This communication is in response to application No. 18/211,705; Temperature-Controlled Storage for a Vehicle; filed on 6/20/2023 and amended on 04/20/2026.
Claims 1 - 19 are currently pending and have been examined.
Claims 1 - 19 have been rejected as follows.
Response to Amendment
Applicant has amended claims 4 and 16 to describe the temperature control unit as a heating unit. Additionally, Specification paragraph 26, states that the temperature unit “may be a thin film heater, a heating pad, a silicone heater, and/or a laser direct structure.” This provides sufficient description to understand the structure of the heating unit, thus removing the 112(b) rejection, while also providing sufficient detail to understand the heating unit in more than a functional manner, as simply a unit with the means to provide heating, thereby removing the 112(f) interpretation.
It should be noted that claims 6 and 18 still claim a “heater unit”. As these claims further disclose what a “heater unit” is, there is no issue, however, if these claims are later modified such that future claims depend from them, the difference between a “heater unit” and a “heating unit”, could present an issue. The Specification does not describe a “heater unit”, therefore the only understanding for a “heater unit” is contained in these claims (6 and 18) alone.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 4/20/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant has amended independent claims 1, 8 and 14 to include two limitations.
The first limitation, which states that the temperature-controlled storage compartment is supported by a structural frame of the vehicle is disclosed by Laatikainen in fig. 25, which shows the compartment supported on the vehicle frame.
The second limitation states the temperature-controlled storage compartment is operably coupled to at least one input of the vehicle configured for adjusting a temperature level of the temperature-controlled storage compartment, which was previously, and remains, claimed as part of claim 8. However, reference Rhodes discloses a handlebar mounted temperature control device for heated grips. Additionally, it is noted that Rhodes specifically describes the vehicle as a snowmobile. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the temperature-controlled compartment of Laatikainen to couple it to the temperature-level-adjusting input of Rhode’s snowmobile.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 4, 6-12, 14, 16, and 18-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Laatikainen (FI 12977 Y1) in view of Rhodes (US 2021/0188383 A1). For clarity, reference will be made to Laatikainen (US 2023/0406451 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Laatikainen discloses;
A temperature-controlled storage compartment (cool / heat box 2500; fig. 25) for a vehicle, comprising:
a bottom panel; a plurality of side panels extending vertically upward from the bottom panel and defining an interior region of the temperature-controlled storage compartment; (fig. 25 illustrates the storage container as comprising a bottom and side panels.)
a lid (lid 2504; fig. 25) movably coupled with the plurality of side panels such that the temperature-controlled storage compartment may be fully enclosed; and
at least one temperature unit arranged within the temperature-controlled storage compartment. (Paragraphs 63, 65-66 and figs. 25 illustrate an electrically operated, heat box.)
wherein the temperature-controlled storage compartment (cool / heat box 2500) is supported by a structural frame of the vehicle (Fig. 25 illustrates the storage compartment supported on the vehicle frame.)
Laatikainen does not describe the temperature-controlled storage compartment as operably coupled to at least one input of the vehicle configured for adjusting a temperature level of the temperature-controlled storage compartment. However , Rhodes teaches;
wherein the temperature-controlled storage compartment is operably coupled to at least one input of the vehicle configured for adjusting a temperature level of the temperature -controlled storage compartment. (Rhodes, paragraphs 50-51 and figs. 7B, 8A, and 8B, describe a handlebar mounted control for adjusting temperature level of a heating device for the hand grips. The modification of Laatikainen to include the heating element controls of Rhodes would place the control of the heating source located in the storage compartment, disclosed by Laatikainen, at the handlebar mounted control unit of Rhodes. Additionally, paragraph 54 of Rhodes suggests the use of storage compartment warmers.)
