DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 1 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 1, “a coupling member including a top portion and a single clamp support portion, the top portion having a first end, a second end opposite the first end, and a top surface, the clamp support portion being positioned off center along an elongated direction of the top portion, closer to the second end of the top portion, and extending from the top portion at substantially a right angle” are unclear. This limitation lack antecedent basis. Further clarification is required. In addition, the number of “single clamp support portion” and “clamp support portion” in the claim are unclear.
In claim 9, “a coupling member including an electronic device support portion and a single clamp support portion, the clamp support portion being positioned off center along an elongated direction of the electronic device support portion, closer to one end of the electronic device support portion, and extending from the electronic device support portion at substantially a right angle” are unclear. This limitation lack antecedent basis. Further clarification is required. In addition, the numbers of “single clamp support portion” and “clamp support portion” in the claim are unclear.
In claim 17, “a coupling member including an electronic device support portion and a single clamp support portion, the clamp support portion being positioned off center along an elongated direction of the electronic device support portion, closer to one end of the electronic device support portion, and extending from the electronic device support portion at substantially a right angle”, “the clamp support portion further defining a channel along a length thereof” are unclear. This limitation lack antecedent basis. Further clarification is required. In addition, the numbers of “single clamp support portion” and “clamp support portion” in the claim are unclear.
In claim 21, “a coupling member including an electronic device support portion and a single clamp support portion, the clamp support portion being positioned off center along an elongated direction of the electronic device support portion, closer to one end of the electronic device support portion, and extending from the electronic device support portion at substantially a right angle” are unclear. This limitation lack antecedent basis. Further clarification is required. In addition, the numbers of “single clamp support portion” and “clamp support portion” in the claim are unclear.
If applicant can’t clearly clarify the above objections (on the drawing), a 112 rejection may apply in the next office action.
The Examiner respectfully requests that the Applicant(s) review all claims for any such similar issues.
Appropriate correction is required.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, all the limitations, rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph, and/or the claim objections (see above objections) must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 9-11, 14, 17-18, 7, 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choi (KR 2185333) in view of Cross (US 20180238359), CHAMBERLAIN (US 20200240620), further in view of Magagna (US 20190383431)
Regarding claim 1, Choi disclosed An apparatus for mounting an electronic device to a support structure, (abstract; fig 1) the apparatus comprising: a coupling member including a top portion and a single clamp support portion (at least fig 1; Examiner consider one side, or one corner, of the structure where the device mounting is the top portion; the clamp support portion is on the top side; the following 103 modifications are also based on this single clamp support portion), the top portion having a first end, a second end opposite the first end and a top surface (at least fig 1, a coupling member, coupled to the device, having a top portion having a first end and a second end and a top surface as shown in fig 1; as discussed above, Examiner only consider one corner or one side of the structure is the top portion with top surface; the structure can be rotated in a 3-D dimension), the clamp support portion (Fig 1, the clamp support portion connected to the clamps) being positioned off center along an elongated direction of the top portion, closer to the second end of the top portion (at least fig 1, Examiner consider the clamp support portion being positioned off center along an elongated direction of the top portion, closer to the second end of the top portion; i.e. the top end) and extending from the top portion at substantially a right angle (at least fig 1, the right angle with the top surface) with respect to the top portion).
Examiner’s note: The following figures are Applicant’s annotated figure based on cited art, remark filed on 1/11/26, compared to Applicant’s structure:
Choi lacks teaching (at a whole structure): a clamp member including a base, a first clamp portion, and a second clamp portion, the base being slidably coupled to the clamp support portion of the coupling member, the first clamp portion having a first end that is fixed to the base (at least fig 1, the first end fixed to the base) and a second end that is closer to the top portion of the coupling member than is the first end of the first clamp portion, the second clamp portion having a first end that is coupled to the first end of the first clamp portion at a hinge, wherein the first clamp portion is positioned below the top portion of the coupling member and has a semi-circular inner face between the first and second ends of the first clamp portion, wherein the second clamp portion is movable about the hinge between an open position and a closed position, wherein the second clamp portion has a semi-circular inner face between the first and second ends of the second clamp portion, and wherein when the second clamp portion is in the closed position, the inner face of the first clamp portion is positioned opposite the inner face of the second clamp portion, the second clamp portion is positioned below the top portion of the coupling member, and a second end of the second clamp portion is positioned against the second end of the first clamp portion; and a latch member having a first end anchored at a hinge joint, the hinge joint being positioned at the second end of the first clamp portion, wherein the latch member is movable about the hinge joint between an unlatched position and a latched position, and being configured to latch the second end of the second clamp portion against the second end of the first clamp portion.
