21 engages the second connecting portion 11.
See Moulton Figs. 5-6. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Moulton’s first panel 10 to include Lin’s ribs 121, 122 on either side of the tangs 12, in order to guide Moulton’s tab 24 into engagement with the tang 12 similarly to how Lin’s positioning plate 210 is guided into engagement with the second connecting portion 11. The ribs 121, 122 added to Moulton meet “and a CFW clip stop wall formed perpendicular to the clip stop ridge” as claimed.
With respect to claim 4: Moulton, as modified, meets wherein the CFW clip top portion (upper portion of tab 24) extends horizontally relative to the bottom panel of the second panel assembly and above the CFW clip bottom portion (Moulton Fig. 5: the top surface of tab 24 and/or the bottom surface of hole 22 is/are horizontal and above the bottom panel of piece 20).
With respect to claim 5: Moulton, as modified, meets further comprising: a first CFW window (at one of the left and right sides of Fig. 5); a second CFW window (at the other of the left and right sides of Fig. 5); a second-first fastener of the plurality of first fasteners (a second of the tabs 24 or tangs 12); and a second-second fastener of the plurality of second fasteners (a second of the tangs 12 or tabs 24, whichever was not relied upon for the claimed “second-first fastener”); wherein the first fastener is provided with the bottom panel for the second panel assembly (a first of the tabs 24 is on the “bottom” second panel 20); wherein the second-first fastener is provided with the bottom panel for the second panel assembly (a second of the tabs 24 is also on second panel 20); wherein the second fastener is provided with a first side panel for the first panel assembly (the first tab 12 is on a first side of first panel 10); wherein the second-second fastener is provided with a second side panel for the first panel assembly (the second tab 12 is on a second side of first panel 10); wherein the first CFW window corresponds with a first location on the first side panel for the first panel assembly (on one of the left and right side of Fig. 5, the connection means on first panel 10 correspond to the connection means on second panel 20); wherein the second CFW window corresponds with a second location on the second side panel for the first panel assembly (on the other of the left and right side of Fig. 5, the connection means on first panel 10 correspond to the connection means on second panel 20); wherein the first location and the second location are opposingly aligned (the left side is opposite to the right side); wherein, when the electronic device enclosure is in the secured configuration, the second-first fastener is coupled with the second-second fastener (tangs 12 couple to tabs 24); wherein the first CFW window facilitates application of a first force on the first fastener when coupled to the second fastener (similarly to Fig. 4); wherein the second CFW window facilitates application of a second force on the second-first fastener when coupled to the second-second fastener (similarly to Fig. 4); and wherein upon application of the first force in conjunction with the application of the second force: the first fastener is released from the second fastener; and the second-first fastener is released from the second-second fastener; and the first panel assembly is unsecured from the second panel assembly (Figs. 4-5, Fig. 7, and cols. 3-4).
With respect to claim 6: Moulton, as modified, meets wherein when the first fastener is coupled with the second fastener, the CFW clip bottom portion couples with the CFW clip stop wall (when pieces 10 and 20 are assembled, the lower portion of Moulton’s tab 24 engages the ribs 121 and 122 added to Moulton’s panel 10) to form a rigid combined structure which increases structural rigidity of the electronic device enclosure (the added ribs 121 and 122 reduce and/or prevent side-to-side wiggle/play/movement of the tab 24 and panel 20).
Claim(s) 7 and 10-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over FR 2 810 018 A1 (Moree) in view of US 4,673,100 A (Reis).
With respect to claim 7: Moree discloses a cover flex clip (CFC) enclosure, for an electronic device, comprising: a first panel assembly comprising: a CFC clip assembly comprising: a CFC clip bottom portion (Figs. 6-8: the bottom portion of housing 603 of lower cover 102) formed on an interior portion of a bottom panel of a second panel assembly; wherein the bottom panel includes a clip access slot (opening 402); a CFC clip top portion (Figs. 6-8: top portion of housing 603, including lug 602) formed with the CFC clip bottom portion; wherein the CFC clip top portion extends horizontally relative to the bottom panel of the second panel assembly and above the CFC clip bottom portion (the lower surface of the part of lug 602 that engages the opening in tongue 601 is horizontal and above the bottom portion of housing 603); and a CFC clip ridge (the protruding part of lug 602 that engages the opening in tongue 601) formed as a part of the CFC clip top portion; the second panel assembly comprising: a CFC hook assembly comprising: a CFC hook opening (the opening in tongue 601); wherein the CFC hook opening is couplable with the CFC clip ridge when the first panel assembly is coupled with the second panel assembly (Figs. 6-8); and a CFC hook bottom portion (end 604), located below the CFC hook opening (Figs. 6-8); wherein a location inside the CFC enclosure for at least one of the CFC clip assembly and the CFC hook assembly is obscured by the first panel assembly and the second panel assembly (Figs. 6-8); and wherein a coupling of the CFC clip assembly with the CFC hook assembly results in the CFC enclosure having a secured configuration (Figs. 6-8).
