DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s amendment, received 17 November 2025, is reviewed and entered. This Office Action is a non-final rejection.
Status of Claims
Amended
1, 3, 5-6, 8, 17-18, 20
Withdrawn
19
Canceled
9, 14, 16
Pending
1-8, 10-13, 15, 17-20
Presented for Examination
1-8, 10-13, 15, 17-18, and 20
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 17 November 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Drawing Objections
Overcome by the claim amendments.
101 Rejections
Overcome by the claim amendments.
112(b) Rejections
Overcome by the amendments.
102 Rejections
Overcome by the amendments.
103 Rejections
Applicant’s arguments are drawn to newly amended subject matter and are addressed in the rejection below.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of invention I, claims 1-18 and 20, drawn to a combination constriction clasp and constriction anchor, in the reply filed on 08 October 2024 is acknowledged.
The requirement is made FINAL.
Claim Objections
Claim 18 is objected to because of the following informalities: insert –the—after “wherein” for proper antecedent basis. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-8, 10-12, 15, 17-18, 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over White (US 0183354 A) in view of www.gs-jj.com/blog/something-about-accessories-of-lanyards-you-should-know/ (see NPL U on the attached 892), hereinafter, “Lanyards.”
As to claim 1, White discloses a supplemental apparel constriction anchor system (“safety-pin,” title) suitable for customized constriction of an article of apparel having two sides that overlap for closure of the article of apparel on a user (capable of being used for customized constriction, intended to be used for customized constriction of shawls as disclosed in col 1), the system comprising:
a constriction clasp (see annotated FIG 1 below) comprising a reversible locking component selected from an elastic loop (combination of C, GC, and S in FIG 1, where at least S is a loop, see modification below regarding “elastic”) fixed to an expansion head of a fabric insertion shaft (see annotated FIG 1 below) designed to penetrate through a fabric material of the article of apparel until reaching the expansion head (capable of penetrating, see A FIG 2), wherein the fabric insertion shaft is constructed to interlock with a first backing component that holds the fabric insertion shaft in place within the fabric material between the expansion head and the first backing component (capable of interlocking); and
a constriction anchor comprising an anchor head flange fixed to a second fabric insertion shaft (see annotated FIG 1 below) designed to penetrate through the fabric material of the article of apparel until reaching the anchor head flange (capable of penetrating, see A FIG 2), wherein the second fabric insertion shaft is constructed to interlock with a second backing component that holds the second fabric insertion shaft in place within the fabric material between the anchor head flange and the second backing component (capable of interlocking), and
wherein the anchor head flange is of sufficient size to reversibly retain the reversible locking component in a locked position such that the reversible locking component may be repeatably placed in the locked position or in an unlocked position (capable of reversibly retaining, capable of being repeatably placed; Applicant is reminded that there is no claimed structure for the locked or unlocked position; therefore, Examiner is interpreting the locked position as one where S is clipped or hooked to one of the pins P as shown in FIG 2 and the unlocked position as one where S is free as shown in FIG 1; S is capable of and intended to be locked and unlocked from P),
wherein one of the constriction clasp or constriction anchor may be positioned on a closure edge of an overlapping side of the article of apparel and the other of the constriction clasp or constriction anchor may be positioned on an underlapped side of the article of apparel to allow customized constriction of the article of apparel by selection of an underlapped side position in relation to a reach of a position of the constriction clasp or constriction anchor on the overlapping side (capable of being positioned), to reversibly couple the constriction clasp and constriction anchor in the locked position for customized constriction of the article of apparel (capable of reversibly coupling).
White does not disclose the loop of the reversible locking component is elastic. White is silent as to the material of the loop such that it can be determined whether or not is elastic. However, the loop disclosed by White is a known structure, and is known to be manufactured in plastic or metal, both of which have at least some degree of elasticity.
