DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Drawings
The drawings were received on 18 May 2026. These drawings are accepted.
Specification
The amendments to the specification were received on 18 May 2026. These amendments to the specification are accepted.
Claim Objections
Claim 21 is objected to because of the following informalities: In line 19, the recitation “formed:” should be “formed;”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 21-25 and 31-32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a), as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
With respect to claim 21: See Applicant’s specification at [0053]-[0068]. The CFW windows 140 are not components of the CFW clip stop assemblies 130.
The claim limitation “a CFW clip stop assembly, coupled to one of the CFW first side panel and the CFW second side panel, comprising: a CFW window with a flexible grid” raises the issue of new matter and necessitates rejection under 35 U.S.C. § 112(a).
With respect to claims 22-25: The claims are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 112(a) via dependency.
With respect to claim 31: The specification never mentions prong hole 320 accepting insertion of a pointed tool from an external location to facilitate decoupling first panel assembly 316 from second panel assembly 318.
The claim limitation “wherein the prong hole is fully accessible, so as to accept insertion of a pointed tool therein, from a location external to the CSHC enclosure to facilitate a de-coupling of the first panel assembly from the second panel assembly” raises the issue of new matter and necessitates rejection under 35 U.S.C. § 112(a).
With respect to claim 32: The claims are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 112(a) via dependency.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 5,971,507 A (Peroni) in view of US 5,348,356 A (Moulton).
With respect to claim 21: Peroni discloses a cover window (CFW) enclosure (enclosure 20) comprising: a first CFW panel assembly (at least top cover 22) comprising: a CFW top panel (not numbered top panel in at least Figs. 7-8 and 10); a CFW first side panel (one of the not numbered left and right side panels in at least Figs. 2-3 and 5-8); a CFW second side panel (the other of the not numbered left and right side panels in at least Figs. 2-3 and 5-8); a CFW front panel (at least front panel 30); and a CFW clip stop assembly (at least recess 68), coupled to one of the CFW first side panel and the CFW second side panel (Figs. 2-3 and 5-8), comprising: a CFW window with a grid (openings 62, slots 68, etc. – see Figs. 5-6 for the grid configuration); a second CFW panel assembly (at least bottom cover 24) comprising: a CFW back panel (rear panel 32); a CFW bottom panel (not numbered bottom panel in at least Figs. 7-8); a CFW clip assembly (at least pawl 64), coupled to the CFW bottom panel (at least indirectly; directly by virtue of being “mounted in a cantilevered fashion” @ col. 3, line 34; cantilever definition: a projecting beam or member supported at only one end), having: a CFW clip top portion (portion including locking tooth 66); a CFW clip ridge (locking tooth 66) coupled to the CFW clip top portion; and a CFW clip bottom portion (lower portion of pawl 64) coupled to the CFW clip top portion; and wherein, when the first CFW panel assembly is mated with the second CFW panel assembly: an internal environment is formed (not numbered internal volume of enclosure 20 in at least Figs. 8 and 14): the grid, in the CFW window, facilitates air flow into the internal environment (Figs. 5-8 show the grid facilitating air flow; Col. 3, lines 29-65 describe the grid as “a louvered structure”; louver definition: an opening provided with one or more slanted fixed or movable fins to allow flow of air but to exclude rain or sun, or a finned or vaned device for controlling a flow of air or the radiation of light); the CFW clip assembly corresponds to and couples with the CFW clip stop assembly (locking tooth 66 of pawl 64 corresponds to and couples with recess 68); the CFW clip bottom portion is obscured from external view (Fig. 6, Fig. 8, and the annotated image below); and the CFW clip top portion is externally viewable through the grid of the CFW window (Fig. 6, Fig. 8, and col. 3, lines 58-65 describe locking tooth 66 “is exposed to the exterior of the enclosure”).
Peroni does not disclose the enclosure 20 meets “flex” in the claimed “cover flex window”. Peroni does not disclose the grid at the window (grid pattern formed by the openings 62) meets “flexible”, as in the claim recitation “a CFW window with a flexible grid”.
