DETAILED ACTION
Previous Rejections
Applicants' arguments, filed 8/13/2025, have been fully considered. Rejections and/or objections not reiterated from previous office actions are hereby withdrawn. The following rejections and/or objections are either reiterated or newly applied. They constitute the complete set presently being applied to the instant application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 (New)
1. Claims 1 and 4-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shantha et al. (US 2011/0052678, Mar. 3, 2011) (hereinafter Shantha) in view of Mishra et al. (Recent Applications of Liposomes in Ophthalmic Drug Delivery, 2011) (hereinafter Mishra) as evidenced by Roy (US 2005/0245856, Nov. 3, 2005) (hereinafter Roy).
Shantha teaches a method for treating age related macular degeneration comprising topically applying a therapeutically effective amount of a preparation to an affected conjunctival sac of the eye (Abstract). The method involves instilling insulin containing ophthalmic drops in the conjunctival sac for treating age related macular degeneration (satisfies methods of claims 1 and 5-9). The age related macular degeneration is treated with insulin and/or IGF-I with or without known anti-age related macular degeneration therapeutic, pharmaceutical, biochemical, and biological agents or compounds, nurticeuticals, and drugs (¶ [0044]). Suitable medications may be used with the insulin containing ophthalmic drops and include carotenoids such as lutein and/or zeaxanthin (satisfies active of claim 1) (¶ [0069]). Compatible vehicles or carriers may be employed for preparing the compositions where suitable vehicles/carriers include liposomes (¶ [0075]). In Example 21, uptake facilitators such as iontophoresis are used along with the active agent as prophylaxis, to diagnose, prevent and to treat age related macular degeneration in humans or animals (satisfies device of claim 1 and claims 5-9) (¶ [0308]).
The prior art is not anticipatory insofar as this combination must be selected from different lists/locations in the reference. It would have been obvious, however, to have made and utilized an active containing ophthalmic liposome comprising lutein and zeaxanthin with the use of iontophoresis as an uptake facilitator in a method of depositing a bioactive molecule in ocular tissues, as instantly claimed, since all the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination yielded nothing more than predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art. See MPEP § 2143 (I)(A).
Shantha differs from the instantly recited claims insofar as not disclosing wherein the liposomes are positively charged.
However, Mishra discloses that surface charge of liposomes plays a significant role in improving the efficiency of ocular drug delivery system. Positively charged liposomes exhibited higher drug loading efficiencies as well as faster drug release rates compared to negatively charged liposomes (Page 9, Paragraph 3).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the filing of the instant claims, to have formulated Shantha’s liposomes to be positively charged motivated by the desire to achieve a more efficient ocular drug delivery system characterized by higher drug loading efficiencies and faster drug release rates as taught by Mishra. Therefore, the combined teachings of Shantha and Mishra meet the requirement of “positively charged liposome” as recited in claims 1 and 5.
Regarding claims 1 and 5 reciting delivering the composition via the iontophoresis device, as discussed above, Shantha discloses in an Example 21 that iontophoresis is an uptake facilitator that is used along with actives to treat age related macular degeneration. As evidenced by Roy, the principle of ocular iontophoresis is applying an electric field to an electrolytic substance containing at least one medication, in order to transport the medication(s) into the body or the organ to be treated, via the biological membranes of the eye (¶ [0002]). As such, it would be reasonable for one of ordinary skill in the art to expect that the iontophoresis utilized by Shantha delivers Shantha’s composition to the target ocular tissue.
Regarding claim 1 reciting a method of depositing lutein and zeaxanthin in ocular tissue, as discussed above, Shantha discloses that suitable actives for use include lutein and zeaxanthin and further discloses that iontophoresis is an uptake facilitator that is used along with actives to treat age related macular degeneration. Accordingly, Shantha satisfies the method of depositing lutein and zeaxanthin in ocular tissue as instantly claimed.
Regarding claim 4 reciting wherein the liposome has a positive zeta potential, as discussed above, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have formulated Shantha’s liposomes to be positively charged since positively charged liposomes exhibited higher drug loading efficiencies as well as faster drug release rates compared to negatively charged liposomes.