Moree does not disclose the end 604 meets “and wherein the CFC hook bottom portion seals the clip access slot when the first CFC clip assembly is coupled to the CFC hook assembly” as claimed. Moree does not disclose “and wherein a coupling of the CFC clip assembly with the CFC hook assembly results in the CFC enclosure having a secured configuration which prevents intrusions of pollutants into an internal environment of the CFC enclosure” as claimed.
Reis Figs. 5-7 show a coupling means that is similar to Moree’s coupling means. Reis’ spring arm 22, 24 has a wedge 30 that is guided by an edge 40 to lie precisely in an aperture 18 when the enclosure 10 is sealed. The size of the wedge 30 is chosen to completely fill the aperture 18 to provide an adequate and positive seal against ingress of foreign matter into the closed enclosure (end of col. 3 to the beginning of col. 4).
See Moree Fig. 6. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Moree’s housing 603 and/or the end 604 of tongue 601 to have the end 604 close the top of opening 402 in the assembled position, in order to have the end 604 and housing 603 provide an adequate and positive seal against the ingress of foreign matter into the closed enclosure – similarly to Reis’ wedge 30 and aperture 18.
With respect to claim 10: Moree, as modified, meets wherein the CFC clip access slot (opening 402) facilitates access by a tool prong (tool 103 and/or end 606 thereof), located below the bottom panel of the CFC enclosure (as in Fig. 6), into the internal environment in order to facilitate a release of the CFC clip ridge from the CFC hook opening (in direction 605); wherein upon releasing of CFC clip ridge for the first fastener from corresponding CFC hook opening for the second fastener, the first panel assembly is released from the second panel assembly and the electronic device CFC enclosure obtains an unsecured configuration (the tool 103 releases the connection between the covers 101, 102).
With respect to claim 11: Moree, as modified, meets further comprising: at least one second-first fastener (a second one of the six tongues 601); and at least one second-second fastener (a second one of the housings 603); wherein the at least one second-first fastener is formed on an interior surface of a top panel of the first panel assembly (Figs. 6-8); wherein the at least one second-second fastener is formed on an interior surface of a back panel of the second panel assembly (Figs. 6-8); wherein the at least one second-first fastener is couplable with the at least one second-second fastener (Figs. 6-8); wherein the at least one second-first fastener is a CFC clip assembly (the tongue 601 is a “clip”); and wherein the at least one second-second fastener is a CFC access and retention slot (housing 603, lug 602, and opening 402 provide access to and retain tongue 601).
With respect to claim 12: Moree, as modified, does not meet the configuration of claim 12. However, see Moree Fig. 6. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to reverse the housing 603 and the tongue 601 such that housing 603 is on upper cover 101, and tongue 601 is on lower cover 102 – because the reversal of the essential working parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art.
Such a modification meets wherein the CFC clip assembly comprises: a CFC clip bottom portion (bottom portion of housing 603, as located on upper cover 101) formed on the interior surface of the top panel; a CFC clip top portion (top portion of housing 603, as located on upper cover 101) formed with the CFC clip bottom portion; and a CFC clip ridge (the protruding part of lug 602 that engages the hole in tongue 601) formed as a part of the CFC clip top portion; wherein the CFC clip top portion extends horizontally downwards relative to the CFC clip bottom portion (the reverse of Moree Fig. 6); wherein the CFC access and retention slot comprises an opening (hole in tongue 601 and/or opening 402) for receiving and retaining the CFC clip ridge when the first panel assembly is mated to the second panel assembly; wherein the CFC access and retention slot receives a prong of a tool (tool 103 and/or end 606 thereof) which when inserted therein facilitates dislocation of the CFC clip ridge from the CFC access and retention slot (in direction 605); and wherein upon releasing of CFC clip ridges for the at least one second-first fasteners from corresponding CFC access and retention slots for the second-second fasteners and releasing of any first fastener from any corresponding second fasteners, the first panel assembly is released from the second panel assembly and the CFC enclosure obtains an unsecured configuration (the tool 103 releases the connection between the covers 101, 102).
Claim(s) 14-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 10,645,821 B1 (Cheng) in view of US 5,702,021 A (Ito).
With respect to claim 14: Cheng discloses a cover slide & hook clip (CSHC) enclosure, for an electronic device, comprising: a first panel assembly (housing 3); and a second panel assembly (housing 2).