Peroni col. 2, lines 60-62 disclose the top and bottom covers 22, 24 are preferably molded of a suitable material such as ABS. Peroni’s locking tooth 66 is configured to be disengaged from the recess 68 by a “manipulating tool or any other instrument” that could be inserted into the recess 68 (col. 3, lines 51-65).
Moulton col. 3, lines 33-66 teach that standard plastic enclosure materials, such as ABS, are known for providing flexibility. It is known for the enclosure and latch elements to be molded of ABS plastic in order to have flexibility.
Moulton Figs. 3-9 show various embodiments of releasable latch structure for an enclosure. Moulton Figs. 3-9 are alternatives to the prior art configurations of Moulton Figs. 1-2, with Moulton Fig. 2 being analogous to the configuration of Peroni. The embodiments of Moulton Fig. 2 and Peroni use a tool inserted through a slot to release the latch structure.
In Moulton’s invention of Figs. 3-9, the latch structure is released by a user pressing on different portions of the enclosure. A pressure bump 36 is provided on one enclosure part or the other, to help release of the latch structure. In Figs. 3-7, bump 36 is on panel 10 with the male tang 12. In Fig. 8, the bump is reversed to panel 20, with male tang 12 remaining on panel 10. In Fig. 9, the bump 36 is on panel 10, and the tang 12 is reversed to panel 20. Moulton col. 4, lines 24-46 teach that the tang 12 can take other shapes, and the hole engaged by tang 12 can take other forms.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Peroni’s covers 22, 24 to be molded of Moulton’s ABS plastic because Peroni explicitly discloses the use of ABS material for the covers 22, 24.
Moulton shows this results in the enclosure 20 being “a cover flex window (CFW) enclosure” as claimed. Moulton shows this results in the window/grid formed by the openings 62 meets “a CFW window with a flexible grid” as claimed.
Additionally or alternatively, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Peroni’s covers 22, 24 to be molded of Moulton’s ABS plastic, and include Moulton’s bumps 36, in order to release Peroni’s pawl 64 by a user pressing on and flexing cover 22 and/or 24. This releases the pawl 64 from the recess 68 without the need for the manipulating tool or other instrument capable of insertion in recess 68. The teachings of Moulton Figs. 3-9, as alternatives to Moulton Fig. 2, make obvious releasing pawl 64 in such a manner.
Compare Peroni Figs. 5-8 and Moulton Fig. 9. These embodiments have the male latch member on the inner case, and the female latch member on the outer case. In Moulton Fig. 9, the outer case has the bump 36. A user presses the outer case to release the male latch that is on the inner case.
See Peroni Fig. 7. It is obvious to add Moulton’s bump 36 on the inner surface 72, so that a user can press on the “window” or “grid” below the recess 68 to detach the pawl 64 therefrom. The arrows in the annotated images below indicate where a user presses the “window” or “grid” to release pawl 64.
Claim(s) 22-25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 5,971,507 A (Peroni) in view of US 5,348,356 A (Moulton) as applied to claim 21 above, and further in view of US 6,375,283 B1 (Kitamura).
With respect to claim 22: Peroni discloses wherein the CFW clip stop assembly comprises: a CFW clip stop ridge (bottom wall of recess 68); wherein the CFW clip stop ridge is horizontal with a top panel of the first panel assembly (at least Peroni Fig. 7); and wherein the CFW clip ridge couples with the CFW clip stop ridge when the first panel assembly is coupled with the second panel assembly (Fig. 8: locking tooth 66 couples with recess 68).
Peroni does not disclose “a CFW clip stop wall formed perpendicular to the CFW clip stop ridge” as claimed.
Kitamura discloses pairs of ribs 12 on upper case 10. Some of the pairs of ribs 12 are on either side of a fitting nail 13, and other pairs of ribs 12 have no fitting nail 13 therebetween (Figs. 2 and 4). The ribs 12 correspond to further ribs 22 and fitting parts 23 of a lower case 20.
