DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the threaded surface of the second connector seen in claims 2 and 9 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
Paragraph [0037], two periods are seen at the end of the paragraph. It is recommended to only have one period.
Paragraph [0037] of the specification submitted 20 June 2023 has the threaded surface on the first connector. Claims 2, 7, and 17 recite that second connector has a threaded outer surface. There appears to be no support for the second connector to have a threaded outer surface seen within the specification. Additionally, the drawings submitted 20 June 2023 do not show the second connector having the threaded surface as well. The Office recommends amending the claims to have support from the specification or amending the specification.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
Claim 2 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Lines 2-3, “(RIC/UAC) connector is also as part another part of the emergency air fill station with in the structure in addition to the first connector” should be amended to --(RIC/UAC) connector in addition to the first connector --.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claims 8-14 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claims 8-14 appear to be duplicate claims of apparatus claims 1-7 that do not have a differing scope. Claims 1 and 8 are similar in scope. Claims 2 and 9 are similar. Claims 7 and 10 are similar. Claims 3 and 11 are similar. Claims 4 and 12 are similar. Claims 5 and 13 are similar. Claims 6 and 14 are similar. It is recommended that the claims are amended to be different in scope or cancelled.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 12 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Line 2, “RIC/UAC connector” should be amended to –Rapid Intervention Crew Universal Air Coupling (RIC/UAC connector)--.
Lines 2-3, “RIC/UAC connector is also as part another part of the emergency air fill station with in the structure in addition to the first connector” should be amended to --RIC/UAC connector in addition to the first connector --.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 16 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Line 1, “RIC/UAC connector” should be amended to –Rapid Intervention Crew Universal Air Coupling (RIC/UAC connector)--.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 1 and 8 recites “the first connector is couplable to the second connector upon insertion of one of: the first connector and the second connector into a corresponding other of: the first connector and the second connector to cause the first connector and the second connector to be locked to one another” (lines 7-11 of claim 1 and 8-11 of claim 8) in each of the independent claims. In each of the claims the first connector is part of the emergency air fill station and the second connector is directly connected to the air bottle. In the Specification submitted 20 June 2023, the second connector attached to the air bottle is coupled with the first connector (Paragraph [0037]). While it is understood that the first and second connector may be reversed according to Paragraph [0043] of the Specification, the limitations are unclear as to how the first connector can be inserted into the second connector as recited in each of the claims. The ability to move the first connector to be inserted into the second connector of the air bottle appears to be not possible as the first connector is part of the structure of the emergency air fill station. It is recommended to amend the claim to have the second connector be inserted into the first connector and remove the potential for the first connector to be inserted into the second connector. For purposes of examination, the limitation will be considered as the second connector be inserted into the first connector.
Claim 15 recites “locking the first connector and the second connector to one another based on coupling the first connector to the second connector upon insertion of one of: the first connector and the second connector into a corresponding other of: the first connector and the second connector” in lines 6-9 of the claim. In each of the claims the first connector is part of the emergency air fill station and the second connector is directly connected to the air bottle. In the Specification submitted 20 June 2023, the second connector attached to the air bottle is coupled with the first connector (Paragraph [0037]). While it is understood that the first and second connector may be reversed according to Paragraph [0043] of the Specification, the limitations are unclear as to how the first connector can be inserted into the second connector as recited in each of the claims. The ability to move the first connector to be inserted into the second connector of the air bottle appears to be not possible as the first connector is part of the structure of the emergency air fill station. It is recommended to amend the claim to have the second connector be inserted into the first connector and remove the potential for the first connector to be inserted into the second connector. For purposes of examination, the limitation will be considered as the second connector be inserted into the first connector.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-6, 8, 11-16, and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Turiello (US 20090178675 A1) in view of Cruse (US 3477688 A) in further view of Sung (KR 101024944 B1).
