DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, filed on 2/12/2026, with respect to amended independent claim(s) 1 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Seo (US publication 2012/0126723 A1), and response to the arguments have been fully incorporated into the claim rejection set forth below in this office action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1 and 5-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (US publication 2020/0287080 A1), hereinafter referred to as Kim080, in view of Lee et al. (US publication 2019/0198565 A1), hereinafter referred to as Lee565, and further in view of Seo (US publication 2012/0126723 A1), hereinafter referred to as Seo723.
Regarding claim 1, Kim080 teaches a light emitting diode (LED) array comprising (fig. 10 and related text): a first light emitting stack (structure including layers 22, 23 and 31-33, [0032-0037]) on a second light emitting stack (structure including 21, 62 and 63, [0058], fig. 10), wherein the first light emitting stack comprises a first electrical contact (40, [0039]) on a first n-type layer (31), the first n-type layer on a first tunnel junction (33, [0032]), the first tunnel junction on a first p-type layer (23), the first p-type layer on a first color active region (22, [0037]), and the second light emitting stack comprises a second electrical contact (42, [0041], fig. 10) on a second n-type layer (21) in contact with the first color active region (22) and on a second color active region (62, [0058]), the second color active region on a second p-type layer (63, fig. 10).
Kim080 does not explicitly teach a first light emitting stack on a second light emitting stack on a reflective p-contact electrode bonded to a backplane.
Lee565 teaches a first light emitting stack (20, [0105]) on a second light emitting stack (30) on a reflective p-contact electrode (25p, [0107]) bonded to a backplane (fig. 2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to combine the teachings of Kim080 with that of Lee565 so that a first light emitting stack on a second light emitting stack on a reflective p-contact electrode bonded to a backplane so that a plurality of pixels may be formed at the wafer level by wafer bonding, thereby eliminating the need for individual mounting of light emitting diodes ([0011]).
Kim080 and Lee565 do not explicitly teach and a color emitted by one of the first light emitting stack or the second light emitting stack is changed from a first color to a second color by varying a voltage at one of the first electrical contact or at the second electrical contact for biasing the one of the first light emitting stack or the second light emitting stack.
Seo723 teaches a color emitted by one of the first light emitting stack or the second light emitting stack is changed from a first color to a second color by varying a voltage at one of the first electrical contact or at the second electrical contact for biasing the one of the first light emitting stack or the second light emitting stack ([0007-0010 and 0078-0080]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to combine the teachings of Kim080 and Lee565 with that of Seo723 so that a color emitted by one of the first light emitting stack or the second light emitting stack is changed from a first color to a second color by varying a voltage at one of the first electrical contact or at the second electrical contact for biasing the one of the first light emitting stack or the second light emitting stack to provide a lighting device in which color mixing and dimming can be performed by a simple method ([0007]).
Regarding claim 5, Kim080 teaches further comprising an electrode grid (fig. 10).
Regarding claim 6, Kim080 teaches wherein the first n-type layer and the second n-type layer independently comprise one or more of gallium nitride (GaN) (fig. 10), aluminum nitride (AlN), indium nitride (InN), gallium aluminum nitride (GaAIN), gallium indium nitride (GalnN), aluminum gallium nitride (AlGaN), aluminum indium nitride (AlInN), indium gallium nitride (InGaN), indium aluminum nitride (InAlN).
Regarding claim 7, Kim080 teaches wherein the first n-type layer and the second n-type layer comprise gallium nitride (GaN) (fig. 10).
Regarding claim 8, Kim080 does not explicitly disclose wherein the first electrical contact and the second electrical contact comprise aluminum.
Lee565 teaches wherein the first electrical contact and the second electrical contact comprise aluminum ([0107-0108]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Kim080 with that of Lee565 so that wherein the first electrical contact and the second electrical contact comprise aluminum because (a) Al has been commonly employed as an electrical contact material in semiconductor industry due to their well-known electrical characteristics and a low cost of deposition, and (b) it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use, In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
Regarding claim 9, Lee565 teaches wherein the reflective p-contact electrode comprises one or more of aluminum (Al), platinum (Pt), silver (Ag) ([0107-0108]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Kim080 with that of Lee565 so that wherein the reflective p-contact electrode comprises one or more of aluminum (Al), platinum (Pt), silver (Ag) because (a) Al or Ag have been commonly employed as reflective p-contact electrode material in semiconductor industry due to their well-known electrical characteristics and a low cost of deposition, and (b) it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use, In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
Claim 2 and 3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim080, Lee565, and in view of Seo723, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Ogihara et al. (US publication 2013/0292711 A1), hereinafter referred to as Ogihara711.
Regarding claim 2, Kim080, Lee565, and Seo723 disclose all the limitations of claim 1 as discussed above on which this claim depends.
Kim080, Lee565, Seo723 do not explicitly disclose further comprising a dielectric layer surrounding the first light emitting stack and the second light emitting stack.
Ogihara711 discloses further comprising a dielectric layer (451, [0078]) surrounding the first light emitting stack and the second light emitting stack (fig. 13).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Kim080, Lee565, and Seo723 with that of Ogihara711 so that further comprising a dielectric layer surrounding the first light emitting stack and the second light emitting stack for insulation among elements.
Regarding claim 3, Ogihara711 teaches further comprising a reflective metal layer (454, [0076]) on the dielectric layer (fig. 13).
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim080, Lee565, and in view of Seo723 as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Lau et al. (US publication 2020/0184884 A1), hereinafter referred to as Lau884.
Regarding claim 10, Kim080, Lee565, and Seo723 disclose all the limitations of claim 1 as discussed above on which this claim depends.
Kim080, Lee565, and Seo723 do not explicitly disclose wherein the reflective p-contact electrode comprises a bilayer comprising indium tin oxide (ITO) and one or more of aluminum (Al), platinum (Pt), and silver (Ag).
Lau884 discloses wherein the reflective p-contact electrode comprises a bilayer comprising indium tin oxide (ITO) and one or more of aluminum (Al), platinum (Pt), and silver (Ag) ([0114]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Kim080, Lee565, and Seo723 with that of Lau884 so that wherein the reflective p-contact electrode comprises a bilayer comprising indium tin oxide (ITO) and one or more of aluminum (Al), platinum (Pt), and silver (Ag) because (a) indium tin oxide (ITO) and Al have been commonly employed as reflective p-contact electrode material in semiconductor industry due to their well-known electrical and material characteristics, and (b) it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use, In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim080, Lee565, and in view of Seo723, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Steinberg et al. (US publication 2016/0309069 A1), hereinafter referred to as Steinberg.
Regarding claim 20, Kim080, Lee565, and Seo723 disclose all the limitations of claim 1 as discussed above on which this claim depends.
Kim080, Lee565, and Seo723 do not explicitly disclose a visualization system, comprising: a battery; a radio; a sensor; a video generation process; a light source comprising the LED array of claim 1; a modulator; a modulation processor; a beam combiner; a projection optic; a screen; and a lens.
Steinberg discloses a visualization system, comprising: a battery; a radio; a sensor; a video generation process; a light source comprising the LED array of claim 1; a modulator; a modulation processor; a beam combiner; a projection optic; a screen; and a lens (abstract and full disclosure, a digital camera comprises all claimed elements and is obvious).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Kim080, Lee565, and Seo723 with that of Steinberg so that a visualization system, comprising: a battery; a radio; a sensor; a video generation process; a light source comprising the LED array of claim 1; a modulator; a modulation processor; a beam combiner; a projection optic; a screen; and a lens for videos capturing with enhanced audio quality ([0010]).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MOHAMMED R ALAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2897