DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 2/3/2026, 8/19/2025, 6/2/2025, 4/18/2025, 12/26/2024, 5/23/2024 and 9/15/2023 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements have been considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-14, 16-18 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Turiello (US 8701718).
Regarding Claim 1, Turiello teaches a method of a safety system of a structure having a plurality of levels and a fixed piping system installed therewithin to supply breathable air from a source across the safety system including the plurality of levels (abstract; fig. 1A-C), comprising:
sensing a parameter of at least one of: an environment of at least one level of the plurality of levels of the structure and the breathable air supplied thereto (fig. 2, 210- air monitoring system, 206- CO/moisture sensor, 208- pressure sensor; col. 6, line 61 –col. 7, line 5, the air distribution system of the marine vessel 150 may include an air monitoring system configured to automatically track and recording impurities and a contaminants in the breathable air of the emergency support system. In one or more embodiment, the air monitoring system may include sensors such as CO/moisture sensor, suspended particle sensor, pressure sensor and other sensors to monitor the quality and pressure of breathable air in the system); and
in response to the sensing, automatically closing at least one valve associated with control of the supply of the breathable air to the at least one level to isolate the breathable air supplied to the at least one level (fig. 1C, fire 110, valves 1061, 1062; col. 2, line 57- 62, the method may include suspending a transfer of the breathable air from the source of compressed air to the emergency support system through the valve of the distribution structure when the distribution structure is exposed to a threat to prevent a compromise of the distribution structure; col. 7, line 6-18, a transfer of the breathable air from the source of compressed air to the emergency support system through the valve of the distribution structure 104 may be suspended when the distribution structure 104 is exposed to a threat to prevent a compromise of the distribution structure 104. In one or more embodiments, the valves may be configured to block a supply of breathable air when there is a threat that compromises the distribution structure 104 ( e.g., as illustrated in FIG. 1C) at a relative point of threat).
Regarding Claim 2, Turiello teaches the method of claim 1, further comprising at least one of:
sensing the parameter of the breathable air using a sensor associated with an air analysis device coupled to an air flow path of the breathable air from the source within the safety system (fig. 2, 104, 210- air monitoring system, 206- CO/moisture sensor, 208- pressure sensor; col. 2, line 29-42, automatically tracking and recording an impurity and a contaminant in the breathable air of the emergency support system through an air monitoring system; automatically suspending air dissemination to a fill site when an impurity level and/or a contaminant concentration exceed a safety threshold; col. 8, line 28-38, the air monitoring system 210 may include a CO/moisture sensor106, and a low pressure sensor 108. The CO/moisture sensor 106 of the air monitoring system 210 in the distribution structure 104 may be used to detect contamination of breathable air in the air supply system 130);
sensing the parameter of the environment of the at least one level using an environmental sensor (fig. 2, 210- air monitoring system, 206- CO/moisture sensor, 208- pressure sensor) associated with at least one of: at least one emergency air fill station providing access to the breathable air at the at least one level, a bypass controller device and the air analysis device (fig. 1A-C, 130, 104, 1021-N, 106s; col. 5, line 35-40, the fill sites 1021-N may include an emergency support system affixed to the distribution structure 104 that is configured to provide supply of breathable air to the civilians, military personnel, and rescue staff); and
automatically closing the at least one valve in accordance with a control signal transmitted thereto from a processor associated with the at least one of: the at least one emergency air fill station, the bypass controller device and the air analysis device (fig. 1A-C, 130, 104, 1021-N, 106s; col. 7, line 6-18, a transfer of the breathable air from the source of compressed air to the emergency support system through the valve of the distribution structure 104 may be suspended when the distribution structure 104 is exposed to a threat to prevent a compromise of the distribution structure 104. In one or more embodiments, the valves may be configured to block a supply of breathable air when there is a threat that compromises the distribution structure 104 ( e.g., as illustrated in FIG. 1C) at a relative point of threat; col. 13, line 25-30, The air control device 1302 may permit a user to remotely control a valve 106 such that the user may regulate the breathable air supply of the marine vessel 150 from a central location; --implicitly comprising a control processor).