Cross teaches: a clamp member (abstract; fig 1-9) including a base (at least fig 9, the portion with a flat base, Examiner consider as a base), a first clamp portion, and a second clamp portion (at least fig 1, the first and second clamp portions formed a circular shape), the first clamp portion having a first end that is fixed to the base and a second end (at least figs 5, fig 9, the first end fixed to the base and a second end), the second clamp portion having a first end that is coupled to the first end of the first clamp portion at a hinge (at least fig 5, fig 9, clamp portion having a first end that is connected to the first end of the first clamp portion at a hinge), wherein the first clamp portion has a semi-circular inner face between the first and second ends of the first clamp portion (at least fig 5, fig 9), wherein the second clamp portion is movable about the hinge between an open position and a closed position (at least fig 5, fig 9), wherein the second clamp portion has a semi-circular inner face between the first and second ends of the second clamp portion (at least fig 5, fig 9; the second clamp portion has a semi-circular inner face), and wherein when the second clamp portion is in the closed position, the inner face of the first clamp portion is positioned opposite the inner face of the second clamp portion (at least fig 5, fig 9), and a second end of the second clamp portion is positioned against the second end of the first clamp portion (at least fig 5, fig 9).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, or at the time of the invention was made, to include this feature (clamp member with base, clamp portions, hinge etc. as discussed above) and modify to previous discussed structure (modified the base portion and attached to the Choi’s clamp support portion, by using the screw and engagement pieces) so as to have (Choi in view of Cross): a clamp member (abstract; fig 1-9) having a base (at least fig 9, the portion with a flat base, Examiner consider as a base), a first clamp portion, and a second clamp portion (at least fig 1, the first and second clamp portions formed a circular shape), the first clamp portion having a first end that is fixed to the base and a second end (at least figs 5, fig 9, the first end fixed to the base and a second end) that is closer to the top portion of the coupling member than is the first end of the first clamp portion (Examiner’s note: after modification, the 1st end is on the other side of the base compare to the 2nd end; the top portions with mounting structure, as discussed above, is only on one side of the structure which is also on the opposite side of the base compare to the first end), the second clamp portion having a first end that is coupled to the first end of the first clamp portion at a hinge (at least fig 5, fig 9, clamp portion having a first end that is connected to the first end of the first clamp portion at a hinge), wherein the first clamp portion is positioned below the top portion of the coupling member (as discussed above, the structure can be rotated in a 3-D dimension) and has a semi-circular inner face between the first and second ends of the first clamp portion (at least fig 5, fig 9), wherein the second clamp portion is movable about the hinge between an open position and a closed position (at least fig 5, fig 9, the second clamp portion is movable about the hinge), wherein the second clamp portion has a semi-circular inner face between the first and second ends of the second clamp portion (at least fig 5, fig 9; the second clamp portion has a semi-circular inner face), and wherein when the second clamp portion is in the closed position, the inner face of the first clamp portion is positioned opposite the inner face of the second clamp portion (at least fig 5, fig 9), the second clamp portion is positioned below the top portion of the coupling member (as discussed above, the structure can be rotated in a 3-D dimension), and a second end of the second clamp portion is positioned against the second end of the first clamp portion (at least fig 5, fig 9).
The motivation to modify the previous discussed structure with the current feature (clamp member as discussed above) is to further simplify the assembly process and/or secure the device.
Choi in view of Cross lacks teaching: the base being slidably coupled to the clamp support portion of the coupling member;
and a latch member having a first end anchored at a hinge joint the hinge joint being at the second end of the first clamp portion, wherein the latch member is movable about the hinge joint between an unlatched position and a latched position, and being configured to latch the second end of the second clamp portion against the second end of the first clamp portion.
CHAMBERLAIN teaches : the clamp support portion defines a vertical channel along a length thereof (at least fig 1, see also fig 3-6; paragraph [25]-[29]), and wherein the base of the clamp member includes an interlocking extension that fits into the channel (at least fig 1, see also fig 3-6; paragraph [25]-[29]), the apparatus further comprising: one or more threaded fasteners (at least fig 1, see also fig 3-6; paragraph [25]-[29]) passing through the channel and into the base from an opposite side of the clamp support portion to secure the base to the clamp support portion (at least fig 1, see also fig 3-6; paragraph [25]-[29]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention was made to include this feature (support portion with channel, interlocking structure, fasteners) and modify to previous discussed structure (modified to previous modified Choi’s base structure with associated channel, interlocking structure as discussed) so as to further adjust the location of the modified structure and/or to fit different size of the devices.
Choi in view of Cross and CHAMBERLAIN lacks teaching: a latch member having a first end anchored at a hinge joint the hinge joint being positioned at the second end of the first clamp portion, wherein the latch member is being movable about the hinge joint between an unlatched position and a latched position, and being configured to latch the second end of the second clamp portion against the second end of the first clamp portion.
Magagna teaches a latch member (at least fig 3-17) having a first end anchored at a hinge joint the hinge joint being positioned at the second end of the first clamp portion (at least fig 3-17, a first end anchored at a hinge joint at the second end of the first clamp portion), wherein the latch member is being movable about the hinge joint between an unlatched position and a latched position (compare fig 16, fig 6-8), and being configured to latch the second end of the second clamp portion against the second end of the first clamp portion (compare fig 16, fig 6-8).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, or at the time of the invention was made, to include this feature (the latch member with anchored at a hinge joint as discussed above) and modify to previous discussed structure (modified to the first and second clamp portions) so as to further secure the modified structure.