Kitamura col. 3, lines 19-28 teach that ribs 12, 22 provide contact between the cases 10, 20 at least in two points in the entire periphery direction thereof. Kitamura col. 4, lines 13-23 state:
Then, the first and second ribs function for making up for the mechanical strength in a mode without bend or twist according to the function the same as the above-mentioned conventional configuration. Moreover, according to the function of the third ribs 12, 22, the upper case 10 an the lower case 20 cannot be displaced with each other in the thrust direction when the upper case and the lower case are fitted. As a result, the effect of sufficiently making up for deterioration of the mechanical strength and the rigidity of the main body with respect to bend-or twist deriving from a small size of the radio device main body can be achieved.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Peroni’s top cover 22 to have Kitamura’s ribs 12 at either side of each recess 68, in order to guide Peroni’s pawl 64 into engagement with the recess 68 and/or provide mechanical strength similarly to Kitamura’s invention.
With respect to claim 23: Peroni, as modified, meets wherein the CFW clip top portion extends horizontally relative to the bottom panel of the second panel assembly and above the CFW clip bottom portion (Peroni Fig. 7: the upper and/or lower surface of locking tooth 66 extends horizontally relative to the bottom panel of cover 24 and above the bottom portion of pawl 64).
With respect to claim 24: Peroni, as modified, meets wherein when the first CFW panel assembly is coupled with the second CFW panel assembly (Peroni Figs. 6 and 8), the CFW clip bottom portion couples with the CFW clip stop wall (the ribs 12 added to Peroni’s cover 22 engage the sides of pawl 64) to form a rigid combined structure which increases structural rigidity of the CFW enclosure (the ribs 12 prevent lateral play of the pawl 64 - which is inherently structurally more rigid than pawl 64 not engaged by ribs 121, 122).
Further, Kitamura’s disclosure of the ribs making up for mechanical strength with respect to bending or twisting makes obvious “to form a rigid combined structure which increases structural rigidity of the CFW enclosure” as claimed.
With respect to claim 25: Peroni, as modified, meets a second CFW window (at the opposite side wall of the enclosure 20 as the side wall shown in Figs. 5-8); a second CFW clip assembly (pawl 64 on said opposite side); and a second CFW clip stop assembly (at least recess 68 on said opposite side); wherein the first CFW clip assembly and the second CFW clip assembly are formed with the CFW bottom panel (both are on bottom cover 24); wherein the first CFW clip stop assembly is formed with the CFW first side panel (one is on the left side, the other is on the right side); wherein the second CFW clip stop assembly is provided with the CFW second side panel (one is on the left side, the other is on the right side); wherein the CFW window corresponds with a first location on the CFW first side panel (Figs. 3 and 5-8); wherein the second CFW window corresponds with a second location on the CFW second side panel (Figs. 3 and 5-8); wherein the first location and the second location are opposingly aligned (one is on the left side, the other is on the right side); wherein, when the CFW enclosure is in the secured configuration (Figs. 6 and 8), the second CFW clip assembly is coupled with the second CFW clip stop assembly (the second pawl 64 engages the second recess 68); wherein the CFW window facilitates application of a first force on the top portion of the CFW clip assembly (pressing, similarly to Moulton Figs. 3-9), when the CFW clip assembly is coupled to the CFW clip stop assembly (when covers 22, 24 are connected); wherein the second CFW window facilitates application of a second force on a top portion of the second CFW clip assembly (pressing, similarly to Moulton Figs. 3-9) when the second CFW clip assembly is coupled to the second CFW clip stop assembly (when covers 22, 24 are connected); and wherein upon application of the first force in conjunction with the application of the second force: the CFW clip assembly is released from the CFW clip stop assembly; and the second CFW clip assembly is released from the second CFW clip stop assembly; and the first CFW panel assembly is unsecured from the second CFW panel assembly (similarly to Moulton Figs. 3-9).