Regarding Claim 1:
Turiello discloses an emergency air replenishment system (150, Figure 1, the air distribution system is the emergency air replenishment system) implemented in a structure (Paragraph [0050], the building is the structure), comprising:
a fixed piping system (104, Figure 1) permanently installed within the structure (Paragraph [0050]) serving as a constant source of replenishment of breathable air (Paragraphs [0051] and [0054], breathable air is provided through the fixed piping system (104)); and
an emergency air fill station (102A, Figure 6A) within the structure coupled to the fixed piping system (104, Figure 1), the emergency air fill station further comprising a first connector as a part thereof that is connectably complementary to a second connector directly attached to an air bottle (Paragraphs [0067] and [0069], the air apparatus holders supply air to the air cylinders (air bottles) through a connector of the station); and
wherein a volume of the breathable air in the air bottle is filled (Paragraph [0067]) from the fixed piping system (104, Figure 1) via the emergency air fill station (102A, Figure 6A).
Turiello does not disclose:
a first connector as a part thereof that is connectably complementary to a second connector directly attached to an air bottle;
wherein the first connector is couplable to the second connector upon insertion of one of: the first connector and the second connector into a corresponding other of: the first connector and the second connector to cause the first connector and the second connector to be locked to one another based on:
the insertion of the one of: the first connector and the second connector into the corresponding other of: the first connector and the second connector automatically exerting a force along an axial length of the corresponding other of: the first connector and the second connector that automatically translates into a locking element girdling the corresponding other of: the first connector and the second connector moving against a linear direction of the exerted force to lock on to the one of: the first connector and the second connector, and
wherein a volume of the breathable air in the air bottle is filled from the fixed piping system via the emergency air fill station based on the locking of the first connector to the second connector.
Cruse teaches a coupler, comprising:
wherein the first connector (2, Figure 1, the female coupling is the first connector) is couplable to the second connector (4, Figure 1, the male coupling is the second connector) upon insertion of one of: the first connector and the second connector into a corresponding other of: the first connector and the second connector to cause the first connector and the second connector to be locked to one another (Column 5, Lines 51-64, the second connector is inserted into the first connector and are locked together) based on:
the insertion of the one of: the first connector and the second connector (4, Figure 1) into the corresponding other of: the first connector (2, Figure 1) and the second connector automatically exerting a force along an axial length of the corresponding other of: the first connector and the second connector that automatically translates into a locking element (80 and 36, Figure 2, the sleeve and locking key are the locking element) girdling the corresponding other of: the first connector and the second connector moving against a linear direction of the exerted force to lock on to the one of: the first connector and the second connector (Column 5, Lines 51-64, the second connector is inserted into the first connector and are locked together automatically by the linear movement of the locking element due to the axial force of inserting the second connector into the first connector).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Turiello to include the first connector is couplable to the second connector upon insertion of the second connector into a corresponding the first connector and the second connector to cause the first connector and the second connector to be locked to one another based on the insertion of the second connector into the corresponding other of the first connector automatically exerting a force along an axial length of the corresponding other of: the first connector that automatically translates into a locking element girdling the corresponding other of the first connector moving against a linear direction of the exerted force to lock on to the second connector as taught by Cruse with the motivation to secure two components together to prevent unsuspecting decoupling that could lead to potential damage to the worksite.
Turiello and Cruse do not teach:
a first connector as a part thereof that is connectably complementary to a second connector directly attached to an air bottle; and
wherein a volume of the breathable air in the air bottle is filled from the fixed piping system via the emergency air fill station based on the locking of the first connector to the second connector.
Sung teaches a connector for air replenishment for air respiration tanks, comprising:
a first connector (110, Figure 2, the connector body is the first connector) as a part thereof that is connectably complementary to a second connector (12, Figure 2, the inlet/outlet part is the second connector) directly attached to an air bottle (10, Figure 1, the air breathing tank is the air bottle); and
wherein a volume of the breathable air in the air bottle is filled from the fixed piping system (P1, Figure 2, the main flow path is the fixed piping) via the air fill station (100, Figure 1, the air charging connection device is the air fill station) based on the locking of the first connector to the second connector (Paragraphs [0055] and [0059], the first and second connectors are locked together and a volume of breathable air is filled into the bottle).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Turiello and Cruse to include a first connector as a part thereof that is connectably complementary to a second connector directly attached to an air bottle and a volume of the breathable air in the air bottle is filled from the fixed piping system via the air fill station based on the locking of the first connector to the second connector as taught by Sung with the motivation to fill a tank with air with minimal contamination that would cause harm to the user.