Regarding claim 9, Choi further disclosed An apparatus for mounting an electronic device to a support structure, the apparatus (abstract; fig 1) comprising: a coupling member including an electronic device support portion and a single clamp support portion (at least fig 1; Examiner consider one side, or one corner, of the structure where the device mounting is the top portion; the clamp support portion is on the top side; the following 103 modifications are also based on this single clamp support portion), the clamp support portion being positioned off center along an elongated direction of the electronic device support portion , closer to one end of the electronic device support portion (at least fig 1, Examiner consider the clamp support portion being positioned off center along an elongated direction of the top portion, closer to the second end of the top portion; i.e. the top end) and, extending from the electronic device support portion at substantially a right angle (Fig 1, the clamp support portion extending from one end of the electronic device support portion at substantially a right angle; Examiner consider, at least, the structure extending toward the pole is substantially a right angle with respect to the electronic device support portion).
Examiner’s note: The above figures are Applicant’s annotated figure based on cited art, remark filed on 1/11/26, compared to Applicant’s structure.
Choi lacks teaching (as a whole structure): a clamp member including a base, a first clamp portion, a second clamp portion, and a hinge, the base being slidably coupled to the clamp support portion of the coupling member, the first clamp portion being attached to the base and positioned below the electronic device support portion of the coupling member, the hinge pivotally coupling a first end of the second clamp portion to a first end of the first clamp portion such that the second clamp portion is movable about the hinge between an open position and a closed position, wherein when the second clamp portion is in the closed position, the second clamp portion is positioned below the electronic device support portion of the coupling member and a second end of the second clamp portion is positioned against a second end of the first clamp portion; and a latch mechanism anchored at a hinge joint at the second end of the first clamp portion, the latch mechanism being movable about the hinge joint between an unlatched position and a latched position and being configured to latch the second end of the second clamp portion against the second end of the first clamp portion after the first clamp portion and the second clamp portion are positioned about the support structure.
Cross teaches a clamp structure (abstract; fig 1-9) comprising:
a clamp member including a base (at least fig 9, the portion with a flat base, Examiner consider as a base), a first clamp portion, a second clamp portion (at least fig 1, fig 5, fig 9, the first and second clamp portions formed a circular shape), and a hinge (at least fig 5, fig 9, clamp portion having a first end that is connected to the first end of the first clamp portion at a hinge), the first clamp portion being attached to the base (at least fig 1, fig 5, fig 9), the hinge pivotally coupling a first end of the second clamp portion to a first end of the first clamp portion such that the second clamp portion is movable about the hinge between an open position and a closed position (at least fig 5, fig 9), wherein when the second clamp portion is in the closed position, a second end of the second clamp portion is positioned against a second end of the first clamp portion (at least fig 5, fig 9).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, or at the time of the invention was made, to include this feature (clamp member with base, clamp portions, hinge etc. as discussed above) and modify to previous discussed structure (modified the base portion and attached to the Choi’s clamp support portion, by using the screw and engagement pieces) so as to have (Choi in view of Cross):
a clamp member including a base (at least fig 9, the portion with a flat base, Examiner consider as a base), a first clamp portion, a second clamp portion (at least fig 1, fig 5, fig 9, the first and second clamp portions formed a circular shape), and a hinge (at least fig 5, fig 9, clamp portion having a first end that is connected to the first end of the first clamp portion at a hinge), , the first clamp portion being attached to the base (at least fig 1, fig 5, fig 9) and positioned below the electronic device support portion of the coupling member (as discussed above, the structure can be rotated in a 3-D dimension), the hinge pivotally coupling a first end of the second clamp portion to a first end of the first clamp portion such that the second clamp portion is movable about the hinge between an open position and a closed position (at least fig 5, fig 9), wherein when the second clamp portion is in the closed position, the second clamp portion is positioned below the electronic device support portion of the coupling member (as discussed above, the structure can be rotated in a 3-D dimension) and a second end of the second clamp portion is positioned against a second end of the first clamp portion (at least fig 5, fig 9).
The motivation to modify the previous discussed structure with the current feature (clamp member as discussed above) is to further simplify the assembly process and/or secure the device.
Choi in view of Cross lacks teaching: the base being slidably coupled to the clamp support portion of the coupling member;
and a latch mechanism anchored at a hinge joint at the second end of the first clamp portion, the latch mechanism being movable about the hinge joint between an unlatched position and a latched position and being configured to latch the second end of the second clamp portion against the second end of the first clamp portion after the first clamp portion and the second clamp portion are positioned about the support structure.