Cheng does not disclose “a first fastener; and wherein the first fastener is a CSHC prong hole; and wherein the CSHC prong hole is accessible from a location external to the CSHC enclosure when the CSHC enclosure is in a secured configuration; and a second fastener; wherein the second fastener is a CSHC prong; wherein the second fastener corresponds to the first fastener; wherein the first fastener is couplable with the second fastener; wherein a location inside the CSHC enclosure for at least one of the first fastener and the second fastener is obscured by the first panel assembly and the second panel assembly; wherein a coupling of the first fastener with the second fastener results in the CSHC enclosure having a secured configuration; wherein the one or more CSHC prongs is couplable with a respectively corresponding CSHC prong hole from the one or more CSHC prong holes; and wherein the CSHC enclosure is in the secured configuration when the one or more CSHC prongs are respectively coupled with the respectively corresponding CSHC prong hole” as claimed.
Ito Fig. 1A shows L-shaped projections 6c of an upper casing 6 that engage grooves 5c of a lower casing 5, to thereby restrict outward deformation of side wall 5a of the lower casing 5 (Ito col. 6).
See Cheng Fig. 2B. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Cheng’s sideboard 27 to have Ito’s L-shaped projections 6c, and to modify Cheng’s housing 3 (at the end corresponding to the sideboard 27) to include Ito’s grooves 5c, in order to restrict outward (upward) deformation of the housing 3 – similarly to Ito’s invention.
Such a modification meets a first fastener (the groove 5c added top Cheng’s housing 3); and wherein the first fastener is a CSHC prong hole (groove 5c forms a hole and receives the “prong” of projection 6c); and wherein the CSHC prong hole is accessible from a location external to the CSHC enclosure when the CSHC enclosure is in a secured configuration (when projection 6c is in groove 5c, the portion of groove 5c not blocked by bent portion 6e is accessible as claimed); and a second fastener (projection 6c); wherein the second fastener is a CSHC prong; wherein the second fastener corresponds to the first fastener (projection 6c engages groove 5c); wherein the first fastener is couplable with the second fastener (projection 6c engages groove 5c); wherein a location inside the CSHC enclosure for at least one of the first fastener and the second fastener is obscured by the first panel assembly and the second panel assembly (bent portion 6e obscures a portion of groove 5c); wherein a coupling of the first fastener with the second fastener results in the CSHC enclosure having a secured configuration (engaging projection 6c and groove 5c secures housings 2 and 3); wherein the one or more CSHC prongs is couplable with a respectively corresponding CSHC prong hole from the one or more CSHC prong holes (projection 6c engages groove 5c); and wherein the CSHC enclosure is in the secured configuration when the one or more CSHC prongs are respectively coupled with the respectively corresponding CSHC prong hole (engaging projection 6c and groove 5c secures housings 2 and 3).
With respect to claim 15: Cheng discloses wherein the first fastener is one or more CSHC hook assemblies (one or more of the hooks 34); wherein the second fastener is one or more CSHC hook cavity assemblies (one or more of the of recesses 24 and bumps 25); wherein the one or more CSHC hook assemblies is couplable with a respectively corresponding CSHC hook cavity assembly from the one or more CSHC hook cavity assemblies (hooks 18 are received in pockets 48 and couple with protrusions 50); and wherein the CSHC enclosure is in a secured configuration when the one or more CSHC hook assemblies are respectively coupled with the respectively corresponding CSHC hook cavity assembly (housings 2 and 3 are secured together by the hooks 34 and recesses 24, bumps 25).
With respect to claim 16: Cheng discloses further comprising: a second-first fastener (channel pockets 64); and a second-second fastener (tabs 62); wherein the second-first fastener is one or more CSHC prong holes (pockets 64 are holes that receive “prongs” in tabs 62); wherein the second-second fastener is one or more CSHC prongs (tabs 62); wherein the one or more CSHC prongs is couplable with a respectively corresponding CSHC prong hole from the one or more CSHC prong holes (tabs 62 couple with pockets 64); and wherein the CSHC enclosure is in a secured configuration when the one or more CSHC prongs are coupled with a respectively corresponding CSHC prong hole and the one or more CSHC hook assemblies are coupled with the respectively corresponding CSHC hook cavity assembly (covers 2 and 4 are secured by tabs 62 coupling into pockets 64, and by hooks 18 coupling pockets 48 and protrusion 50).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 08 March 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The drawing objection made in the previous Office action is withdrawn, as being overcome by the replacement drawing filed 08 March 2026.
The Applicant’s arguments against the rejections under 35 U.S.C. §§ 102 and 103 made in the previous Office action are moot, as being drawn to grounds of rejection which are no longer relied upon. The new prior art rejections made in this Office action are necessitated by the latest claim amendments.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ANDREW ROERSMA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3637