Regarding Claim 3:
Turiello discloses:
wherein the emergency air fill station (102A, Figure 6A) is at least one of: an emergency air fill panel and a rupture containment air fill station configured to contain the air bottle within an enclosure (Paragraphs [0067-0068], the air bottle is enclosed within the enclosure).
Regarding Claim 4:
Turiello discloses:
wherein the emergency air fill station (102A, Figure 6A) further comprises a Rapid Intervention Crew Universal Air Coupling (RIC/UAC) connector (610, Figure 6A) also as another part of the emergency air fill station within the structure in addition to the first connector (Paragraphs [0067] and [0069], the air apparatus holders supply air to the air cylinders (air bottles) through a connector of the station).
Turiello and Sung do not teach:
the first connector.
Cruse teaches:
the first connector (2, Figure 1).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Turiello and Sung to include the first connector as taught by Cruse with the motivation to connect two components together to supply a fluid.
Regarding Claim 5:
Turiello discloses:
wherein the first connector (Paragraphs [0067-0068]) is provided directly at least one of: at a free end of a fill hose of the emergency air fill panel and on a main frame of the rupture containment air fill station (Paragraphs [0067-0068] and Figure 6A, the first connector is on the main frame of the rupture containment air fill station).
Turiello and Sung do not teach:
the first connector.
Cruse teaches:
the first connector (2, Figure 1).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Turiello and Sung to include the first connector as taught by Cruse with the motivation to connect two components together to supply a fluid.
Regarding Claim 6:
Turiello discloses:
wherein the first connector of the emergency air fill station (102A, Figure 6A) provides air to the air bottle (Paragraphs [0067-0068]).
Turiello does not disclose:
wherein each of: the first connector and the second connector comprises an air passage to maintain an air connection between the air bottle and the emergency air fill station in a state of the first connector being locked to the second connector.
Cruse teaches:
wherein each of: the first connector (2, Figure 1) and the second connector (4, Figure 1) comprises an air passage to maintain an air connection (Figure 4, the first and second connectors have an air passage through the center of the connectors) in a state of the first connector (2, Figure 1) being locked to the second connector (4, Figure 1).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Turiello to include the first connector and the second connector comprises an air passage to maintain an air connection in a state of the first connector being locked to the second connector as taught by Cruse with the motivation to secure the valve in the open or closed position based on the connection to prevent potential leaks.
Truiello and Cruse do not teach:
wherein each of: the first connector and the second connector comprises an air passage to maintain an air connection between the air bottle and the emergency air fill station in a state of the first connector being locked to the second connector.
Sung teaches:
wherein each of the first connector (110, Figure 2) and the second connector (12, Figure 2) comprises an air passage to maintain an air connection (Paragraphs [0059-0060], an air passage is in both the first and second connector to have an air connection) between the air bottle (10, Figure 2) and the air fill station in a state of the first connector being locked to the second connector (Paragraphs [0055] and [0059], the first and second connectors are locked together).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Turiello and Cruse to include each of the first connector and the second connector comprises an air passage to maintain an air connection between the air bottle and the air fill station in a state of the first connector being locked to the second connector as taught by Sung with the motivation to fill and remove air from the air tank.
Regarding Claim 8:
Turiello discloses an emergency air replenishment system (150, Figure 1, the air distribution system is the emergency air replenishment system) implemented in a structure (Paragraph [0050], the building is the structure), comprising:
an emergency air fill station (102, Figure 6A) within the structure coupled to a fixed piping system (104, Figure 1) permanently installed therewithin serving as a constant source of replenishment of breathable air (Paragraphs [0051] and [0054], breathable air is provided through the fixed piping system (104)), the emergency air fill station further comprising a first connector as a part thereof; and
an air bottle comprising a second connector directly attached thereto, wherein the first connector of the emergency air fill station is connectably complementary to the second connector directly attached to the air bottle (Paragraphs [0067] and [0069], the air apparatus holders supply air to the air cylinders (air bottles) through a connector (first connector) of the station), and
wherein a volume of the breathable air in the air bottle is filled (Paragraph [0067]) from the fixed piping system (104, Figure 1) via the emergency air fill station (102A, Figure 6A).