CHAMBERLAIN teaches : the clamp support portion defines a vertical channel along a length thereof (at least fig 1, see also fig 3-6; paragraph [25]-[29]), and wherein the base of the clamp member includes an interlocking extension that fits into the channel (at least fig 1, see also fig 3-6; paragraph [25]-[29]), the apparatus further comprising: one or more threaded fasteners (at least fig 1, see also fig 3-6; paragraph [25]-[29]) passing through the channel and into the base from an opposite side of the clamp support portion to secure the base to the clamp support portion (at least fig 1, see also fig 3-6; paragraph [25]-[29]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention was made to include this feature (support portion with channel, interlocking structure, fasteners) and modify to previous discussed structure (modified to previous modified Choi’s base structure with associated channel, interlocking structure as discussed) so as to further adjust the location of the modified structure and/or to fit different size of the devices.
Choi in view of Cross and CHAMBERLAIN lacks teaching: a latch mechanism anchored at a hinge joint at the second end of the first clamp portion, the latch mechanism being movable about the hinge joint between an unlatched position and a latched position and being configured to latch the second end of the second clamp portion against the second end of the first clamp portion after the first clamp portion and the second clamp portion are positioned about the support structure.
Magagna teaches a latch mechanism (at least fig 3-17) anchored at a hinge joint at the second end of the first clamp portion (at least fig 3-17, anchored at a hinge joint at the second end of the first clamp portion), the latch mechanism being movable about the hinge joint between an unlatched position and a latched position (compare fig 16, fig 6-8) and being configured to latch the second end of the second clamp portion against the second end of the first clamp portion after the first clamp portion and the second clamp portion are positioned about the support structure (compare fig 16, fig 6-8).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, or at the time of the invention was made, to include this feature (the latch member with anchored at a hinge joint as discussed above) and modify to previous discussed structure (modified to the first and second clamp portions and the support structure) so as to further secure the modified structure.
Regarding claim 17, Choi further disclosed An apparatus for mounting an electronic device to a support structure, the apparatus (abstract; fig 1) comprising: a coupling member including an electronic device support portion and a single clamp support portion (at least fig 1; Examiner consider one side, or one corner, of the structure where the device mounting is the top portion; the clamp support portion is on the top side; the following 103 modifications are also based on this single clamp support portion), the clamp support portion being positioned off center along an elongated direction of the electronic device support portion, closer to one end of the electronic device support portion (at least fig 1, Examiner consider the clamp support portion being positioned off center along an elongated direction of the electronic device support portion, closer to the second end of the top portion; i.e. the top end) and extending from the electronic device support portion at substantially a right angle (Fig 1, the clamp support portion extending from one end of the electronic device support portion at substantially a right angle; Examiner consider, at least, the structure extending toward the pole is substantially a right angle with respect to the electronic device support portion).
Examiner’s note: The above figures are Applicant’s annotated figure based on cited art, remark filed on 1/11/26, compared to Applicant’s structure.
Choi lacks teaching: clamp support portion further defining a channel along a length thereof; a clamp member including a base, a first clamp portion, a second clamp portion, and a hinge, the base being slidably coupled to the clamp support portion of the coupling member and including an interlocking extension that fits into the channel of the clamp support portion, the first clamp portion being attached to the base and positioned below the electronic device support portion of the coupling member, the hinge pivotally coupling a first end of the second clamp portion to a first end of the first clamp portion such that the second clamp portion is movable about the hinge between an open position and a closed position, wherein when the second clamp portion is in the closed position, the second clamp portion is positioned below the electronic device support portion of the coupling member and a second end of the second clamp portion is positioned against a second end of the first clamp portion; and a latch mechanism anchored at a hinge joint at the second end of the first clamp portion, the latch mechanism being movable about the hinge joint between an unlatched position and a latched position and being configured to latch the second end of the second clamp portion against the second end of the first clamp portion after the first clamp portion and the second clamp portion are positioned about the support structure.
Cross teaches a clamp structure (abstract; fig 1-9) comprising:
a clamp member including a base (at least fig 9, the portion with a flat base, Examiner consider as a base), a first clamp portion, a second clamp portion (at least fig 7, the first and second arched clamp portion on left and right sides, or the other way around), and a hinge (8), the base being slidably coupled to the clamp support portion of the coupling member (at least fig 7, the first end attached to the based), the first clamp portion being attached to the base (compare fig 5 and fig 7) and positioned below the electronic device support portion of the coupling member , the hinge pivotally coupling a first end of the second clamp portion to a first end of the first clamp portion such that the second clamp portion is movable about the hinge between an open position and a closed position (at least fig 5, fig 9), wherein when the second clamp portion is in the closed position, the second clamp portion is positioned below the electronic device support portion of the coupling member and a second end of the second clamp portion is positioned against a second end of the first clamp portion (at least fig 5, fig 9).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, or at the time of the invention was made, to include this feature (clamp member with base, clamp portions, hinge etc. as discussed above) and modify to previous discussed structure (modified the base portion and attached to the Choi’s clamp support portion, by using the screw and engagement pieces) so as to have (Choi in view of Cross):
a clamp member including a base (at least fig 9, the portion with a flat base, Examiner consider as a base), a first clamp portion, a second clamp portion (at least fig 7, the first and second arched clamp portion on left and right sides, or the other way around), and a hinge (8), the base being coupled to the clamp support portion of the coupling member (at least fig 7, the first end attached to the based), the first clamp portion being attached to the base (compare fig 5 and fig 7) and positioned below the electronic device support portion of the coupling member (as discussed above, the structure can be rotated in a 3-D dimension), the hinge pivotally coupling a first end of the second clamp portion to a first end of the first clamp portion such that the second clamp portion is movable about the hinge between an open position and a closed position (at least fig 5, fig 9), wherein when the second clamp portion is in the closed position, the second clamp portion is positioned below the electronic device support portion of the coupling member (as discussed above, the structure can be rotated in a 3-D dimension) and a second end of the second clamp portion is positioned against a second end of the first clamp portion (at least fig 5, fig 9).