Claim(s) 31-32 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DE 33 46 243 A1 (Pirner) in view of JP H11-145636 A (Hashimoto).
With respect to claim 31: Pirner discloses a cover slide & hook clip ("CSHC") enclosure, for an electronic device, comprising: a first panel assembly (first element 1) comprising: a top panel (Fig. 2: not numbered horizontal top portion of element 1), further comprising: a prong (vertical portion of element 1, extending downward from said horizontal top portion); a second panel assembly (second element 2) comprising: a bottom panel (Fig. 2: not numbered horizontal bottom portion of element 2); and a back panel, formed with and perpendicular to the bottom panel (Fig. 2: vertical wall extending upward from said horizontal bottom portion), including: a prong hole (recess 2b); wherein the prong hole is configured to receive the prong when the first panel assembly is coupled with the second panel assembly (“Abstract” and Fig. 4); wherein the prong hole is fully accessible (Figs. 2 and 4-5), so as to accept insertion of a pointed tool therein (Fig. 5; “screwdriver or the like” in the attached translation), from a location external to the CSHC enclosure to facilitate a de-coupling of the first panel assembly from the second panel assembly (Fig. 2, Figs. 4-5, and the attached translation); and wherein a coupling of the prong within the prong hole results in the CSHC enclosure having a secured configuration (Fig. 4).
Pirner does not disclose the first element 1 includes “four corner panels” as claimed, and/or that the identified top panel meets “formed with and perpendicular to the four corner panels” as claimed. Pirner does not disclose “a first side panel, formed with and perpendicular to the top panel; a second side panel, formed with and perpendicular to the top panel, and both parallel with and opposing the first side panel” as claimed.
See the annotated images below. Hashimoto shows it is known in the art for a first panel assembly (case 1) to comprise: four corner panels (three identified in the images, fourth corner panel is at the not-shown bottom left corner); a top panel, formed with and perpendicular to the four corner panels, further comprising: a prong; a first side panel (identified in the image), formed with and perpendicular to the top panel; a second side panel (not shown panel opposite the “side panel” identified in the image), formed with and perpendicular to the top panel, and both parallel with and opposing the first side panel.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Pirner’s first element 1 to have: four corner panels; a top panel, formed with and perpendicular to the four corner panels, further comprising: a prong; a first side panel, formed with and perpendicular to the top panel; a second side panel, formed with and perpendicular to the top panel, and both parallel with and opposing the first side panel, because Hashimoto shows that is a known configuration of the remainder of an apparatus like the one disclosed by Pirner’s specification but not shown completely in the figures.
With respect to claim 32: Hashimoto’s case 1 has two projections 1a. In the modification, it is obvious for Pirner’s first element 1 to have a second of the latching structures shown in Pirner Fig. 2.
The second set of the latching structures meets further comprising: a CSHC hook assembly (parts 1a, 1b in Pirner Fig. 2); and a CSHC hook cavity assembly (parts 2a, 2b, 2, 3a, 3b in Pirner Fig. 2); wherein the CSHC hook assembly is couplable with the CSHC hook cavity assembly (as in Pirner Fig. 4); and wherein the CSHC enclosure is in a secured configuration when the CSHC hook assembly is coupled with the CSHC hook cavity assembly (as in Pirner Fig. 4).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 26-30 are allowed.
Response to Arguments
The claim objections and claim rejections under 35 U.S.C. § 112(a) and 35 U.S.C. § 112(b) made in the previous Office action are withdrawn, as being overcome by the latest amendments. The latest claim amendments necessitate the new claim objection and claim rejections under 35 U.S.C. § 112(a) made in this Office action.
The Applicant’s remarks related to the prior art rejections in the previous Office action and new claims 21-25 and 31-32 are moot, as different combinations of prior art are used to reject those claims.
The Applicant’s remarks related to rejections of claims 26-30 are moot, as those claims are allowed.
Conclusion
/ANDREW ROERSMA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3637