Turiello does not disclose:
an air bottle comprising a second connector directly attached thereto, wherein the first connector of the emergency air fill station is connectably complementary to the second connector directly attached to the air bottle,
wherein the first connector is couplable to the second connector upon insertion of one of: the first connector and the second connector into a corresponding other of: the first connector and the second connector to cause the first connector and the second connector to be locked to one another based on:
the insertion of the one of: the first connector and the second connector into the corresponding other of: the first connector and the second connector automatically exerting a force along an axial length of the corresponding other of: the first connector and the second connector that automatically translates into a locking element girdling the corresponding other of: the first connector and the second connector moving against a linear direction of the exerted force to lock on to the one of: the first connector and the second connector, and
wherein a volume of the breathable air in the air bottle is filled from the fixed piping system via the emergency air fill station based on the locking of the first connector to the second connector.
Cruse teaches a coupler, comprising:
wherein the first connector (2, Figure 1, the female coupling is the first connector) is couplable to the second connector (4, Figure 1, the male coupling is the second connector) upon insertion of one of: the first connector and the second connector into a corresponding other of: the first connector and the second connector to cause the first connector and the second connector to be locked to one another (Column 5, Lines 51-64, the second connector is inserted into the first connector and are locked together) based on:
the insertion of the one of: the first connector and the second connector (4, Figure 1) into the corresponding other of: the first connector (2, Figure 1) and the second connector automatically exerting a force along an axial length of the corresponding other of: the first connector and the second connector that automatically translates into a locking element (80 and 36, Figure 2, the sleeve and locking key are the locking element) girdling the corresponding other of: the first connector and the second connector moving against a linear direction of the exerted force to lock on to the one of: the first connector and the second connector (Column 5, Lines 51-64, the second connector is inserted into the first connector and are locked together automatically by the linear movement of the locking element due to the axial force of inserting the second connector into the first connector).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Turiello to include the first connector is couplable to the second connector upon insertion of the second connector into a corresponding the first connector to cause the first connector and the second connector to be locked to one another based on the insertion of the second connector into the first connector automatically exerting a force along an axial length of the first connector that automatically translates into a locking element girdling the second connector moving against a linear direction of the exerted force to lock on to the second connector as taught by Cruse with the motivation to secure two components together to prevent unsuspecting decoupling that could lead to potential damage to the worksite.
Turiello and Cruse do not teach:
an air bottle comprising a second connector directly attached thereto, wherein the first connector of the emergency air fill station is connectably complementary to the second connector directly attached to the air bottle, and
wherein a volume of the breathable air in the air bottle is filled from the fixed piping system via the emergency air fill station based on the locking of the first connector to the second connector.
Sung teaches a connector for air replenishment for air respiration tanks, comprising:
an air bottle (10, Figure 1, the air breathing tank is the air bottle) comprising a second connector (12, Figure 2, the inlet/outlet part is the second connector) directly attached thereto, wherein the first connector of the air fill station (100, Figure 1, the air charging connection device is the air fill station) is connectably complementary to the second connector (12, Figure 2) directly attached to the air bottle (10, Figure 1), and
wherein a volume of the breathable air in the air bottle is filled from the fixed piping (P1, Figure 2, the main flow path is the fixed piping) system via the air fill station (100, Figure 1) based on the locking of the first connector to the second connector (Paragraphs [0055] and [0059], the first and second connectors are locked together and a volume of breathable air is filled into the bottle).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Turiello and Cruse to include an air bottle comprising a second connector directly attached thereto, wherein the first connector of the air fill station is connectably complementary to the second connector directly attached to the air bottle and a volume of the breathable air in the air bottle is filled from the fixed piping system via the air fill station based on the locking of the first connector to the second connectoras taught by Sung with the motivation to fill a tank with air with minimal contamination that would cause harm to the user.
Regarding Claim 11:
Turiello discloses:
wherein the emergency air fill station (102A, Figure 6A) is at least one of: an emergency air fill panel and a rupture containment air fill station configured to contain the air bottle within an enclosure (Paragraphs [0067-0068], the air bottle is enclosed within the enclosure).