A person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to modify Laatikainen to include the temperature-controlled storage compartment as operably coupled to at least one input of the vehicle configured for adjusting a temperature level of the temperature-controlled storage compartment as taught by Rhodes, as the references and the claimed invention are directed to heated storage compartments for snow vehicles. As disclosed by Rhodes, it is well known for a snow vehicle to include a temperature-controlled storage compartment as operably coupled to at least one input of a vehicle configured for adjusting a temperature level of the temperature-controlled storage compartment. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Laatikainen to include a temperature-controlled storage compartment as operably coupled to at least one input of the vehicle configured for adjusting a temperature level of the temperature-controlled storage compartment as taught by Rhodes, as such a modification would provide the ability to control the heated compartment from the operator’s station along with the other vehicle controls.
Regarding claim 2, Laatikainen discloses;
further comprising a power feature (electric power 2502; fig. 25) configured for at least partial positioning within the temperature-controlled storage compartment. (Paragraph 65 describes a power output to provide electrical power to the accessory heat box.)
Regarding claim 4, Laatikainen, figs. 23 and 25, illustrates, diagrammatically, a heating source located within the seat (2032) or storage compartment (2502), but does not specifically mention the location within the containers. However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention, to place the heating element in the lower part of the container, above the bottom surface and below a surface which would dissipate the heat into the container, since it has been held that, absent any showing of unexpected results, rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70.
Regarding claim 6, Laatikainen, paragraphs 63 and 65 describe the accessory as a heat box but does not describe the functionality of the heating source other than to describe it as electrically powered. Electrically powered heat sources include heating pads and thin film heaters. Rhodes teaches;
wherein the at least one temperature unit includes at least one heater unit which is one of a heating pad, a thin film heater, and a laser direct structure. (Paragraph 5 of Rhodes describes a thin, heat generation device utilizing electrical current, which is configured to warm a hand grip of a snowmobile.)
A person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to modify Laatikainen to include a heater unit which is one of a heating pad, a thin film heater, and a laser direct structure as taught by Rhodes, as the references and the claimed invention are directed to heating devices for snow vehicles. As disclosed by Rhodes, it is well known for a heater unit to be one of a heating pad, a thin film heater, and a laser direct structure. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Laatikainen to include a heater unit which is one of a heating pad, a thin film heater, and a laser direct structure as taught by Rhodes, as such a modification would provide selective heating on a snowmobile.
Regarding claim 7, Laatikainen discloses;
wherein the power feature is positioned within the interior region such that an accessory arranged within the temperature-controlled storage compartment may be coupled with the power feature. (Paragraph 65 notes that the accessory may comprise additional parts including a USB (power) source.)
Regarding claim 8, Laatikainen discloses;
A snowmobile with a temperature-controlled storage area, the vehicle comprising:
a plurality of ground engaging members; (fig. 25 and paragraph 51 describe runners and a drive wheel which contact the ground to support the vehicle.)
a powertrain operatively coupled to the ground engaging members to power movement of the ground engaging members; (Paragraph 25 describes a traction wheel powered by an electric motor.)
a structural frame supported by the plurality of ground engaging members, the structural frame including a front portion and a steering assembly supported by the structural frame and operatively coupled to the ground engaging members; and (Paragraphs 22-25 describe a frame of the vehicle supporting the runners and the drive wheel. Figs. 22-27 illustrate a forward portion which allows mounting of a container or seat.)
wherein the temperature-controlled storage area (cool / heat box 2500) is supported by a structural frame of the vehicle (Fig. 25 illustrates the storage compartment supported on the vehicle frame.)
Laatikainen does not describe the structural frame including a tunnel and a front portion positioned forward of the tunnel, a display positioned generally adjacent the steering assembly, or the temperature-controlled storage area is operably coupled to at least one of an input on the steering assembly and an input on the display of the vehicle and the at least one input is configured for adjusting a temperature level of the temperature-controlled storage area. However , Rhodes teaches;
a structural frame including a tunnel (tunnel 32; Rhodes, fig. 2); (Paragraph 44 describes a tunnel in which the track circulates.)
a display positioned generally adjacent the steering assembly; (Rhodes, paragraphs 50-51 and fig. 8A describe the LED display, positioned on the handlebar, which controls the electric hand warmers.)
