Election/Restrictions
Applicants’ election with traverse of Group I, claims 1-11 in the reply filed on December 29, 2025 is acknowledged. While applicant argues there is no search and/or examination burden, no evidence is provided to demonstrate how searching under two separate classifications would not present a burden during examination. In addition, Applicants already withdrew claims 12-20.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 as being unpatentable in view of Young et al. (WO 2021183411 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Young et al. discloses a light-emitting diode die (monolithic die, [0003]) comprising:
A first light emitting stack on a second light emitting stack, wherein the first light emitting stack comprises a first n-type layer (104) on a first light-emitting active region (106), the first light-emitting active region on a first p-type layer (104p), with the first p-type layer on a first tunnel junction (UBM layer 124a), the second light emitting stack comprises a second n-type layer in contact with the first tunnel junction on a second tunnel junction, the second tunnel junction on a second p-type layer, the second p-type layer on a second light-emitting active region, the second light-emitting active region on a third n-type layer and a metal contact on the second light emitting stack and extending to the first light emitting stack (Fig. 4, 5B).
Regarding Claim 2, Young et al. discloses an LED die wherein the metal contact (P-contact layer 105 composed of silver, N-contact material 118n) comprises a cathode and anode layer.
Regarding Claim 3, Young et al. discloses an LED die wherein a forward current passes in parallel through the first light emitting stack and the second light emitting stack using a single voltage source (using current spreading layer 311 on the P-type layer).
Regarding Claim 4, Young et al. discloses an LED die further comprising a sub-mount (guard layer 309, 347b, Fig. 4).
Regarding Claim 5, Young et al. discloses an LED die wherein the first n-type layer, the second n-type layer, and the third n-type layer independently comprise one or more of III-nitride materials:
[0040] “the semiconductor layers 104 comprises one or more of gallium nitride (GaN), aluminum nitride (AIN), indium nitride (InN), aluminum gallium nitride (AlGaN), indium gallium nitride (InGaN), indium aluminum nitride (InAIN), aluminum indium gallium nitride (AlInGaN) and the like.”
Regarding Claim 6, Young et al. discloses an LED die wherein the first n-type layer, the second n-type layer, and the third n-type layer comprise gallium nitride.
Regarding Claim 7, Young et al. discloses an LED die wherein the cathode layer (140) and the anode layer independently comprise silver:
[0053] “In one or more embodiments, the P-contact layer 105 may comprise any suitable metal known to one of skill in the art. In one or more embodiments, the P-contact layer 105 comprises silver (Ag).”
Regarding Claim 8, Young et al. discloses an LED die comprising a dielectric layer (307) on the LED die.
Regarding Claim 9, Young et al. discloses an LED die further comprising a bonding metal layer (124a).
Regarding Claim 10, Young et al. discloses an LED die wherein the bonding metal layer comprises gold:
[0079] “The UBM layer 124a may comprise any suitable metal known to the skilled artisan. In one or more embodiments, the UBM layer 124a may comprise gold (Au).”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious in view of Young et al. (WO 2021183411 A1).
Regarding Claim 11, Young et al. discloses an LED die which emits light of varying frequencies but does not disclose emission of green light from the active regions. However, it would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the application to select emission spectrums using green light to increase efficiency in the green spectral range.
Conclusion
/JOSHUA SCOTT WYATT/Examiner, Art Unit 2815
/JAY C KIM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2815