Regarding Claim 12:
Turiello discloses:
wherein the emergency air fill station (102A, Figure 6A) further comprises a RIC/UAC connector (610, Figure 6A) also as another part of the emergency air fill station within the structure in addition to the first connector (Paragraphs [0067] and [0069], the air apparatus holders supply air to the air cylinders (air bottles) through a connector of the station).
Turiello and Sung do not teach:
the first connector.
Cruse teaches:
the first connector (2, Figure 1).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Turiello and Sung to include the first connector as taught by Cruse with the motivation to connect two components together to supply a fluid.
Regarding Claim 13:
Turiello discloses:
wherein the first connector (Paragraphs [0067-0068]) is provided directly at least one of: at a free end of a fill hose of the emergency air fill panel and on a main frame of the rupture containment air fill station (Paragraphs [0067-0068] and Figure 6A, the first connector is on the main frame of the rupture containment air fill station).
Turiello and Sung do not teach:
the first connector.
Cruse teaches:
the first connector (2, Figure 1).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Turiello and Sung to include the first connector as taught by Cruse with the motivation to connect two components together to supply a fluid.
Regarding Claim 14:
Turiello discloses:
wherein the first connector of the emergency air fill station (102A, Figure 6A) provides air to the air bottle (Paragraphs [0067-0068]).
Turiello does not disclose:
wherein each of: the first connector and the second connector comprises an air passage to maintain an air connection between the air bottle and the emergency air fill station in a state of the first connector being locked to the second connector.
Cruse teaches:
wherein each of: the first connector (2, Figure 1) and the second connector (4, Figure 1) comprises an air passage to maintain an air connection (Figure 4, the first and second connectors have an air passage through the center of the connectors) in a state of the first connector (2, Figure 1) being locked to the second connector (4, Figure 1).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Turiello to include the first connector and the second connector comprises an air passage to maintain an air connection in a state of the first connector being locked to the second connector as taught by Cruse with the motivation to secure the valve in the open or closed position based on the connection to prevent potential leaks.
Truiello and Cruse do not teach:
wherein each of: the first connector and the second connector comprises an air passage to maintain an air connection between the air bottle and the emergency air fill station in a state of the first connector being locked to the second connector.
Sung teaches:
wherein each of the first connector (110, Figure 2) and the second connector (12, Figure 2) comprises an air passage to maintain an air connection (Paragraphs [0059-0060], an air passage is in both the first and second connector to have an air connection) between the air bottle (10, Figure 2) and the air fill station in a state of the first connector being locked to the second connector (Paragraphs [0055] and [0059], the first and second connectors are locked together).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Turiello and Cruse to includeeach of the first connector and the second connector comprises an air passage to maintain an air connection between the air bottle and the air fill station in a state of the first connector being locked to the second connector as taught by Sung with the motivation to fill and remove air from the air tank.
Regarding Claim 15:
Turiello discloses method of efficient coupling of an air bottle to an emergency air fill station (102A, Figure 6A) of a safety system (150, Figure 1, the air distribution system is the emergency air replenishment system and safety system) of a structure (Paragraph [0050], the building is the structure) having a fixed piping system (104, Figure 1) installed therein to supply breathable air from a source across the safety system(Paragraphs [0051] and [0054], breathable air is provided through the fixed piping system (104) from a source (100, the supply unit is the source)), comprising:
providing a first connector as part of the emergency air fill station such that the first connector is connectably complementary to a second connector directly attached to the air bottle (Paragraphs [0067] and [0069], the air apparatus holders supply air to the air cylinders (air bottles) through a connector of the station); and
filling a volume of the breathable air (Paragraph [0067]) in the air bottle via the emergency air fill station (102A, Figure 6A).
Turiello does not disclose:
providing a first connector as part of the emergency air fill station such that the first connector is connectably complementary to a second connector directly attached to the air bottle;
locking the first connector and the second connector to one another based on coupling the first connector to the second connector upon insertion of one of: the first connector and the second connector into a corresponding other of: the first connector and the second connector in accordance with:
the insertion of the one of: the first connector and the second connector into the corresponding other of: the first connector and the second connector automatically exerting a force along an axial length of the corresponding other of: the first connector and the second connector that automatically translates into a locking element girdling the corresponding other of: the first connector and the second connector moving against a linear direction of the exerted force to lock on to the one of: the first connector and the second connector; and
filling a volume of the breathable air in the air bottle via the emergency air fill station based on the locking of the first connector to the second connector.
