DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Buaale et al. (CN-108472645-A), in view of Yongkang et al. (Science & Technology, November 30, 2011, pp. 57 and 83, Vol. 11, as supplied by applicants).
Regarding claims 1-8
Buaale discloses a crystallized solid material of formula LiXx*2AL(OH)3*nH2O used to extract lithium from a saline solution and a preparation method thereof, wherein x = 0.5 and n is 0.1-5 when X is selected from SO42- (paras 0025-0032, 0050 and 0069).
As the n values of the reference overlap the claimed n values, the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have selected the overlapping portion of the range disclosed by the reference because overlapping ranges have been held to be a prima facie case of obviousness. In re Malagari, 182 U.S.P.Q. 549.
Although Buaale does not disclose that the material is coated with Al(OH)3, Buaale does disclose the claimed Lithium compound. However, Yongkang discloses a similar lithium compound and discloses that by coating the compound with aluminum hydroxide (i.e., Al(OH)3) the cycle performance was significantly improved and the thin stable barrier coating isolated the cathode material from the electrolyte, which could effectively prevent the mutual malignant interaction between the two, inhibit the Jahn-Teller effect, and improve the electrochemical properties (abstract). Therefore it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to add to the teachings of Buaale by coating the lithium compound with aluminum hydroxide, with a reasonable expectation of success, and the expected benefit of improving the characteristics of the material, as suggested by Yongkang.
With respect to the limitations on making the material it is noted that this is a product-by-process limitation which does not add to the patentabi9lity of a composition claim unless it can be shown that the process used will result in a materially different product.
Claims 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Buaale et al. (CN-108472645-A), in view of Yongkang et al. (Science & Technology, November 30, 2011, pp. 57 and 83, Vol. 11, as supplied by applicants), as applied to claims 1-8 above, in view of Li et al. (CN-108046368).
Regarding claim 9
Yongkang discloses that the material can be used to extract lithium from a saline solution, and thus it would have been obvious to apply the same to lithium containing industrial wastewater.
As to the use of a resin column, Li discloses that it is known to use an absorbtion/desorption column for adsorption and separation of lithium ion salts (Novelty). As such the use of a resin column loaded with the material of Yongkang to and contacting with lithium containing wastewater is obvious, and the counter-current washing is a conventional way to remove the absorbed material from the sieve.
Conclusion
JAMES E. MCDONOUGH
Examiner
Art Unit 1734
/JAMES E MCDONOUGH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1734