DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 5-9, and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yun et al. (US 20230199096 A1) in view of Hong et al. (US 20160190678 A1), Ryu’ 301 et al. (US 20200403301 A1), and Nakayama et al. (US 20200285348 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Yun et al. discloses an antenna device comprising:
a dielectric layer (Dielectric sheet 500; Paragraph 99 and 118 and figure 6b of Yun et al.);
an antenna unit disposed on a top surface of the dielectric layer, the antenna unit comprising a radiator (First mesh portion 510 disposed on the dielectric sheet may serve as an antenna with 510 being a conductive mesh structure; Paragraph 99 and 118 and figure 6b of Yun et al.);
and a dummy mesh pattern disposed around the antenna unit and spaced apart from the antenna unit (Second dummy portion 570 may be disposed around the first mesh portion 510 and separated from it by another dummy portion 530; Paragraph 118 -119 and figure 6b of Yun et al.), the dummy mesh pattern comprising conductive lines and segmented regions at which the conductive lines are cut (Dummy portion 570, made from conductive lines, comprises split portion 540 and 550 forming segmented regions wherein the conductive lines are cut; Paragraph 104 and 118-119 as well as figure 6b of Yun et al.), wherein the segmented regions formed in three parallel conductive lines neighboring each other among the conductive lines are not disposed together on an imaginary straight line extending perpendicularly to an extending direction of the conductive lines (Segmented regions now labeled X, Y, and Z on their respective parallel lines are not disposed together on an imaginary line now labeled IL that is perpendicular to the extending direction of the conductive lines; Annotated figure 6b of Yun et al.).
wherein the conductive lines comprise first conductive lines and second conductive lines crossing each other (Conductive lines 515 are comprised of a plurality of first conductive lines 5151 and plurality of second conductive lines 5152 intersecting each other; Paragraph 102 and 118-119 and figure 6b of Yun et al.) and the dummy mesh pattern comprises a plurality of a first unit cell defined by the first conductive lines and the second conductive lines neighboring each other (First and Second conducive lines form a plurality of unit cells like 515-1 in the dummy portion 570 as seen in annotated figure 6 of Yun et al.).
Yun et al. fails to explicitly disclose wherein the segmented regions are only formed at a position spaced apart from one end of the one side of the first unit cell by 10% to 30% of a length of the one side.
Although Yun et al. fails to explicitly disclose wherein the imaginary straight line extends through one segmented region of the segmented regions formed in one conductive line of the conductive lines, and does not extend through another segmented region formed in another conductive line . Yun et al. does suggest wherein the imaginary straight line extends through one segmented region of the segmented regions formed in one conductive line of the conductive lines, and does not extend through another segmented region formed in another conductive line (Imaginary line would extend through a segmented portion now labeled Y in one conductive line but would not extend through an segmented portion Z in a neighboring line, however it does extend through segmented portion X which also neighbors the line of portion Y as seen in annotated figure 6b of Yun et al.)
Hong et al. does disclose wherein the segmented regions are only formed at a position spaced apart from one end of the one side of the first unit cell (Unit cell 137 can be designed to have a number of discontinued portions 133b including only 1 wherein this discontinued portion is disposed on one side of cell spaced apart from one end of the one side and we can see that this portion is between 10% to 50% of the length L1 of the side; Paragraphs 43-63 and figures 4-5 of Hong et al.).
Hong et al. fails to explicitly disclose a position spaced apart from one end of the one side of the first unit cell by 10% to 30% of a length of the one side
Although, Ryu’ 814 et al. does not explicitly disclose a position spaced apart from one end of the one side of the first unit cell by 10% to 30% of a length of the one side. Ryu’ 184 does disclose moving the segmented region position (Mesh unit cell may include cut regions wherein these cut regions can be moved or formed in a different region; Paragraph 72-77 and figures 5-6 of Ryu’ 814).
The combination of Yun et al., Hong et al., and Ryu’ 814 et al. fail to disclose wherein the imaginary straight line extends through one segmented region of the segmented regions formed in one conductive line of the conductive lines, and does not extend through another segmented region formed in another conductive line which neighbors the one conductive line and is parallel to the one conductive line.