Regarding the treatment methods recited in instant claims 5-9, as discussed above, Shantha’s method for treating involves treating age related macular degeneration using actives such as lutein and zeaxanthin. Accordingly, the Shantha’s treatment method satisfies the recited limitations.
Therefore, claims 1 and 4-9 are rendered obvious by the combined teachings of Shantha, as evidenced by Roy, and Mishra.
2. Claims 1 and 4-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shantha et al. (US 2011/0052678, Mar. 3, 2011) (hereinafter Shantha) in view of Mishra et al. (Recent Applications of Liposomes in Ophthalmic Drug Delivery, 2011) (hereinafter Mishra) and Roy (US 2005/0245856, Nov. 3, 2005) (hereinafter Roy).
The teachings of Shantha and Mishra are discussed above.
It is believed that the teachings of Shantha in view of Mishra satisfy the limitation of delivering the composition via the iontophoresis device. However, purely arguendo and for the purposes of this rejection, Shantha in view of Mishra does not disclose delivering actives to ocular tissue via iontophoresis.
However, Roy discloses an ocular iontophoresis device for delivering medication (Abstract). Techniques of locally administering medication to the eye such as direct injection and topical application of drops are known but have their drawbacks. These drawbacks include such techniques being very traumatic, the drug diluting rapidly, risks of infection or bleeding, limited penetration, and/or the need for frequent application (¶ [0005-0007]). Ocular iontophoresis is a technique for local administration of medication into the eye which enables for most of the drawbacks of the other techniques to be mitigated. It also makes it possible in a noninvasive manner to obtain concentrations and residence times in the eye that are equal to or greater than such techniques (¶ [0011]). Medications and molecules which benefit from this administration technique include those which treat age-related degenerative diseases of the retina and degenerative pathologies of the retina (¶ [0143-0144]). The medication to be administered may be in the form of liposomes which are positively or negatively charged (¶ [0157]).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the filing of the instant claims, to have utilized the iontophoresis device of Roy to administer the positively charged liposomes of Shantha in view of Mishra motivated by the desire to utilize a local administration technique that avoids the many major drawbacks of other known techniques and to achieve the desired concentrations and residence times in the eye as taught by Roy.
Therefore, claims 1 and 4-9 are rendered obvious by the combined teachings of Shantha, Mishra, and Roy.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1 and 4-9 have been considered but are moot because new rejections necessitated by Applicant’s amendment have been made. As discussed in the current rejections, Shantha discloses teaches a method for treating age related macular degeneration comprising applying a preparation in the form of liposomes comprising lutein and zeaxanthin and also teaches the use of an iontophoresis device but does not expressly disclose wherein the liposomes are positively charged. However, Mishra is relied upon for this teaching. Furthermore, Roy’s teaching in reference to an iontophoresis device is applied to meet the requirements of the new limitation “delivering the composition to the ocular tissue of the subject with the iontophoresis device.”.
Double Patenting
1. Claims 1 and 4-9 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-3 of U.S. Patent No. 10,327,946 B2 (hereinafter ‘946).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they both recite methods of depositing an active molecule in ocular tissues and methods of treating or ameliorating. The difference between the instant claims and the claims of ‘946 lies in the fact that the instant claims require both lutein and zeaxanthin in claim 1 while the claims of ‘946 require at least one of the two in the independent claim. However, the claims are obvious over each other since the methods have the same steps and utilize the same actives in treating the same diseases.
Response to Arguments
Regarding the rejection of claims 1 and 4-9 on the grounds of non-statutory double patenting, Applicants‘ arguments and the amendment have been fully considered and deemed unpersuasive for the reasons that follow. Applicants have not submitted arguments or documentation (i.e. terminal disclaimer) in response to the double patenting rejection. Applicant requested that the double patenting rejection(s) recited above be held in abeyance until otherwise allowable subject matter is identified. Therefore, the previous rejection of non-statutory double patenting is maintained.
Conclusion
Claims 1 and 4-9 are rejected.
No claims are allowed.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/A.A./Examiner, Art Unit 1612
/SAHANA S KAUP/Supervisory Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1612