Regarding Claim 3, Turiello teaches the method of claim 1, further comprising
determining that the sensed parameter is outside a predetermined threshold value thereof; and in response to the determination, automatically closing the at least one valve (fig. 2, 210- air monitoring system, 206- CO/moisture sensor, 208- pressure sensor; col. 7, line 1-5, the air monitoring system may be configured to automatically suspend the air dissemination to the fill site 1021-N when an impurity level and a contaminant concentration exceeds a safety threshold).
Regarding Claim 4, Turiello teaches the method of claim 1, further comprising automatically cutting off at least one emergency air fill station corresponding to the at least one automatically closed valve from the supply of the breathable air from the source (fig. 1C, fire 110, valves 1061, 1062; col. 7, line 6-18, a transfer of the breathable air from the source of compressed air to the emergency support system through the valve of the distribution structure 104 may be suspended when the distribution structure 104 is exposed to a threat to prevent a compromise of the distribution structure 104. In one or more embodiments, the valves may be configured to block a supply of breathable air when there is a threat that compromises the distribution structure 104 ( e.g., as illustrated in FIG. 1C) at a relative point of threat).
Regarding Claim 5, Turiello teaches the method of claim 1, comprising the parameter of the breathable air supplied to the at least one level comprising at least one of: an air quality parameter and an air component parameter (fig. 2, 210- air monitoring system, 206- CO/moisture sensor, 208- pressure sensor; col. 8, line 28-38, the air monitoring system 210 may include a CO/moisture sensor106, and a low pressure sensor 108. The CO/moisture sensor 106 of the air monitoring system 210 in the distribution structure 104 may be used to detect contamination of breathable air in the air supply system 130).
Regarding Claim 6, Turiello teaches the method of claim 2, comprising the sensor associated with the air analysis device comprising at least one of: a carbon monoxide sensor configured to sense a level of carbon monoxide in the breathable air, a carbon dioxide sensor configured to sense a level of carbon dioxide in the breathable air, an oxygen sensor configured to sense a level of oxygen in the breathable air, a nitrogen sensor configured to sense a level of nitrogen in the breathable air, a hydrocarbon sensor configured to sense a condensed hydrocarbon content in the breathable air, and a moisture sensor configured to sense a moisture concentration in the breathable air (fig. 2, 210- air monitoring system, 206- CO/moisture sensor, 208- pressure sensor).
Regarding Claim 7, Turiello teaches the method of claim 1, comprising the plurality of levels of the structure being a plurality of floor levels thereof (fig. 1A-C, 1021-N).
Regarding Claim 8, Turiello teaches a method of a safety system of a structure having a plurality of levels and a fixed piping system installed therewithin to supply breathable air from a source across the safety system including the plurality of levels (abstract; fig. 1A-C), comprising:
sensing a parameter of at least one of: an environment of at least one level of the plurality of levels of the structure and the breathable air supplied thereto (fig. 2, 210- air monitoring system, 206- CO/moisture sensor, 208- pressure sensor; col. 6, line 61 –col. 7, line 5, the air distribution system of the marine vessel 150 may include an air monitoring system configured to automatically track and recording impurities and a contaminants in the breathable air of the emergency support system. In one or more embodiment, the air monitoring system may include sensors such as CO/moisture sensor, suspended particle sensor, pressure sensor and other sensors to monitor the quality and pressure of breathable air in the system); and
in response to determining that the parameter is outside a predetermined threshold value thereof based on the sensing (fig. 2, 210- air monitoring system, 206- CO/moisture sensor, 208- pressure sensor; col. 7, line 1-5, the air monitoring system may be configured to automatically suspend the air dissemination to the fill site 1021-N when an impurity level and a contaminant concentration exceeds a safety threshold),
automatically closing at least one valve associated with control of the supply of the breathable air to the at least one level to isolate the breathable air supplied to the at least one level (fig. 1C, fire 110, valves 1061, 1062; col. 2, line 57- 62, the method may include suspending a transfer of the breathable air from the source of compressed air to the emergency support system through the valve of the distribution structure when the distribution structure is exposed to a threat to prevent a compromise of the distribution structure; col. 7, line 6-18, a transfer of the breathable air from the source of compressed air to the emergency support system through the valve of the distribution structure 104 may be suspended when the distribution structure 104 is exposed to a threat to prevent a compromise of the distribution structure 104. In one or more embodiments, the valves may be configured to block a supply of breathable air when there is a threat that compromises the distribution structure 104 ( e.g., as illustrated in FIG. 1C) at a relative point of threat).
