DETAILED ACTION
Claims 6 and 7 have been amended. Claims 1-5 are cancelled. Claims 6-25 are pending in the instant application. Claims 12-25 remain withdrawn. Claims 6-11 are under examination on the merits.
Response to Amendment
The Amendment by Applicant’s representative Xiaochun Zhu on 02/26/2026 has been entered.
Response to Arguments/Amendments
Claim rejection under 35 U.S.C.§102(a)(1)
Applicant cancelled claims 1-5, and amended claim 6 by further limiting “at least one of R6, R7, R8, R9, R10, R", R12, R13, R14, and R15 is a non-fluorinated hydrocarbon group containing 3-30 carbon atoms”. The rejection of claims 1-2 and 4-5 is moot because the claims have been cancelled. Applicant’s amendment of claim 6 overcome the rejection of claim 6-8 and 10-11 because the previously cited `304 patent teaches the compounds having at least one of R6, R7, R8, R9, R10, R", R12, R13, R14, and R15 is a non-fluorinated hydrocarbon group containing only 1 carbon atom (i.e., -CH3). Therefore, the rejection is hereby withdrawn.
Claim rejection under 35 U.S.C.§103(a)
The rejection of claim 3 is moot because the claim has been cancelled. Applicant’s amendment of claim 6 overcome the rejection of claim 9 because claim 9 depends on claim 6, and the cited `304 patent would have not rendered claim 9 obvious. The rejection of claim 9 is hereby withdrawn.
The following rejections are necessitated by the amendment filed 02/26/2026:
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 6 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US2020/0133121A1 (“the `121 publication”) to Domon et al.
Applicant’s claim 6 is drawn to an ionic liquid composition having the formula (la)
wherein: R6, R7, R8, R9, R10, R11, R12, R13, R14, and R15 are independently selected from H atom and non-fluorinated hydrocarbon groups having 1-30 carbon atoms with optional presence of a single -O-linker, wherein at least one of R6, R7, R8, R9, R10, R11, R12, R13, R14, and R15 is a non-fluorinated hydrocarbon group containing 3-30carbon atoms; and Y+ is a protonated cation.
The `121 publication [0185] discloses a composition comprising a salt-1
or a salt-2
.
The salt-1 and salt-2 reads on Applicant’s claims 6 and 7.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 8-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the `121 publication in view of DE2203304 (“the `304 patent”) and Moers et al., Z. Anorg. Allg. Chem., (2001), v.627, p.1621-1625.
The `121 publication [0185] discloses a composition comprising a salt-1
or a salt-2
.
In terms of claim 8, the `121 publication does not teach Y+ is an ammonium species. However, the `304 patent (claim 2) teaches the azolinium salts which have Y+ is an ammonium species
.
In terms of claim 9, the `121 publication does not teach Y+ is an ammonium species of the formula
wherein: R3, R4, and R5 are independently selected from hydrocarbon groups containing 3-30 carbon atoms. Applicant’s specification [0019] describes that the term "hydrocarbon group" (also denoted by the group R) is defined as a chemical group composed of at least of carbon and hydrogen. Therefore, both groups COOH and COOMe can be interpreted as a hydrocarbon group because both the groups compose of at least of carbon and hydrogen. Moers et al. (Table 1, p.1622) discloses azolinium salt #1 “NH4+ -N(Q-4-COOH)2”, salt #2 “Pr4N+ -N(Q-4-COOH)2”, and salt #3 “Pr4N+ -N(Q-4-COOMe)2”, wherein Q= SO2-C6H4. The difference between present claims 3, and 9 and the azolinium salt #2 “Pr4N+ -N(Q-4-COOH)2”, salt #3 “Pr4N+ -N(Q-4-COOMe)2”, wherein Q= SO2-C6H4 is there are three R groups (R3, R4, and R5), and one H for claims 3 and 9, while there are four C3-alkyl R groups (Pr4) for Moers et al. However, the difference of replacing Pr with H group is further taught and/or suggested by the same prior art. Moers et al. teaches azolinium salt #1 “NH4+ -N(Q-4-COOH)2”, wherein the Pr group is replaced by H group. For one ordinary skilled in the art, it would have been obvious variation because they are disclosed by the same prior art. Therefore, Moers et al. would have rendered claim 9 obvious.
In terms of claim 10, the `121 publication does not teach Y+ is a heterocyclic ring containing at least one nitrogen atom, at least one of which is positively-charged. However, the `304 patent (claim 2) teaches the azolinium salts which have Y+ is an ammonium species
.
In terms of claim 11, the `121 publication does not teach the heterocyclic ring is selected from the group consisting of pyridinium, imidazolium, piperidinium, and pyrrolidinium. However, the `304 patent (claim 2) teaches the azolinium salts which have Y+ is an ammonium species
, which is an imidazolium ring.
Conclusions
The ionic liquid composition of
is allowable.
Claims 6-11 are rejected.
Claims 12-25 are withdrawn.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Telephone Inquiry
/YONG L CHU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1731