DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-3, 6 and 12-13 have been presented for examination.
Claims 4-5, 7-11 have been withdrawn from consideration as being directed to a non-elected invention.
Examiners Note
Based on applicants’ response, the election has been changed from group I to group III and thus, claims 1-3, 6 and 12-13 are now being examined on the merits below. See attached interview summary.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “controller” in claim 1, and “obtaining an application” in claims 12 and 13.
“Controller” as defined in the specification is interpreted as an integrated circuit [page 12 line 21] or equivalents thereof.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-3, 6 and 12-13 provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 3-5 and 14-15 of copending Application No. 18/208499 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 1-3, 6 and 12-13 of the instant application are anticipated by copending claims 1, 3-5 and 14-15 in that the copending claims contain all the limitations of the instant application claims.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Application 18/211780
Application 18/208499
Claim 1
A drive apparatus comprising:
Claim 1
A drive apparatus comprising:
a drive unit including at least one of an actuator or a heater
a drive unit that includes at least one of an actuator or a heater, and drives energy conversion that is at least one of conversion of electrical energy into physical motion by the actuator or conversion of electrical energy into thermal energy by the heater
a controller that obtains an application including a plurality of blocks, and executes the application to control the drive unit in accordance with the plurality of blocks
a controller programmed to execute an application including a plurality of blocks of programming code, and to execute the application to control the drive unit in accordance with the plurality of blocks of programming code
a first sensor that detects a first driving state of the drive unit
a first sensor that measures physical quantities related to an end condition of a first block among the plurality of blocks for ending driving of the drive unit by the first block and detects a first driving state of the drive unit
a second sensor that detects a second driving state of the drive unit, wherein
a second sensor that measures physical quantities of the drive apparatus related to a block insertion condition and detects a second driving state of the drive apparatus, wherein the block insertion condition is met when the measured physical quantity is a threshold or higher
each of the plurality of blocks includes an end condition for ending driving of the drive unit by the block, and
each of the plurality of blocks includes an end condition for ending driving of the drive unit by the block
the controller starts execution of the first block among the plurality of blocks including driving the energy conversion of the drive unit
when, during execution of a first block among the plurality of blocks, the first driving state detected by the first sensor meets the end condition of the first block and the second driving state detected by the second sensor meets a block insertion condition, the controller:
when, during execution of the first block among the plurality of blocks, the first driving state detected by the first sensor meets the end condition of the first block and the second driving state detected by the second sensor meets the block insertion condition, the controller:
inserts a new block before a second block contiguous to the first block in the application
reconstructs the application by inserting a new block with a specified function to adjust one or more control parameters related to the second driving state of the drive apparatus for preventing the second driving state from meeting the block insertion condition so that an order relative to one or more subsequent blocks after the first block in the application is a given order
after the first block ends, controls the drive unit in accordance with the new block and the second block.
after the first block ends, executes the one or more subsequent blocks and the new block arranged in the given order to control the drive unit in accordance with the one or more subsequent blocks and the new block arranged in the given order
continues to execute the reconstructed application
wherein the drive apparatus is directed to driving devices including home appliances.
While the instant application claims that the new block is inserted before a second block contiguous to the first block the ‘499 application does not explicitly claim that detail. The ‘499 application does though teach a first block and one or more subsequent blocks. While not explicitly taught that the blocks are contiguous, such is implied. Blocks of code to be executed are contiguous in nature due to the fact that the instructions that make up the code blocks are held in an instruction queue. Claim 1 of the ‘499 application inserts the new block after the first block (i.e., “after the first block ends, executes the one or more subsequent blocks and the new block… in the given order”). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that the block could be inserted before, after or possibly within the second block and one of skill would have tried each of the finite number of variants as a person of ordinary skill has good reason to pursue the known options within his or her technical grasp.
Referring to claims 2-3, 6 and 12-13, these are further rejected in view of claims 3-4, 7 and 14-15 of the ‘499 application respectively. It should also be noted that withdrawn claims 4-5, 7-11 also appear to be covered by claims 5-6 and 8-13 of the ‘499 application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2 and 12-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Harwood et al [Harwood] US Pat No 5768728 in view of Hoffman et al [Hoffman] US Pat. No. 4178957.