Regarding Claim 9, Turiello teaches the method of claim 8, further comprising at least one of:
sensing the parameter of the breathable air using a sensor associated with an air analysis device coupled to an air flow path of the breathable air from the source within the safety system (fig. 2, 104, 210- air monitoring system, 206- CO/moisture sensor, 208- pressure sensor; col. 2, line 29-42, automatically tracking and recording an impurity and a contaminant in the breathable air of the emergency support system through an air monitoring system; automatically suspending air dissemination to a fill site when an impurity level and/or a contaminant concentration exceed a safety threshold);
sensing the parameter of the environment of the at least one level using an environmental sensor (fig. 2, 210- air monitoring system, 206- CO/moisture sensor, 208- pressure sensor) associated with at least one of: at least one emergency air fill station providing access to the breathable air at the at least one level, a bypass controller device and the air analysis device (fig. 1A-C, 130, 104, 1021-N, 106s; col. 5, line 35-40, the fill sites 1021-N may include an emergency support system affixed to the distribution structure 104 that is configured to provide supply of breathable air to the civilians, military personnel, and rescue staff); and
automatically closing the at least one valve in accordance with a control signal transmitted thereto from a processor associated with the at least one of: the at least one emergency air fill station, the bypass controller device and the air analysis device (fig. 1A-C, 130, 104, 1021-N, 106s; col. 7, line 6-18, a transfer of the breathable air from the source of compressed air to the emergency support system through the valve of the distribution structure 104 may be suspended when the distribution structure 104 is exposed to a threat to prevent a compromise of the distribution structure 104. In one or more embodiments, the valves may be configured to block a supply of breathable air when there is a threat that compromises the distribution structure 104 ( e.g., as illustrated in FIG. 1C) at a relative point of threat; col. 13, line 25-30, The air control device 1302 may permit a user to remotely control a valve 106 such that the user may regulate the breathable air supply of the marine vessel 150 from a central location; --implicitly comprising a control processor).
Regarding Claim 10, Turiello teaches the method of claim 8, further comprising automatically cutting off at least one emergency air fill station corresponding to the at least one automatically closed valve from the supply of the breathable air from the source (fig. 1C, fire 110, valves 1061, 1062; col. 7, line 6-18, a transfer of the breathable air from the source of compressed air to the emergency support system through the valve of the distribution structure 104 may be suspended when the distribution structure 104 is exposed to a threat to prevent a compromise of the distribution structure 104. In one or more embodiments, the valves may be configured to block a supply of breathable air when there is a threat that compromises the distribution structure 104 ( e.g., as illustrated in FIG. 1C) at a relative point of threat).
Regarding Claim 11, Turiello teaches the method of claim 8, comprising the parameter of the breathable air supplied to the at least one level comprising at least one of: an air quality parameter and an air component parameter (fig. 2, 210- air monitoring system, 206- CO/moisture sensor, 208- pressure sensor; col. 8, line 28-38, the air monitoring system 210 may include a CO/moisture sensor106, and a low pressure sensor 108. The CO/moisture sensor 106 of the air monitoring system 210 in the distribution structure 104 may be used to detect contamination of breathable air in the air supply system 130).
Regarding Claim 12, Turiello teaches the method of claim 9, comprising the sensor associated with the air analysis device comprising at least one of: a carbon monoxide sensor configured to sense a level of carbon monoxide in the breathable air, a carbon dioxide sensor configured to sense a level of carbon dioxide in the breathable air, an oxygen sensor configured to sense a level of oxygen in the breathable air, a nitrogen sensor configured to sense a level of nitrogen in the breathable air, a hydrocarbon sensor configured to sense a condensed hydrocarbon content in the breathable air, and a moisture sensor configured to sense a moisture concentration in the breathable air (fig. 2, 210- air monitoring system, 206- CO/moisture sensor, 208- pressure sensor).