Nakayama et al. does disclose wherein the imaginary straight line extends through one segmented region of the segmented regions formed in one conductive line of the conductive lines, and does not extend through another segmented region formed in another conductive line which neighbors the one conductive line and is parallel to the one conductive line (Dummy mesh pattern DE3 includes to conductive wires overlapping each other wherein a first segmented portion now represented by a first circle would not lie on the same imaginary line as a second segmented portion in a neighboring wire represented by a second circle wherein a third segmented portion represented by a third circle is not on the same imaginary line as the second segmented portion; Paragraph 94-108 and figure 6-7).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art modify the antenna as taught by Yun et al. and Hong et al. to have the segmented regions are only formed at a position spaced apart from one end of the one side of the first unit cell by 10% to 30% of a length of the one side since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233 (CCPA 1955). The motivations stems from the fact that the arrangement of segmented portions affects the visibility of the structure form the outside (Paragraph 119 and 129-131 of Yun et al.) and their placement contributes to the overall structure of the dummy mesh pattern which in turn impacts the radiation.
It would have been further obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art modify the antenna as taught by Yun et al., Hong et al., and Ryu’ 814 et al. to have the imaginary straight line extends through one segmented region of the segmented regions formed in one conductive line of the conductive lines, and does not extend through another segmented region formed in another conductive line which neighbors the one conductive line and is parallel to the one conductive line as taught by Nakayama et al. since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to employ/use a known technique to improve similar devices (methods, products) in the same way is obvious. KSR International Co. v Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S.__, __, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-97 (2007). The motivation stems from the fact that the arrangement of segmented portions affects the visibility of the structure form the outside (Paragraph 119 and 129-131 of Yun et al.) and since the arrangement of segmented portions would affect the dummy mesh patterns performance.
Regarding Claim 2, Yun et al. further discloses the imaginary straight line extends perpendicularly to an extending direction of the first conductive lines or an extending direction of the second conductive lines (Conductive lines 515 are comprised of a plurality of first conductive lines 5151 and plurality of second conductive lines 5152 intersecting each other and imaginary line IL extends in the extending direction of 5151; Paragraph 102 and 118-119 and figure 6b of Yun et al.).
Regarding Claim 3, Yun et al. further discloses the segmented regions comprise first segmented regions where the first conductive lines are cut and second segmented regions where the second conductive lines are cut (Segmented regions 550 are cut on second conductive lines 5152 and segmented regions 540 are on conductive lines 5151; Paragraph 118-119 and figure 6b of Yun et al.).
Regarding Claim 5, Although Yun et al. fails to explicitly disclose a length of each of the segmented regions is in a range from 2.5% to 6.5% of a length of one side of the first unit cell. Yun et al. does disclose a length of each of the segmented regions is in a range (Split portions may have different widths from S1 to S5; Paragraph 131 and figure 9B of Yun et al.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art modify the antenna as taught by Yun et al. to have a length of each of the segmented regions is in a range from 2.5% to 6.5% of a length of one side of the first unit cell since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233 (CCPA 1955). The motivations stem from wanting to control the visibility of the segmented portions from the outside (Paragraph 131 of Yun et al.).
Regarding Claim 6, Although Yun et al. fails to explicitly disclose the length of each of the segmented regions is in a range 2 µm to 5 µm. Yun et al. does disclose a length of each of the segmented regions is in a range (Split portions may have different widths from S1 to S5; Paragraph 131 and figure 9B of Yun et al.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art modify the antenna as taught by Yun et al. to have the length of each of the segmented regions be in a range 2 µm to 5 µm since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233 (CCPA 1955). The motivations stem from wanting to control the visibility of the segmented portions from the outside (Paragraph 131 of Yun et al.).
Regarding Claim 7, Yun et al. further discloses the radiator comprises third conductive lines and fourth conductive lines that cross each other to form a mesh structure (Portion 510 which makes up the radiator is comprised of conductive lines crossing each other with these lines being cut portions from the plurality of lines by split line CL1 and thus from new lines now labeled third line 515-3 and 515-4 in annotated figure of 6 of Yun et al.).
