DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to the original filing of 6-19-2023. Claims 1-20 are pending and have been considered below:
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 8 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over “Review of second-order optimization technique in artificial neural network backpropagation” Tan et al. “Tan” 2019, Pages 1-8 in view of Haidar et al. (“Haidar” 20200134415 A1).
Claim 1: Tan discloses a method comprising: determining, to a second-order accuracy (Section 1, page 2), an approximation of a gradient of a parameter (Section 1, page 2 “The Hessian-free method was then proposed as an alternative second-order optimization technique with the help of conjugate gradient algorithm.” And Table 1: Hessian-free)
adjusting the parameter based on the approximation of the gradient resulting in an adjusted parameter; and operating the NN using the adjusted parameter (Section 3; fine tuning of parameter).
It is generally understood that a Deep neural network as found in Tan (Figure 1) would have a latent space. However to more clearly capture a discrete latent variable of a neural network (NN), Haidar is disclosed. Haidar provides a Deep neural network (GAN) which provides a latent representation from the network (Paragraph 29).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to use a known technique to improve a similar device and provide clear latent expressions utilizing the DNN of Tan. One would have been motivated to provide the functionality for improved dimensionality, for finding hidden characteristics.
Claims 8 and 17 are similar in scope to claim 1 and therefore rejected under the same rationale.
Claim 8 non-transitory machine readable medium (Haidar: Paragraphs 50 and 68)
Claim 17 memory and processor (Haidar: Paragraphs 50 and 68)
Claims 2-3, 5-7, 9-11, 14-16 and 18-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over “Review of second-order optimization technique in artificial neural network backpropagation” Tan et al. “Tan” 2019, Pages 1-8 in view of Haidar et al. (“Haidar” 20200134415 A1) in further view of Ye at al. (“Ye” 20230259779 A1).
Claim 2: Tan and Haidar disclose a method of claim 1, wherein determining the approximation of the gradient includes: sampling a one hot encoding of output of the NN resulting in a sample (Haidar: Paragraph 45; one-hot representations); however may not explicitly disclose computing a first combination of the sample and a tempered probability distribution of outcomes for the output of the NN; computing a second probability distribution of outcomes based on the tempered probability distribution and the output of the NN; computing a second combination of the probability distribution of outcomes and the second probability distribution of outcomes resulting in a third probability distribution of outcomes; altering a value of the sample based on the third probability distribution of outcomes resulting in an altered value; and
wherein adjusting the parameter is based on the altered value.
Ye discloses a samples from a one-hot feature (Paragraph 83), further Ye discloses a continuous gumbel-softmax distribution (Paragraph 79) and further provides reparameterization for a distribution (Paragraph 81). Hence the system provides multiple distributions where the values are altered (using continuous Gumbel-Softmax distribution). Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to use a known technique to improve a similar device and provide the continuous Gumbel-Softmax for multiple distributions in the modified Tan. One would have been motivated to provide the functionality for improved sampling and enhanced analysis for optimization.
Claim 3: Tan, Haidar and Ye disclose a method of claim 2, wherein determining the approximation of the gradient further comprises: determining a first probability distribution of outcomes based on output of the NN; and determining, based on the first probability distribution of outcomes, a one hot encoding (Ye: Paragraph 83; probability distribution).
Claim 5: Tan, Haidar and Ye disclose a method of claim 2, wherein the second combination is a weighted difference between the probability distribution of outcomes and the second probability distribution of outcomes (Ye: Paragraph 79; the continuous distribution would provide differences).
Claim 6: Tan, Haidar and Ye disclose a method of claim 2, wherein a temperature of the tempered probability distribution is greater than, or equal to, one (Ye: Paragraph 83; non-zero temperature can be greater than 1) could be greater than 1.
Claim 7: Tan, Haidar and Ye disclose a method of claim 2, wherein the operations are constrained to a baseline subtraction that is set to an expected value of the sample (Ye: Paragraph 124; default weightings used to differentiate the loss (subtraction)).
Claims 9-10 and 18-19 similar in scope to claim 2 and therefore rejected under the same rationale.
Claims 11 and 20 are similar in scope to claim 3 and therefore rejected under the same rationale.
Claim 14 is similar in scope to claim 5 and therefore rejected under the same rationale.
Claim 15 is similar in scope to claim 6 and therefore rejected under the same rationale.
Claim 16 is similar in scope to claim 7 and therefore rejected under the same rationale.
Claims 4 and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over “Review of second-order optimization technique in artificial neural network backpropagation” Tan et al. “Tan” 2019, Pages 1-8, Haidar et al. (“Haidar” 20200134415 A1) and Ye at al. (“Ye” 20230259779 A1) in further view of “Average-tempered stable subordinate with applications”, “Xia”, abstract 6-16-2021.
Claim 4: Tan, Haidar and Ye disclose a method of claim 2, but may not explicitly disclose wherein the first combination is an average. Xia as provided discloses tempered distributions with an averaging process (abstract).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to use a known technique to improve a similar device and provide averaged distributions in the modified Tan. One would have been motivated to provide the averaging functionality for improved representation and normalized analysis.
Claim 13 is similar in scope to claim 4 and therefore rejected under the same rationale.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
20200394559 A1 ZHANG ET AL. ABSTRACT
/SHERROD L KEATON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2148
1-28-2026