The motivation to modify the previous discussed structure with the current feature (clamp member as discussed above) is to further simplify the assembly process and/or secure the device.
Choi in view of Cross lacks teaching: clamp support portion defining a channel along a length thereof; the base being slidably coupled to the clamp support portion of the coupling member; and including an interlocking extension that fits into the channel of the clamp support portion; and
a latch mechanism anchored at a hinge joint at the second end of the first clamp portion, the latch mechanism being movable about the hinge joint between an unlatched position and a latched position and being configured to latch the second end of the second clamp portion against the second end of the first clamp portion after the first clamp portion and the second clamp portion are positioned about the support structure.
CHAMBERLAIN teaches : the clamp support portion defines a vertical channel along a length thereof (at least fig 1, see also fig 3-6; paragraph [25]-[29]), and wherein the base of the clamp member includes an interlocking extension that fits into the channel (at least fig 1, see also fig 3-6; paragraph [25]-[29]), the apparatus further comprising: one or more threaded fasteners (at least fig 1, see also fig 3-6; paragraph [25]-[29]) passing through the channel and into the base from an opposite side of the clamp support portion to secure the base to the clamp support portion (at least fig 1, see also fig 3-6; paragraph [25]-[29]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention was made to include this feature (support portion with channel, interlocking structure, fasteners; slidably coupled) and modify to previous discussed structure (modified to previous modified Choi’s base structure with associated channel, interlocking structure as discussed) so as to further adjust the location of the modified structure and/or to fit different size of the devices.
Choi in view of Cross and CHAMBERLAIN lacks teaching: a latch mechanism anchored at a hinge joint at the second end of the first clamp portion, the latch mechanism being movable about the hinge joint between an unlatched position and a latched position and being configured to latch the second end of the second clamp portion against the second end of the first clamp portion after the first clamp portion and the second clamp portion are positioned about the support structure.
Magagna teaches a latch mechanism (at least fig 3-17) anchored at a hinge joint at the second end of the first clamp portion (at least fig 3-17, anchored at a hinge joint at the second end of the first clamp portion), the latch mechanism being movable about the hinge joint between an unlatched position and a latched position (compare fig 16, fig 6-8) and being configured to latch the second end of the second clamp portion against the second end of the first clamp portion after the first clamp portion and the second clamp portion are positioned about the support structure (compare fig 16, fig 6-8).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, or at the time of the invention was made, to include this feature (the latch member with anchored at a hinge joint as discussed above) and modify to previous discussed structure (modified to the first and second clamp portions and the support structure) so as to further secure the modified structure.
Regarding claim 21, Choi further disclosed An apparatus for mounting an electronic device to a support structure, (abstract; fig 1) the apparatus comprising: a coupling member including an electronic device support portion and a single clamp support portion (at least fig 1; Examiner consider one side, or one corner, of the structure where the electronic device mounting is the top portion; the clamp support portion is on the top side; the following 103 modifications are also based on this single clamp support portion), the clamp support portion being positioned off center along an elongated direction of the electronic device support portion, closer to one end of the electronic device support portion (at least fig 1, Examiner consider the clamp support portion being positioned off center along an elongated direction of the top portion, closer to the second end of the top portion; i.e. the top end), and extending from the electronic device support portion at substantially a right angle (at least fig 1, the right angle with the top surface);
Examiner’s note: The above figures are Applicant’s annotated figure based on cited art, remark filed on 1/11/26, compared to Applicant’s structure.
Choi lacks teaching: a clamp member including a base, a first clamp portion, a second clamp portion, and a hinge, the base being slidably coupled to the clamp support portion of the coupling member, the first clamp portion being attached to the base, the hinge pivotally coupling a first end of the second clamp portion to a first end of the first clamp portion such that the second clamp portion is movable about the hinge between an open position and a closed position, wherein when the second clamp portion is in the closed position, a second end of the second clamp portion is positioned against a second end of the first clamp portion; and a latch mechanism anchored at a hinge joint at the second end of the first clamp portion, the latch mechanism being movable about the hinge joint and configured to latch the second end of the second clamp portion against the second end of the first clamp portion when the second clamp portion is in the closed position.