Referring to claim 1, Poyner teaches the drive apparatus comprising:
a drive unit including at least one of an actuator or a heater [54 Fig. 7, col. 7 lines 16-25].
a controller that obtains an application including a plurality of blocks, and executes the application to control the drive unit in accordance with the plurality of blocks [cols. 2-3 and 56-45]. Each of the
a first sensor that detects a first driving state of the drive unit [col. 7 lines 54-57].
a second sensor that detects a second driving state of the drive unit [37 Fig. 6, cols. 7-8 lines 64-21], wherein:
each of the plurality of blocks includes an end condition for ending driving of the drive unit by the block [col. 7 lines 54-63].
when, during execution of a first block among the plurality of blocks, the first driving state detected by the first sensor meets the end condition of the first block and the second driving state detected by the second sensor meets a block insertion condition [9 Fig. 1; 25-27 Fig. 4, col. 8 lines 34-40], the controller:
inserts a new block before a second block contiguous to the first block in the application [col. 8 lines 34-47].
after the first block ends, controls the drive unit in accordance with the new block and a second block [col. 8 lines 28-47].
In summary, Harwood teaches a washing machine that includes a plurality of stages which include, in part, ramping up an agitator until a plateau speed is reached [33-34 Fig. 5], determining an adequate water level based on measuring if an overshoot velocity of the motor meets or exceeds a threshold value [35-39 Fig. 5]. If the motor velocity is determined to be less than the threshold velocity [25, 27 Fig. 4; 38, 40 Fig. 5], the agitation is stopped and more water is added [26 Fig. 4]. It should be noted that Fig. 4 represents the sense agitate cycle (8) in Fig. 1 while Fig. 5 represents the agitation stroke (30) in Fig. 4. Once the water level is corrected, contiguous block [9 Fig. 1] commences to initiate the wash cycle.
Referring to claim 2, Harwood teaches the first driving state is related to determining a peak motor velocity which occurs by starting a timer once the velocity reaches a plateau speed. The timer is set to a fixed time (tovershoot) and once the fixed time expires, sample the motor velocity which represents the peak velocity [35-36 Fig. 5, Fig. 6 and col. 7 lines 54-63].
Referring to claim 3, Harwood teaches the second driving state by the second sensor is a rotation speed [37 Fig. 5, col. 7 lines 64-67].
Referring to claims 12-13, these are rejected on the same basis as set forth hereinabove. Harwood teaches the apparatus and therefore teaches the method and program performing the same.
REASONS FOR ALLOWANCE
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
The prior art of record does not teach or suggest either individually or in combination, Claim 6 which discloses the first sensor detecting a duration spent agitating by the drive unit, the second sensor detecting the rotation speed of the agitating and the block insertion condition is that the rotation speed is a threshold or higher and a standby block does not allow driving of the drive unit before draining or supplying water.
Harwood teaches that indicated above except it is taught that the block insertion condition is a rotation speed being below a threshold and the in response, agitation is stopped and water is added which all occurs before a wash cycle commences [abstract, 8-9 Fig. 1; 26 Fig. 4; 35-37 Fig. 5; Fig. 6; cols. 7-8 lines 54-40]. Specifically, Harwood teaches that the motor velocity is determined with respect to the present load. This represents that an agitation operation is occurring. Determining the peak velocity occurs with a present load and thus, the tovershoot time represents an end condition for an agitating operation. But Harwood explicitly states that if “overshoot velocity is less than the threshold velocity… the water level is too low”. If the water level is too low, “the water level is raised to the next highest discrete water level and sense agitate is started afresh at block 29.”
PGPUB 2021/0235964 to AlHaffar teaches a dishwasher that includes a prefill stage that includes steps to prevent overfilling [0042].
US Pat No 4178957 to Hoffman teaches a timer to determine water fill duration [abstract].
WO 9833106 to Krishnan teaches injecting new code into an existing application [abstract].
WO 2016058366 to Song teaches a cloud controlled appliance that downloads program code from a cloud server to a smart home appliance [Fig. 6 and pgs. 10, 14-15].
JP2020-802 cited by applicant and indicated as an X reference in the supplied foreign search report teaches operation of a washing machine which includes detecting load weight, dirt detection, rinse/wash/dry cycles and a detergent adding procedure. The application does not appear to teach inserting a block in an application in response to a detected block insert condition.
Conclusion
/MARK A CONNOLLY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2115 4/3/26