Regarding Claim 13, Turiello teaches the method of claim 8, comprising the plurality of levels of the structure being a plurality of floor levels thereof (fig. 1A-C, 1021-N).
Regarding Claim 14, Turiello teaches a safety system of a structure having a plurality of levels (abstract; fig. 1A-C), comprising:
a source of breathable air (fig. 1A-C, 130);
a fixed piping system installed within the structure for supply of the breathable air from the source across the safety system including the plurality of levels (fig. 1A-C, 104); and
at least one component comprising at least one sensor (fig. 2, 104, 210- air monitoring system, 206- CO/moisture sensor, 208- pressure sensor) associated therewith to:
sense a parameter of at least one of: an environment of at least one level of the plurality of levels and the breathable air supplied thereto (col. 6, line 61 –col. 7, line 5, the air distribution system of the marine vessel 150 may include an air monitoring system configured to automatically track and recording impurities and a contaminants in the breathable air of the emergency support system. In one or more embodiment, the air monitoring system may include sensors such as CO/moisture sensor, suspended particle sensor, pressure sensor and other sensors to monitor the quality and pressure of breathable air in the system); and
in response to the sensing, automatically close at least one valve associated with control of the supply of the breathable air to the at least one level to isolate the breathable air supplied to the at least one level (fig. 1C, fire 110, valves 1061, 1062; col. 2, line 57- 62, the method may include suspending a transfer of the breathable air from the source of compressed air to the emergency support system through the valve of the distribution structure when the distribution structure is exposed to a threat to prevent a compromise of the distribution structure; col. 7, line 6-18, a transfer of the breathable air from the source of compressed air to the emergency support system through the valve of the distribution structure 104 may be suspended when the distribution structure 104 is exposed to a threat to prevent a compromise of the distribution structure 104. In one or more embodiments, the valves may be configured to block a supply of breathable air when there is a threat that compromises the distribution structure 104 ( e.g., as illustrated in FIG. 1C) at a relative point of threat).
Regarding Claim 16, Turiello teaches the safety system of claim 14, wherein the at least one component further:
determines that the sensed parameter is outside a predetermined threshold value thereof, and in response to the determination, automatically closes the at least one valve (fig. 2, 210- air monitoring system, 206- CO/moisture sensor, 208- pressure sensor; col. 7, line 1-5, the air monitoring system may be configured to automatically suspend the air dissemination to the fill site 1021-N when an impurity level and a contaminant concentration exceeds a safety threshold).
Regarding Claim 17, Turiello teaches the safety system of claim 14, wherein at least one emergency air fill station corresponding to the at least one automatically closed valve is automatically cut off from the supply of the breathable air from the source (fig. 1C, fire 110, valves 1061, 1062; col. 7, line 6-18, a transfer of the breathable air from the source of compressed air to the emergency support system through the valve of the distribution structure 104 may be suspended when the distribution structure 104 is exposed to a threat to prevent a compromise of the distribution structure 104. In one or more embodiments, the valves may be configured to block a supply of breathable air when there is a threat that compromises the distribution structure 104 ( e.g., as illustrated in FIG. 1C) at a relative point of threat).
Regarding Claim 18, Turiello teaches the safety system of claim 14, wherein the parameter of the breathable air supplied to the at least one level comprises at least one of: an air quality parameter and an air component parameter (fig. 2, 210- air monitoring system, 206- CO/moisture sensor, 208- pressure sensor; col. 8, line 28-38, the air monitoring system 210 may include a CO/moisture sensor106, and a low pressure sensor 108. The CO/moisture sensor 106 of the air monitoring system 210 in the distribution structure 104 may be used to detect contamination of breathable air in the air supply system 130).
Regarding Claim 20, Turiello teaches the safety system of claim 14, wherein the plurality of levels of the structure is a plurality of floor levels thereof (fig. 1A-C, 1021-N).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 15 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Turiello (US 8701718) in a view of Roberts (US 20120266889).
