DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 9/19/2023 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the Examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 4-7, 9-12, 14-17, and 19-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Bergman et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2009/0197606)
Referring to Claim 1, Bergman et al. disclose a method comprising: communicating performance information over a first wireless communication link through a first wireless access point to a controller (par 54, measurement report from user equipment to radio network controller via source cell), the performance information indicating wireless connectivity performance between a communication device and a second wireless access point (par 54, signal quality of another/target cell); receiving control information from the controller, the control information indicating to handoff the communication device from the first wireless access point to the second wireless access point (pars 56 and 57, serving cell change message); and in response to receiving the control information, initiating the handoff of the communication device from the first wireless access point to the second wireless access point (pars 54-57 and 60, change serving cell).
Referring to Claim 2 as applied to Claim 1 above, Bergman et al. disclose the method, wherein the controller is operative to produce the control information based on the performance information (pars 55-57, radio network controller receives report, determines cell change, sends message).
Referring to Claim 4 as applied to Claim 2 above, Bergman et al. disclose the method, wherein receiving the control information includes: receiving an identity of the second wireless access point (par 57, instruct user equipment to change serving cell to target cell).
Referring to Claim 5 as applied to Claim 4 above, Bergman et al. disclose the method, further comprising: as a response to receiving the identity of the second wireless access point, communicating an acknowledgement message from the communication device to the controller, the acknowledgement message confirming receipt of notification of the handoff from the first wireless access point to the second wireless access point (pars 57 and 60, acknowledgement after handover instruction).
Referring to Claim 6 as applied to Claim 1 above, Bergman et al. disclose the method, wherein the control information includes results of the controller pre-authenticating the communication device with the second wireless access point (par 55, configuration; Also, par 56, activation/commit; Also, par 57, common H-RNTI).
Referring to Claim 7 as applied to Claim 6 above, Bergman et al. disclose the method, wherein the pre-authenticating of the communication device with the second wireless access point alleviates a need for the communication device to perform authentication of the communication device with the second wireless access point (par 55, configuration; Also, par 56, activation/commit; Also, par 57, common H-RNTI; Also, par 77, configured).
Referring to Claim 9 as applied to Claim 1 above, Bergman et al. disclose the method, wherein the controller is operative to derive a ranking of the first wireless access point and the second wireless access point based on the performance information (pars 54-57, strongest cell).
Referring to Claim 10 as applied to Claim 1 above, Bergman et al. disclose the method, further comprising: communicating a notification to the controller, the notification indicating the handoff of the communication device from the first wireless access point to the second wireless access point (par 60, acknowledgement).
Referring to Claim 11, Bergman et al. disclose a system comprising: a communication device operative to: communicate performance information over a first wireless communication link through a first wireless access point to a controller (par 54, measurement report from user equipment to radio network controller via source cell), the performance information indicating wireless connectivity performance between a communication device and a second wireless access point (par 54, signal quality of another/target cell); receive control information from the controller, the control information indicating to handoff the communication device from the first wireless access point to the second wireless access point (pars 56 and 57, serving cell change message); and in response to receiving the control information, initiate the handoff of the communication device from the first wireless access point to the second wireless access point (pars 54-57 and 60, change serving cell).
Referring to Claim 12 as applied to Claim 11 above, Bergman et al. disclose the system, wherein the controller is operative to produce the control information based on the performance information (pars 55-57, radio network controller receives report, determines cell change, sends message).
Referring to Claim 14 as applied to Claim 12 above, Bergman et al. disclose the system, wherein the communication device is further operative to: receive an identity of the second wireless access point (par 57, instruct user equipment to change serving cell to target cell).
Referring to Claim 15 as applied to Claim 14 above, Bergman et al. disclose the system, wherein the communication device is further operative to: as a response to receiving the identity of the second wireless access point, communicating an acknowledgement message from the communication device to the controller, the acknowledgement message indicating completion of the handoff from the first wireless access point to the second wireless access point (pars 57 and 60, acknowledgement after handover instruction).
Referring to Claim 16 as applied to Claim 11 above, Bergman et al. disclose the system, wherein the control information includes results of the controller pre-authenticating the communication device with the second wireless access point (par 55, configuration; Also, par 56, activation/commit; Also, par 57, common H-RNTI).