wherein the temperature-controlled storage area is operably coupled to at least one of an input on the steering assembly and an input on the display of the vehicle and the at least one input is configured for adjusting a temperature level of the temperature-controlled storage area. (Rhodes, paragraphs 50-51 describe a handlebar mounted control for a heating device with the hand grips. Fig. 10A and paragraph 61, illustrate a display screen indicating the operation of the heated control grips. The modification of Laatikainen to include the heating element controls and display of Rhodes would place the control of the heating source located in the storage compartment, disclosed by Laatikainen, at the handlebar mounted control unit and display screen of Rhodes. Paragraph 54 of Rhodes suggests the use of storage compartment warmers.)
A person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to modify Laatikainen to include a structural frame including a tunnel, a display positioned generally adjacent the steering assembly, and the temperature-controlled storage area is operably coupled to at least one of an input on the steering assembly and an input on the display and the at least one input is configured for adjusting a temperature level of the temperature-controlled storage area as taught by Rhodes, as the references and the claimed invention are directed to heated storage compartments for snow vehicles. As disclosed by Rhodes, it is well known for a snow vehicle to include a structural frame including a tunnel, a display positioned generally adjacent the steering assembly, and the temperature-controlled storage area is operably coupled to at least one of an input on the steering assembly and an input on the display and the at least one input is configured for adjusting a temperature level of the temperature-controlled storage area as. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Laatikainen to include a structural frame including a tunnel, a display positioned generally adjacent the steering assembly, and the temperature-controlled storage area is operably coupled to at least one of an input on the steering assembly and an input on the display and the at least one input is configured for adjusting a temperature level of the temperature-controlled storage area as taught by Rhodes, as such a modification would provide the ability to position the heated compartment on a conventional snow-mobile and control the heated compartment from the operator’s station along with the other vehicle controls.
Regarding claim 9, Laatikainen in view of Rhodes discloses;
wherein the temperature-controlled storage area is supported by the front portion of the structural frame. (fig. 25 of Laatikainen illustrates the temperature controlled storage area located on the front portion of the vehicle frame.)
Regarding claim 10, Rhodes further teaches;
wherein the temperature-controlled storage area is supported by the tunnel of the structural frame. (Fig. 6 of Rhodes suggests an accessory mounting location (36) behind the seat, supported on the tunnel.)
Regarding claim 11, Laatikainen discloses;
wherein the temperature-controlled storage area includes a power outlet arranged within the temperature-controlled storage area. (Laatikainen, paragraph 65 notes that the accessory may comprise additional parts including a USB (power) source.)
Regarding claim 12, Rhodes further teaches;
wherein the display of the snowmobile includes a plurality of actuators for selecting a heat level of the snowmobile. (Rhodes, fig. 10A and paragraph 61, describe the control display as being capable of controlling the heating units by way of touch inputs. With the modification of Laatikainen, based on the teachings of Rhodes, the display unit’s touch input would control the heating devices in the storage compartment.)
Regarding claim 14, Laatikainen discloses;
A storage compartment for a vehicle (cool / heat box 2500; fig. 25), comprising:
a bottom panel; a plurality of side panels extending vertically upward from the bottom panel and defining an interior region of the storage compartment; (fig. 25 illustrates the storage container as comprising a bottom and side panels.)
a lid (lid 2504; fig. 25) movably coupled with the plurality of side panels such that the storage compartment may be fully enclosed;
at least one temperature unit arranged within the storage compartment for providing one of heating and cooling to the storage compartment; and (Paragraphs 63, 65-66 and figs. 25 illustrate an electrically operated, heat box.)
a power feature (electric power 2502; fig. 25) configured for at least partial positioning within the storage compartment. (Paragraph 65 describes a power output to provide electrical power to the accessory heat box.)
wherein the temperature-controlled storage compartment (cool / heat box 2500) is supported by a structural frame of the vehicle (Fig. 25 illustrates the storage compartment supported on the vehicle frame.)