Cross teaches: a clamp member (abstract; fig 1-9) including a base (at least fig 9, the portion with a flat base, Examiner consider as a base), a first clamp portion, a second clamp portion (at least fig 7, the first and second arched clamp portion on left and right sides, or the other way around), and a hinge (8), the base being slidably coupled to the clamp support portion of the coupling member (at least fig 7, the first end attached to the based), the first clamp portion being attached to the base (compare fig 5 and fig 7), the hinge pivotally coupling a first end of the second clamp portion to a first end of the first clamp portion such that the second clamp portion is movable about the hinge between an open position and a closed position (at least fig 5, fig 9), wherein when the second clamp portion is in the closed position, a second end of the second clamp portion is positioned against a second end of the first clamp portion (at least fig 5, fig 9).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, or at the time of the invention was made, to include this feature (clamp member with base, clamp portions, hinge etc. as discussed above) and modify to previous discussed structure (modified the base portion and attached to the Choi’s clamp support portion, by using the screw and engagement pieces) so as to have (Choi in view of Cross):
a clamp member including a base (at least fig 9, the portion with a flat base, Examiner consider as a base), a first clamp portion, a second clamp portion (at least fig 7, the first and second arched clamp portion on left and right sides, or the other way around), and a hinge (Cross), the base being coupled to the clamp support portion of the coupling member (modified by Cross), the first clamp portion being attached to the base (modified by Cross), the hinge pivotally coupling a first end of the second clamp portion to a first end of the first clamp portion such that the second clamp portion is movable about the hinge between an open position and a closed position (modified by Cross), wherein when the second clamp portion is in the closed position, a second end of the second clamp portion is positioned against a second end of the first clamp portion (modified by Cross).
Choi in view of Cross lacks teaching: the base being slidably coupled to the clamp support portion; and a latch mechanism anchored at a hinge joint at the second end of the first clamp portion, the latch mechanism being movable about the hinge joint and configured to latch the second end of the second clamp portion against the second end of the first clamp portion when the second clamp portion is in the closed position.
CHAMBERLAIN teaches : the clamp support portion comprising the base being slidably coupled to the clamp support portion (at least fig 1, see also fig 3-6; paragraph [25]-[29]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention was made to include this feature (support portion with channel, interlocking structure, fasteners; slidably coupled) and modify to previous discussed structure (modified to previous modified Choi’s base structure with associated channel, interlocking structure as discussed) so as to further adjust the location of the modified structure and/or to fit different size of the devices.
Choi in view of Cross and CHAMBERLAIN lacks teaching: a latch mechanism anchored at a hinge joint at the second end of the first clamp portion, the latch mechanism being movable about the hinge joint and configured to latch the second end of the second clamp portion against the second end of the first clamp portion when the second clamp portion is in the closed position.
Magagna teaches a latch mechanism (at least fig 3-17) anchored at a hinge joint at the second end of the first clamp portion (at least fig 3-17, anchored at a hinge joint at the second end of the first clamp portion), the latch mechanism being movable about the hinge joint (compare fig 16, fig 6-8) and configured to latch the second end of the second clamp portion against the second end of the first clamp portion when the second clamp portion is in the closed position (compare fig 16, fig 6-8).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, or at the time of the invention was made, to include this feature (the latch member with anchored at a hinge joint as discussed above) and modify to previous discussed structure (modified to the first and second clamp portions and the support structure) so as to further secure the modified structure.
Regarding claim 2, Modified Choi further disclosed the first and second ends of the first clamp portion are positioned such that a line between the first and second ends of the first clamp portion is at about a forty- five degree angle to an elongated direction of the top portion of the coupling member, and an elongated direction of the clamp support portion of the coupling member (see Cross’s fig 5-7 and modified to Choi’s structure).
Modified Choi discussed in the preceding claim disclosed all the subject matter except for exactly at a forty- five degree angle.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time and/or before the effective filing date the invention was made to have the line at a forty- five degree angle, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233. The motivation to modify the previous discussed structure with the current feature (45 degree) is to provide a better angle for the user/technician to access the device/clamp.
Regarding claims 3, 11, Modified Choi further disclosed the clamp support portion includes a vertical channel (see above discussion in the parent claim), the base of the clamp member includes a protrusion extension that fits into the channel (see above discussion in the parent claim), and wherein one or more threaded fasteners pass through the channel and into the base from an opposite side of the clamp support portion to secure the base to the clamp support portion (see above discussion in the parent claim).