Lanyards teaches snap hooks such as White’s in metal and plastic (e.g., page 2 teaches “metal or plastic J-Hook attachments” and page 3 shows Lanyard’s J-hook has a similar structure to White’s snap hook).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to provide White’s loop to be a plastic, which would obviously result in the loop being elastic since plastic has at least some degree of elasticity, since it is within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. See MPEP 2144.07.
Furthermore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to provide White’s loop to be a plastic, which would obviously result in the loop being elastic since plastic has at least some degree of elasticity, for the purpose of providing a hook that has the desired degree of strength and durability while being light in weight so as not to unnecessarily weigh down the garment to which it is attached.
As to claim 2, White does not disclose the supplemental apparel constriction anchor system of claim 1 further comprising a second constriction clasp and a second constriction anchor, wherein the second constriction clasp and the second constriction anchor may be positioned so that an exterior of a closure edge of the underlapped side of the article of apparel couples with an interior of the overlapping side, to allow customized constriction of the article of apparel by selection of an overlapping side position in relation to a second reach of a second position of the second constriction clasp or second constriction anchor on the underlapped side, to reversibly couple the second constriction clasp and second constriction anchor in a second locked position for customized constriction of the article of apparel, wherein
the second constriction clasp comprises a second reversible locking component fixed to a second expansion head of a third fabric insertion shaft designed to penetrate through the fabric material of the article of apparel until reaching the second expansion head, wherein the third fabric insertion shaft is constructed to interlock with a third backing component that holds the third fabric insertion shaft in place within the fabric material between the second expansion head and the third backing component; and
the second constriction anchor comprising a second anchor head flange fixed to a fourth fabric insertion shaft designed to penetrate through the fabric material of the article of apparel until reaching the second anchor head flange, wherein the fourth fabric insertion shaft is constructed to interlock with a fourth backing component that holds the fourth fabric insertion shaft in place within the fabric material between the second anchor head flange and the fourth backing component, and wherein the second anchor head flange is of sufficient size to reversibly retain the second reversible locking component in the second locked position.
One of ordinary skill would recognize that duplicating White’s pin would result in the invention of claim 2, and would have the obvious benefits of allowing a garment to be secured in two places, allowing a heavy garment to be fastened more securely than with one pin, for two garments to be secured, or to provide an additional pin in order to achieve the desired aesthetics.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to duplicate the pin to achieve a second constriction clasp, anchor, locking component, expansion head, anchor head flange, and third insertion shaft and fourth insertion shaft, since mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. See MPEP 2144.04 (VI)(B).
Furthermore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to duplicate the pin to achieve a second constriction clasp, anchor, locking component, expansion head, anchor head flange, and third insertion shaft and fourth insertion shaft, for the purpose of allowing a garment to be secured in two places, allowing a heavy garment to be fastened more securely than with one pin, for two garments to be secured, or to provide an additional pin in order to achieve the desired aesthetics.
As to claim 3, White as modified discloses the supplemental apparel constriction anchor system of claim 2, wherein the second anchor head flange or second expansion head is adapted to be positioned on the interior of the overlapping side of the article of apparel and adapted to face inward toward the user (capable of being positioned).
As to claim 4, White does not disclose the supplemental apparel constriction anchor system of claim 1 further comprising a second constriction clasp and a second constriction anchor, wherein the second constriction clasp and the second constriction anchor may be positioned so that an exterior of a closure edge of the underlapped side of the article of apparel couples with an interior of the overlapping side, to allow customized constriction of the article of apparel by selection of an overlapping side position in relation to a second reach of a second position of the second constriction clasp or second constriction anchor on the underlapped side, to reversibly couple the second constriction clasp and second constriction anchor in a second locked position for customized constriction of the article of apparel, wherein
the second constriction clasp comprises a second expansion head of a third fabric insertion shaft designed to penetrate through the fabric material of the article of apparel until reaching the second expansion head, wherein the third fabric insertion shaft is constructed to interlock with a third backing component fixed to a second reversible locking component, wherein the third backing component holds the third fabric insertion shaft in place within the fabric material >between the second expansion head and the third backing component; and
the second constriction anchor comprising a second anchor head flange fixed to a fourth fabric insertion shaft designed to penetrate through the fabric material of the article of apparel until reaching the second anchor head flange, wherein the fourth fabric insertion shaft is constructed to interlock with a fourth >backing component that holds the fourth fabric insertion shaft in place within the fabric material between the second anchor head flange and the fourth backing :component, and wherein the second anchor head flange is of sufficient size to -reversibly retain the second reversible locking component in the second locked position.