Regarding Claim 8, Although, Yun et al. fails to explicitly disclose a ratio of two different diagonal lines in the second unit cell is in a range from 0.6 to 1.4. Yun et al. does disclose the radiator comprises a plurality of a second unit cell defined by the third conductive lines and fourth conductive lines neighboring each other, and a ratio of two different diagonal lines in the second unit cell (Section 510 contains its own unit cells formed from the crossed lines which may have a rhombus shape wherein the diagonal in the vertical direction is longer than the diagonal in the horizontal direction such that there exists a ratio of the diagonal lines (Paragraph 102 of Yun et al.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art modify the antenna as taught by Yun et al. to have a ratio of two different diagonal lines in the second unit cell is in a range from 0.6 to 1.4 since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233 (CCPA 1955). The motivation stems from the fact that the shape and size of the unit cell determines its polarization characteristics (Paragraph 111 of Yun et al.).
Regarding Claim 9, Although, Yun et al. fails to explicitly disclose the lengths of the two different diagonal lines of the second unit cell are the same. Yun et al. does disclose the lengths of the two different diagonal lines (Diagonal line in the vertical direction is longer than the diagonal line in the horizontal direction; Paragraph 102 of Yun et al.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art modify the antenna as taught by Yun et al. to have the lengths of the two different diagonal lines of the second unit cell are the same since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980). The motivation stems from the fact that the shape and size of the unit cell determines its polarization characteristics (Paragraph 111 of Yun et al.).
Regarding Claim 11, Yun et al. further discloses the antenna unit comprises: a transmission line electrically connected to the radiator; and a ground pattern disposed around the transmission line and physically separated from the radiator and the transmission line (Feed line 511 connected to feed pad 5021 form a transmission line for the radiator 510 and may have conductive pads 5023 that are disposed around the line and physical separated wherein said pads are connected to a ground and thus serve as a ground themselves; Paragraph 93 and 105 as well as figure 6b of Yun et al.).
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yun et al. (US 20230199096 A1) in view of Hong et al. (US 20160190678 A1), Ryu’ 301 et al. (US 20200403301 A1), Nakayama et al. (US 20200285348 A1), and Ryu ‘301 et al. (US 20200403301A1).
Regarding Claim 10, Yun et al., Hong et al, Ryu ‘814 et al. and Nakayama et al. fail to disclose an insertion loss of the antenna unit is in a range from -0.18 dBi to 0 dBi.
Although Ryu’ 301 et al. fails to explicitly disclose an insertion loss of the antenna unit is in a range from -0.18 dBi to 0 dBi. Ryu’ 301 et al. does disclose an insertion loss of an antenna unit is in a range (Antenna structure on mesh grid can have a loss S21, which may vary in a range of -2 dB to -5 dB; Paragraph 113-117 and figure 9 of Ryu’ 301 et al.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art modify the antenna as taught by Yun et al., Hong et al, Ryu ‘814 et al. and Nakayama et al. to have an insertion loss of the antenna unit is in a range from -0.18 dBi to 0 dBi as taught by Ryu ‘301 et al. since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233 (CCPA 1955). The motivation stems from the fact that the insertion loss directly affects the amount of power radiated by an antenna (Paragraph 115 and Table 2 of Ryu’ 301 et al.).
Claim(s) 12-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yun et al. (US 20230199096 A1) in view of Hong et al. (US 20160190678 A1), Ryu’ 301 et al. (US 20200403301 A1), Nakayama et al. (US 20200285348 A1), and Kubo et al. (US 9548530 B2).
Regarding Claim 12, Yun et al., Hong et al, Ryu ‘814 et al. and Nakayama et al. fail to disclose the radiator comprises a first radiating portion, a second radiating portion and a third radiating portion, widths of which are sequentially reduced, and the transmission line is directly connected to the third radiating portion.