Cruse teaches a coupler, comprising:
locking the first connector (2, Figure 1, the female coupling is the first connector) and the second connector (4, Figure 1, the male coupling is the second connector) to one another based on coupling the first connector to the second connector upon insertion of one of: the first connector and the second connector into a corresponding other of: the first connector and the second connector (Column 5, Lines 51-64, the second connector is inserted into the first connector and are locked together) in accordance with:
the insertion of the one of: the first connector and the second connector (4, Figure 1) into the corresponding other of: the first connector (2, Figure 1) and the second connector automatically exerting a force along an axial length of the corresponding other of: the first connector and the second connector that automatically translates into a locking element (80 and 36, Figure 2, the sleeve and locking key are the locking element) girdling the corresponding other of: the first connector and the second connector moving against a linear direction of the exerted force to lock on to the one of: the first connector and the second connector (Column 5, Lines 51-64, the second connector is inserted into the first connector and are locked together automatically by the linear movement of the locking element due to the axial force of inserting the second connector into the first connector).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Turiello to include locking the first connector and the second connector to one another based on coupling the first connector to the second connector upon insertion of the second connector into a corresponding other first connector in accordance with the insertion of the second connector into the corresponding first connector automatically exerting a force along an axial length of the corresponding other of: the first connector and the second connector that automatically translates into a locking element girdling the corresponding other of: the first connector and the second connector moving against a linear direction of the exerted force to lock on to the one of: the first connector and the second connector as taught by Cruse with the motivation to secure two components together to prevent unsuspecting decoupling that could lead to potential damage to the worksite.
Turiello and Cruse do not teach:
providing a first connector as part of the emergency air fill station such that the first connector is connectably complementary to a second connector directly attached to the air bottle; and
filling a volume of the breathable air in the air bottle via the emergency air fill station based on the locking of the first connector to the second connector.
Sung teaches a connector for air replenishment for air respiration tanks, comprising:
providing a first connector (110, Figure 2, the connector body is the first connector) as part of the air fill station (100, Figure 1, the air charging connection device is the air fill station) such that the first connector is connectably complementary to a second connector (12, Figure 2, the inlet/outlet part is the second connector) directly attached to the air bottle (10, Figure 1, the air breathing tank is the air bottle); and
filling a volume of the breathable air in the air bottle via the air fill station based on the locking of the first connector to the second connector (Paragraphs [0055] and [0059], the first and second connectors are locked together and a volume of breathable air is filled into the bottle).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Turiello and Cruse to include providing a first connector as part of the air fill station such that the first connector is connectably complementary to a second connector directly attached to the air bottle and filling a volume of the breathable air in the air bottle via the air fill station based on the locking of the first connector to the second connector as taught by Sung with the motivation to fill a tank with air with minimal contamination that would cause harm to the user.
Regarding Claim 16:
Turiello discloses:
further comprising providing a RIC/UAC connector (610, Figure 6A) also as another part of the emergency air fill station (102A, Figure 6A).
Regarding Claim 19:
Turiello discloses:
comprising at least one of: the emergency air fill station (102A, Figure 6A) being at least one of: an emergency air fill panel and a rupture containment air fill station configured to contain the air bottle within an enclosure (Paragraphs [0067-0068], the air bottle is enclosed within the enclosure); and
the first connector (Paragraphs [0067-0068]) being provided directly at least one of: at a free end of a fill hose of the emergency air fill panel and on a main frame of the rupture containment air fill station (Paragraphs [0067-0068] and Figure 6A, the first connector is on the main frame of the rupture containment air fill station).
Turiello and Sung do not teach:
the first connector.
Cruse teaches:
the first connector (2, Figure 1).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Turiello and Sung to include the first connector as taught by Cruse with the motivation to connect two components together to supply a fluid.
Regarding Claim 20:
Turiello discloses:
maintaining an air connection between the air bottle and the emergency air fill station (102A, Figure 6A) in a state of the first connector (Paragraphs [0067-0068]).
Turiello does not disclose:
maintaining an air connection between the air bottle and the emergency air fill station in a state of the first connector being locked to the second connector based on providing an air passage in each of: the first connector and the second connector.