One of ordinary skill would recognize that duplicating White’s pin would result in the invention of claim 4, and would have the obvious benefits of allowing a garment to be secured in two places, allowing a heavy garment to be fastened more securely than with one pin, for two garments to be secured, or to provide an additional pin in order to achieve the desired aesthetics.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to duplicate the pin to achieve a second constriction clasp, anchor, locking component, expansion head, anchor head flange, and third insertion shaft and fourth insertion shaft, since mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. See MPEP 2144.04 (VI)(B).
Furthermore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to duplicate the pin to achieve a second constriction clasp, anchor, locking component, expansion head, anchor head flange, and third insertion shaft and fourth insertion shaft, for the purpose of allowing a garment to be secured in two places, allowing a heavy garment to be fastened more securely than with one pin, for two garments to be secured, or to provide an additional pin in order to achieve the desired aesthetics.
As to claim 5, White discloses the supplemental apparel constriction anchor system of claim 1, wherein the anchor head flange or expansion head is adapted to be positioned on the underlapped side of the article of apparel and adapted to be positioned at a hip area of the user (capable of being positioned).
As to claim 6, White discloses the supplemental apparel constriction anchor system of claim 1, wherein the second anchor head flange or second expansion head is adapted to be positioned on an interior of the overlapping side of the article of apparel and adapted to be positioned at a hip area of the user (capable of being positioned).
As to claim 7, White discloses the supplemental apparel constriction anchor system of claim 1, wherein the locking component is a circular clasp (FIG 1, at least S of C is a circular clasp).
As to claim 8, White does not disclose the supplemental apparel constriction anchor system of claim 7, wherein the circular clasp is about 2.5 inches in diameter.
The present invention is drawn to a pin for apparel such as a robe and White discloses a pin for apparel such as a shawl. One of ordinary skill would expect pins for apparel and their component parts to be within a certain range of sizes, as human wearers and therefore their apparel is within a certain range of sizes.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to provide the circular clasp with a diameter of “about 2.5 inches”, since discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. See MPEP 2144.
Furthermore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to provide the circular clasp with a diameter of “about 2.5 inches” in order to provide a clasp that is large enough to secure the pin to the apparel item without being big enough to interfere with the wearer’s movement and comfort.
As to claim 10, White does not disclose the supplemental apparel constriction anchor system of claim 9, wherein the elastic loop thickness ranges from about 2mm to about 8mm.
The present invention is drawn to a pin for apparel such as a robe and White discloses a pin for apparel such as a shawl. One of ordinary skill would expect pins for apparel and their component parts to be within a certain range of sizes, as human wearers and therefore their apparel is within a certain range of sizes.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to provide “the elastic loop thickness ranges from about 2mm to about 8mm”, since discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. See MPEP 2144.
Furthermore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to provide “the elastic loop thickness ranges from about 2mm to about 8mm” in order to provide a loop that is sturdy enough to secure the pin to the apparel item without being big enough to interfere with the wearer’s movement and comfort.
As to claim 11, White discloses the supplemental apparel constriction anchor system of claim 1, wherein the fabric insertion shaft length may be selected from a range of about 0.25 inches to about 1.25 inches (capable of being selected).
As to claim 12, White discloses the supplemental apparel constriction anchor system of claim 1, wherein the fabric insertion shaft is a straight shaft (FIG 1).
As to claim 15, White discloses the supplemental apparel constriction anchor system of claim 1, wherein the expansion head is a rounded ball shape (FIG 1).