Laatikainen does not describe the temperature-controlled storage compartment as operably coupled to at least one input of the vehicle configured for adjusting a temperature level of the temperature-controlled storage compartment. However , Rhodes teaches;
wherein the temperature-controlled storage compartment is operably coupled to at least one input of the vehicle configured for adjusting a temperature level of the temperature -controlled storage compartment. (Rhodes, paragraphs 50-51 and figs. 7B, 8A, and 8B, describe a handlebar mounted control for adjusting temperature level of a heating device for the hand grips. The modification of Laatikainen to include the heating element controls of Rhodes would place the control of the heating source located in the storage compartment, disclosed by Laatikainen, at the handlebar mounted control unit of Rhodes. Additionally, paragraph 54 of Rhodes suggests the use of storage compartment warmers.)
A person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to modify Laatikainen to include the temperature-controlled storage compartment as operably coupled to at least one input of the vehicle configured for adjusting a temperature level of the temperature-controlled storage compartment as taught by Rhodes, as the references and the claimed invention are directed to heated storage compartments for snow vehicles. As disclosed by Rhodes, it is well known for a snow vehicle to include a temperature-controlled storage compartment as operably coupled to at least one input of a vehicle configured for adjusting a temperature level of the temperature-controlled storage compartment. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Laatikainen to include a temperature-controlled storage compartment as operably coupled to at least one input of the vehicle configured for adjusting a temperature level of the temperature-controlled storage compartment as taught by Rhodes, as such a modification would provide the ability to control the heated compartment from the operator’s station along with the other vehicle controls.
Regarding claim 16, Laatikainen, figs. 23 and 25, illustrates, diagrammatically, a heating source located within the seat (2032) and storage compartment (2502), but does not specifically mention the location within the containers. However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention, to place the heating element in the lower part of the container, above the bottom surface and below a surface which would dissipate the heat into the container, since it has been held that, absent any showing of unexpected results, rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70
Regarding claim 18 (renumbered from 19), Laatikainen, paragraphs 63 and 65 describe the accessory as a heat box but does not describe the functionality of the heating source other than to describe it as electrically powered. Electrically powered heat sources include heating pads and thin film heaters. Rhodes teaches;
wherein the at least one temperature unit includes at least one heater unit which is one of a heating pad, a thin film heater, and a laser direct structure. (Paragraph 5 of Rhodes describes a thin, heat generation device utilizing electrical current, which is configured to warm a hand grip of a snowmobile.)
Regarding claim 19 (renumbered from 20)
wherein the power feature is positioned within the interior region such that an accessory arranged within the temperature-controlled storage compartment may be coupled with the power feature. (Paragraph 65 notes that the accessory may comprise additional parts including a USB (power) source.)
Claim(s) 3, 5, 15, 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Laatikainen in view of Rhodes and further in view of Park (KR 2011 0028037 A).
Regarding claim 3, Laatikainen does not disclose a temperature sensor configured for continuous monitoring of a temperature level of the temperature-controlled storage compartment, however Park teaches;
wherein the at least one temperature unit comprises a temperature sensor (sensor 71/72) configured for continuous monitoring of a temperature level of the temperature-controlled storage compartment. (Page 15, line 13 describes temperature sensors located within a container which are connected to a control unit and power source in order to control the temperature within the container.)
A person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to modify Laatikainen to include a temperature sensor configured for continuous monitoring of a temperature level of the temperature-controlled storage compartment as taught by Park, as the references and the claimed invention are directed to temperature controlled storage compartments. As disclosed by Park, it is well known for a temperature controlled storage compartment to include a temperature sensor configured for continuous monitoring of a temperature level of the temperature-controlled storage compartment. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Laatikainen to include a temperature sensor configured for continuous monitoring of a temperature level of the temperature-controlled storage compartment as taught by Park, as such a modification would provide the ability to maintain the temperature within the container.