Cruse teaches:
maintaining an air connection (Figure 4, the first and second connectors have an air passage through the center of the connectors) in a state of the first connector (2, Figure 1) being locked to the second connector (4, Figure 1) based on providing an air passage in each of: the first connector (2, Figure 1) and the second connector (4, Figure 1).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Turiello to include maintaining an air connection in a state of the first connector being locked to the second connector based on providing an air passage in each of: the first connector and the second connector as taught by Cruse with the motivation to secure the valve in the open or closed position based on the connection to prevent potential leaks.
Truiello and Cruse do not teach:
maintaining an air connection between the air bottle and the emergency air fill station in a state of the first connector being locked to the second connector based on providing an air passage in each of: the first connector and the second connector.
Sung teaches:
maintaining an air connection (Paragraphs [0059-0060], an air passage is in both the first and second connector to have an air connection) between the air bottle and the air fill station in a state of the first connector being locked to the second connector (Paragraphs [0055] and [0059], the first and second connectors are locked together)based on providing an air passage in each of: the first connector (110, Figure 2) and the second connector (12, Figure 2).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Turiello and Cruse to maintaining an air connection between the air bottle and the air fill station in a state of the first connector being locked to the second connector based on providing an air passage in each of: the first connector and the second connector as taught by Sung with the motivation to fill and remove air from the air tank.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2, 7, 9-10, and 17-18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The closest pieces of prior art are Turiello (US 20090178675 A1) in view of Cruse (US 3477688 A) in further view of Sung (KR 101024944 B1).
Regarding Claim 2:
Claim 2 depends from claim 1 where Turiello, Cruse, and Sung teach the emergency air replenishment system. Claim 2 contains the limitation “wherein an outer surface of the corresponding other of: the first connector and the second connector is threaded to facilitate an automatic rotational movement of the locking element along the threaded outer surface and against the linear direction of the exerted force in response thereto to lock on to the one of: the first connector and the second connector”. The limitation in view of all other limitations of claims 1-2 causes claim 2 to be considered allowable over the prior art. An additional reference is needed to teach the limitation which would further modify Cruse the structure of the first connector where Cruse would have the potential to not be operable after the modification.
Claim 7 is objected to as being dependent from claim 2.
Regarding Claim 9:
Claim 9 depends from claim 8 where Turiello, Cruse, and Sung teach the emergency air replenishment system. Claim 9 contains the limitation “wherein an outer surface of the corresponding other of: the first connector and the second connector is threaded to facilitate an automatic rotational movement of the locking element along the threaded outer surface and against the linear direction of the exerted force in response thereto to lock on to the one of: the first connector and the second connector”. The limitation in view of all other limitations of claims 8-9 causes claim 9 to be considered allowable over the prior art. An additional reference is needed to teach the limitation which would further modify Cruse the structure of the first connector where Cruse would have the potential to not be operable after the modification.
Claim 10 is objected to as being dependent from claim 9.
Regarding Claim 17:
Claim 17 depends from claim 15 where Turiello, Cruse, and Sung teach the emergency air replenishment system. Claim 17 contains the limitation “threading an outer surface of the corresponding other of: the first connector and the second connector to facilitate an automatic rotational movement of the locking element along the threaded outer surface and against the linear direction of the exerted force in response thereto to lock on to the one of: the first connector and the second connector”. The limitation in view of all other limitations of claims 15 and 17 causes claim 17 to be considered allowable over the prior art. An additional reference is needed to teach the limitation which would further modify Cruse the structure of the first connector where Cruse would have the potential to not be operable after the modification.
Claim 18 is objected to as being dependent from claim 17.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Gamard (US 20140077110 A1) teaches a connector assembly comprising a first connector, a second connector, and an air bottle.
Dube (US 11426553 B2) teaches a portable gas delivery system comprising a first connector, a second connector, and an air bottle.
Mele (US 10632331 B2) teaches a quick connect pressure reducer comprising a connector, an air bottle, and a valve.
DeWitt (US 20180243591 A1) teaches an emergency air breathing system comprising a UAC connector.
/STEPHANIE A SHRIEVES/Examiner, Art Unit 3753
/KENNETH RINEHART/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3753