Referring to Claim 17 as applied to Claim 16 above, Bergman et al. disclose the system, wherein the pre-authentication of the communication device with the second wireless access point alleviates a need for the communication device to perform authentication of the communication device with the second wireless access point (par 55, configuration; Also, par 56, activation/commit; Also, par 57, common H-RNTI; Also, par 77, configured).
Referring to Claim 19 as applied to Claim 11 above, Bergman et al. disclose the system, wherein the controller is operative to derive a ranking of the first wireless access point and the second wireless access point based on the performance information (pars 54-57, strongest cell).
Referring to Claim 20 as applied to Claim 11 above, Bergman et al. disclose the system, wherein the communication device is further operative to: communicate a notification to the controller, the notification indicating completion of the handoff of the communication device from the first wireless access point to the second wireless access point (par 60, acknowledgement).
Referring to Claim 21 as applied to Claim 1 above, Bergman et al. disclose a computer-readable storage hardware (Memory 310 – Figure 3) having instructions stored thereon, the instructions, when carried out by computer processor hardware, cause the computer processor hardware to: communicate performance information over a first wireless communication link through a first wireless access point to a controller (par 54, measurement report from user equipment to radio network controller via source cell), the performance information indicating wireless connectivity performance between a communication device and a second wireless access point (par 54, signal quality of another/target cell); receive control information from the controller, the control information indicating to handoff the communication device from the first wireless access point to the second wireless access point (pars 56 and 57, serving cell change message); and in response to receiving the control information, initiate the handoff of the communication device from the first wireless access point to the second wireless access point (pars 54-57 and 60, change serving cell).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bergman et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2009/0197606) in view of Iguchi et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2002/0147020)
Referring to Claims 3 and 13 as applied to Claims 2 and 12 above, Bergman et al. disclose the method and system, further comprising: in response to receiving the control information at the communication device, communicating an acknowledgement from the communication device through wireless access point to the controller (par 60, acknowledgement).
However, Bergman et al. do not explicitly disclose acknowledgement through the first wireless access point.
In the same field of endeavor, Iguchi et al. disclose acknowledgement through the first wireless access point (par 103, handoff completion message).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate acknowledgement through the first wireless access point, as taught by Park et al., in the method and system of Bergman et al., for the purpose of achieving efficient use of channels in a mobile communication system (Iguchi et al., Abstract).
Claims 8 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bergman et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2009/0197606) in view of Yang et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2019/0174362)
Referring to Claims 8 and 18 as applied to Claims 6 and 16 above, Bergman et al. disclose the method and system, wherein the results of the controller pre-authenticating the communication device includes information, the method further comprising: at the communication device, in furtherance of the handoff, utilizing the information to establish a second wireless communication link between the communication device and the second wireless access point (pars 56 and 57, change message).
However, Bergman et al. do not explicitly disclose security information.
In the same field of endeavor, Yang et al. disclose security information (pars 123-127, security; par 135, security)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate security information, as taught by Yang et al., in the method and system of Bergman et al., for the purpose of performing efficient handover (Yang et al., Abstract).
Double Patenting
Effective January 1, 1994, a registered attorney or agent of record may sign a terminal disclaimer. A terminal disclaimer signed by the assignee must fully comply with 37 CFR 3.73(b).
Claims 1 and 21 is rejected under the judicially created doctrine of nonstatutory obviousness-type double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 33 and 32, respectively of U.S. Patent No. 11483746.
Although the conflicting claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 1 and 21 of the present application are a broader version of claims 33 and 32, respectively, of U.S. Patent No. 11483746. The difference being in U.S. Patent No. 11483746, claims 33 and 32 are similar to claims 1 and 21 the of present application but further states the limitations of network environment, pre-authenticating, and security information.
Nonetheless, the removal of said limitations from the above claims of the present application made these claims broader versions. Therefore, since omission of an element and its function in a combination is an obvious expedient if the remaining elements perform the same functions as before (In re Karlson (CCPA) 136 USPQ 184 (1963)), claim 1 of the present application is not patentably distinct from claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 11483746.
Conclusion
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to SUHAIL KHAN whose telephone number is (571)270-7187. The examiner can normally be reached on M-TH 8:30am-6:30pm. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Rafael Perez-Gutierrez can be reached on 5712727915. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, Applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice.
/Suhail Khan/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2642