Regarding claim 5, Laatikainen, figs. 23 and 25, illustrates a heating source but does not specifically describe wherein the at least one temperature unit comprises a first temperature unit positioned within the bottom panel and a second temperature unit positioned within at least one of the plurality of side panels. However, Park teaches;
wherein the at least one temperature unit comprises a first temperature unit (heater plate 53; page 13, line 4) positioned within the bottom panel and a second temperature unit positioned within at least one of the plurality of side panels. (Park teaches a heater plate located in the bottom of a compartment for maintaining the temperature of the compartment. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention, to duplicate a heating source located in the bottom panel of the compartment, since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. St. Regis Paper Co. v. Bemis Co., 193 USPQ 8. Likewise, it would have been obvious to arrange these heating plates in the side panels of the compartment, since it has been held that, absent any showing of unexpected results, rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70.)
Regarding claim 15, Laatikainen does not disclose a temperature sensor configured for continuous monitoring of a temperature level of the temperature-controlled storage compartment, however Park teaches;
wherein the at least one temperature unit comprises a temperature sensor (sensor 71/72) configured for continuous monitoring of a temperature level of the temperature-controlled storage compartment. (Page 15, line 13 describes temperature sensors located within a container which are connected to a control unit and power source in order to control the temperature within the container.)
A person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to modify Laatikainen to include a temperature sensor configured for continuous monitoring of a temperature level of the temperature-controlled storage compartment as taught by Park, as the references and the claimed invention are directed to temperature controlled storage compartments. As disclosed by Park, it is well known for a temperature controlled storage compartment to include a temperature sensor configured for continuous monitoring of a temperature level of the temperature-controlled storage compartment. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Laatikainen to include a temperature sensor configured for continuous monitoring of a temperature level of the temperature-controlled storage compartment as taught by Park, as such a modification would provide the ability to maintain the temperature within the container.
Regarding claim 17, Laatikainen, figs. 23 and 25, illustrates a heating source but does not specifically describe wherein the at least one temperature unit comprises a first temperature unit positioned within the bottom panel and a second temperature unit positioned within at least one of the plurality of side panels. However, Park teaches;
wherein the at least one temperature unit comprises a first temperature unit (heater plate 53; page 13, line 4) positioned within the bottom panel and a second temperature unit positioned within at least one of the plurality of side panels. (Park teaches a heater plate located in the bottom of a compartment for maintaining the temperature of the compartment. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention, to duplicate a heating source located in the bottom panel of the compartment, since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. St. Regis Paper Co. v. Bemis Co., 193 USPQ 8. Likewise, it would have been obvious to arrange these heating plates in the side panels of the compartment, since it has been held that, absent any showing of unexpected results, rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70.)
Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Laatikainen in view of Rhodes as applied to claim 8 above, and further in view of Gao (CN 111038448 A).
Regarding claim 13, Laatikainen in view of Rhodes discloses a temperature-controlled storage area with a means for controlling the temperature inside the storage area, but does not disclose control over the storage area by a coupled, mobile device. However, Gao teaches;
wherein the temperature-controlled storage area is operatively coupled to a mobile device for controlling a heat level of the temperature-controlled storage area. (Claim 1 and paragraph 8 of Gao describes a heating system for a vehicle which can be controlled by a software program on a mobile phone. Described functions include starting, stopping and adjusting the level of the heating system.)
A person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to modify Laatikainen in view of Rhodes to include control of a heat level of the temperature-controlled storage area by an operatively coupled mobile device as taught by Gao, as the references and the claimed invention are directed to vehicle accessory heating systems. As disclosed by Gao, it is well known for a vehicle accessory heating system to include control of a heat level of the temperature-controlled storage area by an operatively coupled mobile device. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Laatikainen in view of Rhodes to include control of a heat level of the temperature-controlled storage area by an operatively coupled mobile device as taught by Gao, as such a modification would provide the ability to remotely adjust the state of the temperature-controlled storage area.
Conclusion
/SCOTT LAWRENCE STRICKLER/Examiner, Art Unit 3612
/VIVEK D KOPPIKAR/Supervisory Patent Examiner
Art Unit 3612
June 1, 2026