With regard claims 10, 18: the primary art and/or the modified structure discussed in the preceding claim disclosed all the subject matter except for wherein the second end of the first clamp portion is closer to the electronic device support portion of the coupling member than is the first end of the first clamp portion. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention was made to have the second end of the first clamp portion is closer to the electronic device support portion of the coupling member than is the first end of the first clamp portion, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70. Examiner’s note, it only require changing the location of the based portion from one side to closer to the other side (or changing the size of the first and second clamp portion). The motivation to modify the previous discussed structure with the current feature is to further move the protrusion with engagement screw being closer to the inner side of the pole and/or avoid from getting hit or push by the external objects (because the second end is closer to the inner side).
Regarding claims 7, modified Choi further disclosed the electronic device support portion of the coupling member further includes: a first shuttle positioned proximate a first surface of the electronic device support portion at the first end of the electronic device support portion (at least 20/70); and a second shuttle positioned proximate the first surface of the electronic device support portion at the second end of the electronic device support portion (at least 70/20), wherein the first shuttle and the second shuttle are configured to engage in respective tracks formed in a housing (at least the respective tracks formed in a housing of the electronic device as shown in fig 1; no label; closer to the above discussed first/second shuttles).
Regarding claim 14, Modified Choi further disclosed the second clamp portion has an outward radial extension at the second end thereof (at least Magagna’s Fig 5, fig 8, fig 16-17; outward radial extension at the second end thereof; The portion with outward radial extension and slot, Examiner consider as a portion of the second clamp portion), the outward radial extension defining a slot (at least Magagna’s Fig 5, fig 8, fig 16-17), and wherein the latch mechanism includes: a threaded rod having a first end and a second end (at least Magagna’s Fig 5, fig 8, fig 16-17; a threaded rod having a first end and a second end), the first end of the threaded rod being coupled to the second end of the first clamp portion at the hinge joint (at least Magagna’s Fig 5, fig 8, fig 16-17); and a latch nut disposed on the threaded rod so as to be on an outer side of the outward radial extension (Magagna’s Fig 5, fig 8, fig 16-17; Examiner consider when a user can see the latch nut, it is on an outer side of the outward radial extension) when the threaded rod is rotated about the hinge joint and positioned in the slot of the outward radial extension to permit tightening of the latch nut against the outer side of the outward radial extension (Magagna’s Fig 5, fig 8, fig 16-17).
Regarding claim 15, Modified Choi further disclosed the electronic device support portion of the coupling member further includes: a first shuttle positioned proximate a top surface of the electronic device support portion proximate a first end of the electronic device support portion (at least 20/70); and a second shuttle positioned proximate the top surface of the electronic device support portion proximate a second end of the electronic device support portion, wherein the first shuttle and the second shuttle are configured to engage in respective tracks formed in a housing of the electronic device (at least 20/70).
Claims 4, 12, 19, 8, 16, 20, 5-6, 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choi (KR 2185333) in view of Cross (US 20180238359), CHAMBERLAIN (US 20200240620) in view of Magagna (US 20190383431) and further in view of Examiner’s Official Notice (EON, Now Admitted prior art, AAPA, see MPEP 2144.03).
Regarding claims 4, 12, 19, Modified Choi further disclosed the latch member includes a threaded rod having a latch nut disposed on the threaded rod (at least Cross’s fig 9, the rod with thread is the threaded rod, and the nut portion allow user to screw and finish the latch assembly, Examiner consider as a latch nut) and wherein a first end of the threaded rod is threaded into an opening in a transverse cylinder (at least fig 9. Examiner consider the cylinder shape structure with opening which is transverse compare to the 26 extending direction or the hinge extending direction, is a transverse cylinder) is held at the second end of the first clamp portion (at least fig 9).
Modified Choi lacks teaching: the transverse cylinder is held in a boss.
However, Examiner take official notice (AAPA) that the above limitations are well known.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention was made to include this feature (the transverse cylinder is held in a boss) and modify to previous discussed structure (modified the transverse cylinder is held in a boss on the end of the clamp portion). The motivation to modify the previous discussed structure with EON feature is to further allow more flexible for the assembly of the modified structure. (Now Admitted prior art, AAPA, see MPEP 2144.03)
Regarding claims 5-6, 13, The primary art and/or the modified structure discussed in the preceding claim disclosed all the subject matter except for the clamp member further includes: a first bushing component attached to an inner face of the first clamp portion; and a second bushing component attached to an inner face of the second clamp portion; and/or the first bushing component and the second bushing component each have at least one flat facet.
However, Examiner take official notice (AAPA) that the clamp member further includes: a first bushing component attached to an inner face of the first clamp portion; and a second bushing component attached to an inner face of the second clamp portion; and/or the first bushing component and the second bushing component each have at least one flat facet are well known. (Now Admitted prior art, AAPA, see MPEP 2144.03)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention was made to include this feature (above discussed first and second bushing component; the first bushing component and the second bushing component each have at least one flat facet) and modify to previous discussed structure (modified to the modified Choi’s structure on an inner face of the first clamp portion). The motivation to modify the previous discussed structure with EON feature is to further protect the modified structure. (Now Admitted prior art, AAPA, see MPEP 2144.03)
Regarding claims 8, 16, The primary art and/or the modified structure discussed in the preceding claim disclosed all the subject matter except for the electronic device support portion (or top portion) of the coupling member further includes: a non-conductive spacer positioned between the first and second shuttles and the first surface (or a top surface) of the electronic device support portion.
