DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Response to Amendment
Claims 1-13 are currently pending. In response to the Office Action mailed 7/23/2025 Applicant amended claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6 and 11-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20200310107 A1 to Kojima as applied in view of US 20200241289 A1 to Morinaga et al.
Regarding Claim 1. Kojima discloses an optical module comprising: a mirror unit including a mirror device (at least Fig. 7 reflection surface 450) including a support portion (See at least Fig. 7 support 452) and a movable mirror portion provided and connected to the support portion so as to be oscillatable (para 60 and Fig. 8); a magnet unit having an upper surface, a bottom surface, and a side surface extending from the upper surface to the bottom surface, and configured to generate a magnetic field acting on the movable mirror portion (See at least Fig. 7 magnet 455 and electromagnetic coil 456 para 39); and a package including a recess accommodating the magnet unit (as shown in Fig. 7), wherein the magnet unit includes a plurality of magnets arranged along a first direction (see Fig. 7), the recess includes a base wall portion which extends along the first direction and to which the upper surface of the magnet unit is fixed (See at least Fig. 6 and Fig. 7 mirror 451), and a side wall portion extending along a second direction intersecting the first direction, and facing the side surface of the magnet unit (Fig. 7 member 458), when a side on which the magnet unit is located with respect to the base wall portion in the second direction is defined as a lower side, the recess includes an opening portion that is delimited by the side wall portion and open to the lower side (See Fig. 7 recess is open to the surface of 458), the mirror unit is disposed on a second surface on an opposite side of the base wall portion from a first surface to which the magnet unit is fixed (See Fig. 7 location of reflection surface 450), and the side wall portion protrudes to the lower side with respect to the bottom surface of the magnet unit (Fig. 7 member 457 protrudes to the lower side with respect to the bottom surface of magnet 455).
Kojima does not specifically disclose that the movable mirror portion provided with a coil connected to the support portion.
However, Morinaga discloses the movable mirror portion provided with a coil connected to the support portion (See at least Fig. 5 coil 11 connected to support portion 2), as the substitution of one known element for another yields predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art (MPEP2143(I)(B), KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 415-421, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-97 (2007)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before Applicant’s effective filing date to include that the movable mirror portion provided with a coil connected to the support portion.
Regarding Claim 2. Kojima further discloses the upper surface of the magnet unit is fixed to the base wall portion by an adhesive material (para 86), and a gap is formed between the magnet unit and the side wall portion (as shown in Fig. 7).
Regarding Claim 3. Kojima further discloses when viewed in the second direction, the gap includes a first portion extending along one direction, and a second portion extending along a direction intersecting an extending direction of the first portion (as shown in Fig. 7 where the thickness of 457 includes the thickness of 458).
Regarding Claim 4. Kojima further discloses the side wall portion includes a first side wall portion and a second side wall portion facing the first side wall portion, the gap is formed between the magnet unit and the first side wall portion, and a thickness of the second side wall portion is thicker than a thickness of the first side wall portion (See Fig. 7 and Fig. 8).
Regarding Claim 5. Kojima further discloses the magnet unit includes two side portions forming one corner when viewed in the second direction, and at least one of the two side portions is separated from the side wall portion (See Fig. 7 magnet 455).
Regarding Claim 6. Kojima further discloses a groove portion extending along the second direction is formed in the side wall portion at a position corresponding to a corner of the magnet unit (See at least Fig. 7 spacing between magnet 455 and member 457 and member 458).
Regarding Claim 9. Morinaga further discloses the plurality of magnets are arranged in a Halbach array (See para 49).
Regarding Claim 11. Kojima further discloses a region where the mirror unit is disposed on the second surface of the base wall portion is formed flat (See Fig. 7).
Regarding Claim 12. Kojima further discloses when viewed in the second direction, an outer edge of the mirror unit is located inside an outer edge of the magnet unit (See Fig. 7 magnet 4562).
Regarding Claim 13. Kojima further discloses the plurality of magnets include a first magnet and a second magnet, and a step portion is formed on at least one of the upper surface and the bottom surface of the magnet unit due to a positional difference in the second direction between a surface of the first magnet and a surface of the second magnet (See Fig. 7 magnet 455 and magent 4562).
Claims 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kojima and Morinaga as applied to claim 1 in view of US 20170168349 A1 to Sakai et al. further in view of US 20160197112 A1 to Masuda.
Regarding Claim 7. As stated above, Kojima and Morinaga discloses all the limitations of base claim 1.
Kojima and Morinaga do not specifically disclose that the mirror unit is fixed to the second surface of the base wall portion by an adhesive material, and a fillet is formed at a boundary portion between a side surface of the mirror unit and the second surface of the base wall portion by the adhesive material.
However, Sakai discloses a mirror unit is fixed to a surface of a substrate by an adhesive material (See Fig. 1 adhesive 4), in order to bond a reflective surface to a substrate.
Further, Masuda discloses a fillet is formed at a boundary portion between a side surface of an optical substrate and a surface of a substrate by an adhesive material (See Fig. 10B) to increase the surface area contact between the adhesive and the bonding surfaces.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before Applicant’s effective filing date to include that the mirror unit is fixed to the second surface of the base wall portion by an adhesive material, and a fillet is formed at a boundary portion between a side surface of the mirror unit and the second surface of the base wall portion by the adhesive material.
Claims 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kojima and Morinaga as applied to claim 1 in view of US 20170168349 A1 to Sakai et al.
Regarding Claim 8. As stated above, Kojima and Morinaga discloses all the limitations of base claim 1.
Kojima and Morinaga do not specifically disclose that the mirror unit is fixed to the second surface of the base wall portion by an adhesive material, and a thickness of the adhesive material between the mirror unit and the second surface of the base wall portion is 10 µm to 30 µm.
However, Sakai discloses a mirror unit is fixed to a surface of a substrate by an adhesive material (See Fig. 1 adhesive 4), and a thickness of the adhesive material between the mirror unit and the second surface of the base wall portion is 10 µm to 30 µm (para 23) in order to bond a reflective surface to a substrate.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before Applicant’s effective filing date to include that the mirror unit is fixed to the second surface of the base wall portion by an adhesive material, and a thickness of the adhesive material between the mirror unit and the second surface of the base wall portion is 10 µm to 30 µm.
Claims 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kojima and Morinaga as applied to claim 1 in view of US 20170168349 A1 to Sakai et al.
Regarding Claim 10. As stated above, Kojima discloses all the limitations of base claim 1.
Morinaga further discloses a wire for electrically connecting the mirror unit to an outside (Fig. 3 wire W), and the wire is connected to the mirror unit at a position overlapping the adhesive region when viewed in the second direction (See Fig. 3 where wire overlaps mirror 1) to electrically connect and drive the moveable mirror.
Kojima and Morinaga do not specifically disclose the mirror unit is fixed to the second surface of the base wall portion in a predetermined adhesive region by an adhesive material.
However, Sakai discloses a mirror unit is fixed to a surface of a substrate by an adhesive material (See Fig. 1 adhesive 4), in order to bond a reflective surface to a substrate.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before Applicant’s effective filing date to include that the mirror unit is fixed to a surface of a substrate by an adhesive material.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-13 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/EDMOND C LAU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2871