However, Kubo et al. does disclose the radiator comprises a first radiating portion, a second radiating portion and a third radiating portion, widths of which are sequentially reduced, and the transmission line is directly connected to the third radiating portion (Radiation area 38 of Antenna 10a includes a plurality of radiation stepped portions with a first radiating portion 42b and 44b, a second radiating portion 42a and 44a and a third radiating portion 41 and 43 wherein power supply 23 and 24 serve as a transmission line connecting to the third radiation portion ; Paragraph 31-32 and figure 1 of Kubo et al.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art modify the antenna as taught by Yun et al., Hong et al, Ryu ‘814 et al. and Nakayama et al. to have the radiator comprises a first radiating portion, a second radiating portion and a third radiating portion, widths of which are sequentially reduced, and the transmission line is directly connected to the third radiating portion as taught by Kubo et al. to obtain a plurality of resonant frequencies to expand the band of operation (Paragraph 19 of Kubo et al.).
Regarding Claim 13, Yun et al., Hong et al, Ryu ‘814 et al. and Nakayama et al. fail to disclose the first radiating portion, the second radiating portion and the third radiating portion are arranged in a stepped shape.
However, Kubo et al. does disclose the first radiating portion, the second radiating portion and the third radiating portion are arranged in a stepped shape (Radiation area 38 of Antenna 10a includes a plurality of radiation stepped portions with a first radiating portion 42b and 44b, a second radiating portion 42a and 44a and a third radiating portion 41 and 43; Paragraph 31-32 and figure 1 of Kubo et al.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art modify the antenna as taught by Yun et al., Hong et al, Ryu ‘814 et al. and Nakayama et al. to have the first radiating portion, the second radiating portion and the third radiating portion be arranged in a stepped shape as taught by Kubo et al. to obtain a plurality of resonant frequencies to expand the band of operation (Paragraph 19 of Kubo et al.).
Claim(s) 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yun et al. (US 20230199096 A1) in view of Hong et al. (US 20160190678 A1), Ryu’ 301 et al. (US 20200403301 A1), Nakayama et al. (US 20200285348 A1), and Choi et al. (US 20200266526 A1).
Regarding Claim 14, Yun et al., Hong et al, Ryu ‘814 et al. and Nakayama et al. fail to disclose the transmission line comprises an inclined portion, a width of which increases in a direction toward the radiator.
However, Choi et al. does disclose the transmission line comprises an inclined portion, a width of which increases in a direction toward the radiator (Film antenna made on a dummy pattern 118 includes a transmission line 114 connected to a protrusion portion which is an inclined portion wherein the width increases in the direction toward the radiator; Paragraph 49).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art modify the antenna as taught by Yun et al., Hong et al, Ryu ‘814 et al. and Nakayama et al. to have the transmission line comprises an inclined portion, a width of which increases in a direction toward the radiator as taught by Choi et al. since the width of the feed line determines the characteristic impedance.
Regarding Claim 15, Yun et al., Hong et al, Ryu ‘814 et al. and Nakayama et al. fail to disclose the ground pattern comprises a widened portion, a width of which increases in a direction farther from the radiator.
However, Choi et al. does disclose a ground pattern comprises a widened portion, a width of which increases in a direction farther from the radiator (Pad 116 is connected to the ground layer 90 so it can also serve as a ground and comprises a widened portion wherein the width of said portion increased as one moved away from the radiator; Paragraph 66 and figure 9 of Choi et al.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art modify the antenna as taught by Yun et al., Hong et al, Ryu ‘814 et al. and Nakayama et al. to have the ground pattern comprises a widened portion, a width of which increases in a direction farther from the radiator as taught by Choi et al. to have a high signal sensitivity and low resistance thus improving radiation efficiency (Paragraph 91 of Choi et al.).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure
US 11119620 B2 (OH YUN SEOK et al.) relates to a configuration of a patch antenna made from a mesh grid structure.
WO 2022075639 A1 (YUN, SUMIN et al.) relates to a configuration of a patch antenna with a mesh structure in the radiator separated from an outside mesh structure.
US 10025444 B2 (Kikukawa; Naohiro et al.) discloses a wiring board that may be used as an antenna with segmented portions that are on different parts of neighboring conductive lines.
US 11695032 B2 (Lee; Seongryong et al.) discloses an antenna made from a mesh structure and a dummy mesh structure around it with at least 3 wires that comprise segmented portions on different portions.
/DAMEON E LEVI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2845
/GURBIR SINGH/Examiner, Art Unit 2845