As to claim 17, White discloses the supplemental apparel constriction anchor system of claim 1, wherein the backing component interlocking with the corresponding fabric insertion shaft is a clamping design (capable of being a clamping design, Applicant is reminded claim 1 sets forth the backing component as a functional recitation that is not a structural requirement of the claim).
As to claim 18, White discloses the supplemental apparel constriction anchor system of claim 1, wherein supplemental apparel constriction anchor system is suitable for customized constriction of a robe (capable of being for customized constriction of a robe).
As to claim 20, as best understood, White discloses a constriction anchor system kit comprising:
a constriction clasp (see annotated FIG 1 below); and
a constriction anchor (see annotated FIG 1 below);
wherein the constriction clasp and the constriction anchor may be positioned so that an exterior of a closure edge of an underlapped side of an article of apparel couples with an interior of an overlapping side, to allow customized constriction of the article of apparel by selection of an overlapping side position in relation to a reach of a position of the constriction clasp or constriction anchor on the underlapped side, to reversibly couple the constriction clasp and constriction anchor in a locked position for customized constriction of the article of apparel (capable of being positioned), wherein
the constriction clasp comprises a reversible locking component selected from an elastic loop (combination of C, GC, and S in FIG 1, where at least S is a loop, see modification below regarding “elastic”) fixed to an expansion head of a first fabric insertion shaft (see annotated FIG 1 below) designed to penetrate through a fabric material of the article of apparel until reaching the expansion head (capable of penetrating, see A FIG 2), wherein the first fabric insertion shaft is constructed to interlock with a first backing component that holds the first fabric insertion shaft in place within the fabric material between the expansion head and the first backing component (capable of interlocking); and
the constriction anchor comprising an anchor head flange fixed to a second fabric insertion (see annotated FIG 1 below) shaft designed to penetrate through the fabric material of the article of apparel until reaching the anchor head flange (capable of penetrating, see A FIG 2), wherein the second fabric insertion shaft is constructed to interlock with a second backing component that holds the second fabric insertion shaft in place within the fabric material between the anchor head flange and the second backing component (capable of interlocking), and wherein the anchor head flange is of sufficient size to reversibly retain the reversible locking component in the locked position such that the reversible locking component may be repeatably placed in the locked position or in an unlocked position (capable of reversibly retaining, capable of being repeatably placed; Applicant is reminded that there is no claimed structure for the locked or unlocked position; therefore, Examiner is interpreting the locked position as one where S is clipped or hooked to one of the pins P as shown in FIG 2 and the unlocked position as one where S is free as shown in FIG 1; S is capable of and intended to be locked and unlocked from P).
White does not disclose the loop of the reversible locking component is elastic. White is silent as to the material of the loop such that it can be determined whether or not is elastic. However, the loop disclosed by White is a known structure, and is known to be manufactured in plastic or metal, both of which have at least some degree of elasticity.
Lanyards teaches snap hooks such as White’s in metal and plastic (e.g., page 2 teaches “metal or plastic J-Hook attachments” and page 3 shows Lanyard’s J-hook has a similar structure to White’s snap hook).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to provide White’s loop to be a plastic, which would obviously result in the loop being elastic since plastic has at least some degree of elasticity, since it is within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. See MPEP 2144.07.
Furthermore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to provide White’s loop to be a plastic, which would obviously result in the loop being elastic since plastic has at least some degree of elasticity, for the purpose of providing a hook that has the desired degree of strength and durability while being light in weight so as not to unnecessarily weigh down the garment to which it is attached.
Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over White (US 0183354 A) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Roberts (US 4123824 A).
As to claim 13, White does not disclose the supplemental apparel constriction anchor system of claim 1, wherein the anchor head flange is disc shaped.
Roberts teaches a similar pin including the anchor head flange (10) is disc shaped.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to provide the anchor head flange to be disc shaped in order to achieve the desired aesthetics.
Conclusion
SALLY HADEN
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3732
/SALLY HADEN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3732