DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment made dated 11/10/2025 does not contain any new matter, and has been accepted.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, 8 and 14 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Applicant argues that none of the cited references disclose the newly amended independent claims 1, 8 and 14.
Examiner would like to introduce a newly cited reference of Kunz et al., which does disclose the newly amended claims.
For example, Kunz in combination with Klatt does disclose said limitations of
transmitting a registration request associated with the MCC information to the network device ([0057]-[0058]: responding to the registration request from the UE 402 that includes encrypted SUPI, which includes MCC); and
receiving from the network device a registration reject with the MCC information plus a reject cause ([0057]-[0058], [0071]-[0072]: AMF rejecting the registration request having a non-supported SUPI/MCC which includes SUPI information),
wherein the MCC information is associated by the UE with the registration reject ([0057]-[0058], [0071]-[0072]: AMF rejecting the registration request having a non-supported SUPI/MCC which includes the SUPI information).
It would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art at the time of invention to incorporate Kunz’s disclosure to provide proper authentication to UE to provide communication services.
Therefore, due to the broadness of the claims language, the claims are still not yet in condition for allowance, and are rejected as shown below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 8-10, and 14-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Klatt et al. (US 9,344,959; hereinafter Klatt) in view of Kunz et al. (US 2020/0344678; hereinafter Kunz).
Regarding claims 1, 8 and 14, Klatt discloses a wireless communication method by a user equipment (UE), comprising:
being configured with a mobile country code (MCC) information from a network device (Col 1, lines 53-63: UE containing a preferred PLMN list within the USIM; Col 7, lines 39-49: the UE contains the PLMN identity which equates to the MCC + MNC); and
retaining the MCC information even if the UE moves out of a country or a region where the MCC information is provided (Col 2, lines 38-59: wherein the PLMN information, which contains the MCC information, is retained through UE border crossings to provide continuous service with preferred PLMNs);
Klatt is unclear about the limitations of
transmitting a registration request associated with the MCC information to the network device; and
receiving from the network device a registration reject with the MCC information plus a reject cause,
wherein the MCC information is associated by the UE with the registration reject.
However, Kunz in combination does disclose said limitations of
transmitting a registration request associated with the MCC information to the network device ([0057]-[0058]: responding to the registration request from the UE 402 that includes encrypted SUPI, which includes MCC); and
receiving from the network device a registration reject with the MCC information plus a reject cause ([0057]-[0058], [0071]-[0072]: AMF rejecting the registration request having a non-supported SUPI/MCC which includes SUPI information),
wherein the MCC information is associated by the UE with the registration reject ([0057]-[0058], [0071]-[0072]: AMF rejecting the registration request having a non-supported SUPI/MCC which includes the SUPI information).
It would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art at the time of invention to incorporate Kunz’s disclosure to provide proper authentication to UE to provide communication services.
Regarding claims 2 and 15, Klatt discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the MCC information comprises a list of MCCs or a location of the list of MCCs (Col 5, lines 1-5: list of PLMNs).
Regarding claims 3, 9 and 16, Klatt discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising performing a public land mobile network (PLMN) selection using the MCC information retained by the UE, wherein the PLMN selection comprises an automatic PLMN selection (Col 5, lines 1-7: automatic PLMN selection mode).
Regarding claims 4, 10 and 17, Klatt discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the UE comprises a mobile equipment (ME) and a universal subscriber identity module (USIM), and the MCC information is retained in the ME, the USIM, or the ME and the USIM (Col 1, lines 53-63: UE containing a preferred PLMN list within the USIM).
Claim(s) 5, 11, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Klatt in view of Kunz in further view of Catovic et al. (US 2018/0020417; hereinafter Catovic).
Regarding claims 5, 11 and 18 Klatt in view of Kunz discloses all the particulars of the claims except further comprising deleting the MCC information when the USIM is changed.
However, Catovic does disclose the limitation of deleting the MCC information when the USIM is changed ([0078]: deleting PLMNs when removing/changing SIM/USIM).
It would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art at the time of invention to incorporate Catovi’s disclosure to provide up to date PLMNs for connectivity.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CHUCK HUYNH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2644