Regarding Claim 15, Turiello teaches the safety system of claim 14, wherein at least one of:
the at least one component comprises an air analysis device coupled to an air flow path of the breathable air from the source within the safety system, the air analysis device having a sensor associated therewith to sense the parameter of the breathable air (fig. 2, 210- air monitoring system, 206- CO/moisture sensor, 208- pressure sensor; col. 2, line 29-42, automatically tracking and recording an impurity and a contaminant in the breathable air of the emergency support system through an air monitoring system; automatically suspending air dissemination to a fill site when an impurity level and/or a contaminant concentration exceed a safety threshold);
the at least one component comprises an environmental sensor (fig. 2, 210- air monitoring system, 206- CO/moisture sensor, 208- pressure sensor) associated therewith to sense the parameter of the environment of the at least one level, the at least one component being at least one of: at least one emergency air fill station providing access to the breathable air at the at least one level, a bypass controller device and the air analysis device (fig. 1A-C, 130, 104, 1021-N, 106s; col. 5, line 35-40, the fill sites 1021-N may include an emergency support system affixed to the distribution structure 104 that is configured to provide supply of breathable air to the civilians, military personnel, and rescue staff); and
a control device associated with the at least one component transmits a control signal to the at least one valve to automatically close the at least one valve (fig. 1A-C, 130, 104, 1021-N, 106s; col. 7, line 6-18, a transfer of the breathable air from the source of compressed air to the emergency support system through the valve of the distribution structure 104 may be suspended when the distribution structure 104 is exposed to a threat to prevent a compromise of the distribution structure 104. In one or more embodiments, the valves may be configured to block a supply of breathable air when there is a threat that compromises the distribution structure 104 ( e.g., as illustrated in FIG. 1C) at a relative point of threat; col. 13, line 25-30, The air control device 1302 may permit a user to remotely control a valve 106 such that the user may regulate the breathable air supply of the marine vessel 150 from a central location; --implicitly comprising a control processor).
But Turiello does not specifically disclose that wherein a processor associated with the at least one component.
However, Roberts teaches a breathing air production and filtration system (abstract; fig. 1), wherein a processor associated with the at least one component (fig. 1, 200; ¶[0029], line 1-12, the system 10 uses the monitoring control system 200 to monitor and control the system 10 using various sensors and communication links; The monitoring control system 200 includes a control unit 210, which can be a computer or the like).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the safety system of Turiello by the breathing air production and filtration system of Roberts for the purpose of providing of a breathing air production and filtration system for personnel working in a variety conditions and potentially exposed to hazards (¶[0007], line 1-5).
Regarding Claim 19, Turiello - Roberts combination teaches the safety system of claim 15, wherein the sensor associated with the air analysis device comprises at least one of: a carbon monoxide sensor configured to sense a level of carbon monoxide in the breathable air, a carbon dioxide sensor configured to sense a level of carbon dioxide in the breathable air, an oxygen sensor configured to sense a level of oxygen in the breathable air, a nitrogen sensor configured to sense a level of nitrogen in the breathable air, a hydrocarbon sensor configured to sense a condensed hydrocarbon content in the breathable air, and a moisture sensor configured to sense a moisture concentration in the breathable air (fig. 2, 210- air monitoring system, 206- CO/moisture sensor, 208- pressure sensor, as disclosed in Turiello; ¶[0030], line 1-10, the in-line sensor 220 continuously monitors the breathing air for constituents and contaminants, such as O2, CO2, CO, combustibles, H2S, oil mist, and the like, as disclosed in Roberts).
Examiner’s Note
Regarding the references, the Examiner cites particular figures, paragraphs, columns and line numbers in the reference(s), as applied to the claims above. Although the particular citations are representative teachings and are applied to specific limitations within the claims, other passages, internally cited references, and figures may also apply. In preparing a response, it is respectfully requested that the Applicant fully consider the references, in their entirety, as potentially disclosing or teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as fully consider the context of the passage as taught by the reference(s) or as disclosed by the Examiner.
Conclusion
/JIE LEI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2872