However, Examiner take official notice (AAPA) that the electronic device support portion of the coupling member further includes: a non-conductive spacer positioned between the first and second shuttles and the first surface of the electronic device support portion are well known. (Now Admitted prior art, AAPA, see MPEP 2144.03)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention was made to include this feature (above discussed non-conductive spacer) and modify to previous discussed structure (modified to the modified Choi’s structure between the first and second shuttles and the first surface of the electronic device support portion). The motivation to modify the previous discussed structure with EON feature is to further protect the modified structure. (Now Admitted prior art, AAPA, see MPEP 2144.03)
Regarding claim 20, the above discussed art further disclosed the electronic device support portion of the coupling member further includes: a first shuttle positioned proximate a top surface of the electronic device support portion proximate a first end of the electronic device support portion (at least 20/70); a second shuttle positioned proximate the top surface of the electronic device support portion proximate a second end of the electronic device support portion (at least 20/70), wherein the first shuttle and the second shuttle are configured to engage in respective tracks formed in a housing of the electronic device (at least 20/70).
The primary art and/or the modified structure discussed in the preceding claim disclosed all the subject matter except for and a non-conductive spacer positioned between the first and second shuttles and the top surface of the electronic device support portion.
However, Examiner take official notice (AAPA) that the above limitations (a non-conductive spacer positioned between the first and second shuttles and the top surface of the electronic device support portion) are well known. (Now Admitted prior art, AAPA, see MPEP 2144.03)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention was made to include this feature (non-conductive space) and modify to previous discussed structure (modified to positioned between the first and second shuttles and the top surface of the electronic device support portion). The motivation to modify the previous discussed structure with EON feature is to further protect the modified structure. (Now Admitted prior art, AAPA, see MPEP 2144.03)
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
With respect to the Applicants’ remarks that, “In sharp contrast to the mounting apparatus recited in amended claims 1, 9, and 17, the mounting bracket disclosed by the combination of Choi, Cross, Chamberlain, and Magagna doesnot include a coupling member having a single clamp support portion positioned off center along an elongated direction of the electronic device support portion, closer to one end of the electronic device support portion, and extending from the electronic device support portion at substantially a right angle. As shown below in the annotated reproduction of Fig. 1 of Choi, Choi discloses a mounting bracket (B) with two clamp support portions, not a single clamp support portion. Additionally, as shown in Fig. 1 of Choi, both of the clamp support portions are centered along the elongated direction of the top portion (electronic device support portion), regardless of which direction (X or Y) is the elongated direction. Neither clamp support portion is off center, closer to one end of the top portion (electronic device support portion). As noted on page 3 of the Office Action, Choi is the only reference relied upon to disclose the general structure of the coupling member. The other references (Cross, Chamberlain, and Magagna) are relied upon to disclose features of the clamp member or the slidable coupling of the clamp member to the clamp support portion of the coupling member.”, “the combination of Choi, Cross, Chamberlain, and Magagna fails to disclose or suggest all the features and limitations recited in amended claims 1, 9, and 17. Accordingly, Applicant submits that the Office Action fails to establish a prima facie case of obviousness because the combination of references fails to disclose or suggest all the features and limitations as recited in amended claims 1, 9, and 17. See M.P.E.P. §§ 2141, 2143. Therefore, Applicant respectfully requests that the rejections of claims 1, 9, and 17 under 35 U.S.C. § 103 be withdrawn” (pages 9 to the end).
Examiner’s Answer: the Examiner respectfully disagrees and notes that:
Choi disclosed An apparatus for mounting an electronic device to a support structure, (abstract; fig 1) the apparatus comprising: a coupling member including a top portion and a single clamp support portion (at least fig 1; Examiner consider one side, or one corner, of the structure where the device mounting is the top portion; the clamp support portion is on the top side; the following 103 modifications are also based on this single clamp support portion), the top portion having a first end, a second end opposite the first end and a top surface (at least fig 1, a coupling member, coupled to the device, having a top portion having a first end and a second end and a top surface as shown in fig 1; as discussed above, Examiner only consider one corner or one side of the structure is the top portion with top surface; the structure can be rotated in a 3-D dimension), the clamp support portion (Fig 1, the clamp support portion connected to the clamps) being positioned off center along an elongated direction of the top portion, closer to the second end of the top portion (at least fig 1, Examiner consider the clamp support portion being positioned off center along an elongated direction of the top portion, closer to the second end of the top portion; i.e. the top end) and extending from the top portion at substantially a right angle (at least fig 1, the right angle with the top surface) with respect to the top portion).
Examiner’s note: The following figures are Applicant’s annotated figure based on cited art, remark filed on 1/11/26, compared to Applicant’s structure:
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JERRY WU/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2841